Photos: Naija old school artists hit the blue carpet for music event | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 December 2014

Photos: Naija old school artists hit the blue carpet for music event

Old School Nigerian artists including Styl-Plus (pictured left) and Mad Mellon and Mountain Black (Danfo Drivers - pictured right), Blackky, Azadus, Baba Fryo, Daddy Showkey, Marvelous Benjy, Jazzman Olofin, and others stormed the Hennessy Artistry event which held on Sunday Dec 7th at Landmark event centre, VI. They also performed at the event. See their photos after the cut...

Marvelous Benjy and Jazzman Olofin

Blackky and Azadus

Daddy Showkey and Baba Fryo
Not so old school, Ruggedman and Olu Maintain were also there...

And the headliner, 2face Idibia...

Right, 2face poses in support of Mike Brown...

163 comments:

1. Wow first to comment?! Wow God don collect my prayers. Thanks 4 d offer lin linda

2. Linda!!!!
      I almost collapse wth fear wen u referd baba frayo as olu maintain

Ps. Rename asap

3. Hahahahahahaha. I fear too o, shuuuuu! U even remember him name, all I know na say nor be Olu be that sha. Linda go use sapele water wash ur eyes again biko.

2. Replies
    1. OLdkul?Please Linda.. Everyone on the list but Stylplus and Danfo drivers.

2. u wanna keep being relevant not cool to be reffd to as old school! una try sha

3. 2baba stl be d boss

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

3. Replies
    1. Can som1 tell me why dis pple stopped singin biko?

2. Azadus don orobokibo finish o
      Wow hes looking fresh
      Still jamming is only single u is d one

4. Daddy shoki my main man...saw him @ the airport some weeks ago

5. Nice one. Okochirita@yahoo.com

6. Style Plus is that you. Guys come out of your shell and do more music. Miss those guys badly

7. Replies
    1. Humble man
      2baba

8. Wow, see marvelous Benji ooooo, hmmmm. Good to see him and others.. Kudos to Hennessey..

a journey of a thousand mile Begin's with T-FARE!!

9. Its been long. Good changes though.

10. This one na real old sckul o....kachilifestyle@yahoo.com

11. Most of dem looks dirty except 2baba

12. Only 2 baba nd daddy showkey I dey c o....d rest , MISCREANTS

13. Woah, kudos to the organizers! These here are the patrons of music of y2k! Good to see them again. Showkey!

14. Azadus is looking nice. Ma own pose is in support chokehold protest' I can't breathe "

15. Hahahahah..see dangote drivers oooo..dose guys were dope

16. I like dat. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

17. Gud fr dem

18. Lol @ Mad melon and Mountain black. Danfo dancer crooners... Shebi u be danfo driver shuo!
    Hehehehehehe! Good ol days...

19. And these people sang d best songs. Songs with meanings, natural voices and great beats too. Not d rubbish auto tuned voices, meaningless verses, razz beat and all.

20. Lovely ,Mavellous benji i see you.

21. twale sirs

petarken@gmail.com

22. Wow.....I dey see una oooo....feels great 2 see them again, nice one

23. I miss style plus,bn a while

24. Wot abt Dady Fresh? Oh, baby pull oooo pull ooo pull ooo coz body nobi wood farakiki faka hahahahahahaha

25. Styl plus, wen re u guys gonna give u a come back?

26. OK....seen... jessefamous41@gmail.com

27. Good to see them once again, I just wished style plus can come back again for real. They were missed by me #onelovefromSnow#

28. Awwww styl plus.....miss u loads
    Obprime@gmail.com

29. linda ikeji's boo9 December 2014 at 21:00

why are you calling them old school.the fact that they haven't being relevant sticks that tittle on them anyways.but they are still young and vibrant.

30. Wow...old skul indeed
    Gr8 men in industry

31. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thats great....

32. linda,i want to fuck your toto as my end of the year gift.please.08168223764

33. Seeing them again just made my smile... how cooool

34. Seeing them again just made me smile... how nice

35. Style plus... used to love their music.

Imagine that

36. Style plus luks so poor n hungry

37. Azadus...use to love his musiz. Dunno y most of dis guys pulled out.

38. Did where d real musicians, raw talents

39. Na so

richardemekagbor@gmail.com

40. Styl plus shud come back togethere

41. Linda you called Baba Fryo Olu Maintain...lol

42. There's something about that baba fryo.and e heavy for me mouth

43. Shuo,Azadus wan burst person head with that bottle?

44. Good to see u guys again, thumbs up.

45. >>>> These ain't old school enough, where are like of Felix Liberty, Mike Okri, the Mandators, Majek lol. Nice to see the Danfo Driver's again though, Styl Plus.... I hail o <<<<<

46. jesus...pls i hope m the 88th..i really wanna win plsssss.....plssssss

47. They are all look good..#teamgoodmusic#

Tommy309ng@gmail.com

48. jesus...pls i hope m the 88th..i really wanna win plsssss.....plssssss

49. I wonder why styl plus splitted. I love their music.

50. jesus...pls i hope m the 88th..i really wanna win plsssss.....plssssss

51. jesus...pls i hope m the 88th..i really wanna win plsssss.....plssssss

52. When music still made sense nwokorophilip@gmail.com

53. These are musical intellects. . Not the noisemakers we have nowadays.
    ™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

54. I love tuface any day anytime. classyherbie@gmail.com

55. Good to see their faces again. Abeg Linda, where is star plus now. Still in Nija? Xxxxxx Ndubuaku

56. All I see is Tuba a. Xxxxxx Ndubuaku

57. Tubaba started b4 most of these guys.

58. So styl plus is now old school, na wa o

59. Wow! Its been a long while

60. Wowww I love marvelous benji old school indeed. Jannygold378@gmail.com

61. Tuface is one humble dude...

62. Daddy showkey amd this his ghetto pose...good to see all this peeps again...love my 2baba...

63. where have they all been hiding,no reigns forever.

64. what happened to danfo drivers and their musical career

65. kelvindotunudoh@gmail.com9 December 2014 at 22:44

Showkey baba...kelvindotunudoh@gmail.com

66. I love dis feeling Christmas is near

67. come no allow me vex for u lindau u be my baby ooo all of them na old school but na just say them still dey inside game na wetin dem call old soldiers never die so linda all of them na old school even 2 face

68. I SEE ALL OF THEM TOO THE EVENT IS OK AN NICE

69. Wow,grt musicians

70. Beautiful people, but not old skools. Mc Baba Oloye says so

71. Wow cool. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

72. Awwww nice seeing some of their faces.

73. Choi..
    Back then in their days, never crossed my mind that they are gonna be referred to as old school by Linda.

By the way, who knew that the brains behind the songs that rocked club houses Africa wide would appear at an event with little or no recognition?
    It is called "time-shift"

Please anyone close to Burnaboy, Wizkid and Davido should please tell them that 'time-shift' is real.
    If they doubt me, let them ask Mad Melon(dumb name)

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

74. Eya they made music when naira had no value :(

(twitter/ig)

75. I really miss the likes of style plus.ransomeobedd@gmail.com

76. i m less concern.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

77. Back in the days.

Yemisi Z10 says so

78. Marvellous got new sound check it out peeps....(spacojolly@gmail.com)

79. My love for tubaba though*covers face* Lol ...just wondering what those other guys performed (except style plus of course) Lmao

80. nice to remember the old sku people. Make una releaze one single na.

81. Wilhelmina... Lol... "They all look dirty, except 2baba".... Like ur bf could look any better....

82. Nice 1.....miss u guys ooh especially style plus

#abbytohxoft

83. styi-plus wer is tuned?,azadus much respect bro.my number artist 2baba I feel u.weldone guys.

84. Niceee, Bringing them back. They all look good though.
    abimbolabello04@gmail.com

85. baba fryo I use to love tht guy's music. ozeisusan497@gmail.com

86. Styl-plus broke my heart when they splitted. But i'm happy to see that all our older musicians are looking well. Tu-baba, respect!

87. So lovely to remember the old skool guys

88. Nice thing to do, they look good

89. See their Igbo lips. chemnike mei oooo

90. For some of us weaned on their songs back in the day, its really cool seeing them again. Especially Benjy and Azadus...keep it up!

91. Shebi you be danfo driver sworrrr... miss them... style plus and others I hail una ooo

92. HANDSOME FACES.
    laura20gist@yahoo.com

93. style plus we need u!!!!! pls come back.

94. From these photos only style plus can still make a comeback.

95. lolz Is that babafryo see his stomach jazz man look like say he dey bleach

96. style plus eyah..........music is hard and sweet.to compose song no easy,try fish farming business

97. all looking old...its good to c them again..

98. these are the Pioneers of Naija Hip hop, by the way where are d rest of plantashun boiz, seyi shodimu,EEdris & Eddy remedy , Tetuila ?

99. Pioneer members of Niaja Hip Hop Music. Wey Tunde of styl plus, where is Eddy remedy eedris n tetuila, what about black faze n faze of d plantashun boiz?