Photos: NOA, NCC to tackle cybercrimes, hate messages on social media | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 September 2016

Photos: NOA, NCC to tackle cybercrimes, hate messages on social media

Concerned about the volume of hate messages in the social media and the level of crime in the Nigerian cyberspace, the National Orientation Agency (NOA) is synergizing with the National Communications Commission (NCC) to discourage the trend.

This was the fall-out of a working visit by the NOA Director General, Garba Abari to the NCC Executive Vice Chairman, Prof. Umar Danbata where Abari canvassed a more systematic deployment of social media for character molding and youth guidance.
Describing communication media as character molders, Abari said Nigeria was paying a costly prize for the erosion of its values over the years, largely by the irresponsible use of communication media and the infiltration of wrong values into the new media. He said the role of social media in an information-driven age was very critical to the values reorientation drive of Nigeria, calling for a change to positive use of social media.

Similarly, Prof. Umar Danbata urged Nigerian cyber space users to be more responsible and sensitive to the protection of the nation’s core values. He also urged NOA to x-ray the Cyber Crimes Act to discover possible windows for sensitization of cyberspace users on the avoidance of cybercrimes and the need to deploy cyberspace for positive, productive and patriotic purposes.

A six-man joint committee was set up to work out areas of collaboration between NOA and NCC toward promoting healthier, more patriotic content in social media messaging in the country.

34 comments:

Good to know

There's so much bitterness on social media of recent, even here on LIB. Bitter people looking for who to drag into their sorrow. They can insult without provocation, hiding under anonymous. NOA need to sensitize them for their own good, because hate is a very weak emotion

tsabig said...

Cool points just went out d window

They should start with Buhari and his 95-5 percentage ratio. There's no crime worse than that.

They should include Google huh? Terrorist buhari so u want praise with the way u have kill Nigeria huh?
apc and terrorist buhari are trying all they can to ban freedom of speech but i freeborn say that they are all jokers because na this same plat from they form all lies against Jonathan so they should enjoy am,failures in government
I KEEP WEEPING WHEN EVER I REMEMBER THAT THIS MAN IS STILL THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA.
Freeborn wept and wept.

They should include Google huh? Terrorist buhari so u want praise with the way u have kill Nigeria huh?
apc and terrorist buhari are trying all they can to ban freedom of speech but i freeborn say that they are all jokers because na this same plat from they form all lies against Jonathan so they should enjoy am,failures in government
I KEEP WEEPING WHEN EVER I REMEMBER THAT THIS MAN IS STILL THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA.
Freeborn wept and wept.

Indeed... Quite absurd of them to think they can ever control what happens on the Internet! They should better channel their time and resources to profitable projects other than chasing mirage.

AMU REE BONARIO said...

MAY THUNDER FIRE U BASTARD

hmm

Okay naa... Till then

Isn't it through social media & so called "hate messages" that APC emerged? I smell a rat. Linda & others in the media/communications industry, you MUST FIGHT against this development because all of you will be casualties in the end as it is very evident that this government does not take kindly to criticism.

GOOD TO SEE

Lube-section said...

Freedom of speech

Dats good! Linda take note!

Wonder why this government are concerned about cybercrime when they instigated the whole thing in the first place... No one is hating, it's just the way the country is been run at the moment. Injustice here and there against an opposition party. Dr Goodluck was hacked, insulted, shaded to the highest and he didn't bother about it. Thing is, nothing last forever. What the current government is sowing now, they shall reap in the nearest future. Except they truly change.

on point Anon 10:01

Emy said...

They want to gag us. we are no sychophants, Pa buharionudu and co una dey waste time.

dats change for you. there goes our freedom. all in d name of sanitizing d social media. they want us to be mute. God WHYYYYYYY

Emy said...

@Nagging Bonaria abi malaria, u want us to leave lib for u, so that only ur comment and views will be read. No wahala, u go soon tire.

Linda ikeji please censor this idiot

Hungry people will always be angry abeg make dem shift

Long Live LIB

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Why is the battle between Good and evil still on?,no matter what you do,you can never stop hate messages on social media.
We are no longer in the 18th or 20th century,were one is afraid of airing his views or opinions.When you see a post or opinion on social media that is incompatible or below normal reasoning,you just have to let loose and give it to him or her.

We warn them all that buhari and buharists are animals. They didn't listen. Now you can voice your opinion online again.... They use the social media to cry fowl during the GEJ period. Now they want to banned it.

We warn them that buhari will ISLAMALIZED Nigeria and they didn't believe it.

Bonario is a FOOL. ALWAYS A FOOL.

Dem no well

Wise son. said...

When dollar is now more than N400 to a dollar, FG political appointments ratio now 99% North and 1% South, bag of rice over N26,000 much higher than minimum wage, millions of companies shut down with millions of people out of jobs, our biggest economy position in Africa now lost to South Africa & Egypt, with bad roads, high fuel & transportation cost, coupled with irregular power supply & no quality health care etc.

I think we have more than enough issues that can worsen the level of hate speeches on social media which these jobless politicians should rather concern themselves with than just trying to fight the symptoms of headache without dealing with the root cause itself.

You can never take away the freedom of speech of the people in whatever disguise becos that's d last power of any average citizen all over the world. Its just another fruitless effort daring to take away the free speech of the people!

This is obviously the handwork of that stupid MD many Nigerians abused heavily for saying that the economic recession in the country is overated simply because his daughters flight to London was filled up.

Nonsense tyrants, very soon another wind of change go soon come blow all of una comot from those offices.

No position you occupy today is permanent! So u guys better drop ur arrogant attitudes & rather listen to d yearnings of d people! PERIOD!!

Hahahahah na only Nigeria get social media????one of d last countries to feel Internet...Nigeria will find a way to stereotype normal level...get off social media if u can't handle hate message...simple..they not tackling crime on social media,yahoo yahoo on internet...they tackling hate message cuz Buhari is feeling d hit...lolz

Bree said...

See their names DANBATA and Garba they re protecting their brother...want to shut our mouth..#WICked Govt

It has been long awaited

Long overdue

Welcome development

Democracy is freedom of speech not insult of speech

People just use social media to cause tribal and religious conflicts. Pls catch all of them and deal with them starting with that foolish Freeborn

@Freeborn democracy is freedom of speech not insult of speech. Receive sense!

The hate is getting too much. You can criticise without insulting people or causing tribal or religoius conflicts. What happened to constructive criticism?