Meet Dr. Mgbajah Ogadimma, the first female Heart Surgeon in Nigeria and West Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 May 2016

Meet Dr. Mgbajah Ogadimma, the first female Heart Surgeon in Nigeria and West Africa

Dr.  Mgbajah Ogadimma has made history as the first female Cardiothoracic Surgeon to come out of Nigeria and West Africa as a whole. Dr. Ogadimma took to twitter yesterday to share the good news. She wrote: "Very long journey, 7 years plus, three continents! #heartsurgery #first female heart surgeon in West Africa!"

"Dr Mgbajah Ogadimma. First female Cardiothoracic Surgeon in Nigeria and West Africa! #Historymaking #trail blazer! #Godsgrace"

Source: Ogadimma Mgbajah @OgadinnmaM/twitter

73 comments:

1. Beautiful. Congrats. You're a star. More Instagram followers for you

2. Very nice
    Love women winning

3. Wow! Amazing... good way to go woman,I like that.

4. Lol. Pls let aunty research well. She's not the 1st.

Congrats to Her

1. Was going to say the same. The first should be in her late sixties to seventy now. She was my late mum's colleague but I can't remember her name. She did the first open heart surgery.

5. Congrats my dear. Beauty and brain.

6. Hmmmm now I'm loving up. Big ups to her
    Signed
    #LibBadBoy

7. Awwwwwww my dear congrat.
    She is making Nigeria proud why terrorist buhari is there distracting Nigeria na wan oh.
    Is she yoruba or hausa or ibo.

8. Way to go!!!! Proud of you!

9. Am proud of u deae,wsh u de best

10. Wow

11. Making us proud. She's got brains

12. Congrats sweet, u are fantastically good

13. Igbos everywhere. Good people

14. Linda she's nnot the first. Research. Lemme give u a lead. Alvan ikoku's late daughter was a consultant in the area.

1. Which area? Note d difference between a consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon and a consultant Cardiologist. Research it and lemme know.

2. Note d difference btw consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon and consultant Cardiologist. Research and lemme know.

3. My dear late Dr veronica Ikoku was a cardiologist MD cardiology not a surgeon. It's really not about the fanfare but that we can drive open heart surgery in nigeria and save more people with operable heart conditions. I have my notification and will be inducted in burkinafasso next February at the next graduation ceremony of the west African college of surgeons. Thanks all the same

4. My dear late Dr veronica Ikoku was a cardiologist MD cardiology not a surgeon. It's really not about the fanfare but that we can drive open heart surgery in nigeria and save more people with operable heart conditions. I have my notification and will be inducted in burkinafasso next February at the next graduation ceremony of the west African college of surgeons. Thanks all the same

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. Ogadinma is right! Check your facts Kingzonly before displaying your ignorance on social media! I am so proud of you @ Ogadinma Mgbajah( née Ikeagwuoha)

15. Replies
    1. And who have you helped. Haters everywhere. Why not be happy for another for once and you will be blessed. Sadist

2. Lots of Nigerians with heart issues fool!

3. Segun she go soon help you when your heart is about to stop. Good job Ogadinmah. Oga ni e jo. Ma da were Segun lohun, he is the first male fool from okitipupa college of education.

16. Not taking anything away from her achievements. But I know of 3 Nigerian female heart surgeons practicing in The States . She is definitely not the first but Kudos to her

1. We are talking of Nigerian trained please! Why are people so hateful

17. Congratulations and may God bless your career!!
    Amen

18. That's our very own Newest surgeon. Truly a trailblazer! ! First in Naija nail W.Africa. A vry big Congratulations for making us proud. No more foreign medical tourism in heart surgery.

19. Ogadinma of AYF Aladinma owerri. Wao! Congrats dear. Glad to see this.

20. Aww. Congrats to her. Am so proud od her

21. 7 plus i hope she did residency and fellowship it should be about 15 plus years.

22. CONGRATS DEAR........

23. we are always well represented all the time. cameron take note.

24. Wow, this is incredible. These are the types of people that should be made Telecom/Companies Ambassador.
    www.memoirsofanabujaboredgirl@blogspot.com

25. Congrats dear...why in the hell is this not trending...aha...naija!!!

26. Congrats dear and somebody will say there is no GOD.....GOD bless each of us dat wish pple well...#GRACE OF GOD.....#inspired by Linda

27. may God led you and be ur help, protect you from the hands of enemies

28. may God led you and be ur help, protect you from the hands of enemies

29. Congrats dear and somebody will say there is no GOD.....GOD bless each of us dat wish pple well...#GRACE OF GOD.....#inspired by Linda

30. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

31. Superb finishing

32. Superb finishing

33. Ogadinma Congratulations.
    Truly making us proud.
    St' Andrews AYF Aladinma

34. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU DEAREST.....WE ARE VERY PROUD OF YOU

#AMIABLE #LIB #FOLLOWER

35. Congratulations to her. Very lovely

36. Great leap. So proud of you

37. Dr Mgbajah congratulations! LASUTH female residents aren't doing badly, produced the first female urologist now the first female cardiologist. Well done.

38. Ogazzzzzz! Congrats my dear. Keep the flag flying; keep the vision burning! So proud of how far you have come.

39. Perhaps for physicians trained in NIgeria, but I personally know an Igbo chick that is a cardio-thoracic surgeon here in the U.S...there could very well be others.

40. Pls we need them in Naija ooo abeg make dem no carry am go d states ooo

41. Dr Mgbajah im very happy to heard these good news ,i knew you would make us proud already .Thank you so much for safe my life im now a better man

42. Snr Ogadinma, Enene house captain, Federal Calabar, Congrats o :)

43. Do you mean, Nigeria trained? Cos I know other female thoracic surgeons. Please do una research o.