Photos: Many feared dead as Shopping mall in Abeokuta under construction collapses | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 May 2016

Photos: Many feared dead as Shopping mall in Abeokuta under construction collapses

Many people are feared dead after a four-storey shopping mall that is still under construction at Itokun in Abeokuta, Ogun state collapsed this morning. The shopping mall is reportedly being constructed by the Ogun state government. Rescue operation for those trapped in the building is ongoing. More photos after the cut...

Photo credit: Amaechi Olawuyi

52 comments:

1. Poor foundation, lack of technical know-how, Unskilled labourers employed for that job.
    RIP TO those dead.

2. God save ur children mbok

3. May God shows mercy on those who trapped inside.

4. Oh No not again....but good it collapse now that people has not started buying and selling there.

5. Jesus christ this is evidence of using fake building materials God help us

6. Even a construction by the state government is collapsing.... Sigh!

7. Another non standard building.

8. i see no reason they keep using substandard material in building......may God help dis country...

9. Hian! Not again! Linda take note!

10. i see no reason they keep using substandard materials in building......may God help dis country.....

11. Government property too what a pity

12. ***********************Na for all dix western states dem dey get all dix news of collapsed buildings *****************Yoruba pipo n fake fake evrything !!!!!!!!!!! Even a Govt structure ***********************Dem no fit como money !!!!!!!!!!!! Tufiakwa !!!!!!!!!!!!

1. Your is a time bomb that will soon explode. Wait and see.. hehe! Moreover, all u've ever achieved in your whole.live is from Yoruba land. Very soon we will send you packing to ur impoverished land where success is alien to ur pple. Nonsense!!!

13. It happens very close to itoku market pple are still trapped under

14. This is a tragedy,cant even imagine,RIP to the dead,and quick recovery to the wounded.

15. Nawao

16. Lord have mercy on ur children

17. Bad news for the family of the deceased.Jumbo

18. We are united in sorrow with relatives and loved ones of those that died.May God also heal the wounded.

19. We are united in sorrow with relatives and loved ones of those that died.May God also heal the wounded.

20. Goodness gracious God help us

21. God have mercy. If this is happening with a government project, then there is cause for alarm. If i may ask? Who takes over the land now? The people or federal government? Who will be arrested for this? Nija, we dey look.

22. Black man did not evolve completely. Why would you endanger the lives of hundreds of people by using substandard products and probably not following laid down procedures for doing something; always employing short-cuts in every aspect of our lives be it education, health, even the akara by the roadside, the woman will sit beside stagnant water and not give a damn.

23. So what will happen to the Government now. I know they will find who to blame when they should start resigning. Useless govt.

24. Come to National Hospital and see the structures built a couple of years ago, leaking water and the blockwork eroding by the second. It stands in stark contrast to the structures in the same hospital built by Julius Berger almost twenty years ago which is without an iota of degradation. Shame on black man.

25. Oh my God have mercy on me. May the departed souls rest in peace.

26. Everywer problem dey....may God help us

27. RIP TO THE DEAD

28. imagine Complex built by almighty Govt collapsing,so who should we trust now

29. This is omida market and not itoku.

30. imagine Complex built by almighty Govt collapsing

31. CHIBUZOR IGWAH13 May 2016 at 18:38

When it happened to TB Joshua, it was alleged rituals and all sorts of names was given to it in order to sour his name. so now it happen to govt own property which name will fit in?

May the souls of the dead once rest in peace

32. CHIBUZOR IGWAH13 May 2016 at 18:39

When it happened to TB Joshua, it was alleged rituals and all sorts of names was given to it in order to sour his name. so now it happen to govt own property which name will fit in?

May the souls of the dead once rest in peace