Jama was first accepted to the competition two years ago but withdrew because of the swimsuit round, rather than challenge the organisers or compromising her beliefs.
This year, she however decided to re-enter in the hope of raising awareness over the migrant crisis, which she witnessed first hand during a volunteer trip to Egypt and Somalia last year.
The beauty queen, who will be one of the 40 finalists, told organisers that she did not feel comfortable strutting around on stage in a bikini and they agreed to let her appear in a beach cover-up instead.
'These
pageants are associated with beauty and modelling but over the years
there has been a platform for other females using their platform
differently. What I wanted to do was to raise awareness of what I have
been working so hard for,' she said.
So basically, she scores no points for the swimsuit category.
ReplyDeleteIssokay
ReplyDeleteGud for her
ReplyDeleteLet her go and sit down, terrorists people.u don't feel comfortable wearing bikini,so what are u doing there? Pretender
ReplyDeleteYou are Ignorant.
DeleteYou are Ignorant. People that think like you are the problem with this world.
DeleteIgnorant!
Deleteok
ReplyDelete-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds
Good for her
ReplyDeleteWhy join the contest, if you can't abide by the mode? Do Muslims always have others bend their ways to suit them, but never allow same with other people!
ReplyDeleteBeautiful
ReplyDeleteShe is Standing by her beliefs or rules. How many Christians can say No To This ? She has integrity.
ReplyDeleteIsokey
ReplyDeleteShe's not fine sefff
ReplyDeleteDis one is an old woman na
ReplyDeleteThe competition is for so called "infidels". Why would a Muslim want to contest abeg! Muslims should form their own, where they can wear blanket if they so choose and leave correct pageant for correct people. Gbam!
ReplyDeleteI really hope u are the only member of your family who thinks like this....if not, the problem of this country has never been more obvious.
DeleteRubbish, wetin be my own
ReplyDeleteShe wont win period!!
ReplyDeleteNonsense