Presidential aide, Oronto Douglas dies of cancer at 49 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 April 2015

Presidential aide, Oronto Douglas dies of cancer at 49

Shocking news this morning. One of president Jonathan's trusted aides Oronto Douglas has passed away. The Special adviser to President Jonathan on Research, Documentation and Strategy and Niger-Delta environmental activist, died in the early hours of today April 9th at about 5am at the State House hospital where he had been receiving treatment for a cancer related illness.

The lawyer and environmentalist had been sick for a while but continued to work so hard because he believed in the Jonathan administration. He was said to be devastated when President Jonathan lost in the last Presidential election.

The former Commissioner for information in Bayelsa state was born in 1966. He's survived by his wife and children. May his soul rest in peace, Amen.

73 comments:

1. Oh wow! Never knew he was sick. May his soul RIP

2. RIP MAN, WHICH CANCER CAN B SCRAP OUTA D UNIVERSE...TOMJERRYSWIT

3. What stupid State House hospital??? Upon all the money he should have at least gone abroad for chemotherapy. All the same may his soul RIP. Linda take note!

4. What stupid State House hospital??? Upon all the money he should have at least gone abroad for chemotherapy. All the same may his soul RIP. Linda take note!

1. He went abroad for treatment & was told he had a few weeks to live so he returnrd in Nigeria to sleep peacefully.
      RIP Sir...from a cancer survivor.

5. What stupid State House hospital??? Upon all the money he should have at least gone abroad for chemotherapy. All the same may his soul RIP. Linda take note!

6. What stupid State House hospital??? Upon all the money he should have at least gone abroad for chemotherapy. All the same may his soul RIP. Linda take note!

7. Oh no! Cancer?? *sigh* R.I.P sir..

8. I pray God grant d family d fortitude to bear their loss.

9. Hi guys ur fellow LIBER needs ur help, pls open this link and vote for me named DAVID!!?
    https://instagram.com/nicoleadehi_valeo/#link_profile

10. Hi guys ur fellow LIBER needs ur help, pls open this link and vote for me named DAVID!!?
    https://instagram.com/nicoleadehi_valeo/#link_profile

11. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person

May his soul rest in peace
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

12. Eyea,too young,RIP Sir. Just wonder what causes this #Cancer...

13. Oh gosh!!! This cancer thing is really gainning territory. Plz, let's all be going for check-ups. Early detection is the only solution. R.I.P sir. God grant your family the fortitude to bear your loss.

14. Rip sir! I hope its not d presidency faile re-election that contributed to his death.

15. He was very vocal on many issues, an orator per excellence. He ll b missed indeed. May his soul rest in peace n God grant d family d fortitude to bear d lost. RIP.

16. Genniee baby's benefactor chaiii hope he settled her well cuz dis apc government no like actress kind na intelligent babes dem like

17. May his soul rest in peace.

18. He believed in which administration??? He blved in his Pocket,abeg! Minus 1 corrupt man. Good riddance. May his soul rest WHEREVER....

1. Useless anonymous may God punish u for speaking ill of d dead and u will remain anonymous forever

2. You comment isn't fair , speaking ill of the dead, too bad !

19. Cancer? Hmm .May God rest his soul

20. I really loved this man....I was hoping to meet him someday,Very intelligent and responsible!!!Awww rip my crush.So sad

21. May his soul rest in peace

22. Wow! What a loss. Good, intelligent man.

23. This ur age self you sure? Peace in Rest though.

24. After all the money this guy chopped. I am in shock!!!!

1. You will remain in shock for as long as you refuse to gain wisdom. Even if he chopped money as you ignorantly claim do you think that cures illnesses or makes people to live forever? You better think twice before slandering people especially deceased people.

2. Rest in peace sir, may the angels of God prepare a resting place 4 u. I luv u & miss u. I haven't met u in my life but am relying on all the tribute done for u

25. RIP, God pls help us overcome Cancer!!

Lose that Fat today, studies have shown that women looking for babies take in immediately after finishing the cleansing program!!! Remove those toxins from your body today! Add me on bbm: 2AE64CA6

26. Ah! This world is really not our home...We are all just passing through. Rest in peace Mr Douglas. We used to be comrades in the struggle until you crossed over to government.

27. May his soul rest in peace
    ~Idyllic has spoken~

28. Wow!!!! What a loss. RIP sir u did justice to Niger Delta history.

29. When i heard the news early this morning i screamed! so cancer finally won!

You fought a good fight Boss, you beat it before, i thought you would beat it again.
    You were a great man, a different stock, cut from a different cloth, a rare breed. Extremely knowledgeable in many fields.
    You taught me well, you made me believe in hope for Nigeria, you taught me to take pride in being a Nigerian no matter what.
    I am keen on Politics and political events because of you.
    Oga this is not how we planned it, you promised to be there for me when i take up governance as a responsibility, who will tutor me like you did and ask for NOTHING in return?

Thank you for giving me that push which i used in launching my vlog!!! even when i kept saying political critiquing wont make for many views on YouTube.

I will miss you a great deal. i am not crying, i am weeping.
    You left behind a young wife and little children, for who Oga? for who to take care of.

I will miss you
    Dumo Lulu Briggs will Miss You
    Nduka Obaigbena will miss you
    Mr. President will miss you BUT
    I am consoled that i will see you on the resurrection morning.

Sleep in the Lord OH Mentor!
    Rest in Peace.

CYNTHIA AMADI

30. May his soul rest in peace

31. May his soul rest in peace.

32. Since yesterday it was in the news. Linda. envious of the kardashians or obsessed I don't. Know which. No day passes without something on them. Are they the only people in the world? U need to upgrade maybe because they are no competitors yet. When they come u will have to up ur ante. Very disheartening Linda.

33. I have cried very well today, Uncle Oronto was a very good man. I sent him a text last month with prayers and he responded. It touched me to think that someone so busy and sick will find time to respond to his messages, that was how selfless he was. He had a great sense of humour and spoke yoruba fluently. He was a good friend of the Nigerian Entertainment Industry. His friends, Von Kemedi and Chioma Ude will miss him. I will miss him too. The Holy Spirit will console his family and loved ones in Jesus' name. Adieu Uncle Oronto, we love you!!!

34. Rest in peace brother

35. I pray for God's Grace upon my boss his wife to be strong at a time like this,am most grateful because he died in the Lord.rip sir

36. may his soul RIP.....u played ur role well

37. @Juliet Iwuno, you ignorant idiot (tho bitch would have best described u). The guy has gone abroad severally. He knew he wasn't gonna survive it, so he came back and went back to work. Y'all crazy muthafuckers, thinkin u can say shit wen u dint know the facts. Go get a life and stop lookin for shit to say LIB.

38. There is God. That's all!

39. May his soul rest in peace. Amen.