She said her son felt better after taking the medications but suddenly became ill on Saturday and was rushed to Ayodele hospital where he was immediately placed on Oxygen. She said her baby died following a power outage which resulted in the oxygen mask not working. The bereaved mother said her cry for help when the power went off was not heeded by both the nurses and doctors as the power did not come on even after 30 minutes.
"When we got to the general hospital last Wednesday, we were told he should be admitted but there was no bed space. I bought the drug prescribed by the physician and my son’s temperature returned to normal. I was so shocked on Saturday morning when his temperature became high again. As my husband and I wanted to take him back to the general hospital, there was traffic gridlock so we resorted to Ayodele Hospital since it was in our neighbourhood,” she said.
Temiloluwa said when they got to the hospital, they were asked to pay N5,000 for card
“My husband paid N2,000 and excused himself to use the Automated Teller Machine (ATM). Immediately my son was attended to. He was placed on drip and oxygen. Even when the doctor asked if he was convulsing, I told him he has never convulsed. Within few minutes, my son began to sweat and I felt he was getting better. The doctors also assured me he was going to be fine. As I sat beside him on his sick bed, there was power outage and I noticed the oxygen stopped moving. I ran out of the room to call for help but nobody answered me. I even went to knock the doctor’s door but no one was there. The nurses said they were going to put on the generator but it came on after 30 minutes. I removed the hose passed through his nose to aid breathing to allow breeze blow him. Before I removed it, he had already stretched his arms, I didn’t know he was about to leave me. It was later doctors came in, one of them placed his hands on my son’s chest but he was no more. I realised the owner of the hospital was just describing where the heart was to the doctor attending to my son. Before they put on the generator, it was my phone’s light I used to see how my son was doing. I have never attended the hospital before, even when I was pregnant, my friends advised me not to go there"she said
The
bereaved mother said when the family went to collect her son’s remains
the next day February 7th, the hospital allegedly refused and demanded
N40,000 before the body could be removed.
“When we got there, I was shocked to see my son’s body beside the hospital’s dust bin. Even when my husband shouted that his son be given to him, the hospital management called police officers from Oko-Oba division to take him away. It is unfair. I have not been able to sleep. I see my son wherever I go. I want to bury him. I just got married last year and he is my first child. At three months, Murewa already had two set of tooth. He was a cute gentle boy. Whenever I took him to the market, he understood I was busy. He never disturbed me. I didn’t give him any home medication. I was even meant to use the money I had on me to stock my shop but my son is priority. Immediately I noticed his temperature, I went to the general hospital where I spent almost the whole day. I need my son’s body.”she said
The
management of the hospital has however faulted claims by the mother
that they seized the child's corpse for no reason. According to hospital’s
administration manager, George Abayomi, the family has not been able to
retrieve the corpse of their child because the father of the boy
destroyed some of the hospital facilities following the death of
his son. He also denied claims that the hospital did not put on their
generator immediately power went off
“We have two standby generators in our premises; why should it take us 30 minutes to put on the generator. His parents brought him at the last minute. He died as a result of anaemia heart failure. When the father got aware of his son’s death, he began to destroy the hospital property and he couldn’t be restrained. He promised to burn down the hospital. After he left, he returned around 12:20am with a gallon of petrol which he sprinkled in the reception, it was when we couldn’t control him that we invited police officers from Oko-Oba division. He came this morning (yesterday) around 9am to take his son’s body but we told him he had an outstanding balance to pay. He has to pay the bill of the services rendered. At times, in such cases, we give discount but they are insisting on not paying. He even said if we want to eat the body, we should. The body was taken to a morgue in Ikeja on Sunday and we paid N16,000”he said
A
doctor in the hospital, Stanley Nwanali, said the deceased boy's file
showed that he was brought in almost in “coma, pale and with an enlarged
liver”.
The
Lagos State Public Advice Centre (PAC) has intervened in the matter,
which has been referred to the Ministry of Health and Health Facility
Monitoring and Accreditation Agency (HEFAMAA) for investigation.
Eyaaaa sorry Ma.
ReplyDeleteOdusbaby and Linda
ReplyDeleteNawaooo
ReplyDeleteWho person go believe now? Such a pathetic story.
ReplyDelete#LIB ADDICT#
Too bad...
ReplyDeleterip baby
ReplyDeleteEyah! It unfair oh, may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace
ReplyDelete!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Who are we to believe now.. R.I.P Lil man
ReplyDeleteInteresting.
ReplyDeleteAnother carelessness
ReplyDeleteHeya so sad. That hospital is demonic. I know the hospital very well.
ReplyDeleteSo shud we believe d father or d hosp management? In all,d boy's body shud be allowed to rest in peace pls.
ReplyDeleteThey always place money above human lives, not like they even know what they are doing.
ReplyDeleteMay his soul rest in peace.
Nawa ooo. Nigerian hospitals shaa, anyway more Instagram followers for you all
ReplyDeleteRip little angel
ReplyDeleteHmmmm two different stories na which one we go believe now.....may the soul of the child rest in peace....ProudlyDeltan
ReplyDeleteNa poverty they cause all these unfortunate things. God Punish poverty. It is well. #jojo
ReplyDeleteThat's the hospital i use and i must say that they are competent in all they do! and yes they have standby generators in the compound...did anybody read where she said she wanted to remove the oxygen..who send am message without asking the professionals who placed it in the first place? may God comfort her but we need to be patient and act fast when things go they way we don't understand...need i tell you that if that child was taken to general hospital in a bad state as it was stated here, they would have rejected him immediately...
ReplyDeleteAfter waiting for 30 mins with the oxygen mask on, the thing was obviously obstructing air from getting to the boy's lungs! It is only when you are faced with a desperate situation that you'll know you can act crazy or the what you believe to be the needful.
DeleteAnd you can't be so sure they'll be rejected at the General hospital immediately as you claim, afterall, they had earlier registered there.
Negligence is peculiar to Nigerian hospitals, be it Public or private. At LUTH sometime ago, a nurse passed blood straight from the freezer into a close relative's body! With the blood bag sweating from frost! I had to remind her that she hadn't warmed the blood! And she quickly removed it without any apology.
May God help us.
I sympathize with the woman. She should take it easy bearing in mind the pains she is passing through.
ReplyDeleteI don't know if seeing dead bodies every second of the day has made most medicine practitioners heartless!
ReplyDeleteYou are senseless
DeleteU are mad
DeleteSo sad! May his angelic soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteSo sorry for your loss madam,may Allah bless you soon with another.
ReplyDelete#Hajia Mufliat
Ayodele Medical Centre . Dont ever dream of going there for emergency.
ReplyDeleteI don't know if seeing dead bodies every second of d day has made medical practitioners heartless!
ReplyDeletethis is wickedness from the high place, because of 40000 naira the little boy's corps was seized, the went and deposited the little boy in a mortuary and paid 16000 naira. making 56000.00, you see they are increasing the bill of this poor family. There is God OO. Only God will Judge that hospital management. (((Card, 5000)))only the fee for the card will tell you that there is something wrong with that hospital
ReplyDeleteSadly, this is not News per se. It seems that the Hippocratic oath of allegiance taken by the average Nigerian Doctor is verbal diarrhoea and lacks pertinence, hence the lack of empathy and sympathy in dealing with bereaved parents. The pertinence based on accrued fiscal power at all costs beggars belief, but is not surprising taking into account the harsh economic surroundings.
ReplyDeleteTHEY SHOULD GIVE HER, HER CHILD NOW ABI THEY WAN CHOP AM..?
ReplyDeleteAUNTY LINDA 👩
Make dem cut 1 lap give u.
DeleteHmmmmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteWhy a doctor is lying like a politicians.End time....nuel
ReplyDeleteNa who come dey talk true na? Me i side d woman because all dis general hospital doctors and nurses can misbehave. Rip to d lil boy
ReplyDeleteAJ MAIN BOY...
Very sad, May his soul rest in peace, Amen
ReplyDeleteAyodele hospital again! Heard d hospital is danger zone
ReplyDeleteMost times I pity Doctors with what they go through in hands of patients, I know it's not easy to loose a loved one but you can't fault a Doctor for what is totally out of there control. They only care, God heals.
ReplyDeleteA parent lost a child in your hospital and all u interested in is 40000 naira?do know what dis pple are going through right now.how about their feelings.
ReplyDeleteA child on a oxygen and power seized to the extend that they av to wait 30minutes b4 power was restored.the hospital sjld be locked up
Yes and their license seized with immediate effect, this is irritating to the hearing. Sigh
DeleteYes and their license seized with immediate effect, this is irritating to the hearing. Sigh
Deletesome hospital jokes with peoples life especial genera hospitals how came the man started destroying thing just like that something is rung some where Abeg lazy ass holes
ReplyDeleteThat hospital must be shot down, they are bastard
ReplyDeleteEnd time hospital
ReplyDeleteThis hospital people are liars. When things like this happens, they will claim that a million and one things was wrong with the deceased as at the time he or she was brought in. The truth is that doctors and nurses are sometimes cruel towards people especially the nurses. The way those ones will talk to u would make u want to commit murder. I'm talking out of experience. Some people don't die becos it's time for them but because we have some wicked and stupid doctors and nurses. Take heart madam. Try to give them the miserable 40k they re asking of and bury ur child. It's a pity. Take heart.
ReplyDelete-LIB PIKIN-
Stories that prick the heart and tickle the bum bum
ReplyDeleteIf wat dis woman said is true,den dt hosp shud b burnt down
DeleteLIB ADDICT #just passing#
LINDA I KNOW THE HOSPITAL VERY WELL. THEY HAVE QUACK NURSES, WHEN NEPA TAKE LIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THEY DONT ON IT TILL 6AM IN THE MORNING. SO I BELIEVE EVERYTHING THE MAN IS SAYING.
ReplyDeleteU want steady light in the hospital and you don't want patients to pay what will cost to run the gen? How does that add up?
DeleteThe Ministry of Health and Health Facility Monitoring and Accreditation Agency (HEFAMAA) for investigation. Please do your investigation with the fear of GOD.
ReplyDeleteONE LOVE
HMMMM. Nigerian hospitals and negligence. I Lost my first child due to negligence too. I pray the Lord will comfort the parents especially the mother of the child. The Lord will bless you with more children IJN. The hospital are claiming that they brought in the child when he was almost in coma......there is a possibility that they could have changed the baby's report in his case file(just saying). But the Lord will comfort you IJN
ReplyDeleteAs a mom I cant help but cry. Nigeria needs to get better what a cute lovely boy. Oh Lord please heal our land in Nigeria so all this innocent babies that die as a result of poor health system don't keep happening.... So sad....
ReplyDeleteGod should please fight for them
ReplyDeleteWhat? Oh how I wish he'd lit the match after sprinkling of the gasoline.... quack hospital..quack Drs
ReplyDeleteuseless hospital, thats how they placed my mum too when she died last year. i cried my eyes out just seeing that.
ReplyDeleteThey placed ur mum in dust bin? Talk true
Deleteuseless hospital, thats how they placed my mum too when she died last year. i cried my eyes out just seeing that.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm...its a sad situation...
ReplyDeleteNigeria and power failure. Does it mean that they don't have generator
ReplyDeleteFor window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
ReplyDeleteOga o,oro omo will not make them understand anything now.I feel sorry for the parents but that doesn't mean he should start destroying the hospital properties.
ReplyDeleteD.R.I.M.R.S
Sue them and stop this long talk
ReplyDeleteSo sad, rip little man
ReplyDeleteRip child,plenty drama
ReplyDeleteWhat a wicked world.
ReplyDeleteSipping my hennessy
God we are in your hands o.
ReplyDeleteAyodele hospital is lieing oo, the baby was an healthy boy before they killed him let them carry out an autopsy on the boy nau. We live in that area and we have heard alot about the hospital.
ReplyDeleteAyodele hospital is a death trap. They killed my friend and her baby and another neighbouir I know. Patients hardly leave that hospital alive. their doctors are incompetent period!...I've heard several sad stories from a lot of people who have had the misfortune of using that hospital but have managed to escape by the Grace of God. the hospital should be locked up.
ReplyDeleteAyodele hospital is not a place to go for any kind of medical treatment at all .
ReplyDeleteKai. Wot a fine baby boy
ReplyDeleteThat is how they kill my friend's first child with their incompetency.i think they need to investigate that hospital.
ReplyDeleteAyodele Medical Center is known as a death trap by residents in the neighborhood, i reside in that neighborhood. i lost my aunt in that hospital few weeks after she put to bed and likewise i once went there for malaria treatment (was on injection for 2 days and drugs were prescribed), paid a humongous bill, and i wasn't feeling any better; i ended up going to another hospital for the same treatment. i vowed never to go there again.
ReplyDeleteGod help the family of the little boy and fight the battle for them.
Only God knows what actually happened.
to buy braid wigs call
ReplyDelete08103637994
R I P Oluwamurewa Clemency Akanbi...soo sad
ReplyDeleteMAY HE SOUL REST IN PEACE
ReplyDeleteIt's a bad hospital; negligent medical personnel who let people die like animals there!
ReplyDeleteWish bth parent great joy soon