Protests in London over David Cameron's election win | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 May 2015

Protests in London over David Cameron's election win

Some left activists Saturday afternoon desecrated a war memorial to the gallant sacrifice of women who served during the Second World War as anarchists objecting to Thursday's election result protested outside Downing Street.

Police officers were injured and vandals defaced a war memorial during violent protests in central London.

The graffiti - which read "F*** Tory scum" - was sprayed onto a statue commemorating the role of women in World War Two by protesters as they marched on Downing Street.

Dozens of protesters, many of them wearing masks or balaclavas tried to push their way through police lines. Some of the protesters brandished highly offensive banners as they marched towards Downing Street Protesters chanted 'Get the Tories Out' and 'Tory Scum' as they abused police officers trying to keep the peace Scotland Yard said two police officers needed hospital treatment and 17 people were arrested during the "unplanned anti-austerity protest" on Whitehall on Saturday afternoon as demonstrators reacted to the Conservatives' shock election victory.

The Royal British Legion today condemned the vandalism brandishing it as a 'senseless act'. 

The Metropolitan Police confirmed they are investigating the vandalism which formed part of the un-authorised protest which left two police officers requiring hospital treatment.

A Downing Street spokesman said: "Spraying graffiti on war memorials is a despicable display of disrespect for those who fought and died for their country, particularly at a time when the whole nation comes together to commemorate the 70th anniversary of VE Day."

In Cardiff, anti-Tory protesters took part in a rally at the Aneurin Bevan statue in Queen Street.
Singer Charlotte Church was among the estimated 200 people to take part.

She was pictured with a placard which read: "I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it any more."
A group calling itself The People's Assembly Against Austerity claims it is organising another demonstration in the capital on 20 June.

Source: London Evening Standard

44 comments:

1. Nawa oo..what is the man's offense again

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
    www.hawtshoes.co.uk

1. David Cameron's Govt doesn't give 2 f#cks about ordinary people. They believe if you are not rich, then you are lazy. He made desperate last minute promises (bribes) just before election day aimed at white middle/lower-middle class people, and they bought it. These are the classes of people that actually go out and vote. Working class people, who are actually a majority, can't be bothered to go and vote because they feel their vote doesn't matter. Black and Asians also have a lot of vote apathy.

2. Highly offensive lmaooooo! The British do Not play.

3. Dis is serious, and I thought tins lik dis only happen in Nigeria or Africa. God help them.

4. To cut the long story short. Dey don't want him to continue. Linda take note!

5. To cut the long story short. Dey don't want him to continue. Linda take note!

2. But they are right for the protest, because Russians mark theirs as public holy day I watch it on Aljazzera.

3. Haba! Professor Jega virus

4. Thank God for GEJ. And God will bless whomever adviced you to accept defeat...and for GEJ you will live Long and hear this You will still rule this country again,,, this time people will beg and die for you.... Long Live Federal government of Nigeria

1. Biko, as much as I love GEJ, I won't vote him again if he comes back to contest for any election.

Nigeria has youths who should be given a chance to prove themselves, we should be tired of these recycled greedy old men as "heroes" or "change agents"
      at what point are we expected to become the "leaders of tomorrow " if we keep voting these old men into power?

biko nobody will beg for GEJ cos Nigeria is moving forward.

<< LIB Addict >>

2. May your unholy prayers not answer ameen. Even if answered, may he rule your family generation.

3. Keep on dreaming day dreamer

4. U must be in wonderland. Abeg park well. Am sure u know nothing about finance and economy of a nation cos if u do, u would have known that ur GEJ ruined us financially and otherwise. He will never smell that seat again.

5. Please we don't need to retrogress as a nation. Are you still blind to the current state of this nation by this current administration? May we not have another repeat of this present maladministration again. Change is here! God bless Nigeria!

6. Stupid fools. GEJ will ruin this country if he eventually come out again.

5. And all these APC e-rat have seen what GEJ singular act averted for us yet they refuse to Thank God for sparing us bloodshed thru GEJ... Nature will judge all of them....

1. You eye no see people dey resign after electoral defeat UK abi? You still dey run mouth like your Oga

2. Ha omg shut ur yeye mouth biko ewu like u! Gej failed us and that's why failed in d election

3. Anonymous 6:56 name one Bigerian president Nigeria has said well done to? Name one politician Nigerians has not called a thief or looter? Just name on politician you want you child to be like? So good luck ruined us from 6years he served and who ruined also the other years before the came into seat. My friend take several seat at the back because I know in one little part of your heart you know he tried his best. But then the hate that clouds your mind will not allow you. I welcome the new govt and I hope you don't lash then too with you bad mouth some day.

6. Mumu, so Miliband did not call Cameron abi.... Its only Linda ikeji u ppl rely on for news...
    U guys need exposure

1. Miliband called Cameron indeed .

2. Thank you jare

3. Thank you.

7. I can consider myself as being of the left & liberal. But u know what; I hate the left. During electioneering & elections, they spend their time smoking dope & watching the khardashians, they don't come out 2 vote, so they lose. Now they protest & riot, belatedly.

1. Thank you.Don't mind them,useless sroungers.

8. So election protest is everywhere

9. Hehehehe thought it was only in Nigeria that people never liked the outcome of an election.

10. Rigging is everywhere. Diaris God

11. I don't think guy won that election, I believe labour won the election

12. Oyinbo too like wahala

13. lolsss, the deal is some people will still not accept defeat

14. To cut the long story short. Dey don't want him to continue. Linda take note!

15. To cut the long story short. Dey don't want him to continue. Linda take note!

16. Some people will just comment rubbish
    and applaud themselves.
    What nonsense!

17. GEJ knows what will befall this country that's why he accepted defeat. He's reasonable he doesn't what another bloodshed

18. Jonathan God bless you .

19. He won, no two ways about it