Prostitution allegation: Edo Women demand apology from Mrs. Obaseki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 September 2016

Prostitution allegation: Edo Women demand apology from Mrs. Obaseki

Women from various organizations in Edo State over the weekend in Benin demanded that Mrs Betty Obaseki, the wife of APC candidate in the state apologize to all Edo women over a statement, she allegedly made accusing the past PDP administration for contributing to the problem of prostitution among Edo women in the state.
They demanded she tenders an unreserved apology in all national dailies. 

Deaconess Regina Oviasu who addressed the women said that it is a something to worry about that Obaseki intends to lead Edo women she tagged as prostitutes.

She said:
“I want to stand and say that Mrs. Obaseki should apologise to all Edo women as mothers, wives, sisters, and daughters for the statement she made. 
She does not know Edo women. An Edo woman has integrity. She commands respect. She is hardworking. I think it’s a slip of the tongue on her part, and she must apologise”.
Former Executive Director of the Edo State Poverty Alleviation Agency in the APC government, Chief Evelyn Igbafe also complained about Edo women being labeled as prostitues by Mrs Obaseki.
She said:
“We are not happy that a woman who has a husband who wants to be the governor of Edo state will tag Edo women as prostitutes. We reject her aspiration. She can never become the first lady of Edo State. We will not close our eyes and allow such a woman who is not even from Edo State to tarnish our hard earned image”.

Source: Vanguard

53 comments:

Hian!

Ahhhh make she go apologiez for them nah,
read the top 4 things that attract a really good guy to a lady
challange your partner with $£X for 1-4-6-8 round without taking any man power
see rihana and and chris brown last photo before they seperated, see what thay are doing

Apology my ass.
Shameless imbecilic people in apc.
THIS IS TO SHOW U FOOLS THAT OBASEKI AND HIS BITCH ARE JUST A DISASTER AN WILL NOT SMELL GOVERNMENT HOUSE.
Edo please o unless una wan die in shame,hunger and disease don't vote for this animals that are only hunger for power but dont have a vision.
EDO PEOPLE RUN FROM APC OOOO AND UGLY OBASEKI

princess said...

Hehehe! Story like brasal!

Apology my ass.
Shameless imbecilic people in apc.
THIS IS TO SHOW U FOOLS THAT OBASEKI AND HIS BITCH ARE JUST A DISASTER AN WILL NOT SMELL GOVERNMENT HOUSE.
Edo please o unless una wan die in shame,hunger and disease don't vote for this animals that are only hunger for power but dont have a vision.
EDO PEOPLE RUN FROM APC OOOO AND UGLY OBASEKI

I support..she should apologise asap

thomas said...

Edo women both home nd abroad re very responsible people

C'mon she said they contributed not they were the chief architect of it. Tell me if unemployment,favouritism,corruption etc has not contributed to prostitution and other ills in the society.
PDP can retaliate by saying APC has contributed to herdsmen killings and hardship in the country
I see nothing personal here. Just politician talk

***************************lol*** ngwanu nwunye obaseki

Kikikikikiki.... Aside blaming PDP, she was down right!!! Edo, I hail oh, how fa with Italy? ����#BitterFact

Kikikikikiki.... Aside blaming PDP, she was down right!!! Edo, I hail oh, how fa with Italy? 🙌🙌#BitterFact

HRM Paul said...

Let's call a spade a spade sex is associated with Calabar girls prostitution is associated with Edo girls moni to igbo folks so. What she said is not totaly wrong even though d trend is changing

Quebec said...

Just d way u used ur mum for rituals eh..Uju! Omo innaa hw far ur rituals na? Idiot!

the lady said...

were are the italylo mamas, the should come and defend them selfs ooo.

Mrs Obaseki is right.A place where a large number of mothers sponsor and push their daughters to Europe and other parts of the world for prostitution.let them face the truth and correct the issue instead of pretending it does not exist.

The fact that the cartel of those that take girls to Italy for prostitution make Benin their route does not mean all the girls taken into prostitution 're Edo girls. Judging from those that 've been repatriated in recent times there were ladies even from far north, east and west amonsts them. The woman was been rational she shld apologise and hide her face forever.

Hahahaha! Yes o! Edo girls r all prostitutes ooo.... I know of one very crazy one! Haha! Very very crazy one... Hahahahah....

Okk

This woman is funny oh..it's a known fact, it seems d woman has difficulty in reading.Edo girls carry prostitution for head...na me talk am.Mrs Obaseki ignore her

good oya she shd bera

Then juju is associated with yorubagirls.

PomPom said...

They should shut up. I from Edo state. I will tell u that it is very true. Parents struggle even sell their properties to send their children to Italy to do prostitution. They are. Very proud of it. Even wives leave their husbands and children to Italy to hustle. Although there are still a few of them with dignity.

PDP juju don catch obaseki wife... dee

Na dem sabi! Linda take note!

obiLondon said...

@Quebec, as much as I dislike the insensitivity of Uju in her comment, the Edo angle to prostitution in Europe is very real. A situation where the overwhelming majority of women trafficked for prostitution into Europe are from Edo is alarming. Any reasonable state government would have gone out of its way to counter it but I suspect that they shy away from it because they can't provide alternative employment or source of revenue. Also I'm quite certain that the high number if Edo women trafficked into prostitution in Europe is because the people controlling the illegal racket are mostly Edo indigenes and prefer to use Edo girls because they are easily accessible to them and their associates, and because they understand the psychology of their own women and how to control / intimidate them. It's definitely not because Edo women like prostitution more than other tribes in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, let's not even go into talk about perpetrators of rituals and fetishism.

All of u that said all Edo girls/women are prostitute thunder fire una, ur mothers and sisters are prostitutes including d person that consented it's through and he is even from Edo state, it's becos ur mom and sisters are prostitutes that's why u know cos u said it from experience idiot

@pompom or whatever ur name is u are speaking from experience cos ur mom and sisters are prostitute

Dumbo

Shut up. Na lie she talk before? Most of you sponsor the poor Edo village girls to go to Italy and prostitite to make money. You use them as sex slaves. All she said is that she will try and tackle it when she comes into power. PDP is sponsoring women to twist what Mrs Obaseki said to gain campaign grounds. It will not work because who God has blessed shall no man curse. God will make the best person win no matter how hard you try. So PDP try harder in desperation and keep fooling yourselves. That's how you lied against Oby Ekwesili. Give up the act and change your evil ways of looting and stealing govt funds and twisting people's innocent speech. Fools

sammie blacc said...

Guy you're the most senseless person to ever come on this blog, pple like you dont make me bother commenting, only if i could see you in person so I could knock your dumb ass off. And by the way, Obaseki is a PDP candidate fool!!!

sammie blacc said...

Where your senses at fool! This guy na PDP.... Stop acting like a damn illiterate.

Omosigho said...

I am an Edo lady and i dont agree with all these PDP useless women. Mrs Obaseki never said all Edo women are prostitutes. She only said those sponsoring young girls to Italy will be dealt with and she will try and stop the human trafficking to Italy for prostitution. And so what if she is not an Edo woman? Is Ishiomole's wife an Edo woman? Was Babangida's wife a hausa woman? Please let's stop tribalism here and focus on the way forward. All these controvertial statements by PDP will not work. Let the best person win!

You are a bastard!

Ukinebo said...

Let's face it, Mrs Obaseki only said the bitter truth and she did not refer to all Edo woman. She only referred to the ones that are involved in the business of going to Italy and deceiving young teenage girls and later turn them into sex slaves. PDP was in power for 8 years and did not do anything about it. Now that APC wives want to do something about it, they are twisting what Mrs Obaseki said just as they twisted what Oby Ekwesili said. PDP desperate looters and thieves try harder because you will never smell that sit in Jesus Name

Aigbe said...

I did not see anything wrong with what Mrs Obaseki said. PDP should get over themselves

bhaire said...

Speak 4 urself

Mrs Obaseki is fine oh. Is this her picture?

PDP was in power for eight good years and they could not tackle the problem of trafficking young girls to Italy for prostitution. Somebody has identified the needs of the very poor Edo family and wants to proffer solution so that they will stop giving out their children to these traffickers. So, what has Mrs Obaseki done wrong in trying to provide solution to the problem? Mrs Obaseki did not refer to all Edo females, she was only referring to those involved in the disgraceful act. Please PDP should go and take several seats

Huh??? Make i hear..

How dare you tag a woman a bitch? Perhaps your mother is one that's why you shamelessly address a responsible woman in that manner!
She may have escalated the situation but she certainly did not lie about it! Foolish faggot!!

You're a bastard!

steve said...

Has hard as this is to admit its just the truth. Benin girls leave Nigeria n even risk their lives following road and crossing that deadly sea just to go n prostitute in Europe. Plus I just broke up wd my benin gf for dz same reason. N she made it very clear to me that she is doing it because she wants to change the situation of her family... well it doesnt mean other tribes dont prostitute too.. but the rate at which benin people do it ehn... its just too much.. nevertheless there are still very good ones there too.

Make God punish you, punish the belle wey you comot
Born throway.

Your mama na bitch, your papa na bitch horseband

deenity sealord said...

Abi na lie? Eey o, na true o Eey o..... edo babes I hail oooo

Emy said...

Okayyy! is that why Oshimole no marry from him state? Rather he imported 1 into the state. Akpu-akpa-nda!!!(in chiwetalu Agu's voice)

Na tribalism go kill una for Nigeria. Must somebody marry from his state? Uncivilised goats!

Dude na idiot na. U dey worry yourself? Tor

What is the reasoning/mindset behind Edo's abominable culture of trading girls/women's flesh for money all over the world? Allah sarki

The point is not whether Edo girls are known prostitute or not the point is what did this presnt APC I mean ApC and including Mrs Obseiki ,as she iis also a part a part of the presnt administration that has been here for 8year what did she do? To fight prostitutions in Edo , how many girls she help, maybe ibn her blame game she forget that the out going administration is APC, na so them dey forget themselves, if Edo like make them dey mumu , if this kind one open mouth for our state we go finish am, forget apology vive her 20 for her 1 , APC can't stand and talk any where for Niger delta, TUffai!