Ibidun Ighodalo opens up on her search for a child: "People who get married and have children don't know how lucky they are" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 September 2016

Ibidun Ighodalo opens up on her search for a child: "People who get married and have children don't know how lucky they are"

Former beauty queen Mrs Ibidunni Ajayi-Ighodalo opened up about her search for a child in a rare interview with Thisday's Nseobong Okon-Ekong.

The wife of Trinity House founder and accountant, Pastor Itua Ighodalo also talked about dedicating her life to helping others through her Ibidunni Ighodalo Foundation, IIF by funding IVF treatment for couples who are hoping to have their own children.
When the CEO of Elizabeth R got married in 2007, her expectations were like those of every many married woman, to give birth to children. Her wedding to Itua Ighodalo, was celebrated, even if it was attended with a heat of debate from his previous union.

Nonetheless, friends and family members rallied round to give them the much needed support, while other interested members of the public attracted by their individual and combined eminence followed with keen enduring attention.
Close to one decade on, the loathing generated in some quarters at the onset of their relationship has definitely receded. The rumour mill which spewed torrents of lopsided and coloured tales that caused the couple a lot of trauma, even if a bit, has withdrawn, but the pain of those turbulent years live with her still. For one who keeps to herself, the scrutiny of her marriage in the public, led her to sew-up. She reduced the number of persons she called friends to a handful, becoming more and more engrossed with her husband.
"I have heard stories of in-laws calling the woman painful names. Those are hurtful things to say. There are names you don’t want to call a woman that is looking up to God." Mrs Ighodalo began...
 She continued to share her experiences.
"People may not want to be mean, but they don’t know that certain statements and body language hurt. When you are waiting on God, you can be sensitive to what people say or do and they might not know it will hurt or hit you. It is good to raise awareness and understanding about childless couples. Friends and relatives should be a bit more sensitive to women or couples who are waiting on the Lord. I know that because of our culture, the pressure is so much. The shoes of women who are waiting on the Lord are not very easy shoes. Emotionally, mentally and psychologically, hormonally, when you are going through treatments, it’s a rollercoaster-you deal with in-laws, society, friends, there’s a lot going on." 
"People who get married and have children don’t know how lucky they are. I mean you are even careful not to get pregnant again, you are so blessed by God, you should thank God every day. It is not easy to find yourself in a situation where your friends are doing school runs, you don’t know what that is, you don’t even know what your first trimester is. The friends you had bridal showers with are having baby showers, it takes the grace of God to remain sane, honestly."
On her 35th birthday last year, she decided to turn the lemon that life had thrown at her into lemonade. It had become her fashion to write a wish list on the day she was born and then tick-off the accomplished ones on her next birthday. Every year, she scored high on every point, but one: The issue of childlessness had become a sore point that could not be addressed. She had prayed and sought different avenues for a medical solution, but the problem just could not be wished away. Although she enjoyed the understanding and love of her husband and in-laws, the quest for a child consumed her.
"I had tears in my eyes when I told God, ‘you know what? This is enough. You are going to do it when You want to do it, in Your own time and if You are not going to do it, let it be left undone. This is You. I trust You. Right now, it’s ok, I’m going to live my life. I found out that I had stopped living, because that was all I wanted. I said no, I’m going to be happy, live my life and leave it all to God. I’m grateful to God for my own family, for the family I’m married into."
Those statements to God with tears in her eyes opened a window to air her bottled emotions. It lifted a huge weight off her shoulders. As she cleared her mind of the cobwebs of trying to have a baby, she was amazed to receive one of the most altruistic ideas with clarity. Her husband was no less enthused when she shared the idea with him.
"My focus now is to help others, one at a time. I want to make a family happy and with the help of God, their prayers would be answered. I know the pain and what it feels like. It will give me joy to see them jumping and rejoicing, saying that they are expecting their own children. I have seen it happen. I have seen the two sides during my course of treatment. I said God help me, let me do this. When you focus on helping others, you don’t know the blessings that come back to you. It is difficult but I said Lord you have put this in me, You have to provide. You know when God gives you a vision, He makes the provision. I have been amazed at the response. It is unbelievable." 
"When I was going through some treatment, I would get to the clinic and someone who has just done a pregnancy test was being told that it didn’t work, it was always so devastating for me to hear them wonder aloud where they would get money for the next treatment. I have met women who came to the hospital to get the treatment but they couldn’t afford it. Some couldn’t even afford the test to know what was wrong. I have also met women who decided to share their burden, this is how financially draining this treatment can be. If you have extra eggs, you can sell them in exchange for the treatment. When women share eggs left from a successful IVF on another women or they use the woman’s extra cycle that has been paid for, these are ways women support one another because getting an egg donor can be very expensive." 
"It is so strange and funny, but when you sit back and think about it, every family has somebody who is waiting on God for a child. The person might be your cousin or mum’s sister. There are certain ways we will treat the person. But do you know that there are certain ways we treat somebody else coming into our family with the same issue? We don’t treat them the same. It is not intentional. If you have in-laws who are not nice to you, they will think it’s your fault. They will call you names, talk down on you. If your in-laws have somebody in their family who is waiting, they will never speak to the person like that. We really need to have a support system and also learn to put ourselves in other people’s shoes."
The graduate of Microbiology from the University of Lagos is using the platform of IIF to award grants for fertility treatment such as In Vitro Fertilization (IVF), Frozen Embryo Transfer and Intrauterine Insemination. She was forced to change her initial plan to help one or two couples when she received tons of applications. The plan has now changed to accommodate 28 couples.
"There are some couples that have applied that have been married for between 20 and 25 years and when I read their history, they have come to a point where they are tired. I even found out that it was their family that applied for some of them. A lot of people have asked me why I don’t face my life, why am I trying to be Mother Theresa. What is it? Is it that you have so much money you don’t know what to do with it. I can’t even explain it."
Source: ThisDay

60 comments:

1. Aunty, why not help your brother Dare who is struggling to pay his children's school fees? He has 3 kids..why not adopt them? God will help you with your own kids. Every woman deserves to be a mother.

2. Dare get his own issues. You do not have empathy at all

3. Why did a struggling brother have three children! Isatiable humans! Why has he not sent one to live with her and be there for her. See humans trying to reap where they did not sow! She will do as God directed not bend to the caprices of humans! Proud of you Ibidun.

2. God is her muscle 💪....
    Skipping over to the next post bcox I'm seriously addicted to Linda Ikeji blog..

#MY_POINT_THO

#SMART_LIB_READER

3. Dear God wil do dat thin he promised ok..jus chill dnt panic

4. SHE SHOULDNT WORRY SO FAR AS SHE HAS GOD.

5. God will grant your heart desire at the right time

Ilovemywife

6. It is well with her. Linda take note!

7. Our God who said that "there shall be no barren in the land" will definitely visit you and every other woman seeking that BLESSED FRUIT in Jesus Name, Amen. For He does not look at faces before He dishes out THAT gift neither does He consider our sins. Therefore, your case will never be an exception. Believe in HIM and keep hoping, GOD WILL FAVOUR YOU. AMEN.

8. This is ur season ur prayers has bin answered in Jesus name.

9. God will surely surprise you ma!

10. God bless ur heart Ibidun,there is absolutely nothing too big for God to handle. May God in his infinite mercies open up ur womb and place special miracles that will make the world rejoice wth u and many others going through this situation. God will bless u soon with ur own children,n u will begin to write about motherhood IJN.

11. Awww yours would come soon.

12. Verily he sees all and knows best...surely he is most merciful..you shall be called mama bom boy soon...just be patient ma

13. Thank you.the Almighty God will bless you in abundant.And I pray for you today that God will remember you and wipe away your tears.nine months from now you will come share your bundle of joy with us.IJN,Amen.

14. You need a life and you are on the right track. When you least expect it the children would come. Don't given up on yourself as the lord who gives children has not given up on you. Assisting couples financially is a noble course and God would definitely bless you for that. He knows what you are going through and he is most likely preparing you for what is ahead. I have been married for a decade and a half I know the pain Every month secretly hoping to have a missed period only for Mr, Red to come knocking. Or is it the IVF where you get really bloated, uncomfortable, Days you struggle to inject yourself and you have difficulties with the needles or getting a suitable site or is it the spending of your savings and then at the end of the day unsuccessful outcome. My sister it is well. Get busy doing what you enjoy doing. That way in the future when you look back you would have no regrets.

15. God bless you Ibidun. I have met you twice and even though you don't know me personally....I've have prayed for you several.I got married in 2007 too and have been waiting on the Lord as well....but when i see you walking gracefully ....i am encouraged. I know God will answer us in an incredible way. Our extra ordinary testimony is on its way.

16. av been in ur husband church once d good God will give u urs 1day...

1. Dis is deep. God bless ur hearts my pastors

17. God bless you more Mam. Can't even imagine the agonizing pains those women feel, may God bless them with the fruits of the womb. 🙏

18. Its not easy but wait for God time

19. God will give you a child!! Trust and believe my words..

20. "Its Not Intentional"....People need to always remember that when they talk down on people that are waiting on God.

21. May God grant her the fruit of the womb at his time.

22. May God reward you and bless your heart desires....Amen.

23. This is such a lovely interview,enjoyed reading it. So proud of this woman .God bless you mrs Ighodalo

24. Very true very inspiring

25. Enter your comment.God will surely answer ur heart desire

26. Beautiful woman with a beautiful heart. Pastor Ituah has influenced so many families, mine not excluded. The lord will bless you with your bundle of joy very soon in Jesus name.

27. It's a rollar coaster of emotions, people who get preggy easily don't know what they have. I pray God answers our prayers in due season. So that we can be called fruitful mothers

Www.bolatitoblog.com

28. When she go marry another person husband,wetin she expect? Nonsense! Wait ko wait ne!

1. Ibidun married a man who was single following seperation from his previous wife! May you know the pain of childlessness!

29. I hope she has returned the children she abducted from Olamide Agunloye. Return her children to her if you haven't. Omo meta tan lo ko sodo. Stop shielding your irresponsible brother, return her children

30. U said previous union? That's 2 say he was married b4 u? Hmmmm!!! Na another person husband be dat oh! Go marry ur own so that u go see Pekin eye! No dey do urself wayo dey call God name in vain joor! Na sisterly advise be dat,no be course! Or u ask God 2 open ur eyes 2 reality & stop deceiving urself !

31. bless her soul , well done Ibidun . God will answer you sooner than you think .

32. Awww really touching interview , I read the one on Bella Naija , absolutely beautiful piece

33. Wow, madam God is not asleep, at d right time, he will visit u.

34. Madam if you want Child ,please put your bible aside go home ,you are 100% yoruba girl ,go tradition and God will bless you with children talk to your Olori Ebi .be smart oyibo religion is foreign but God exist for us all .G o traditional.if possible review with Ifa Oracle .- Ifatunde

35. Keep trusting him Our God is a faithful God i have two aunties that re living testimonies of what God did, at a point we look at their children nd ask, if its real i tell u sometin his word will never go back to him void next year dis time u will share your testimony cos frm dis nite i will intercede on ur behalf my God is able to do exceedlly above all we can ask or think.

36. Keep trusting him Our God is a faithful God i have two aunties that re living testimonies of what God did, at a point we look at their children nd ask, if its real i tell u sometin his word will never go back to him void next year dis time u will share your testimony cos frm dis nite i will intercede on ur behalf my God is able to do exceedlly above all we can ask or think.

37. Keep trusting him Our God is a faithful God i have two aunties that re living testimonies of what God did, at a point we look at their children nd ask, if its real i tell u sometin his word will never go back to him void next year dis time u will share your testimony cos frm dis nite i will intercede on ur behalf my God is able to do exceedlly above all we can ask or think.

38. D inlaws and husband are understanding because pastor itua already children from his 1st wife.ibidun go and marry ur own husband!

39. Let me throw my 2cent into this matter. First of all, the writer is not a Saint. But Nigerians need to speak out TRUTH most of the time. Mrs Ighodalo I dont know but let get some Christian points clear. When in the house of God, there is Sin pervading and you pray to God to change somethings, it is hard for God to listen to that kind of prayers. So, the circumstance concerning her marriage is circumspect. When the foundation is faulty, there is bound to be things not going right. What good does it make if you have children and your name is not written in the book of Life which is the Most Important thing for any True Believer of Christ. True Christianity goes with RESTITUTION. Whatever you took that dont belong to you from a Christian viewpoint must be Returned. Christianity is not preaching, that is the simple part but DOING God's commandments

40. My ex-boss, yes you have a beautiful heart. I pray that 2017 will not elude you In Jesus Name as I use myself as a point a contact who got married in 2006 and gave to my 1st child in 2013 that you Ibidun will rejoice very soon.Amen.

41. God bless you dear.we were mates back in Unilag. Am also in the same shoe but i pray that by this noble gesture of yours,there shall be no more fruitless efforts. Amen

42. Madam,in the NAME of JESUS CHRIST be fruitful,muktiply and replenish the earth.

43. Because u have done all these to put smile on another people s face to the glory of GOD, YOURS MUST SURELY COME!!!!
    I tap the code of the prophecy of Elisha in 2King 7;1 , and of the word of GOD to Abraham in Genesis 18:10 and also of the power of the incarnation of out LORD JESUS CHRIST, I prophesy upon U that BY THIS TIME NEXT YEAR, U SHALL HAVE UR OWN BABIES in the mighty name of JESUS, Amen. To GOD be the glory for it is well

44. Dear Lord please remember her like you remembered Sarah and Rachel.

45. We, my wife and i had similar challenge. what we did for that quest was simple;
    Because she was the one with the issue after doctor's confirmation - We put faith to work - She started reading christian books on fertility(books from Bishop David Oyedepo, Faith Oyedepo, Pst. Joel Osteen, Pst. Benny Hinn etc)- then we visit charity homes with soap, tissues, rice etc - We visit the children ward of a general hospital with enveloped 5K to offset some bill for some that had financial challenges - We bought cloths for our expected children - She went to SHILOH (Winners Chapel end of year programme) like Hannah did in the Bible - then concluded our quest by visiting the SCOAN (Synagogue Church of All Nation in Lagos) for deliverance (We all need this because of our background and foundation of our fathers). Today we have two beautiful daughters like the Hebrew women after waiting for three funny years; no operation - Let her try this task, putting aside what people will/ or might say and shame the devil - Let go of pride also, they will always talk, however. Jesus is still in the business of replicate His blessings - Like a Doctor recommending his patient to another Doctor for treatment, Men of God (MOG) have their different calling, there's noting wrong for a MOG to recommend their flocks to another MOG for God's touch via that individual - it's not a church thing but the person's calling....

1. Gbam! A lot of people do not know they come from backgrounds where our ancestors sold their souls to the devil and dedicated the souls of following generations in exchange for things like winning village battles n the likes. That is why in some families, it's either women don't give birth when they marry or they don't even marry at all, or the men do well but die in their prime etc. Let us be mindful of the fact that we all need deliverance whether we accept or not.

46. Really sad. Try surrogacy.

47. Ibidun can help our world by adopting an abandoned baby and show love to that baby through that God may bless her with her own baby. Please ma'm stop whining, discuss with your pastor husband about adoption, he's educated so he should be open to that. But hope the problem is not from him because his first wife didn't also have any child with him..........did that ring a bell........He should submit himself to test too.....Woman stop blaming yourself, enjoy his money or seek for divorce and try someone else. My 2 pence