Actor Taye Diggs says he takes offence when people refer to his son as black | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 November 2015

Actor Taye Diggs says he takes offence when people refer to his son as black

The 44 year old actor who has a 6 year old son Walker Nathaniel Diggs, with former wife, actress and singer Idina Mendez (of Frozen) wrote a piece about race where he said he finds it offensive when people refer to his son as "black.". What he wrote below...
“The first book I wrote, Chocolate Me, was based on my experiences growing up a little chocolate boy in a predominantly white neighborhood, and how I would get made fun of, and how through my mother and father and my own recognition, I was able to develop the power of self love,”
“My new book [Mixed Me] is kind of along similar lines for my son, even though in this day and age he’s going to have less of an issue being mixed than I did. It’s a book of self love and self appreciation and knowing that you are special regardless of what people will say about you because people will always say stuff,"
Diggs then turned his focus to President Obama, whom is often described as the first black U.S. president when in fact he’s biracial. Diggs hopes that soon society will begin to identify Obama more often as mixed.
“As African Americans we were so quick to say 'okay he’s black he’s black,' and then there were the white people who were afraid to say he was biracial because who knows. . . It would be great if it didn’t matter and that people could call him mixed. We’re still choosing to make that decision, and that’s when I think you get into some dangerous waters.”

65 comments:

1. Is like u are eating grass as usually,u really make sense here,keep it up

2. 😀 cutie 😀 yay he's black

2. Mstchhhhheeeewwww...he is not well at all

1. As in so so unwell, I always knew taye diggs was racially insecure, I've never liked him.., silly man

3. Is he not?

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    His son is fucking black and obama is also fucking black so he should deal with it...

5. He sounds like someone who don't understand what he is saying. Contradicting himself.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    His son is fucking black and obama is also fucking black so he should deal with it... Mix is not a race, yu are either black or white.......

7. And that's his greatest problem, mixed and remix? Smh

8. Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com)18 November 2015 at 11:08

Oh!

He should find sth better to say and not all dis wailing abt his son b black or not abi which complexion is his son other than black.

Biko he should park well and adjust himsef accordingly and I wish them all d best.

NB:
    Dis days to comment on LIB is really war and war. Ka! Dis proove u r not a robot is just sth else. Crap!

9. I'm sorry I'm lost here, what's he on about exactly? Is he saying being biracial or mixed is better than being black? I don't get

1. It's not about a particular race. It's the reality of things. Let's not be sentimental. If one is of mixed race, they are of mixed race regardless of what is on the outside.
      That's my take on it.

10. Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com)18 November 2015 at 11:12

My people u don't hav to justify any god damned soul wit dignifying hater's wit ur response abt wht they say or think abt u.

U r wht and who d lord say u r and when ever u reply any hater or person abt wht u they think or say abt u, then u r proving them right...

But when u keep them silent, then u r showing they r nothing but a BIG FOOL and IDiOT.

11. I don hear. I won't call him black

12. Taye Diggs.... what a Black idiots. Completely lost his sense of history, history and current society. I should slap the black out of him!

13. Inspector English,speak English pls

14. I don't see anything wrong in addressing his son as black, as long as he wasn't addressed as an alien

1. Reality is he is of mixed race. Even if he is as dark as moi and has white or Asian blood he is of mixed race. Bottom line is human race. It's that simple.

15. What is wrong with you identifying with your own people. You are Black so is your cute son.

16. Okkkkk so he's not black. Then what is he? Pink abi lime green? *confused*

17. What's wrong if people refer to his son as black? Last time i checked, he is BLACK!!!

18. He should find a suitable word to categorize him before blabbing. Yeah hez mixed and black

19. This man is full of contradiction, how can he talk about self love when he hates the colour of his own skin.

20. as far u are a black man ur son is black, though light skinned, but he's not white.... so deal with it taye.....

21. Anonymous Personified18 November 2015 at 13:04

Taye Diggs is high on some drugs.

22. Humans are of two colors: White and black, all other colors are just to make each other feel better and accepted!

23. Bia royal priesthood. ..are you normal at all?

24. I sense Taye has some issues. Black always supersedes any color it is mixed with. So his baby is black at the end of the day. Is he not proud of his black blood? When you go black you can't go back. This is not about racism, but about him accepting who he truly is. He should not end up confusing the boy abeg.

25. Abeg Taye go and sit down abegi. ..when you married a white women what did you expect??....pls take ur inferiority complex elsewhere and pray that your son should not experience any kind of discrimination cos as far as the white world sees it...he is BLACK!

26. NIGERIANS he's simply saying forget the skin completion and love the man within d man u see.

27. Alright, iwe go adi la Oku , I nor go call am black agn

28. Taye diggs ko, taye the digger ni. What then will you call a child from a naija man and ablack American lady? Bi continent?

29. Another black man who hates his color. What does it matter? Does he wasn't his child described as a mixed breed much like how we refer to dogs? His kid has Hispanic blood and therefore native American blood and black and so he is all of them and any one can use any of the descriptors to refer to him. Mtcheew

30. It's Idina Menzel...for future reference.

31. Taye you are a fool, has it occurred to you that is only black people who accept your son as their race, that is why they call him black. White people will never even accept him as half white or even mixed. You should be proud he have a black race that accept him. You have to belong to one race no in between ( You are either black or white)

32. lecturer go and sit your ass down , you're very stupid man , has Obama come out to tell you he's not African/America or has he denied the fact that he's black , don't worry we will call your son white . pussycat.

33. If your Father is black i suppose you are black, you don't bear you father and mothers name to show you are bi racial instead your surname is your fathers. so get a grip. if you are not proud of being a black, then we are not proud of you and your name should be changed to MISTAKE.

34. If your Father is black i suppose you are black, you don't bear you father and mothers name to show you are bi racial instead your surname is your fathers. so get a grip. if you are not proud of being a black, then we are not proud of you and your name should be changed to MISTAKE.

35. I didn't know that Taye Diggs was this confused until today. Thanks for sharing with us your stupidity. Next plzzz!!!

36. I kinda get what he is saying. However, he is not saying it properly.

I am black (Nigerian) and my son is biracial - black & white. I want my son to be proud of both his black and white side. So sometimes I get worried when he is identified as just black because it's as if we are erasing his white side. When I fill out forms for him that ask if he is white, black or Hispanic, etc and the form says choose one, I get pissed. My son is not just black and he is not just white. He is both so why restrict me to choose just one. So I check both black and white. It's not fair to his white side to ignore his white side like there is something wrong with being mixed. His last name is his "white" dad so I want him to recognize both sides. It's not self-hate, it's self love. Loving who you are and accepting who you are which is both black and white. When you look at him, it's obvious he is mixed so why not identify yourself as both without disrespecting either side?

- Naija girl in California

37. I'm not surprised. Taye Diggs always have hate for his dark skin. That is why he never fuxx with black women. He said he was teased a lot as a kid for being dark skin. Its not a surprise at all.

38. His headache biko, who cares! Linda take note!

39. Your fucking black ass has a black child.
    Did your woman get done by a white man or did your black ass turn white during the child's conception?
    Dumbass, Olodo.

40. If he (Taye Diggs) had been really born white, a black man would had suffered in his hands. Thank God he is not God. Who cares whether the son is white or black?

41. Hey Linda...quick note,Idina Menzel not Mendez...sounds alike tho...:-)

42. No,his meaning is we shld call him "mixed blood" lolzzz, so so funny. it so happens the result u were hoping for failed, ur strong black blood turned out stronger than ur white ex, ur boy is black or bleach him white like micheal jackson and b happy

43. ThatGirlAround :)18 November 2015 at 21:23

I agree with this guy.. people need to acknowledge mixed individuals because someone that has parents from like Mexico and England would be regarded as mixed not just British or Mexican the person is both. So in Obama' s situation he is truly mixed; Kenyan(black) and American(white because of English Ancestry). So in the real sense or biological way majority of the regarded black Americans are mixed because they are not just of black ancestry but also that of white ancestry due to the occurrence of the slavery rape by the white men or just been with a white person. But due to the whole human segregation in which the society has made sure everyone has to be either one or the other, they have undermine and discarded the other part of their ancestry.

So to concluded my long story he is very correct to say his son is not black but mixed, because the boy doesn't just comprise of black ancestry but both ones which might be just white or other races. Also Obama is not black he is mixed, has black and white ancestry.

But also it is sad we have a society where we are divided based on our skin colour 'white' or 'black', it even sounds very wrong to say.. Hopefully we can develop in the future in a way where we are regarded as just humans regardless of religion, race or any other form of segregation terms.