Pres Jonathan nominates Justice Aloma Mukhtar as 1st female CJN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 July 2012

Pres Jonathan nominates Justice Aloma Mukhtar as 1st female CJN

President  Jonathan has nominated Justice Aloma Mariam Mukhtar as the new Chief Justice of Nigeria. If the senate approves her appointment, Justice Mukhtar, 68, will become the first woman to occupy the office.

The current Chief Justice of Nigeria,  Justice Dahiru Musdapher, will retire on the 16th of this month.

29 comments:

That is interesting, i prefer her to others.
CHEVRON SCHOLARSHIP FOR NIGERIAN STUDENT, 2012

I see the Northerners are still ruling Nigeria!

Lobatan! Ija pari!!

onyx said...

Head gear no be here oº°˚˚˚°º

cindy said...

Thank God for women.

Well she's the next most senior after musdapher,that's how it's done

@anonymous 5:05, its not a matter of the Northerners ruling Nigeria. The law provides that the most senior (in terms of years) Justice of the Supreme Court is on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council to the President and subject to the approval of the Senate appointed the CJN.
So no need being sentimental about it or bringing regional dimensions into the matter, and besides, nothing suggests she's a Northerner

adukeologe said...

i'm not sure who she is but okay then. :D .

oya check out my blog for amazing ideas on designing your home the african way www.homafrica.wordpress.com

Issroai let's c wat she can bring 2 d Nigeria judiciAry as d first female CJN!!!!! Wise move GEJ *ZINA GH

Answers pls said...

At age 68? When is one supposed to retire from civil service abeg?

@ 68 shouldn't she be retiring as well?

I wish her happy stay in office. My advice is that she should be fair in her dealings
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Why re hausas taking every single position in dis country of our eh?... Chyk

The truth is dat her sex don't matter,what matter's is credential and antecedent,I don't know her and am a lawyer.she has not done anything magnificent feat for the legal profession...♍y honest position,this is a clear case of political masturbation.Legal Oracle from GH

Supa Sly said...

Yep!,& am sure there is a transformer in ur nebohud ryt? Jst do me a favour and go say 'hi' 2 it.

AT WHAT AGE EHHH ASIN SHE IS QUARTER TO RETIRE NOW ABI NO BE 68

Its not abt d north,shez next in line and will retire in two years n hand over to a kogi justice.Congrats My lord.

Let's have a lady 4 a change and see if she will blindfold her eyes like the symbol of law court and deliver good justice in this country men are gradually failing us. Good one JEG

One of Jona many girlfriends in power again.....smh

hope she gets it

please what is the official age for retirement especially in public office

Obie said...

This current government is giving women the platform to excel..@ least its a positive feature..

Yup!

Definitely good is a woman this time,but is,t she due for retirement.If not,hausa or not is irrelevant.Pls ma try all u could nd do women proud pls,do't buy into those bribery sturf.

Zeba said...

Is she a member of deeper life bible ministries??????? na crime to rub pomade for face? abi na bad tin to put vaseline for lips make e no be say harmattan dey kill am?

Cocobutter said...

C me lukin 4a job nd sm1 is getin promotion at age 68.may all political officers never know peace

Libero said...

@ anon 9: 07pm...am not sure ur a lawyer cos u dont sound like one that went past the gates of any of the 4 law schools in Nigeria. It is irritating enough to hear that ur a self-acclaimed lawyer and ur ignorant of her, her feats and her steady rise to the apex of the judiciary and u feel it is "political masturbation" to appoint the most senior member of the bench as the CJN?? seriously mr. lawyer??? U had better remove that your self-imposed appellation (Legal Oracle) and replace with ABIJA or LUKULUKU cos ur an impostor....mscheeeew>>>Its uninformed people like you that ridicule the legal profession (if u ever graduated with LLB let alone getting a BL)....non-lawyers here are more enlightened than u...for those who talk about 68, the official retirement age of supreme court judges is 70 so she has 2 jolly years to make her mark....Wish you a successful reign Mi Lord!

How could he put a northerner in such a position? They are anti-progress even when they are in power and especially when they are not in power, i.e., boko haram.

@Libero Ʊ b better mumu,d fact dat she climbed the legal lada of d judiciary is not a yard stick for appointing her,you talk •̸Ϟk a layman not just lay,but a dolly incapax am sure u are an hausa man.any way no need †☺ exchange words with you,you ɑ̤̥̈̊я̣̣̥ε benit me. Legal oracle says so form GH