Photos: Nigerian couple arrested in the US after their 3-month old baby is found with fractured skulls, broken ribs, bruises | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 April 2017

Photos: Nigerian couple arrested in the US after their 3-month old baby is found with fractured skulls, broken ribs, bruises

A Nigerian couple, Arinola 33, and Olalekan Olawusi were arrested in Providence, Rhode Island, US on Monday, April 3 and arraigned in court on a felony charges of child neglect, first and degree child abuse.

Providence Journal reports that early Monday afternoon, the frantic father called 911 and said his child was dying. Three-month-old Tobiloba Olawusi wasn’t breathing and didn’t have a pulse, police say, but Providence firefighters resuscitated the baby in their rush to Hasbro Children’s Hospital.

That’s where the medical staff found the baby had old and new injuries — bite marks and a fractured skull, broken ribs, arms and legs, said Special Assistant Attorney General Shannon Signore, chief of the office’s child abuse unit.

The baby’s mother, Arinola told the police that her husband, bit the baby and pulled his legs to "make him grow and strong,"
Whether the child will survive remains to be seen. The baby’s prognosis was still uncertain on Tuesday, Signore said.

The Olawusis were arraigned Tuesday afternoon, April 4th, exactly 24 hours after police were called by the hospital to investigate. Arinola Olawusi was arraigned in Family Court on a felony charge of child neglect. Olalekan Olawusi was arraigned in District Court on charges of first- and second-degree child abuse.

A judge set bail at $40,000 with surety for Olalekan and ordered him to surrender his Nigerian passport. The family has been living at 49 Constitution St., in the city’s West End. Both parents are ordered not to have any contact with the baby.

The state Department of Children, Youth and Families has been involved with the baby since birth, said spokesman Denis Riel. An older sibling is already in foster placement with a relative, he said.
DCYF is investigating the circumstances around the case and conducting an internal review, Riel said.
Riel said a caseworker can have contact with a family in state care once a month, according to national standards, but there is also a network of community-based providers involved with the family.
There was no formal complaint about the baby’s care, Riel added

A caseworker was assigned to the family, however there was no information released about how often the family was visited or what services were recommended.
Arinola Olawusi self-published a book — “A to Z Ways to Achieve Your Goals In Life” — which lists her biography as a motivational speaker who is “involved with helping pregnant and worried women and their children.” She wrote that she and her husband, Olalekan Olawusi, are “blessed with a loving son."

The jacket says, “She is very passionate about knowledge and information along with motivating and encouraging the hurting."

32 comments:

1. The husband look like a junkie

2. Yoruba demons again pls jail dem dey are beast see their faces

3. Another set of morons that have decided to export their wickedness outside of Nigeria.
    here is how to get a big penis

4. Wickedness knows no bounds.

5. They both look like the have mental health problems
    ....very sad...poop baby

6. Enter your comment...take a look at their faces. Don't they look insane?

7. They are on drugs

8. Yorubas repp'n

9. Department of child services reads comments on Nigerians from here too. Just so you guys know...
    Nigerians do not bite children or hit their legs to make them strong Biko...

10. I live in Rhode Island and can assure you that they will suffer greatly for what they have done. The child is at a one of the best children's hospital in the country, with doctors and nurses who will ensure that everything is done to save his life.
    Mental Illness is real.

11. People just opened mouth abt talk nonsense..i know them very well..they just try to resucicate the child and not to abuse at all.its just sad but God will intervene.

1. You must be an idiot for this your comment. You should shut da hell out if you don't know what to say. Trying to resuscitate the child in a country where 911 works perfectly and health care readily available? Even if you'll have to apply for support later for bills? Did you read they are medical professionals? Odensins, Onisokuso.

12. OH MINE!!I AM VERY PAINED & SHOCKED THAT THIS IS HAPPENING TO MY DEAR BRILLIANT FRIEND AARINOLA WHO IS FROM A WELL TRAINED AND RESPONSIBLE HOME.SHE WAS THE BEST STUDENT OF FURTHER MATHEMATICS BACK IN FGGCAK.I NEVER MET HER HUSBAND BUT I AM VERY DISHEARTENED AT THE MOMENT. WHYYYYYYY???? I HOPE THE TRUTH WILL BE REVEALED SOON.

1. I know this babe arin akinjagula.we grew up and attended the same secondary school in Akure.only God knows how she got herself into this mess.May God see her through this time and above all I'm praying for the miraculous recovery of the baby.

2. But why do they both look like this especially her? Na by force to live for america?what a pity?

13. I know her well. We grew up together. She was quite intelligent but had mental problem in FUTA at some point. Nice family. Dollar store in Akure belonged to them those days

14. They may be on drugs, how can all those things happen to one baby at the same time, even bits, and if (DCS) Department of child service been involved in the child's lifd from birth why they never noticed it? What made them to take the older child from them and left the new born baby with these sike people, something is not clear here,i live in the US and i know what it is,

15. They both no Iook mental.na by force to live for america?

16. A specific tribe goes missing on this sort of stories. Hmmmm????

17. See as the man side view resemble monkey own.wicked people

18. Spiritual battles are real. U think it's normal ?

19. Goodness, I know this girl. Aaron from sec school not sure what is going on but this is not good at all.

20. Anyways akinola akinjagunla is a good girl from bad family,coz her family kw she is mentally unstable since,am sure dis guy is just a victim, every close friend to there family is aware of her illness,even her mum is not a good mother for her to allow dis to happened to her,her ist child is with social worker since here in america,not even sure she will ever see dos kids again,I pray dey do there investigation coz her problem might ve bn the reason dt guy look horrible,I believed she did dos things to dt baby,her family just want to waste dt girl,we grew up in sijuade akure together,I pray God ve mercy on her and help her,Dt baby is good nothing will do the baby quite sure but I don't want innocent person to be a victim,the husband I mean

1. You have no sense at all. Just listen to yourself. Justifying and implicating people without evidence. You knew her years ago? And so people never change? Adamu Odensin!

21. Why do I think her husband is covering up for her? Why was their first child taken away from them? Sad but I pray they find help and may God keep their baby safe and sound in Jesus name amen.

22. Why do I think her husband is covering up for her? Why was their first child taken away from them? Sad but I pray they find help and may God keep their baby safe and sound in Jesus name amen.

23. I think people should be mindful of the words that come from their mouths. I know Aarinola personally and truly she has mental health issues which may have been compounded by post-partum depression. She shouldnt have been allowed to care for that child by herself, she has parents and siblings in America who are healthy, i see their pictures on Facebook throwing parties and hosting friends from all over the world. This could have been prevented and this is definitely unfair. Aarinola was a victim of self righteousness and fake moral standards from childhood, I hope the rest of the family can live with this mess. Aarinola, i pray you not only make it out of this, should you make it out, i pray that you are able to stand up tall again and rise above this.
    And to the rest of us, mental illness is real, lets become more aware and judge people less when things like this happens. Finally, ethical/moral standards are good but not at the expense of life, live and let live.

24. OMG! Arinola Akinjagunla Olawusi isn't what it looks like she is at the moment. She is an enterprising young woman who I have known and interacted with from as far back as 1994. She won't hurt a fly of her own will. Its unfortunate to find her in this position at this time, a position she has no control over as it were. Arin has a known health challenge which she had battled with from our days in school, this I dare say may have been responsible for her unexplainable actions towards her baby. No mother without a 'problem' trades the safety of her baby for anything. Arin has battled her fears for years and grown this far only to be stuck at this juncture. Please I BEG the world she needs help - medical and prayers at this time. Let's not judge her, let's provide the help she needs now. I pray that the innocent Tobiloba makes it in fine fettle and that God lays His hands on the Olawusis to give them the currently desired peace and restoration. Amen

25. Well,I don't know Aarin but I know Lekan very well.He was my older brother's best friend when we were growing up in Ile Ife.I am so surprised at all these happening to him because I know Lekan to be a good Christian with a fear of God.always willing to help people around him highly intelligent and he was never seen with any kind of unsocial behaviour.infact he is a normal person,a responsible young man with good behaviour.God will bring him out of this mess.i won't stop praying for him.

26. I don't know Arinola but I know Lekan very well.He was my older brother's best friend when we were still home in Ile Ife.I am really surprised at all these happening to him because I know Lekan to be a Christian.He was a very kind and easy going guy.he has a humble background and he is always willing to help and support people whatever the case may be.Lekan is a very wonderful person and he was never caught or seen with any unhealthy or unsocial behaviour.He never drinks nor smokes and you will never see him fighting anyone.He is a very intelligent guy and some one I believes knows what he is doing.We were all shocked when we saw this.I believe God will bring him out of this problem.we won't stop praying for him.

27. I have known Aarinola for about 20years.. She is one of the brightest yet humble beings.. She loves God and humanity at large...

Even with her health challenge she never stops thinking of how to add value to others.. Always quick to volunteer to help troubled women - I really hope the troubled souls she has stood in the gap for can stand for her now...

To think she still made valuable contributions on our alumni group few hours to this ugly incident is unsettling. She was also on the phone with another friend on Saturday discussing great future plans.

Please help pray for my dear friend and her husband, that's what they require now and not your condemnation and judgement. Only God knows what went wrong...

Aarinola, I am joining other girls to stand in the gap for you. You will come out strong and affliction will never rise again in your life. Oluwatobiloba and his brother will live, thrive and bring your joy. AMEN