US Congressman writes to US Secretary of state, John Kerry, accuses Buhari of autocratic tendencies, selective Anti-Graft war | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 September 2016

US Congressman writes to US Secretary of state, John Kerry, accuses Buhari of autocratic tendencies, selective Anti-Graft war

A member of the United States Congress, Tom Marino, has written a letter to Secretary of State, John Kerry, asking the US government to withhold security assistance to Nigeria until President Buhari demonstrates a “commitment to inclusive government and the most basic tenets of democracy: freedom to assemble and freedom of speech”.

According to Thisday, Marino in his two-page letter, accused President Buhari of autocratic tendencies and selective anti-graft war.  Marino asked the State Department to stop selling warplanes and other military equipment to Nigeria until President Buhari establishes a track record of working towards inclusion of other opposition members.
His letter to Kerry reads:
 “Dear Secretary Kerry, I am encouraged by the personal interest you have taken in aiding Nigeria and its administration as it takes on endemic corruption, multiple insurgent movements, and a faltering economy. However, I believe there are a number of warning signs emerging in the Buhari administration that signal “the man who once led Nigeria as a military dictator might be sliding towards former autocratic tendencies. I would urge the U.S. to withhold its security assistance to the nation until President Buhari demonstrates a commitment to inclusive government and the most basic tenets of democracy: freedom to assemble and freedom of speech. A logical start towards this commitment is for the Nigerian government to hold accountable those members of the Nigerian Police Force and the Nigerian Military complicit in extra-judicial killings and war crimes. Human rights groups like Amnesty International have widely documented torture, inhumane treatment, and extra-judicial killings of defenseless Nigerians since President Buhari took office.”
Quoting Amnesty International Report, he wrote, “in the last six months, Nigeria’s military has unlawfully killed at least 350 people and allowed more than 168 people, including babies and children, to die in military detention. The Secretary to the Government of Kaduna State even admitted to burying 347 of those killed in a mass grave. And while President Buhari promised swift condemnation, his words rang empty. Instead of swift reforms, Buhari chose to reinstate Major General Ahmadu Mohammed, who Amnesty International revealed was in charge of the Nigerian military unit that executed more than 640 unarmed, former detainees. Also, in separate incidents concerning the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), the Nigerian Army has killed at least 36 – the real number is likely higher – people since December 2015 in an attempt to silence opposition and quell attempts by the group to gather publicly.”

Describing President Buhari as a former military dictator whose administration as military head of state was cut short by a coup, he stated that the President has continually shunned inclusivity in favour of surrounding himself with advisors and ministers from the north of the country and the region he considers home.

“Of President Buhari’s 122 appointees, 77 are from the north and control many of the key ministries and positions of power. Distrust is already high in Nigeria and favouring Northerners for key appointments has only antagonized the issue. These appointments are also primarily Muslim in the north and Christian in the south, adding a religious aspect to long-held regional biases. Of additional concern is President Buhari’s selective anti-corruption drive, which has focused almost exclusively on members of the opposition party, over-looking corruption amongst some of Buhari’s closest advisors. Politicizing his anti-corruption efforts has only reinforced hostility among southerners,” he claimed in the letter.

He said the Obama Administration would advance justice by urging the Buhari Administration to act decisively to hold accountable members of the police and military.
The congressman said, “This is a logical first step in making a demonstrable, sustained commitment to inclusive democracy, with distributed power in Nigeria. Until President Buhari establishes a track record of working towards inclusion, we ask the State Department to refrain from selling warplanes and other military equipment to the country. The State Department should urge President Buhari to form a government that represents the diversity of its citizens and allows dissenting voices to be heard. Democracy can thrive only if people are free to assemble, to express their beliefs, and voice their concerns.”

77 comments:

1. Onye nka asi kwa no'r gini? Linda take note!

1. Juliet, this ur picture must be in the dictionary whenever anybody is looking for the meaning of FOOLISHNESS. U are born foolish and will definitely die foolish.

2. Good am hapy the oyibos are seeing it. 2019 we wil kick buhari out.

3. I just love this man!

4. Una don see am? Whn u pipo were busy supporting him.

5. I hope Adesina and other Buhari handlers will show him this piece and stop deceiving themselves

6. Bless your soul congreSsman..the truth will always find its way. Except for a few Nigerians like FFK and Fayose...Nigerians including myself are totally timid and scared of this political Juntq

7. he is write via the ministerial appointments.

8. THIS OUR PRESIDO NEEDS TO RETHINK AND SEAT UP IMMEDIATELY

9. he is write via the ministerial appointments.

10. Finally, the United States provided some important and reasonable personality...

Thanks a lot to you Congressman...

Smart is proud of you

#MY_POINT_THO

#SMART_LIB_READER

11. Abeg Oga help us tell them,the truth which they (APC leaders) refuse to see.

12. Thank you Congress man

13. I must say here,that it is the govt.of federal republic of Nigeria that due act in biase,introducing nepotism and religion bigotry in their functionalities. Shame to these educated fools in government,who some times wants Nigerians to pay aligence to their father's land which they have nepotised.

14. I'm Speechless, thank God the whole world is seeing what we are not seeing,

15. I love this,someone is finally wading in in Nigeria affairs, nice one.

16. I love this,someone is finally wading in in Nigeria affairs, nice one.

17. Thank God the world is seeing. Only God will save us from Buhari.

18. I love this man, u mean u stay in the US and understood the insensitivity, oppression and one man government going on in Nigeria?

19. Linda, God bless and protect u for this. Nigeria is God's own no man can destroy it not the president. Now they'll still cover this up. Everyday is for the thief and just one day is for the owner. One day sha we Nigerian will take back our country from this greedy politicians

20. Thank God the world is observing what is happening here

21. Eehn good talk wasere i pray it work oh bcos we dey talk am but he hear deaf we want a government that can hear our cry that is what democracy is. Nice one jare gbayi

22. Yeah,the so-called president has an ulterior agenda and purpose for this country.We see fulani herdsmen,soldiers kill innocent Nigerians for no just cause,and the so-called president is pretending to be unaware of killings in Nigeria.
    As events are unfolding each day,it is now a possibility that he really wants to islamize this country.

23. They thought the world doesn't see, 😜to Buhariaonodu and his cohorts. Hope their stay in that seat ends soonest! #EvilGovt

24. Thank you congress man, you must make heaven, Nice one foreigners are now putting mouth in nigerians issue, where are those fools that will say bcos he is not pdp that's y they are spoiling his name, voting in a fulani muslim was the biggest mistake nigerians made. This man statistics on buharis appointment was not correct, 90 percent of his key appointments are his muslim folks from the north. Am liking this, the mother of all coup is loading.

25. Thank God others re noticing it,the day we voted change we change from democracy to demo military,did u mentioned de top security position? And aw Christians were unduly retired from security works n replace wit Muslims,dis kind fighting of corruption we never see.God bless u sir for speaking for us.

26. Impressive letter from a great mind!

27. Impressive letter from a great mind!

28. Goooooooood!!!! #buharimuststepdown

29. The irony of a republican from PA running his dirty mouth about inclusion and freedom of speech is amazing. This is the same idiot that supports Trump openly. Please mind your damn business

1. My God punish ur generation. Bastard

2. This idiot support a person that can actually add value to the life of people he pledge to better their lives not some imbecile like you that sit behind a keyboard to insult people you can't even work ad their gateman. Tell me one thing Trump has done wrong? Hillary that you support, an ivy league trained lawyer, wife a president for 2 terms, a senator and Secretary of state, said she didn't know "C" stands for classified. She said she thought it just alphabetical numbering. Really? And you dumbasses think she's a better candidate? Because she's a woman? Anybody that can on such glaring matter, what else can't she do? What's wrong about Trump saying, if you want to come to the US, come the legal way? If even if the truth slaps you in the face, you still can't see it. You can't fix stupid, that's why Nigeria is in the mess it is today. You guys allow your reasoning to leave you when it comes to what matters.

3. @ Anon 10:19PM you must be very very blind, sorry for you.....

30. I strongly with the USA congress man on this . Buhari should form an inclusive government. It's high time he knows we are running a democratic system of government which is govt of the people,by the people and for the people .There should be no marginalisation of any group based on religion or ethnic groups. There should be no witch hunting of members of PDP all in the name of fighting corruption when some corrupt APC members walk freely.if he wants to fight corruption he should first fight it among APC members cos charity they say begins at home.If buhari is such a good fighter he should first of all fight the economic crises in nigeria first. He should also listen to the cry of Nigerians in the low economic class because they are the one suffering all the pain the most of his decisions . I agree he has good intentions in mind no doubt but I strongly think he should have good advisers to advice him so as to make credible decisions to move nigeria forward to where God gas destined us to be .

1. Are you in his mind to know he has good intentions?

31. I strongly with the USA congress man on this . Buhari should form an inclusive government. It's high time he knows we are running a democratic system of government which is govt of the people,by the people and for the people .There should be no marginalisation of any group based on religion or ethnic groups. There should be no witch hunting of members of PDP all in the name of fighting corruption when some corrupt APC members walk freely.if he wants to fight corruption he should first fight it among APC members cos charity they say begins at home.If buhari is such a good fighter he should first of all fight the economic crises in nigeria first. He should also listen to the cry of Nigerians in the low economic class because they are the one suffering all the pain the most of his decisions . I agree he has good intentions in mind no doubt but I strongly think he should have good advisers to advice him so as to make credible decisions to move nigeria forward to where God gas destined us to be .

32. All these corrupt US politicians. The courts will soon resume and prosecution will commence. I have no doubt in my mind that this man has been paid or a friend to one of the corrupt politicians on trial.
    These people, their corruption is on another level. Just like the way the UK government rushed to take Dezieni to court, just to indirectly protect and shield her from prosecution by the Nigerian government and she can keep most of the money there.

Well, I still prefer the UK and US to most countries, because I know other countries would have been worse if they had the kind of influence the UK and US have.

1. Focus on the point he's making, it's for our won good and safety.

2. Well said. America is so corrupt

33. D arms are mainly to kill d south south not d boko they told us is finished tanks are already rolling be wise

34. Well said!!God bless u.

35. Some part of this letter that had to do with inclusivity of Christians and people from the south I completely agree. Thanks Congressman, I you truly care and not just trying to shield the corrupt ones.
    As it stands now, PMB has to be more diplomatic because he needs all hands on deck to move this nation forward.

1. Even the most ardent supporters of PMB will eventually REPENT of their misguided support for his regime because of his ineptitude, high-handedness, nepotism and despotic tendencies.
      First it was the PDP, next it was some APC elements, today's criticism comes from America.
      The last to repent on this forum will be Bonario (of Nokia fame) and the Aboki boy from Warri!
      We're watching

36. Well said Sir..

37. That is the whole truth,gbam.

38. Sir,you forgot to include the Fulani herdsmens killings in the Eastern region of Nigeria...

39. They will soon say GEJ paid him to write this.

40. Oga ade face ur country ,don't think u can come here and distroy our beloved Nigeria as u destroyed Syria and lybia.

1. Focus on the point, it's for your good and safety. #buharimuststepdown

41. God will so bless you sir!!! You've said it all...

42. Thank God others are noticing what's happening in nija it's high time some one call them to order

43. Sir please tell him ooh before he kill us all with his fulani brothers

44. This right here has every iota of truth!!! But the tyrant won't listen but make flimsy excuses.

45. war planes for wot?who is he plannin to kill?certainly nt those herdsmen

46. Sir, you did a thorough research before writing this. May the good Lord bless you.

47. Evil America with their evil agenda. Idiots saying rubbish. Agreeing with him. Look at Libya. And Syria and Iraq. They destroy. We do not want them here.

48. I thank God for men like this Congressman. The next set of events I wish to happen is that Buhari be charged to the International Criminal Court for crimes against humanity and genocide. And then, impeached from office or overthrown in a coup similar to the one that saw him out 31 years ago.

49. GOD BLESS, US Congressman Tom Marino.

Top among the reasons Buhari has been traveling around the world was precisely to get other governments and world leaders to close their eyes to his crimes if ever they are one day revealed. That Kerry couldn't take any of the points made here into account is incredible. I have no more regard for Kerry.

50. And some loyalist to the party in power would want to disagree with what the congress man is saying.

51. Congress man,u said nothing but d Truth. I wonder wia dis govt in particular n Nigeria in general is heading to, may God bless u n help us

52. Congress man,u said nothing but d Truth. I wonder wia dis govt in particular n Nigeria in general is heading to, may God bless u n help us

53. Thank God for this... let me see how they'll say it's pdp propaganda. Blame-game-govt. They're not ashame to compare avengers who is fighting for their just cause and only bombing pipelines to be more dangerous than boko haram that is killing
    armless citizens, women and children inclusive in hundreds
    everyday for years now without stating their grievance other than
    religious that can never work as they want. What about fulani
    herdsmen? Those ones are not dangerous abi? Uphill now, none
    have been arrested but Buhari is engaging foreign bodies to use
    their warships and everything on militants over something he
    could simply dialogue and solve as a democratic govt but his' is
    not a democratic govt that's why he won't look into their needs but
    force them with warships to be silent and bear anything without
    complaining. Shame!!!!! Thank good foreign eyes are watching his
    evil. He'll be charged for genocide like his fellow ex-ps. #buharimuststepdown #buharinothonestwithNigerians #buharileavepresidencynow

54. The yoruba and igbo leader who wine and dine with buhari and co and cannot speak for her people are fools of the highest order,corrupt and senseless magot,rams in buhari house and will die mercilesslly like the rams meant for salah celebration.

55. I have notin to say bcos I know what a typical Fulani Muslim man can do so am not surprised one bit by PMB actions..I told my friends during the election that this will happen n they paid deaf ear so let dem suffer it

56. Where is Bonario. ? Each time dey talk d truth abt buhari he doesn't comment. Hahahahahahahah

57. However, I believe there are a number of warning signs emerging in the Buhari administration that signal “the man who once led Nigeria as a military dictator might be sliding towards former autocratic tendencies. I would urge the U.S. to withhold its security assistance to the nation until President Buhari demonstrates a commitment to inclusive government and the most basic tenets of democracy: freedom to assemble and freedom of speech. A logical start towards this commitment is for the Nigerian government to hold accountable those members of the Nigerian Police Force and the Nigerian Military complicit in extra-judicial killings and war crimes. Human rights groups like Amnesty International have widely documented torture, inhumane treatment, and extra-judicial killings of defenseless Nigerians since President Buhari took office.” YET APC KEEP CHANTING "BUHARI EVERYWHERE"

58. God bless you sir for speaking the truth. Will Paid John Kerry listen?