"All I wanted is to stay alive and continue my education"- says 14-year-old Boko Haram escapee | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 April 2016

"All I wanted is to stay alive and continue my education"- says 14-year-old Boko Haram escapee

Hajara (not her real name) loves education and was determined to get one. She was 12 years old and in form one at the junior secondary school when Boko Haram attacked her home town of Bama in September 2014. She was captured three times and escaped three times.
"All I wanted is to stay alive and continue my schooling," she said.
At the last escape, she and other escapees trekked for 12 days, mostly at night to avoid recapture until she got to Maiduguri.
Today as part of the safe school initiative funded by Norway of which UNICEF is a key partner, Hajara is now a proud student of one of the Federal Government Colleges in northcentral Nigeria. Our dreams are worth fighting for.

Source: UNICEF

25 comments:

1. Well,tank God for her,western education is sin according to dis Islamic sect,may dey Muslim continue to grope in darkness.

2. Thank God for her life

3. Determination, is all the revelation. Welcome Back lady.

Long live the Queen...
    (Linda Ikeji)...

4. great spirit she has. She would be successful in life. That's my prayer for her.

5. And God will sure do it for you.

6. May God grant her that which her heart desire most IJN (AMEN). And to all our boko haram victim, God will restore unto them Joy, Peace and all they have lost IJN

7. This is so sad. No matter your situation, keep hope alive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6TgxoU57qo

8. Eeeeeeeeeeeyah! Linda take note!

9. Thank God for her. Linda observe!

10. All buhari's fault

11. chai

12. I SUPRISE AS U CAL HAJARA, I WAN ASK WISH DAY HAUSA GIRL OF 12 DE GO SKUL? BUT DIS NEWS NA LIE. HOW U GO TEL ME SAY BOKO KIDNAP AM 3TIMES N SHE EXCAP 3TIMES?EVEN SOYAS NEVA FIT NEAR WERE BOKO DE U DE TEL ME SAY SHE EXCAP, I BEG TEL DAT TO MUMU PIPLE

13. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin29 April 2016 at 12:02

Thank God for her life.