2016 Hajj: CBN directs banks to sell dollars to pilgrims at N197 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 August 2016

2016 Hajj: CBN directs banks to sell dollars to pilgrims at N197

The Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, has directed banks and authorized forex dealers to sell the Pilgrims Travelling Allowance, PTA, to intending pilgrims at a concessionary exchange rate of N197 to $1. This directive was given ‎in a statement sent to banks yesterday August 4th.

The statement reads in part
“Each pilgrim is entitled to purchase a minimum of $750.00 and maximum of US$1,000.00 as PTA. The Federal Government has approved that intending pilgrims are to be sold the PTA at a concessionary exchange rate of N197.00 to the US dollar. No commission shall be charged by the banks for the sale of the PTA to the intending pilgrims. The Central Bank of Nigeria shall sale the PTA to the designated banks in Lagos and Abuja and the accounts of the respective banks shall be debited as soon as the funds are disbursed….”

73 comments:

1. There was a country!

2. Ifurozi! How useless can our presidiot n his cohorts.

3. ..... Next please.....

....... Liber maniac.....

4. Fellow Libers Kindly follow @trendy_hairhaven on instagram. Tanx5 August 2016 at 08:22

That's good. At least one good thing

5. hmm

6. Seriously?
    Really?
    Oh wow!
    Smh

<< LIB Addict >>

7. What does this nonsense mean? What kind of impunity is this? What is wrong with this government?

8. useless country....how can people who are pursuing personal goals in their religious beliefs be made to have naira at rock bottom and those who need it for raw materiials et al are meant to have it above N400...A country that wants to grow indeed.

9. Because it is Muslim Hajj?? What about when Christians were travelling? Was any such concession issued to them? What about more serious challenges people face like health/surgery? Did the CBN make any provisions for them? No. But it is Muslim Hajj and of course Buhari has to give them PTA at the "concessionary 197". I thought the parallel rates were already abolished, by the way? But now, Muslims need to go for Hajj and it has been reinvented. oh, my country!I weep!

10. This is the highest bulls hit I've ever heard.. Is this country for only one set of people alone? ??? Will they accord the same benefit to Christian pilgrims too?? The presidency is clearly sending the rest of Nigerians a bad message.. after everything else that Nigerians choose to ignore you shouldn't just rub it in our faces! Highly unacceptable! It should be equal treatment for all or nothing!

11. Obviously, some people/tribe/religion are more important in Nigeria.
    Shame on the Christians who voted for Buhari, shame!!!

<< LIB Addict >>

12. Welccome to the Islamic Republic of Nigeria.

13. Will they do same for Christian pilgrims? NO! God is watching

14. Muslims get these special privileges Christians don't get, and the Christian leaders won't say anything to fight this marginalisation... Smh.. who carea anyway, I'm not a Christian nor Muslim

1. Arindin...Muslim leader here is d Civil war old illiterate Sai Baba u voted who has decided to go gaga after getting power....who Xtian leader wan help in this case?

15. This is madness, we cannot develop at this rate. Is the Hajj or Christian pilgrimage going to bring growth and develpment to the country ? No it will not. If you cannot afford it then dont go why make any concession to purchase dollars. This adminitration lack focus, We are in trouble as a country.

16. Only in the Islamic state of Nigeria

17. nonsense!buhari is a fool

18. What a Country,
    This is a wake up call for all to resist this move because there are far important things that citizen require to do abroad , they are not been considered , what about those that need serious medical care , why cant this gesture be extended to them.
    This shows that this government is reeling out a kind of policy that favour Islam.

19. Hmmm, this Islamic Republic of nigeria self. But to regulars it should be #400 for $1?

20. Matthew 16:18. JESUS IS THE SON OF GOD.JESUS IS LORD.

1. God is too great to have a child, jesus is a messanger of God a servant of God

21. Islam wahala too much sef. Who pilgrimage don epp?

22. we are slowly becoming an Islamic country!

23. Nigeria is a Muslim country,take it or leave it.

Why muslims having preferential treatment because of Pilgrims.

We had Easter and Christmas celebrated by many Christian Nigerians but our Leader/Government did not care or help in any ground.

One Nigeria? In deed or In need?

Shame on this Government and Buhari.

24. Nigeria is a Muslim country,take it or leave it.

We had Easter and Christmas celebrated by many Christian Nigerians but our Leader/Government did not care or help in any ground.

25. Nigeria is a Muslim country,take it or leave it.

26. So this is what this impositors are up to. Osibanjo, you are the worst enemy to the Christian body in Nigeria. For becoming an instrument in the hand of the devil, you are also a devil. The suffering of Nigerians does not mean anything to the so called govt. To business people, dollar is380, but to poeple going to haji that does not profit the nation anything, dollar is 197. God will surely Judge you all for destroying Nigeria.

27. Does that mean that the dollar has come down?i don't understand that pilgrims ooo.im lost.someone explain to me

28. Stupid people in govt, so pilgrimage is more important thank children schooling abroad.

29. Waste of forex.
    Free ur self a little. Dont beg for money.nobody will give u. Requires only internet,no money.
    http://Money4Task.com/?ref=194011

30. What is happening to Nigeria under your watch Mr. PMB. Everything is a mess.

31. If this news is true. Then I would say the government and banking sector are not fair in the justice system and mean to the . What about those who bought dollar for healthcare , school fees at a very high rate . 398 so for purpose of travelling it was brought down to this rate 197. If this is it. Then it should remain at 197.or even lower than that. Or else they are been unfair. And people aren't saying anything. God of justice fight this battle for my family and Nigeria . Enough is enough.

32. Let's not even start with businesses that have deteriorated since the dollar exchange rate. And because of a trip it would be brought low. No way. Except it remains at 197 or more lower than that. What about people who paid for medical bills at a very high exchange rate . What's Nigeria turning into. Enough is enough .

33. Businesses are dying and you're prioritising hajj??.selling at 197 when businesses can't get for even 320. I'm an apc supporter but this doesn't look right!

34. Misplaced priorities!!

35. What nonsense. why dant dey s3ll like this to sme business accross the nation

36. I read this story with bleeding heart. One cannot but wonder what goes on in the minds of our leaders. Can someone please tell me how the minds of the average Nigerian leader/politician is configured? First of all, in my opinion, religion is a personal thing and the Government should not get involved in it especially since we are officially a secular country. Secondly, the current bank rate stands at about N310:$1. Hence, we are subsidizing this trip at the rate of N113 per dollar purchased. Of what use is holy pilgrimage (which to an extent is more or less religious tourism) to the economy of this country. In a country where this sort of thing is happening, we have students wanting to go to school abroad to better their lot and that of the country eventually, but are made to buy forex at the market rate. We have people who have health challenges and would have loved to travel for adequate healthcare but are made to buy at the market rate. We have manufacturers whose raw materials, equipment and machineries are imported and the eventual pricing of their products are dependent on cost of imports, being made to buy at unsubsidised rates. I can go on and on. Why does it seem like we are a directionless set of people? Why does it seem, with each passing day, that this country continues to sink itself in a hole created by itself? Why does it seem that there is no one around the president that can talk to him in all honesty even if he himself does not fully understand what is happening? Why are the ministers quiet and seem to be in awe of the president? Is this how we will continue till 2019? Honestly, 2019 is far, too far and unless we take matters in our hands as citizens of this country, we may not even be around in 2019 to witness any likely leadership change. I rest my case.

37. I lack word . God don't seat down n watch . People are loosing their job ,every thing is going bad . This imbecile buhari is more concern about hajji . Where are the Christian APC .osibanjo you see your life

38. This is what y'all voted for nah. Can a man change in his 70s? NOPE. A leopard can not change it's spots. SHAME ON CLUELESS BUHARI AND APC!!!

39. Even the Muslims are not cheering, they too want food first before hajj.

40. And wen Stern was crucifying this man telling us that he's a clueless man a lot of u guys who 're now silent n will b silent forever were raining all sort of insult n curses on him Buh now I guess ya eyes has open n I believe he has already registered n nail this country as an Islamic country where the VP who's a Christian is as Empty as anything upstairs n couldn't as well grant the same privileged to those traveling to Jerusalem .... The Hope for this country for better future is really sick n I hope won't die one day .

41. Where are we going in this great country Nigeria? Buari has to his former mandate dictating decisions to favour his muslim counterpart... Is this we voted for? God will demolish and punish the entire family of any leader who want to magirnalised and mislead us...

42. Freeborn where are you when I need you most? Or have you run out of data? Come and See what Buhari is doing ohh?!

43. What for?Na only Muslims dey this country,fuck buhari, yeah I said.

44. chai i don make mistake to vote for this president. he is a religious bigot. yes let as many muslims go for hajj they would all die in their mandatory stampede that their blood sucking demon at the hajj is waiting for all of them.

45. Chai, There is God

46. What a govt? Clueless, impunity. What's govt business with religion? Misplaced priority, why has the CBN not resigned? When countries like UK are reducing interest rate to 0.25% to boost the economy. Shame!!!

47. GOD STRIKE YOU DOWN. GOD DESTROY YOU

48. Buhari must have inspired this. Shakinv my head. I hope you christians that voted this man is seeing this.

49. It's Obvious that Muslims are first class citizens just like FFK said, may God have mercy on we Christians

50. @Juliet Iwuno, I like you for 1 thing only, you are my sister. Welcome to United states of Nigeria. Anyway, this is obere njo from your apc led govt.

51. @freeborn, waiting for you to weep for this administration. This is just a tip of an ice berg for all you that voted and carry APC for head during the election. #Lilytop.com

52. Team Biafra... Its clear that Buhari don't like christains.. Can't be do it by voting? Give is Biafra Buhari

53. Dis is crazy and pure wickedness... So they know what do to help poor masses Hu?? These people are going on pilgrimage, their personal trip. Y slashing currency just for their individual profit?? Businesses are suffering, going down daily bcos of high rate of currency... God is watching you people ooo. People are dying ooo..

54. Buhari has never hid his Islamic agenda since his assumption of office. He was welcome to the most sacred shrine in Saudi within the first few months in office. The feat never achieved by most Presidents of Islamic countries in the world. He held secret meetings with the Saudi people last year during his ‘pilgrimage’ and I am not in doubt he’s been carrying out the Saudi agenda ever since. There are no affordable dollars for importers and people with other legitimate businesses but there is subsidy for Islamic religious jamboree. Fuel subsidy has been removed and more burdens placed on Nigerians but Islamic pilgrimage subsidy is available and affordable. What an irony of confession and action! All non-Muslim Nigerians must resist every move by this Buhari-led government to islamise our nation. I completely support the outright removal of pilgrimage sponsorship by all tiers of government in Nigeria. The president’s actions since last year have divided us rather than uniting us as a nation. It is a big disappointment that this man rules us as Nigerians have never had it easy under him. The VP should not be deceived either. If he fails to protect the secular nature of Nigeria as an entity, history will not forgive him. He should remember the story of Esther and Hamman in the Bible(Hamman made ethnic cleansing ploy against the Jews).If he fails to do something and keep quite in times like this, God will send down help for His people from somewhere else but his associates may not find it easy eventually. There is a reason why Osinbajo is the VP and that include upsetting any ploy to trickily Islamise or Christianise Nigeria by anybody.

55. Last time is about the moon.. Now dollar subsidy for some group of people we are in for it.God pls deliver ur people

56. I didn't take it as an attack on any set or group but rather am against the Use of attaching this to any particular religion or tribe or set of people.

Do you know PRESIDENT Buhari isn't marginalizing any set of this country tho, do you know he rejected the 2016 budget *passed by the National Assembly last month, faulting the inclusion of N40 billion projects in the works ministry, 386 projects in agriculture and removal of the Lagos-Calabar rail project, among others by the lawmakers*

Just look at the *Lagos-calabar* rail way which won't just benefit anyone but "majorly" the east and when I see people abusing or swearing or putting on propagandas I would just laugh especially when the eastern people do this act this man wishes this country well, so words like *Y buhari go sell forex 197 for people going to hajj?I no just undstnd* would only lead to something bad.

And concerning the *197 forex* he ordered banks to sell for *pilgrims* not saying *Muslims* do you think President Buhari has anything against Christians, he doesn't .

57. I didn't take it as an attack on any set or group but rather am against the Use of attaching this to any particular religion or tribe or set of people.

Do you know PRESIDENT Buhari isn't marginalizing any set of this country tho, do you know he rejected the 2016 budget *passed by the National Assembly last month, faulting the inclusion of N40 billion projects in the works ministry, 386 projects in agriculture and removal of the Lagos-Calabar rail project, among others by the lawmakers*

Just look at the *Lagos-calabar* rail way which won't just benefit anyone but "majorly" the east and when I see people abusing or swearing or putting on propagandas I would just laugh especially when the eastern people do this act this man wishes this country well, so words like *Y buhari go sell forex 197 for people going to hajj?I no just undstnd* would only lead to something bad.

And concerning the *197 forex* he ordered banks to sell for *pilgrims* not saying *Muslims* do you think President Buhari has anything against Christians, he doesn't .

©SulaimonOla

58. This is what the Federal Government abandoned the Nigerian Olympics team for!! They'll be expecting them top go for gold without providing the necessary funds and as such leaving them to participate without any form of motivation and nothing to fight for. My point is, they know that 400 naira per litre is too high for the "pilgrims", then why not reduce it for the entire country because if its too high for the pilgrims, it is also too high for the other citizens as well.