Nigerian Army reacts to group's call for Buratai's to be investigated in $2.1bn arms deal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 January 2016

Nigerian Army reacts to group's call for Buratai's to be investigated in $2.1bn arms deal

The Nigerian Army has reacted to the call by the Save the Nation Group, for Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai, to be interrogated over the $2.1 billion arms deal. The group in a statement released yesterday said that since Buratai was the Director of Procurement in the Army between 2012 to 2015, he has questions to answer. Reacting, the Nigerian Army in a statement signed by the Acting Director Army Public Relations, Col S.K Usman and released today, said contrary to this claim, Buratai was the Director of Procurement from 2014 to 2015. Read the statement below...

The Nigerian Army has noted with dismay the attempt to rubbish the hard earned name and reputation of the Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Tukur Yusuf Buratai and the Nigerian Army by a faceless group that called itself “Save the Nation Movement” (STNM) through orchestrated campaign of calumny in the media. In a release signed by Steven Chilaka, its “National Secretary” on Sunday, they wanted the Chief of Army Staff to be included among those indicted in the ongoing probe of abuse of funds meant for the procurement of arms simply because he was the Director of Procurement at the Defence Headquarters (DHQ). The public will recall our earlier warning of this type of campaign of calumny against the Nigerian Army and the Chief of Army Staff. This has again reared its ugly head again. Unfortunately, the movement could not get their facts right as has always been the case with people with dubious intents. Contrary to their mischief, it should be noted that General Buratai was Director of Procurement at Defence Headquarters from March 2014 to May 2015, not from 2012 to 2015 as they wished to mislead the public. Furthermore, there is the need to educate the ignorant group that, Defence Procurement in Nigeria is decentralised; each Service is responsible for its procurement. It is advisable for the group to look elsewhere if they want to attack the Chief of Army Staff. For the avoidance of doubt, the Chief of Army Staff has never been involved in any questionable act throughout his career as military officer let alone when he was at the DHQ. As a matter of fact, the Chief of Army Staff has always been a reference point in exemplary conduct, probity and integrity. It is on record that he voluntarily declared his assets both as Commander MNJTF and as Chief of Army Staff. In addition, he has directed all Nigerian Army officers to do so. One wonders what is the faceless group’s motive and why they are in a hurry to rubbish the good name of the Chief Army Staff and the Nigerian Army, when there is a Presidential Panel already working selflessly. Why is the group trying to jump the gun. Let these mischievous elements which Steven Chilaka represents, allow the Panel to discharge its duties dispassionately as it is doing. It is advisable also that the faceless group should get their facts right and not just merely speculate or disturb us with their wishful thinking. They should further understand that whatever mischievous intentions they have against the Chief of Army Staff and indeed, the Nigerian Army, both would not be deterred, we shall remain focused and never to be distracted. Consequently, the public is please requested to disregard the so called Movement’s evil machinations which would surely fall back on them. You are please requested to disseminate this information to the public through your medium. Thank for your kind cooperation.
Colonel Sani Kukasheka Usman
Acting Director Army Public Relations

69 comments:

Observed, ghenghen, with all humility and honesty I have feelings for Linda Ikeji and would sincerely wish to meet her in person this year as part of my resolution.

Correct. Na now una com

Let's hear word hiko

Enter your comment...dats d rit tin to do

Not my buziness.Abi linda!

Anonymous Personified said...

Okay.
#watchingfromtheotherside

Criminal is supporting criminal

Let's go Linda

Part two.

Part two.

Andy sneh said...

Hmmmmmm

We need light o... Which kind suffer bdis abeg.....

I said it the will come up with one scam thing just to defend buratai.
Waiting for liar muhammed to do the same Nigeria have sold there to to satanic change an the result with be hot as hell.
This is change.

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Gbamest!!!

They should go n sit down. Mtcheew.

chizobaorjioke@gmail.com.

The has a question to answer. QED

Reactions everywhere. Let's ve solutions instead

Good for dem to clarify the issue ASAP. Linda take note!

Hmmmmmm

Demmy said...

Return match, we don hear o

Biko they should go and rest and stop all this drama#season 2#Lindangwanu#

Don't mind the faceless bastard.Buratai carry go.we know all them that are involved.Ebele Jonathan is their ring leader.used our money for his re-election bid.it will never well with Ebele Jonathan,omooba

Am not sure if you successful complete your secondary school level. Because you are so daft that you would even argue a proof all in the name of commenting .

did not really understand any point in this whole gramma.

Jimoh Rapport said...

True... baseless nonsensical allegation...

JohnJeanK said...

Truth talk

we no fools, there is no how buratai and danbazaw will not have hand in the arms deals if its true, APC defending them has shown that thses were the people sabotage the effort of the military bcos buratai n danbazaw was using the money to support APC thats why the president gives them position for job well done. the truth will be told soon thats why they dont want DASUKI to talk by himself but using social media to deceive nigeria

helen said...

we no fools, there is no how buratai and danbazaw will not have hand in the arms deals if its true, APC defending them has shown that thses were the people sabotage the effort of the military bcos buratai n danbazaw was using the money to support APC thats why the president gives them position for job well done. the truth will be told soon thats why they dont want DASUKI to talk by himself but using social media to deceive nigeria

Nenyechi said...

Oh yes

Alpacino D said...

He should also answer for the soldiers' money he eats, and the trapping of soldiers fighting boko haram jst to gulp up their death financial rights. Wen ur time is done...... U will be like the man drowning, that grabs at straws! Compeleya de lacribotos!!!

We are waiting as it unfolds. I still maintain that this fight for corruption is one sided.

saaskeraa said...

clearly explained and thats the correct way to reply faceless and unjust group like the above mentioned. change is happening in nigeria. Glory be to the Almighty Allah

Hw e tk affect us

Oh yes

at least the time he was in office has procurement officer has been defined for mischief makers

GHOSTFACE said...

sigh!!!

Pesin Pikin said...

Tefe said...

the Nigerian army is too political, what nonsense, did the group call for the Nigerian army to be probed or just bugatti? the army need not reply to cases involving a single individual in the army,they are supposed to be non-partisan and apolitical but all we see is nonsense defense anytime a serving officer is being scrutinised.

Politics..

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

sanrock said...

Is wah oo.......problem all over.....God bless 9ja

Okey E said...

I don't know if these our so called leaders think we are fools. how can Buratai be a procurement during this bazaar and period looting spree and take his own cut. The man should be jailed first while he proves himself innocent

Na waoh for my country oh. In Nigeria these days, everyone is quick to react to insinuations and politricks. Truth would always prevail finally.

Badmos Olanrewaju, I'm sure "you successful complete" yours! Throwing stones when your abode is a glass duplex.

Okay na ...

Okay na

Ok. We don hear.

mimz said...

That group is really dumb, Buratai was commandant Nigerian Army school of Infantry Jami (NASI) until 2014. Its a shame that in a bid drag him into the shit they couldn't get the facts right. Shame.

Nigeria receive your healing..... Lindododo, I beg post my commen

Femi said...

note where d date he became procurement officer was stated.if u r well informed, u will kno d diff. Kalas!

Femi said...

note where d date he became procurement officer was stated.if u r well informed, u will kno d diff. Kalas!

Femi said...

SPK for urself dear...note where d date he became procurement officer was stated.if u r well informed, u will kno d diff. Kalas!

PDP LOSERS TRY HARDER. HAHAHAHAHA

All these PDP stupid blind supporters that also talk senselessly without facts. Rubbish people. Smtcheew.

Did Dasuki mention the Chief of Army Staff's name during his confession? Is it not the names that Dasuki mentioned that will be probed? Dumb fools asking foolish questions. Ode

Abi oh. Procurement officer is not thesame as finance officer or money distribution officer. Dumb idiots!

Since u claim you are not a fool, provide evidence na. The court works with evidence and not by wailing like a fool

@Okey E did Dasuki claim that he gave Buratai money? Is it not the money that they give to him that he will use to procure the arms? Did Dasuki mention his name? Is it not the names of those that Dasuki mentioned that will be probed? Or did GEJ give Buratai money directly without passing through Dasuki, Finance Minister and CBN? Pls stop reasoning with your anus. Reason with your brain.

Na them sabi! We need solutions !!!!!! % Linda Your Greatest Fan %

we are waiting....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Intimidating people instead of doing the right thing. Na wa oo.Was Buratai not the Director of Procurement from 2012 - 2015? Yes or No.If yes did Arms procurement not pass through him as a director? Nigeria Army should as a matter of integrity answer this simple question or preferably grant a press conference on this issue.

The evil elements within are in hot pursuit to scuttle this administration and subvert justice at all cost, rearing their heads like octopus with different 'good sounding names' but with evil intents. They will ultimately fail, except if God is not alive to bring justice to as many as were rendered orphans, widows, jobless and homeless by those high and mighty who plundered Nigeria.

TBH, I THINK THIS MAN SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED BECAUSE HE COULD'VE SOUNDED A PUBLIC ALARM ABOUT THE NSA'S REFUSAL TO RELEASE MONEY FOR ARMS ACQUISITION. I THINK HE KEPT MUTE COS HE HAD SOME KINDA UNDERSTANDING WITH THEM. DASUKI MAY HAVE AN AGREEMENT WITH BURATAI

R. McCoy said...

The general tone with which the Nigerian Army responds to allegations such as this is not commendable. Each time anyone tries to point out something wrong with the organisation, instead of searching inwards and/or putting the records straight, they try to demonize the person. As far as I'm concerned, this 'reaction' begs the question. What was Brutais' role in the obnoxious arms deal of the last administration? That's the question, and we need straight answers!

Hehehe..why investigate him....investigate past service chiefs

On a serious note,i think they have a point. The chief of army staff deserve to be interrogated and investigated at thesame time and if he is found wanting he should dance to the music as well.

Otubo said...

If the allege looted fund was released during his time in office, he.should b probed. I dnt care abt wat he was wat yr. Simple he shld clear d air

Aj said...

Freeborn or adopted born... which ever one you call your self. I'm sure you wrote this from your shop in one of these local markets in the village, cos if you actually saw the four walls of a University, Surely you will come to the recognition and appreciation of a factual information that the Army Ag.PRO has just passed into your skull, instead of aiding a political formed faceless group trying to mislead Naive citizens like you.