'Oliseh's outburst was reckless but Nigerians should forgive him' - NFF President Pinnick | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 February 2016

'Oliseh's outburst was reckless but Nigerians should forgive him' - NFF President Pinnick

In a video released yesterday by the Nigeria Football Federation on their website and YouTube channel, NFF president Amaju Pinnick addressed the ongoing drama between the NFF and coach Sunday Oliseh. He asked Nigerians to forgive Oliseh for his outbursts and move on so the country could qualify for the next African Nations Cup. What he said after the cut..

"Actually we received a letter from Mr Sunday Oliseh apologizing for his outburst,which to us was quite reckless ,quite unnecessary and rather very unfortunate.'' Pinnick started
''But a lot of people are hurt, a lot of people are upset about his outburst,which we feel is a major distraction considering the fact we have a major two-header against Egypt ,one of the top teams in Africa.''
''You know,it's not just seeing a letter of apology and accepting,now we need to make some repairs,some investments,we need to talk to some stakeholders that were directly or indirectly affected by his rantings for example SWAN,SWAN are very mad,Swan has been a major platform for building football and sports generally in Nigeria. And of course,FIFA itself rates SWAN very highly.'' 
''We need to appeal to SWAN, we need to appeal to their conscience to make them understand that it is all about Nigeria,now after SWAN we also need to appeal to the technical committee ,the technical committee they've done a very thorough job,they wrote a simple letter requesting for a report and his response was appalling.''
''They feel so slighted, they feel so hurt and of course even betrayed by us. Look at the calibre of people in the technical committee, we have Mutiu Adepoju,Christian Chukwu, Victor Ikpeba, Danladi,you have fresh as the vice Chairman,you have my brother Green,you have Shuaibu Amodu, This are people that have contributed immensely to the development of the game on and off the field of play.''
''So We have to appeal to them,we need to appeal to a lot of people,we need to appeal to members of the Nigerian Football Federation,we need to appeal to the backroom staff that were called names,a lot of people, once we finish appealing to them and we see that few nerves have been calmed then we can now look at , we also need to appeal to the ministry, we need to appeal to the honourable minister, because if you abuse the Nigerian Football Federation, you're also abusing the Nigerian Government because we are an arm of the Nigerian government we are tied to their apron strings whether you like it or not. We need to appeal to our sponsors. So that's the kind of dilemma that we are in right now''
Watch the video after the cut

32 comments:

1. Amaju, why are you the one doing damage control for a forty-year old boy? Is there something between both of you that you are not telling us? What stops Oliseh from making a YouTube video apologising to all Nigerians? He lacks the qualities of a leader. Sooner than later he will wobble and fumble his way out of the job! Peace!

2. Not after that blunder,ozuzu ka! Forgiveness is divine sha!

*Linda's best friend*

3. Hiaaaaan! No talk abeg

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

4. HE IS APPEALING TO THESE WIDE CATEGORIES OF PEOPLE ON BEHALF OF OLISEH SIMPLY BECAUSE OF HIS SELFISH INTEREST ON OLISEH. LET ME MAKE IT CLEAR, OLISEH IS NOT FIT TO BE A COACH. HE IS JUST TOO TEMPRAMENTAL. PERIOD.............

5. Is d oliseh remorseful?

6. There lies the Nigerian problem...appealing and pleasing and bribing everybody. Let the man do his job; he is not a SLAVE to everybody!!!

7. He should admit that he has failed us as a coach

8. There lies the Nigerian problem...appealing and pleasing and bribing everybody. Let the man do his job; he is not a SLAVE to everybody!!!

9. Too many cooks stirring the pot...you have to pleaseeeeeeeeee everybodyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. Na wa!!!

10. I don't know him but let Nigerians forgive him like you said....nuel

11. Forgive him? No am not in support, he should go

12. VERY STUPID WORDS FROM THIS MAN CALLED PICNIC OR PINNIC......... DISASTER IN WAITING GUARANTEED. EGYPT WILL TRASH NIGERIA HOME AND AWAY. NO WORLD CUP QUALIFICATION WITH ALL THESE BULLSHIT GOING ON. SIMPLE SOLUTION, SACK THIS RASCAL SUNDAY OLISEH, QED

13. Oliseh should also learn how to talk.
    Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

14. Oga Amaju Picnic abi waitin be dat ur other name self, why this preferential treatment now, if it were to be other coach you will have sanction them. in fact u will have tender him is sack letter.

15. This picnic guy is d reason for all dis mess Nigeria finds itself.How can u employ someone as short sighted as Oliseh when from his days as a player even in his club side he's arrogant talk more of national assignment. he didn't coach any club side neither any country since he claims to have FIFA coaching license and yet u hand him a task of coaching the super eagles? How dumb

16. Forgiving him is not d problem, its simple d man(oliseh) knows nothing abt coaching,pls get Maurice cooreman,he has been in Nigeria for a longtime now,try him.

17. Forgive my as* d dude is just a kid and needs no recognition of any sort. what short temper a father like him has... such a pity!

18. We don forgive u shaa..but as ur punishment for mis yaning and vex vez. U must win 23 match unbeaten, I no want kn how e want take happen. Beg who sabi play or bribe them self..na 9ja nature..no b play ooo!