See how people voyage along the Okrika-Port Harcourt Waterways | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 22 April 2016

See how people voyage along the Okrika-Port Harcourt Waterways

Twitter user Tamuno Warisoma shared these photos this morning showing how people voyage along the Okrika-Port Harcourt Waterways. According to Tamuno, if you are old or pregnant, you will have to part with some cash for someone to carry you on their back. Looks dangerous!

42 comments:

1. Wawuu! They're being subjected to huge risks daily.

2. This is a suicide attempt na,no live guard nothing,just hanging,chio! #OnlyinOkrikaOh

3. Very dangerous indeed.

4. This is a suicide attempt na,no life jacket nothing,just hanging,chio! #OnlyinOkrikaOh

5. Risks Takers
    Consequences of bad economy in unending downturn

6. OMG! River people are really suffering oh!

7. Haaaaaa dis is pathetic oh, Nija my great country. My people,virgin coconut oil is available for u, very affordable, when I mean Virgin, I mean pure frm mother earth. For more info on hw to get call 07032612007 or bbm on 2B4B527B

8. What the heck is this?
    Very dangerous as terrorist buhari.
    Mallam amech should be arrested immediately they guy is a waste.
    My governor my governor wike should do some thing about this?
    Mallam amech looted 3.5 billion naira project money that is suppose to use for it.
    They should be patience wike will do some thing about it.

9. OMG! Rivers people are really suffering oh!

10. That's the only means of transportation we have there,so kini kawa SE si bayiooo.

11. Linda, this is the Local Govt Boat that ply PH- Bonny waterway called Ibanise not Okrika. They do not have a proper jetty, hence the need for one to carry you into the boat. The news is that there is currently an impasse between Ibanise and other boat drivers, so people are in a hurry to get into any available boat.Please take note and correct.

12. Hehehehehe dis is serious....very risky abeg.

13. Chae! Is dis life?

14. Very dangerous

15. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com22 April 2016 at 10:16

This is very dangerous especially if you don't know how to swim.

16. 9ja no dey carry last. LOLZZz.

17. Chai Nigeria

18. 'OYEL' STATE INDEED!!!

19. Dis is serious! Linda take note!

20. Omg! Even women? This is risky mehn

21. GOV WIKE HAS WON ...SO OVER TO HIM..MAYBE YOU CAN SEND HIM PICS INSTEAD OF LIB

22. Hmm.... Na wa o... Another means of making money.

23. This dose not represent how people voyage along the Okrika-Port Harcourt Waterways.Yes we travel by sea but don't go through such hardship. Will inbox pictures.

1. Send your pictures let's see please. Surely people use this one too, I mean those are people on the pix right.

24. This dose not representshowing how people voyage along the Okrika-Port Harcourt Waterways. Will inbox pictures later.

25. Hmmmm! I wonder what people gain in giving wrong information! This is not Okrika-Port Harcourt waterways please. Linda, please ask the so called Tamuno to back his story with pictures from the Okrika - Port Harcourt Jetty! I repeat, this is not how the Okrikans travel even in the midst of fuel scarcity, there were lots of speed boats and price was not hiked!

26. That picture is not the true position of our transport system Okrika. People should stop telling lies. Linda you can go to marine base in Port Harcourt and ATC waterside in Okrika all in Rivers State
    to confirm whether that report is correct or not, but as an indigene of Okrika I can confirm to you that , that report is totally wrong.

27. Linda take note

Estar Ib said...
    Linda, this is the Local Govt Boat that ply PH- Bonny waterway called Ibanise not Okrika. They do not have a proper jetty, hence the need for one to carry you into the boat. The news is that there is currently an impasse between Ibanise and other boat drivers, so people are in a hurry to get into any available boat.Please take note and correct.
    April 22, 2016 at 9:55 AM

Rhoda said...
    Hmmmm! I wonder what people gain in giving wrong information! This is not Okrika-Port Harcourt waterways please. Linda, please ask the so called Tamuno to back his story with pictures from the Okrika - Port Harcourt Jetty! I repeat, this is not how the Okrikans travel even in the midst of fuel scarcity, there were lots of speed boats and price was not hiked!
    April 22, 2016 at 11:49 AM

28. I'm from Okrika & i can say authoritatively that this isn't Okrika-Port Harcourt waterway,verify before you post abeg.....