Cultists hack driver, dump body on Lagos highway | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 June 2014

Cultists hack driver, dump body on Lagos highway

The battered body of a man was discovered on Olopo Meji, Oworonshoki Expressway in Lagos on Saturday June 14th. The body had been crushed many times by vehicles on the highway. Punch reports that the body was later identified as that of 35year old Yemi, aka Topia, a resident of the area.

A resident of the area, Michael Oladipupo, told Punch that the dead man was the son of a landlord on Mabawonku Street. Oladipupo said Yemi was not killed by a hit-and-run vehicle as the situation suggested, but his body was dumped on the highway to serve as an alibi for his killers. Continue...

“I was called this morning (Saturday) around 9am and told that there was a corpse on the road. I came here and saw his body on the expressway. But as we traced its movement, we discovered that he was dragged to the expressway from a spot close to the Oworonshoki Bridge.
“After killing him, they dumped him on the road so that the scene would look like an accident. Vehicles and heavy-duty trucks passing by have torn his body into pieces so that people will not be able to identify him.” Oladipupo said
He said he could not tell whether some parts of his body were taken away for ritual purposes or not.

Investigations by Punch Metro revealed that Yemi was murdered by a gang suspected to be members of the Black Axe Confraternity, popularly called Aiye.

It was learnt from sources who craved anonymity that the victim, who was a driver, was lured out of his room in the night and bundled into an iron cart, on which he was wheeled to the point of the murder.
“It was the Aiye members that killed him. Yemi is not a cultist, but he had friends who were Eiye members. Because there was a fight between the two cult groups, Yemi was mistaken for a member and targeted.
“They first inflicted machete wounds on him, but when it appeared he was not completely dead, they dragged him to the expressway for oncoming vehicles to finish what they started.” A source said
Some relatives of the deceased were seen sobbing near the site of the incident, while others were overheard breaking the sad news to other family members on the telephone.

A relative was overheard by our correspondent in the telephone conversation, saying Yemi had had a misunderstanding with a man who threatened to kill him.

She said, “They have killed him….He called me few days ago on the telephone that somebody came to his house with his boys and threatened to kill him if he does not pay the money he owed him.”
When our correspondent approached her for comment, she said, “He was sleeping in his room when they cunningly drew him out.”

Culled from Punch

47 comments:

1. Quiet there.may his soul Rip.

2. Yes o na yoruba,but igbokwenu born by mistakes killed him.oloshi,omo ale.

3. See dem replying anuofia di Ka.unu.mtcheew...ndi ALA

2. I finally tried that 112, my reply was, the number u dialed does not exist pls check the number and try ur call again. Thank you Jonathan and may it not be well with u, reno.

1. Ah!u cn lie ehn! D number is working.it is either u throw ur fone away or u correct ur bad mindset.#sick citizen

2. And you have to course your president??? Well maybe someone else laid the same course on ur dad that's why he gave birth to a dan-iska like you. I wonder the kind of homes you vagabonds in human skin, came from. Uncultured fool.

3. It is scary when a crime like cultism leaves the 4 walls of the school and spills into the streets. The problem is that in schools it can be checked and controlled, but out on the streets, that's a different ball game.

1. What are you saying? It should be the other way round. It's scary when cultism leaves the streets and hits the schools.

2. What are you saying? It should be the other way round. It's scary when cultism leaves the streets and hits the schools.

4. Don't be friends with cultists. A sheep shouldn't roll with a dog. He will one day be mistaken to eat vomit too. RIP Yemi.

CoolDiva speaks!

5. Oh!!!!!!! Wat sort of wickedness is this? Kai! RIP.

6. So sad!
    Brutality at its peak.

7. I must not comment

Mrs DAvido

8. Dis is bad..R.I.P..Another life wasted.........................#KingOfKings

9. Sooo sad.. wat a wicked nd cruel world. . Deirs natin good abt cultists. . May his soul rest in peace

10. Lagos is just a pole away from hell fire,20 naira bus n u don reach hell fire. Tufiakwa

11. How cruel can ppl be..dt is jst 2much..all dis cult shit sef

12. Who are the parents of this EVIL ones?

13. Things we hear of in times like this! What an ugly way 2 die... May the perpetrators of dz act be brought 2 book, may d family, friends and relatives of d victim be comforted and may the soul of the victim rest in peace.

~It's me noni! Ur 1 and only Abbie~

14. nawaooo, things dey happen ooo,,,,rip bros

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This is really sad, may his soul R.I.P....

16. People are heartless.

17. So they say "mind the kind of friends you keep". Rest in peace!

18. hmmmm, its well oo. God will judge them all. Wicked people.

19. You kill because you are owed who now pays the debt? Some peoples actions makes no sense.

#God answers all prayers#
    Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
    Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
    Every moment - Thank God.

20. RICHIE INSURED16 June 2014 at 13:26

I THINK THERE'S MORE TO THIS THAN IT SEEMS. BUT THEN AGAIN, WHY ON GOD'S GREEN JUICED UP BUT POLLUTED EARTH WOULD YOU KILL A FELLOW HUMAN BEING LIKE YOU'RE GONNA FEEL LIKE A DEMI GOD AFTER THE ACT? THEN WHEN YOU'RE CAUGHT, YOU BEGIN TO BLAME THE DEVIL WHO WAS ACTUALLY SITTING IN ONE SMALL CORNER THINKING ABOUT LIFE. *EDO SIGH* YOU KILL BY THE SWORD, YOU DIE BY THE SWORD. RIP TO THE VICTIM AND MY CONDOLENCES TO THE AGGRIEVED FAMILY.

21. Na people when he owe kill am or na aiye ?

22. So much for a fresh new week with such news.. RIP.

23. The story is two-sided tho,was he killed bcos he was mistaken 4 a member of d other cult or that he was killed cos of d money he was owing? Hmm my country! We shld try looking into a situation properly b4 dishing out info 2 d public,plus are those motorists blind? Why drive thru a corpse? That's not nice. Rip to him.
    Shygal.

24. How did this "source" get all this information about the cultists beating and dragging him all d way? Hmmmm

25. Ok na....

XDON D DON

26. @ANoN 11:58. A.k.a guttermouth,wat is wrong wit yoruba?if u dnt av a reasonable comment to give jst shut up ur dirty stinky mouth of urs. Eewu

27. Who knows what actually transpired b/w them dat can warrant taking his life. What a sad way 2 die! Rip.

28. Who knows what actually transpired b/w them dat can warrant taking his life. What a sad way 2 die! Rip.

29. Hmmmmmm.... Rip

30. One person said it was a cultist, the other person said it was a creditor who threatened to kill the debtor. RIP to the dead. The one who said it was a cultist should be arrested to give police some more insight and the person who said it was a creditor should also come forward with the details she has. either way who ever is involved must pay the price.

31. lindas boyfriend16 June 2014 at 15:37

Watch who Ɣ☺ΰ‎​ roll with to avoid stories that touch

32. The Blackman will be freed with an AXE.RIP Tobia,u were a brave soldier !!

33. 2bad 2 waste God's creature. D almighty God sees evrytin &wil reward us all accordingly. May his soul RIP,Amen!

34. Aye axemen! Eiye will continue to go down!! Aye axemen

35. Na Game, No Price, No pay.