MTN Communications sets aside $600m to settle dispute with Nigerian govt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 March 2016

MTN Communications sets aside $600m to settle dispute with Nigerian govt

South African Mobile Telecommunications company MTN say they have set aside $600m to settle its dispute with the Nigerian government. The company announced on Thursday a surprise 5.2 percent increase in its dividend to 1,310 cents per share, posting a 50 percent drop in Annual profits and said while it has had a challenging year, it has set aside $600m to pay the Federal government after the company was issued a $3.9b fine for not ending sim card registration at the Nigerian Communications Commission stipulated time.

Last week MTN made a 'good faith payment' of $250m towards reaching an amicable settlement after the telecommunications giant withdrew a court case challenging the FG's $3.9b fine.

29 comments:

1. Why won't they? They must have used this time to silently steal our credit so as to get the money to pay the Nigerian govt. At the end of the day, MTN users nationwide obviously paid the debt!

2. Watch and download new movies on www.afrilix.com

3. Good move. I ho they settle everything amicably.

4. War on south Africa companies no Nigeria.... DSTV is still battling their own... Shopright sef still have their own issues with lagos state government.....

....... Liber maniac.....

5. I wish they can bill them more for all my credit stolen unused. Lol

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

6. They should also work on their tarrif...Their data plans are quite high, with limited period of time, especially for Android tech

7. O necessary

8. They even have the effontery to sue the govt despite making huge profit from the same govt that allows them to operate. I hope they will pay all the fine and not reduce it to paltry 600 million $.

9. *Wipes eyes* never thought this day will come. Mtn the giant thieves getting to pay a fine feels so good. Multi choice is next!

10. Hmmm nice one for that mtn.
    Terrorist buhari don see money he can now travel again this one will be in Yemen,iraq or Iran or moon shameless useless brain dead president who can't define what corruption means.
    All hausas is a big disaster to human race.

11. That ain't no small money even wt the $600m

12. Akukalia, spilling the money

13. This is too much.
    Kindly visit my blog for Latest working free browsing cheat on all networks.. Entclass.com

14. And the masses are gonna pay for it! Kaii nawa ooo

15. very good

16. This is the beginning of good terms, not to mention that MTN wants to list on the nigerian stock exchange ; meaning Nigerians get to be stake holders. Awesome!

17. Thats not our money. Am sure Jonathan, Dasuki and Alison madueke must be having a watery mouth by now

18. And they re punishing their customers for that??? Overcharging per seconds calls these days

19. That's good. Did they say anything about compensating the 63 ex-pioneer staff who they unjustly and without due process fired on 17th November 2009 and who have been in court till date? It was gathered that these MTN ex-staff earlier went to the Nigerian House of Representatives' Committee on Public Petitions in 2012-2013 and the HOR through an Order Paper instructed MTN to re-instate and compensate them but the "Big-Boy" company ignored the Order - meaning they ignored the Nigerian government. Seriously Linda, you need to look into that case... You may call or mail me for details... Ak

20. That's good. Did they say anything about compensating the 63 ex-pioneer staff who they unjustly and without due process fired on 17th November 2009 and who have been in court till date? It was gathered that these MTN ex-staff earlier went to the Nigerian House of Representatives' Committee on Public Petitions in 2012-2013 and the HOR through an Order Paper instructed MTN to re-instate and compensate them but the "Big-Boy" company ignored the Order - meaning they ignored the Nigerian government. Seriously Linda, you need to look into that case... You may call or mail me for details... I dey vex!