Pakistan's Islamic council proposes men should be allowed to 'lightly beat' their wives for a variety of offences | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 29 May 2016

Pakistan's Islamic council proposes men should be allowed to 'lightly beat' their wives for a variety of offences

Pakistan's 20-member Council of Islamic Ideology has proposed allowing a man to 'lightly beat' his wife if she commits certain 'offences'. The council which is a constitutional body of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan advises the government but cannot make laws.

Amongst its recommendations, it suggests women can be beaten for a raft of offences including refusal to have sex without a religious excuse, failure to bathe after intercourse and periods, for not wearing hijabs, or for speaking so loudly that strangers can hear them.

The bill goes ahead to recommend that women should be banned from military combat, welcoming foreign delegations and appearing in advertisements, and must have spousal permission to give monetary support to somebody.

Female nurses should be banned from taking care of male patients and there should be no-co-education after primary school, it suggests. 

The bill advises that a woman must not interact with strangers and that abortion after 120 days should be declared murder.

However, it says that a woman can participate in politics without the permission of her parents and that anyone who tries to force women to marry should be jailed for ten years.

The bill didn't receive the council's unanimous approval, three of its members rejected some of the proposals in the bill during heated discussion led by Chairman Muhammad Khan Sheerani while the only female member of the council, Dr Sameeha Raheel Qazi, was not present on Wednesday when it was being discussed.

45 comments:

1. Laws were made for man not man for the laws. Women are always reduced to object of poetry . Something I will never underestand about islam

2. "That men in Pakistan should beat their wives with a small stick"...that's the complete story.

3. Beating is beating. Nothing light lightly

4. Ndi iberibe! Linda take note!

5. QL: May the Peace of God reign in our Lives, Homes and Nation. Happy Democracy Day! Want to look dapper and exquisite?
    BBM: 2754B912, Call: 08130373753
    Whatsapp: 08034334692.

6. Every land with its own laws

7. And this is the height of it! TF? Muslim men and their inflated self worth..

8. Islam was introduced by the devil .. mohammed was his agent

1. U will regret saying dis I swear. Lucky or whatever u call ur self

9. Nawa 4 them oooh. Which kind ideology be dat?? Get your today's exclusive soccer prediction tips.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com

10. Muslims ehh... Islam. Nigerian women una dey see say na heaven una dey?

11. Islam still stand as t problem of the world...FOOLS...DODORIMA AFRICA

12. Islam still stand as t problem of the world...FOOLS...DODORIMA AFRICA

13. Lol. Lightly. Linda won't like this

14. they are bastards. what kind of religion is this.

15. Rubbish proposal rubbish islamic idea

16. Well,half of the proposals are actually good . Termination of pregnancy should even be considered murder from day one of confirmation of the pregnancy

17. Rubbish proposal rubbish islamic idea

18. Oh! And I propose that their women should be allowed to 'lightly'romance another man for a variety of offences.... Just saying. But there is nothing like 'lightly'in a man beating a woman

19. This is the face of religious intolerance and backwardness, this is what happens when we deny freedoms to others, eventually our freedoms become eroded. How is it that the government of a country starts deciding what rights are due to whom, because of their gender? Just because a person has breast, they should be beaten?! Nonsense!

If Nigeria continues with it draconian attitudes towards freedom and human rights, eventually, it will also become a pariah state, where lawlessness, because of unnecessary laws will be the end result.

20. Odikwa egwu for this hypocritical Islamic people. You should kuku say that a women should be same as property, so that they can used the way the owners want. Ndi ara religion.

21. I thank God am Christian...

22. And the wives should beat them heavily. This Islam is such a backward religion. God forbid that my child should marry one of them and be treated as chattel. Primitive, wicked and perverted people. Freeborn I'm speaking like you now 😄

23. And who is going to "Lighly beat" the husbands for their own variety offences?

24. This people no well o. The only reasonable thing there is that women should not be forced into marriage,others are trash

25. Am double sure that Islam is never from God.

26. Bloody idiots. That's how they will be proposing stupid bills. How about bills that makes the men build mansions for their wives? Idiots, bastardy, they should goan lightly beat their mothers. Bloody fools

27. islamic people have animalistic tendencies

28. Is it possible to divide the world in two, so this people and their backward ideology can leave in peace while the people of the true God live in peace for God's sake? Ah ah, most we continue to bear the burden of these illitrates? Gosh!!!!!

29. Esther Dangana29 May 2016 at 22:11

Thank God I am not from that country.

30. The world system always enacting laws that favour their zest for foolishness

31. Oloriburuku people, just like this Peter guy wey the try prepare hin way for Linda's end of year giveaway