Wife of US lowest-paid Governor takes waitressing job | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 June 2016

Wife of US lowest-paid Governor takes waitressing job

The wife of Maine Republican Governor, Ann LePage got a waitressing job a few weeks ago to "supplement" her husband's $70,000 per year salary, the lowest of any U.S. governor. The Governor Paul LePage made this known at a recent town hall in Maine.
The LePages live with their dog, in the Augusta governor's mansion and bought a $215,000 Boothbay home two years ago. The governor recently tried but failed to increase his successor's salary to $150,000 per year, above the nearly $135,000 average for all 50 state governors in 2015.
Ann LePage said being a waitress is something she had "always always wanted to do."

LePage said she spent years taking care of her mother, who long suffered from scleroderma and passed away in October.

She said, it's not time to follow through on her interest, LePage said, adding: "I know she'd be proud of me."

LePage, who's saving up for a Toyota RAV4, works three days a week, and is asking for more shifts at work in order to make more money.

Her daughter Lauren LePage made $28 an hour last summer working at McSeagull's.

She said:
 "Because of who I am and who I'm married to, I want to work extra hard just so I can show them I can do the job," she said.
She doesn't tell customers, or co-workers, who she is unless they ask. She doesn't tell them because she wants to be treated like every regular worker with no preferential treatment.

Source: ABC News

72 comments:

She's doing what she enjoys doing biko! Linda take note!

Governor wife in Nigeria will never try this.

And that's simplicity

Can AISHA the wife of a cluless president do this?

Meet The White Lady Who Sold Pure Water In The Streets Of Lagos said...

When you are Humble, you are Humble. Money has nothing to do with it.

OBA'S BLOG said...

Na wa ooo. Bk was here!!

Wow I can't imagine bcos where I come from in Africa (nigeria) our governors loot our money so their wife,wives, concubines don't even have to sweat.
Signed
#LibBadBoy

SouthEastern said...

Wow! Humility at its peak. One of the good and positive things we should emulate
from Oyibo land and not the negatives like gaysism parade and other ills. I love
and admire your courage woman.

In Nigeria being a governor is big money ooh

Bestman said...

This is why Nigeria will never progress.Here a governor's wife flies private jet everyday,has no job or source of income except stealing government funds through "pet projects". How many governor's wife in Nigeria maintain their independent careers?May God help us in Nigeria. God bless ma.Keep working hard.God bless u and the governor.

Dis onee fit happen for 9ja.unpossible.lol impossible

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

How interesting!...just them and their dog.It's a passion she has always had,to be a waitress...if it where to be here in 9ja,small girls be carrying themselves high all in the name of been a first lady.Very Nice.

Na which Naija guv wife go fit do dis? Infact which Naija guv go gree to be the least paid guv in the country? How many guvs dey even collect the average salary of $135k pa?

That's gud of her

Anne said...

It can never ever ever ever happen in 9ja...

Hmmm, only in obodo oyibo can this ever happen in Niga? never, good for her.

Hehehehe...in Nigeria, it's impossibility raise to a power of two!!!

#proudnurse#

Wow humility

This is interesting and incredible...#onMYway...

chommy said...

Nt possible in naija. Linda observe!

Chinedu said...

Can never never happen in naija

You see am? How can you now meet this one for contract, settlement, money for rent/school fees, etc? Fear no go gree you na. You must go find your own hustle. Our leaders/govt. officials must realise that this 'bigmanism' and larger than life lifestyle is part of the reason society puts so much financial pressure on them.

Ambode wife should and work a waitress in tfc abi otishele ni

Hmm interesting

May said...

This can neva happen in naija

That's the last thing that will ever happen in Nigeria but she's a reflection of a govt that's truly not corrupt

Nigeria government can u guys see this.

Whaooooo!! Na wa ooo

This can't happen in Nigeria. I am inspired by her action. I wish politician in Nija will learn from this story and behave well

Can gov ajimobi wife try this....selfish people...

Wow!
A humble and great mind.
Life is simple when you make the right choice.

This can never happen in Nigeria. Our so called anti- corrupt president won't see this to implement.

Tell an African Local Government's wife to do that and hear her reply

Eeyore said...

Waiting for the Ebonyi state governor's wife to take a job at the local Mr. Bigg's..... That will be the day.

Keezy said...

Can this happen in Nigeria?

Like seriously... And in Nigeria, the wife of a counselor, not to even talk about the wife of a local government chairman, has the world at her feet. And yet, gullible Nigerians called them honourable so and so, there's nothing honourable about them.

apatex said...

Nt encouraging

Hembafan said...

Not in naija.

apatex said...

Nt encouraging

apatex said...

Nt encouraging

WoW! This is unbelievably great!

IT CAN NEVER HAPPEN IN NIGERIA, BECAUSE THE MONEY HER HUSBAND WILL STEAL IS ENOUGH TO OPEN A WORLD CLASS RESTURANT FOR HER AND MAKE HER THE MANAGER.

AUNTY LINDA....

Damn.... No comment o....

Naija why?

Good

This will never happen in Nigeria where greed won't make them stoop low to this. ..

The wife's of the governor's of Nigeria even that of the president should learn and be an excellent example to our nation not showing us what you are made of let's see humility,bumblebees. Be a role model.

Shocking! But I like the simplicity to life

Alert! Every Woman Should Read This

4 nija local government chairman wife no go allow pple hear word

AMMY said...

A governor's wife trying 2 save 2 buy a car. Even a Chancellor's wife won't do dat in 9ja. I doff my hat 2 u madam. No wonder you pple keep making progress while our democracy is in a continous state of confusion .

It can't happen Nigeria

Awww...imagine! And in Nigeria a governor own at least two private jets and properties everywhere.

70,000dallar a year. Hmmmm corrupt Nigeria governors are gotten that in 1day. May God help us

This cannot happen in Nigeria

*********************taaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!! jux for d news ******* wic waitress?????????waitress dey smile for duty postv?????????????

Exactly...in stupid Nigeria folks believe being married to the state governor means free meal ticket and access to state treasury as if its your personal asset /funds...That's why educated folks like us keep asking what is it again that Lara Oshiomole does for a living ? But you will be labelled a hater and mental health Nigerian patients would be commending the bull shit with comments like awwwe, very nice of her, oh so nice of her, Congrats, it is well with u madam....when she should be in jail from stealing from your common wealth....

*Linda's Future Hubby*

These are the leaders with integrity, fear of God. Tell me why won't their country be great. The funny part is that they might not even be going to church or mosque all d time...it's in-built

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

One stupid wife of a clueless president is Nigeria is there feeling like she is God or something.

Well said.

Bukola saraki wife wey do head like native fowl go fit do this?

You are very correct. This is the way to go for women generally. Modesty and humility rolled into one. Her husband should be so proud. I know I am��

This one is not being humble.... It's a necessity because if she no do the work, na hunger go hammer her. If her husband was earning 1m$ every year and she was getting atleast 200kusd yearly, do u think she will work? How much is a RAV4 SUV that she needs to be saving for it (less than 26k$) ....A woman of her caliber should be able to afford it. That's the problem with America, you can't be a rich man if you earn less than $200,000 annually! Not to even talk of the man's take home salary after taxes have been deducted, he probably takes home less than 60k of the 70k salary.

That emphases the decency of thought among the leadership class in their Country. We have a lot to learn and apply.

Choi...LOL...dey do head like native fowl.

AJ said...

In Naija, even the governor's sister can't work as a receptionist, let alone wait on tables. Wetin happen to all the CBN and NNPC slots?

As patience Jonathan did when she was.. mad man!

Ebi...#bosschic# said...

Lmao!

It's beyond enjoying what she likes doing but a big lesson for Nigerian leaders, women and politicians that leadership positions are call to service... Woman should work hard and not encourage their husband especially those in power to steal. They shouldn't give up their career just because their husband is in power.

But he's still on the seat rendering service to his citizens for such meager amount, if Nigeria paid that little, there would be no politicians.