Meet the 12-year-old Nigerian prodigy that could spark a bidding war between Nigeria and the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 January 2016

Meet the 12-year-old Nigerian prodigy that could spark a bidding war between Nigeria and the US

12-year-old US-born striker, Lateef Omidiji Jr, currently plays for the Under-14 team of Netherlands second division side Dordrecht FC. However, he already has a place reserved for him in the Nigeria U15 side based on first hand scouting by its coach Danladi Nasidi.
Coach Nasidi traveled to the US to watch him play in 2014 and came out of the experience knowing he had something on his hands.

“He has speed, focus, the technique is so good, the tactical approach is fine and he has the physical ability. These things combine to make a good footballer,” Nasidi told Goal.
“He’s a small boy and if he comes to play for Nigeria, it will be good for Nigeria,” he declared.
Perhaps not every 12-year-old gets to be spoken so highly of at his age. Lateef Jr. is currently leading scoring at his youth side despite being two years younger than his teammates and opponents.
He told Goal that he would like to represent Nigeria someday like his heroes Rasheed Yekini, Daniel Amokachi, Austin ‘Jay Jay’ Okocha and Mutiu Adepoju, players he grew up watching on home video tapes with his father and grandfather.
“Although I have received interest from USA Football,” Lateef Jr. told Goal, “my heart lies with my fatherland and I'm hopeful of a call up from the coach Nasidi-led U13s/U15s this year.”
Coach Nasidi is keenly following the development of the prodigy, something he must stay alerted to as there seems to be a lot of eyes.
“Many countries are interested in him, but since I’m monitoring his activities, I want to make sure we get hold of him before any other country,” Nasidi said.
His father also wants him to play for Nigeria despite the interest from the United States and its alluring potentials.
“I love my nation and I put that love of Nigeria in my kids very early. I tell them you are not just American, you're Nigerian-American,” Mr Omidiji told Goal.
Sophia, Lateef Jr.'s older sister was called up to the Nigeria U20 Women's team in 2015.
"He has received an invite from the Nigerian U13/U15 coach who watched him play and was impressed with his eye for goal, speed and technique. He is also quite strong which is why he has always played 1-2 years up in age groups to get challenged,” he said.
For now, Lateef Jr. continues to develop his skills in the Dutch system where he hopes to keep getting the kind of challenge that would make him a top player in future.
“Since coming to the Netherlands, they have turned me into a more versatile player so coming from the United States as a number 9, they've taught me how to play 7, 8, 9 and 10 so I can play four positions,” Lateef Jr. said.
“Right wing, left wing, center mid and striker, they call me speedy here in Holland because of my speed but what I'm most proud about is my technical ability.
“I am proud to be able to combine my natural Nigerian style with what I learned in America and what I'm now learning in the Netherlands.”

108 comments:

promising young chap

tsalz c.e.o said...

cool

Well said..hope it favours our teams

Lateef Almighty GOD shall grant u ur heart desire n make u successful footballer.

Enter your comment...Am glad to hear this..morning guys
#linda'slastborn

Mufliat said...

Good of him.
He will make Nigeria proud.

#Hajia Mufliat

I like his choice to rep his fatherland.

#ProInTheMaking

Good luck to him

Dave Mide said...

Smart boy! good decision

Wow wats dis for

Awwww! More power to ur Elbow, keep it up. * it's well*

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu bright future. Mk others for Naija nor use bad belle nack am out o. Cos 1. They r much older than d said age they r playing with. They wil b intimidated by ur true age.
2. If they see ur skills and notice u wanto bcom an item, they wl nack u.
3. Be careful, d fear of Naija team mates is d beginning of wisdom.
Wl love to see u play in naija Lateef jr.

OK let's wait till under 17 tournament where we can really watch him play

So linda how does Ur headline/ title now make sense abeg???

Future balloon D'OR contender..

sabí boi said...

Enter your comment...
We hav soo mny bunch Of talented,determine boiz in d country yet u still go to USA...

paul naza said...

I see football in him

Lucky him

Oyebode Oluwafemi said...

you are really talented boy, keep it up and show your nation how skillful you are

Bravo, at least we have a player with Verified Age, young blood, young money. May God keep him sound n save to fulfill all his goodwill for Nigeria.

Good job kiddo

Meenah_wakil in instagram

Good job kiddo

Meenah_wakil in instagram

Demmy said...

Wow! Good boy Makin naija proud

Bravo, at least we have a player with Verified Age, young blood, young money. May God keep him sound n save to fulfill all his goodwill for Nigeria, his fatherland. Amen

Saint-ib ibariba said...

Great

Saint-ib ibariba said...

Grewt

see his teeth and war

#she'sunique#

Nice One..#LindaConfirm

And Nigeria won't appreciate it...if to say na places na UK I for say make u go uk go play for dem..nigeria no go appreciate wetin dem get

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Wow what a young talented kid.

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Enter your comment...
Good.... Buh u better stay in US nigeria dnt treat dia players rite.

Proud Nigeria Lateef u ar gud 2 go

Nigeria like better tin oooooh...

exquisito said...

A cute lil boy I see. Proud of his root.

Babylawyer. said...

Okay na. Lucky kid. His cute too.

Mayberry said...

God bless u young man,may God guide & protect u,no evil eyes shall b casted on u.

Edobabe#replinda#

bravo keep it up

Observed, grab am quick oh before he become another Dele Alli, with all humility and honesty I have feelings for Linda Ikeji and would sincerely wish to meet her in person this year as part of my resolution.

Now am addicted to this blog...
Loving it though. #winks

I hope he keeps playing well. He could be the future African best or even World best. Good luck to you boy

Ok... All the best boy. One day you go make us PROUD!

#PeterObiForPresident2019

Where does the war comes in??? @ linda.... That's a misleading caption. Wishing him the best tho

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... good for him Hmmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO f7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

BOXY (A.K.A) common sense said...

Ok na

OTONY said...

Omo, we should hustle all these talented footballers early o

Shine on son!

don snipes said...

LIB Readers today is ma Birthday

Making sense.. Fresh talent like dis na him naija need. Kudos to d father for believing in naija and also kudos to d coach wey discover dis fresh talent..

AJ MAIN BOY...

Ok good to know fine boy.

Nice 1. Hunt for More cus we hav abundant talents out der

Beautiful...God bless Nigeria!

Come play for home soil Boy!! You are a true Naija..

Nna don't come to naija at all, Dey don't value players here. Na to use and throway o! Dats the bitter truth. Linda take note!

Gud

He should not come and play for Nigeria oooo before they destroy his career

princess Stella said...

Fie boy. You must play for Nigeria.

princess Stella said...

Fie boy. You must play for Nigeria.

olusamjide said...

This is what Nigeria needed not 38+ that will say they are under 20

Enter your comment... Another star in the making.

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Go to those remote places in NIGERIA U will see pple with more speed and love for goals... talents everywhere but NO! U WANT THE ONE THAT WILL CAUSE TROUBLE...

So how would dis result to a war smh

Pesin Pikin said...

He shd be allowed to decide for himself. He really must b a prodigy for countries to be keeping tab on him at this age...naija repping

If it comes down to bidding with America..... We won't win

waffymercyjohnson said...

Dude looks like me sef #CC

chommy said...

Good to knw. Linda observe!

ib tams said...

Nice one! We need more fresh talent like this.

Blessed boy.... oluwa provide a talented son o.

junia said...

God bless u Lateef Jr, God bless Nigeria.

Nice one jare

And who will scout these kids? Who will develop them? Quit talking out of your yansh. Hater

Nice one from the scout, Nasidi.
We need to catch them young before he becomes the likes of Jordan Ibe, Bamidele Alli

Lol.. Boy enjoy. More Instagram followers for you

We cnt wait to hv him o!
Fine boy

interesting

Gud

Luciana Chinda said...

Thanks cool

Young sports prodigies never live up to the hype. I'm thinking of former Ghanaian prodigy Freddy Adu as I type this. The boy is part Nigerian born in the US, so it's a massive stretch to call him Nigerian alone.

Lazy Naija........wanting to profit from another mans work. Where is our sport in schools? Where is our local league? That's wht someone will give Yam in Nylon to children in school and idiots will be applauding him. Our biggest resource in this country is human and we don't behave like we know or care.

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

The boy is good, I have watched his videos, he has mad skills and he plays as if football is not a sport, like its a joke, when he dribbles...

Nigeria don't need him... Cos they can't value him, US should take the boy period #fuck Naija

Nigeria don't need him... Cos they can't value him... US should take the boy period #fuck Naija

Naija get talents

Golda Awosika said...

Lol, nawa o. Ds small boy and all ds wahala

Nenyechi said...

We v amazing talents in d streets dey need to be regnized n trained bt una need d one wey oyibo don wash

Enter your comment...,

Naija is so blessed,our only problem is Bad leaders

Pearlie said...

It good to hear something good about Nigeria.

Hahahahaha.... true the one that will cause trouble... anyways still skillful child he is.... I would be proud if he were mine.....:D

Happy for him to know that there place like home, u are welcome boy.

They ones under Nasgidi's nose, he no see, na the one wey dem don train he want. Boy, ask the Senior what treatment they got from their fatherland and be shocked.

Gud.

Fred said...

If he comes to Nigeria his skills will die due lack of effective practise equipment.As a brother pointed out above me there are so many talents in the village go recruit!!!!

Please dont play for Nigeria. Your life will be ruined. Nigeria does not take care of its own

LINDO THIS YOUR CAPTION NA GBOZA. BIDDING WAR KOR, BIDDING FIGHT NI

naija U-15 that are 25 years old

You're a fool. Why don't you go start your own blog and let's see your own headline? Someone is there making money you you're here complaining. Linda abeg carry go jare.

Child Prodigy!!!

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Lateef, I am a Nigerian and would advice your parents to please let you stay back in the US or you might be lucky to get a European club sign you up.
Forget about Nigeria being your fatherland, they will waste or kill your talent in Nigeria.
I sincerely will never encourage you to leave the US and come play for Nigeria.
God bless you.

Interesting!!

Yaay 💋💋 nice

God 's best to him.

#Linda'spal

blacksrule said...

Anon6.39 sad bt true.

Only if Nigeria would know how to manage a player like him.

#XENO-FABIAN

Viva said...

ok lets c hw dis goes..seems like a grt talent
linda post my comment o
#IWASHERE