A Nigerian East Carolina University student, Adedayo
Adeniyi
was verbally and physically assaulted by a white man at a Donald Trump
rally last Wednesday after he was targeted and thrown out for being
black, New York Daily News, reports
20-year-old Adeniyi decided to attend the Donald Trump rally in
Fayetteville, N.C. not as a protester or demonstrator, but out of curiosity.
"I was there just to watch and experience the surreal moment of someone
like Trump running for president and speaking to thousands of people,"
he told the Daily News.
Without saying a single word during the entire event, Adeniyi was
randomly targeted and thrown out of the event by police as seen and
heard on video he recorded.
"At first I refused to leave because it was all just a product of being
black at a Trump rally. Basically in that environment I'm guilty by
association. But common sense told me to just listen to the cops and
move along," Adeniyi recalled.
On his cellphone video Adeniyi, being told he has to leave, can be heard saying:
"Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. That's not me, that's them. I don't even know them. What? I don't even know them. I don't even know them"
The visibly shocked student reluctantly complied and was escorted down the stairs by the police.
"What
happened next caused me to lose faith in America. The man at the end of
the video is a moment I'll never forget," said Adeniyi.

One
of Trump's supporters, a middle aged white man, looked him directly in
the face and said, "F--k you, F--k you," right before slapping Adeniyi
in the face.
"The hate
in his eyes. The words. The hate in those words. The slap. It was
disgusting and sad. At that moment I believed that America will stay and
continue to be a hateful and bigoted country,"
"These
are presidential candidate rallies. Not a KKK rally. The fact that I
experienced hate at a candidate rally tells you everything you need to
know about Donald Trump and the people that support him. People will act
more hateful and racist in environments that they feel not only
encouraged to do it, but accept it as normal," he added.
Meanwhile the man who assaulted Adeniyi has been identified as
Jason Wilton Wetzel (pictured is his mugshot and a screenshot from the
video recorded by Adeniyi) seems to have shown some remorse.
"I
can’t believe I did that. It was me, but I’m not a hateful man. I
just got caught up. When I saw the video all over the news of me doing
that to that young man, I was just disgusted with myself." said Mr
Wetzel, who confirmed to the Daily News that it was him seen physically
and verbally assaulting a Adeniyi.
Investigators said Wetzel, 70, moved to North Carolina from Georgia
when his job with the military was transferred to Fort Bragg. According
to detectives, Wetzel is accused of voting in both states in the 2012
primary and general elections as well as voting in both states in 2014.
"I
have no criminal background," Adeniyi told The News. "This man
does. So please explain to me who the real thug is. A young black man
who is a junior in college majoring in medical laboratory science and
who also happens to hold many leadership positions there? Or is it this
man, with a criminal background who attacked me for no reason?"
Reached by phone Monday, Wetzel claimed that it was indeed him on the
video, but said:
"I’m not a racist or hateful, I just got caught up. I
can’t explain it. I want to apologize to this young man and maybe take
him out to dinner or something."
Remorseful bc he was caught on video. Fuck Americans.
ReplyDeletePOPULAR LIB READER!
Omg! See the man's face. And he thinks by apologising and taking him to dinner will solve d issue here? God will judge u racists
DeleteLIB ADDICT#just passing#
I was waiting to read the part where they'll say the white bastard was arrested. But I didn't see it . if a black man had said those words to a white man and slapped him now, he would have been behind bars for assault by now. Fuck America. Fuck Donald Trump.
DeleteRemorseful indeed. Because he showed his true character n was caught on camera
DeleteY fuck Americans u dumb fuck? Racism as well as tribalism exists. Then you go say u go school. I nor go. Education is still almost free last time I checked. Donald trump is a bully and a bad example. What makes you any different?
DeleteAbeg shut up, English learning fool.
DeleteWhat a world.please i want the yoruba boy to tell me what he went there to do?who invited him?in what organization did he went there to represent?
ReplyDeleteNext time my dear don't go were u were not invited and u are black so u are evil Donald trump is Jesus servant a spotless man so say no to Muslims terrorist and say no to blacks.
May God bless trump there is noting like abuse about this.
Linda post my heavenly comment.
Dummy. It is a rally. As Ameriancs we have thr right to attend any political campagain. What if he was a Trump supporter and went to show support. Think be4 u type.b
DeleteYou are indeed stupid and a dunce
DeleteAt dis point, I can't bear it anymore. I really want to see u physically to ascertain if u are actually a human being or an alien from d most remote planet. Wat da hell!
DeleteIt's a pity,you can just imagine what will happen when Trump becomes the president! Can't deal!
ReplyDeleteWhich dinner? Adenine go along with a very looooooooong spoon
ReplyDeleteWetin he find go there in the first place. Children wey no dey hear word. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteIf Donald Trump becomes US president, I see the gates of hell open.The world would be all about the white Americans & others.Some gullible lot be supporting Trump cox of his zero tolerance for Muslims, but I tell you as long as you're black & not american, you're just a pawn to Trump.He's not just a religious bigot but a racist
ReplyDeleteMy dear everyone knows that already, that's why we should grow up and stop depending on america for anything. America is choosing their president, we are the ones having headache. Isn't it pitiful? If donald is what it takes to make africans have sense, so be it. As it is now, you all are acting like your existence depends on america.
DeleteSmh!
ReplyDeleteHow racism is the world's no 1 problem..
Pls Adeniyi, run for ur life and don't go on dinner with that hateful bigot monster...
But then Adeniyi should've known better by now that even Trump himself is a racist and shouldn't ve attended any of such man rally..
Would just b Patiently watching to see wat becomes of America if trump end up winning as d president..
The beginning of d end!
Rapist...take him for dinner...as he is hungry...wicked homosexual.
ReplyDeleteGood for the old fool
ReplyDeleteTake him to dinner and probably stab him this time.White goat.
ReplyDeleteBros u fuck up..person wey I go slap back x2
ReplyDeleteLinda i must tell you that if trump wins, people like us that visits USA for so many reasons will cut our visit.
ReplyDeletethe hate campaign by trumps is just very mush...
God bless America
You visit USA and speak the type of the English you write? Very sad....., and the hate campaign is similar to the one you ran for GEJ pre-2015 elections.
DeleteQuite unfortunate, Trump emerging as President, will definitely signal an end to a United America.
ReplyDelete. ~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA LUMIA
Racist fools
ReplyDeleteTrump is running America down.
ReplyDeleteCha ching! All i, hearing is the sound of money. Foolish racist trump supporters. Good job Niyi. Way to go. You did us proud keeping a level head and even being in the news for the right reason somewhat
ReplyDeleteTake him out to dinner and finally kill him? Niyi stay in your accommodation and dont even disclose it cos you know how these trumpeter racists are. They can take this to another level. doing this at 70? What a shame
ReplyDeleteLol gud 4 him
ReplyDeleteYou have learnt you lesson.
ReplyDeleteWhich kind yeye dinner?
ReplyDeleteHis feeling sorry because he knows the world would insult hell out of him
Blacks should pray Trump does not win, else blacks will be treated as criminals and deported back to their countries.
DeleteHmmn blacks should go develop their countries instead of hoping trump will lose.
DeleteOld man knows he could face a lawsuit if Adeniyi decides to press assault charges against him
DeleteWhich kind yeye dinner?
ReplyDeleteHis feeling sorry because he knows the world would insult hell out of him
*sigh*
ReplyDeleteOkbye.
Eat ur dinner. We hate u too
ReplyDeleteRacism can never stop until christ comes.
ReplyDeleteKindly visit my blog http://laraoladele.blogspot.com.ng for latest news,gist and many more
ReplyDeleteTo poison him or what ? useless old fool criminal.
ReplyDeleteI pray Trump didn't win the election, cos this hating is getting too much
ReplyDeleteDis is totally unfair we are one nd d same in d sight of God
ReplyDeleteYoruba clan with their Amebo-ish lifestyle I believe this guy must have been planted by Cruz or Clinton..anyways u're lucky u ain't got killed perhaps it's not over though..careful young lady of nowadays
ReplyDeleteUr brain is as light as d air
DeleteThe only difference between you and Trump is that he is a billionaire and you ..... a poor church rat. Did you read the post at all?
DeleteDoes he lok like a hungry child to you????
ReplyDeleteYou this scum bag he has the right to be everywhere,tribalistic he goat you're no different from a buffoon
ReplyDeletelaide bakare neeeds to see this.. ode woman be rooting for trump on her instagram page
ReplyDeleteYou r a goat for saying this, if it were to b u who hv d opportunity to schl abroad I knw u wil b selling drug. Igbo cow.
ReplyDeleteYou're just a numb skull... what has yoruba gotta do with this? And is there crime in attending a rally? Hey boy..? Get your sh*t together n find a life..#HopelessBeing2016
ReplyDeleteU are no less than Donald trump and d wetzel man for making such a comment about Yoruba ppl...
ReplyDeleteall in d name of colour.
ReplyDeleteThink before you comment@ Henry cos your comment just brought out the foolishness in you and u're no different from Trump and the man that assaulted adeniyi.
ReplyDelete#LIB ADDICT#
Na wa oo
ReplyDeletejamilashaibu15@yahoo.com
You that fool thinking the guy crossed His boundary I pity you,Now let me school you a bit,when you find yourself in a strange land or a new school,try to explore and not staying in just one place.Afterall,the earth is the lord and the fulness thereof.And to that stupid man who slapped Him,wa ko onitie lona.
ReplyDeleteWhy didn't they complain when oba of lagos threatened another tribe in lagos.
ReplyDeleteAre yorubas not tribalistic?
ReplyDeleteWhat take him out to dinner,fag alert.
ReplyDeleteYou r just so stupid. Y the hate? Is it because ur parents couldn't sent u abroad to study?
ReplyDeleteYou're not a racist you got caught up in the moment mumu oshi you're a typical racist.
ReplyDeleteAmerica, a codedly racist land where white superiority Will forever be upheld
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmmm God is watching Trump in 3d.
ReplyDeleteThis is just a tip of the iceberg of what Trump is going to do to blacks and immigrants if he eventually wins... Let's all join hands and pray that racist doesn't win.
ReplyDeleteLong Live LIb!!!!
Yet your people practise tribalism here.
Delete@henry EZe and @Isioma, please i like to ask if you've got brains in that skull of yours or you have , you just don't want to use it. the boy is talking about Donald Trump you are busy castigating him, we ain't talking about tribe here. please Linda i thought you screen what is posted before publishing, this is not it at all.
ReplyDeletethe boy is simply telling us or showing us what is actually happening in US presently and i don't think is bad. he wants us to be at alert that's all.
Take him for a dinner to throw more punches at him?Foolish old man.United state is drowning.This is the beginning of the downfall of United state.A fool at 70.
ReplyDeletelIKE I ALWAYS SAY.....iF America is the only obodo oyibo, I will remain in Nigeria.
ReplyDeletePlease don't accept the dinner offer that might be the end of you evil people
ReplyDeletefreeborn bamislam zinalima, You are a bastard
ReplyDeleteAdeniyi went to the rally to protect your interest from trump becoming next American president so that when you beggars from Nigeria beg for visa and dollar you can get it without Trump denying you beggars. You should thank Adeniyi for his love for you beggars.
ReplyDeleteMr Adeniyi, pls stay well away from this lunatic. Let him stuff his lunch offer up his racist behind. I'm sure you have a pot of your favorite NIGERIAN soup waiting for you whenever you get back to your apartment.
ReplyDeleteI comment my reserve (opposite)
ReplyDeleteHe just got caught up? The troubling part is,trump cannot win the election but this unconscious incitement and public display of hate for colour may break America and start affecting the real world.xenophobia was a pinch o.
ReplyDeleteSweetheart don't go for the dinner, cos you don't know what is in it for you. If someone tell you to your face they hate you better take it serious cos they voiced out what is within.
ReplyDeletewe are all angry that Trump is a racist and we as a country we are divided, still talking down each others tribe.HMMMMMMMM.
ReplyDeleteShut up all you people saying what was he looking for there. He could be an American citizen. And even if he is a foreign student, don't you know Trump becoming president affects him too? And why shouldn't he be allowed to enter any rally? Is that the point here?
ReplyDeleteToo bad. .
ReplyDelete#FINEST
Myopic minded invalid, Yorubas address changing the world, you're on lib chatting nonsense, your people will always be simple.
ReplyDeleteMy instinct was right!I saw the video and was like this guy is acting like Nig.he was cursing n pointing fingers b4 the man hit him.
ReplyDeleteHe should take himself to dinner already! Fake remorse. Imagine him saying he was just caught up boldly.
ReplyDelete@henry,what's the difference between you and the white people,by saying this yoruba boi,means you were promoting hateful to the society, that shows you such a dump and empty barrel
ReplyDeleteIf I hear. Take him to dinner to finish him up abi? Okay ooooh. I wish the young man the very best.
ReplyDeleteThis is a case of test. How can the boy attend Trump's rally at a time like this and after all that's been happening? He brought it upon himself. He should be thanking God his life was spared.
ReplyDeleteWho asked you to go to Trumps campaign? Anyway, you are now popular.
ReplyDeleteAll Igbos are BASTARDS!
ReplyDeleteThe same way igbos are the most tribalistic and the most pathetic tribe in Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteFuck all the Americans.
ReplyDeleteThey are all crazy
Henry u r a bastard no doubt
ReplyDeleteAnd the madness has aLreadY begun
ReplyDeleteThis is evil..
ReplyDeleteAs in total evil.
Choi..
Nawa oo
Fuck white people...i'm racist, I don't Care!
ReplyDeleteDid I hear that stupid boy mentioned yorubas,lemme ask,how is the story related with yorubas that u have to talk so childishly...dumb ass
ReplyDeleteCmon Henry, wats wit d tribal discrimination, u just showed u aint different frm Trump or d old man dat slapped Adedayo.stop the hate and spread the love
ReplyDeleteRacism in the highest level. U see that Trump have a lot of secret supporters don't be suprise he ll win. Whites are racists some are jst pretending
ReplyDeleteDisgusting racist!yea it was U quite alright!buy him dinner or sth?....serzly?dickhead!
ReplyDeleteMy advice for you to keep your head low since you are not in your country
ReplyDeleteI just hope and pray that ,that racist Trump does not win.