Lady accuses staff of Ebute Metta Health centre in Lagos of being lackadaisical to their duty | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 September 2016

Lady accuses staff of Ebute Metta Health centre in Lagos of being lackadaisical to their duty

Facebook user, Adekemi Oridupa, shared her experience with some nurses and a doctor at th Ebute Metta Health centre yesterday night. She accused them of being lackadaisical to their duties and called for them to be punished. She wrote
"I had a terrible experience this dawn (4th sept 2016 @12:45am) at the Ebute Metta Health centre on cemetery street! I took my little nephew there as a result of severe vomiting (over 6 times) and dehydration with all his eyes sucked in and his facial bones were already protruding and his thighs were seriously paining him as he has lost too much fluid and he was seriously weak.
On getting there i tried talking to one of the two nurses on duty and she just sat there staring at me like i was talking to a statue then the other nurse intervened and asked some questions then d first nurse lazily got up to call the doctor who was sleeping at that time. It was already 20mins and he wasn't coming out then when i raised my voice and the nurses were even raining insults saying i should have taken him to a private hospital instead, then Dr. Olatunji finally came out. He wrote a prescription of only Maxolone ( for vomiting) and paracetamol so i asked him if he wont give my nephew any infusion (drip) as he was totally dehydrated he didn't answer and the nurse said i shouldn't teach him his job. He now later said they wont be able to manage my brother there and that they will have to refer so i said even if you will refer, wont you at least rehydrate him just to make him a bit strong and also stop the pains in his thighs, he said theres nothing else he can do.Dr olatunji then referred us to Randle General hosp. So we had to leave the hosp for our house at about 1:40 am thinking the drug they gave will surpress the vomiting but it became worse and about 5am, i rushed him to randle where they took the case as a serious medical emergency because he was almost going! Doctors and nurses are supposed to save people but some are killing people everyday! The staffs on night duty at the Ebute-Metta Health centre from 3rd September to 4th september 2016 must not go unpunished!".

60 comments:

1. Hmm welcome to sodom and gomorahs government.
    PLEASE accuse ur staff 10 percent AND FINISH THE ACCUSATION ON TERRORIST BUHARI AND HIS SODOM AND GOMORAHS GOVERNMENT PLEASE.
    Nigeria jagajaga poor man de complain and suffer suffer kposaa kposaa aw FREEBORN WEPT.

2. Hmm welcome to apc sodom and gomorahs government.
    PLEASE accuse ur staff 10 percent AND FINISH THE ACCUSATION ON TERRORIST BUHARI AND HIS SODOM AND GOMORAHS GOVERNMENT PLEASE.
    Nigeria jagajaga poor man de complain and suffer suffer kposaa kposaa aw FREEBORN WEPT.

3. Medical team in Nigeria general hospitals are fond of taking human lives for granted,the one in warri is even worse.The whole general hospitals in Nigeria need proper orientation and warnings,they are heartless they don't value human lives.

4. Hmmmm.. U go fear lackadaisical naa @ www.fortunatusblog.com

5. Na only God dey save us for dis country. Linda take note!

6. First, u waited for him to almost die before carrying him to the hospital at 12.30am, then u were referred to a general hospital because of the seriousness of the case but because of your negligent attitude u chose to take him back home even though as u said he needed rehydration, did u bother to find out if they have drips or a paediatrician in the hospital? Abi make dem kill am with drip then Torrey go change. Stop making noise. Be health conscious n visit a hospital at the earliest sign of I'll health not at the point of death

1. @ tc dyke: who's being inconsiderate? If u r referring to me then u r a born fool. Stupid nigerian that doesn't want to be told hard truths but wants to be cuddle while watching someone ruined people's lives n livelihood in this buhari economy. Anonfia

2. Mr JD....you are soo on point. I saw the same loop holes in the story. I'm sure in reality there would be more loopholes once we hear the testimonies of the health workers on duty at that day. Please times are hard let's be vigilant and merciful, lest we cut ourselves off from God's mercy, which is the only thing holding us now.

7. Dis is just one sided, let's not be quick to judge

8. Dear poster! Where were u wen the vomiting was still mild before dehydration set in? Probably u were at home buying chemist and doing home treatment .U should have waited until he entered coma.

Doctors and nurses are meant to save lives! I agree with u but did u know wat their day looked like? In this harsh economy have they been paid? How are they fending for their families?

Doctors and nurses are also human beings with emotions and problems, pls take it calm with them sometimes. And pls avoid visiting the hospital as am an emergency except for unavoidable ones

9. I don't want to go thru my painful experiences with these same health center. Their "I don't care" attitude is becoming unbearable. They need be checked.

10. I support that motion cos have once been a victim

11. I support that motion cos have once been a victim

12. Well, you can sue them for medical negligence if you have the resources at ur disposal. And yes including those rude nurses.

13. in most federal hospitals that as been the case. Even at the Federal university of agriculture, Abeokuta, Medical centre. They prescribe dangerous drugs.

14. I really don't kno what ur problem is. They told you they couldn't handle the case and referred you to a center that could and instead you chose to go home where the situation got worse.

15. Hmmmmmmmmm dat's not right,why are they paid for

16. Well. I don't mean to be harsh. You really dont need to tell a doctor what to do. They really don't like it.

17. My dear that's Naija for u...only in abroad u see docs saving people's life not here

1. You are ignorant. NIGERIANS make up approximately 10% of the health workers in America.

18. madam, olatunji referred you to randle but you chose to take the nephew you claimed to love home! At least olatunji was honest enough to advise you to go elsewhere!

19. Some Medical practitioners don't take their Hippocratic or should i call it HYPOCRISY OATH SERIOUSLY OOOOHH,THEY PLAY WITH PEOPLE'S LIFE LIKE IT'S WORTH NOTHING. *MTCHEEEEEEEEEW

20. Devilish & inconsiderate doctors & nurses from the pit of hell

21. U dat is not lackadaisical, waited 4 d child 2 b dehydrated b4 takin him 2 d hospital n wen u were referred instead of going straight to d place, u had 2 wait 4 d child 2 become worse. U r not crious at all. Yeye dey smell

22. C pot callin kettle back, wat were u doin at home till d child became severely dehydrated. Madam

23. Send the doctors full name to medical and dental council of Nigeria as well.

This sort of thing will keep happening unless we stand up to being maltreated. This was a near miss.

1. Keep sending their names and getting them dismissed for even unavoidable problems..and your government is not even interested in producing better ones...the aftermath awaits u when u come calling with ordinary complicated malaria.(As u lay ur bed...)

24. Na so dem them do They should sack dem

25. Naija Medical system!! God help us all!

26. Those government hospitals on the island are known for that.. The nurses and doctors there are so so complacent.. A friend had a worse experience over a referral note alone.

27. what we see everyday...

Get information and updates on made in Nigeria products and services .Don't forget to leave your comments and rate these products and services @ www.naijaranks.com

28. They shld be stripped of their certificates.

1. Unserious and idle comments are never productive...weigh them carefully before releasing them on social media.

29. This is really bad, hope something is done about it asap, Ambo, please look into this.

30. Am not surprise at this at all, i know so much sooner or later someone will complain about those dead souls workers at Ebutte Metta Health Center ... Staffs at Health Center Ebutte Metta are bunch of heartless souls.....They act way superior even the cleaners will lambaste anyhow. out of 100 workers u can barely point at 5 good people with good manner among them all.Everyone of them got no minimal respect for anybody and they careless if you are dying or not,they always say it pointblank (NAH TO SIGN TO GET MY PAY AT EVERY MONTH END). You animals at EBUTTE METTA HEALTH CENTRE are suppose to safe lives not to kill... MAY GOD FORGIVE those animals among you.

31. Absolutely Ma'am Justice Must Be Done,Some Of Those Nurses Dont Even Possessed Good Education Standard So Am Not Surprised With Their Reaction Towards Sick Patients

32. NAH SO DEM DEY DO MAD ANIMALS...EVEN ORDINARY CLEANER GO FOLLOW RELATE ANYHOW. Very few among them is good let say 5 out of 100 people is averagely okay among dem. make unah dey kill ppl dey go full grown animals claiming human being.

33. Pple sha...
    He told you he could not manage it,then, he referred you somewhere else but you chose to g home.
    You have turned back to accuse him of almost killing your nephew.
    Obviously,you would have been satisfied if you lost your nephew and the doctor lost his job .

1. He can't manage what. Vomitting and dehydration? Guy u can pitch your tent with the doctor but pls dnt spew s

34. Pele

35. The earlier something in done about our health care system the better. Lost my wife and daughter to careless doctors and nurses. It needs to stop abeg

36. U decided to keep the refarral letter until everything got out of hand. Health centre might not have facilities to manage a severely dehydrated patient. Thank God the child didnt die

37. U decided to keep the refarral letter until everything got out of hand. Health centre might not have facilities to manage a severely dehydrated patient. Thank God the child didnt die

38. Hmmm! an amazing story by Ms Adekemi Oridupa. But as a physician, i want to understand and possibly clarify some inconsistencies in this story.
    Your little nephew presented with a history of vomitting( of at least 6 episodes), with sunken eyeballs because he was dehydrated, thigh pains etc. Hence, you took him to Ebute metta health centre at 12:45am, 4th september 2016. i will like to ask the following questions pls;
    1) How long was the baby vomitting?
    2) When did you notice the sunken eyeball and joint pains?
    3) If your answer is days ago, why did you stay that long before presenting at the hospital?
    4) where you self-medicating with different cocktails or why stay at home initially till midnight?
    Definitely, your nephew was severely dehydrated and that must have been going on for hours if not days ( as evident by the vomiting and sunken eyeballs). Severe dehydration doesn't happen suddenly but gradually.
    Yes, you got there at 12:45am and the nurses showed nonchalant attitudes towards you and the doctor spent 20minutes before seeing you. Doctor body na wood? Do you know if he was busy on the ward or seeing other patients or fagged out already from a busy saturday shift. And also, you may be right that they didn't care about you or your baby (that's unprofessional).
    Now the doctor came, gave an anti-emetic drug( maxolone) and anti-pyretic(paracetamol) drugs and they refer to a paediatric centre where rehydration and proper investigations would be done ( Randle chidren hospital), which is an ideal thing to do especially in a facility that's not equipped to handle paediatric cases. So, i see no reason why they should start rehydrating your nephew (which may take hours as paediatric cases needs prompt specialist attention) before referring.
    Also, noted was the 55minutes duration, (12:45am- 1:40am), you were attended to within that period and a referral was also written, that's an ideal time in a government hospital setting. It was even in the middle of the night.
    You were referred but you decided to go back home because you believed the baby would be better but when he did't, you finally went to Randle general hospital.
    Who is to be blame for that nonchalant attitude? Dr Olatunji or you?
    Did you blame yourself at all in all this scenario?
    Are you sure you didn't show any nonchalant , neglect or lackadaisical attitude towards you nephew's health?
    Why do you want the doctor and the nurses punished for what i believe your own mistakes?
    Do you wish their licenses as practicing doctor and nurses be revoked?

Lagos Doctors and Nurses try their best and also care 24/7!
    They are not super-humans!

N.B- My comment is towards the complaint posted by Ms Oridupa and not a response to any other related ill- treatments from other doctors and their hospital staff members.

Thank you
    Dr Kinbo

1. Mr I too know,
      doctor defender of all doctors,
      Mr narrator of life,
      You just turned and twisted an obvious case into a nollywood classic. I carry yansh for you!

2. Lip sealed for the anonymous one.
      Ignorance truly is a problem in this nation.

39. Wish you nephew a swift recovery!

Dr Kinbo

40. Dear poster,,,, it amazes me how some of you patients get to the hospital and expect some form of immediate miracle.
    You kept your nephew at home till he was in moderate shock a sign of neglect or self medication. Am sure if PCV was done it will be very low.
    So on getting to the hospital after you had probably kept him at home for like a week,,,, you expect the nurses and doctors to start running helter sketer at your presence which oozes your lackadaisical attitude to your nephew's health.
    You don't know that the doctor on call may av had a busy day at work, or he may be with another patient when you arrived or may even be in d toilet.
    Yea, you said "twenty minutes".
    Doctors are human too.
    So he referred you,,,, N dt became an offence. For sending you to a pediatrician? If he told you he cldnt do anything for you,,,, do you feel admission is all abt seeing a doctor n a nurse on ground? Don't u know he must av considered logistics for pediatric admission ,,,, pharmacy, labs, availability of tests and possible transfusion for your nephew.
    Or you think it's same treatment modality you give adults & children?
    Randle hospital dint attend to him well coz he was "going" but because they av d resources available to help.
    Dr Olatunji must av done what he could within the resources available,,,,.
    You can't go to a government hospital to start shouting because the level of patronage is high. Unlike when you go to some private hosts so I think dt was why you got such advise from the nurses.
    Your act would av been causing some form of noise pollution to d hospital environment which isn't palatable considering the health of other patients on admission.
    Having assess to your case note to the extent of snapping is a breach of the law of confidentiality of patient 's report.
    You ain't supposed to handle your case notes how much more snap it???.
    Be careful dear poster coz I don't know your aim and what you plan to gain by bringing a doctor's name to social media.
    Am sure you av relatives in sensitive positions as well, so how wld you av felt if you see them being ridicule ds way?
    Wish your nephew a quick recovery.
    Dr Bukky.

#Linda'spal

41. I wish to advice the government to conduct urgent customer service training for hospital staff. Many of them show patient hostility rather than patient care. This hospital should be the kick off point. The staff should pass a customer service test before they can smell their salaries.

42. I am worried about the first nurse case. Why will you be talking to someone and she will keep you quiet? I hope she is not mental. Her case has passed rudeness her mental capacity should be checked before she flips out completely.

43. she no serious. i d not support the Doctors's negligence o. but as parents or guardians always think outside the box. if you like blame doctor from now till tomoro, it the child dies na you loose. if a child is ill, take them to their special doctors dont waste time till its too late cos most of them ca hold illness for days, and you wont know the depth it has taken on their immune system

44. Her mental state need to be examined. A Ghana trained nurse. Did her internship at Yaba. She couldn't even give injection. Once wasted patient's depot injection. Compelled to replace. Abuse and shout on patients.

45. I believe this issue here is the attitude of our medical personnel in emergency cases. I have had an experience with that health center and my husband almost caused a scene. I convinced him to take our child to a private hospital. They are LAZY, RUDE, MANNERLESS and the list continues. Everyone is asking stupid questions like what was she doing until the child became worse. Whatever she was doing, as far as she has taken the child to the health facility, they should do every thing in their power to stabilize the patient first before referring them. Pray you never have any serious medical issue, then you will know how useless some of these so called nurses and doctors are. Please mind your words and let the government address the issue on ground.

46. I want to wish your nephew speedy recovery. But this is not the time or medium to point accusing fingers. Please to all readers, if you notice any change in a child's health condition, kindly report to the nearest hospital for prompt treatment as delay could be dangerous or even fatal. Within a space of 3 months I have seen causes of children and adults brought in dead to the hospital and It really breaks my heart seeing the tears rolling. Based on their history, the sickness started days ago. The annoying thing is some of these deaths would have been prevented based on early presentation to the hospital for prompt treatment before it worsens. Like the saying goes " a stitch in time saves nine".