N10bn discovered in education budget was a typographical error | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 February 2016

N10bn discovered in education budget was a typographical error

Days after the Senate Committee on Higher Education raised an alarm over a N10 billion discovered in the Ministry of Education's 2016 budget, the Chairman of the committee, Sen. Binta Masi Garba, says that the N10 billion discovered in the budget is meant for the Universal basic Education Commission and was a typographical error from the office of the National Planning and Budget.

According to a report by DailyTrust, Garba gave the clarification yesterday in Abuja after the commissioning of Federal University, Lafia’s connection to Nigerian Research and Education Network (NgREN) in inter-conference programme in National Universities Commission.

She said the issue has been resolved by the House of Representatives and the Senate and would be amended in the budget. According to her, the N10 billion which was thought to be a scam, is actually meant for the funding of the Universal Basic Education Commission.

97 comments:

1. Lolzzzz...I plegde to Naija my country

2. You people should be sincere
    Pls visitbmy blog for free browsing and internet tips www.applygist.com

3. Hmmmm who come type am without reading it?

4. OKAY.. Noted. The office should focus on every details next time. Nigerians are always ready to criticize and wail.

5. Whatever happened to proof reading! This is how these politicians have figures falsified under their very nose & yet they won't know coz most of em don't read.This is a disgrace!

1. So much drama lately

Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog

2. I tire oh my sister! If it wasn't observed and the said amount allocated to them, will they ever come back to return the money citing the same excuse?

3. #AnonymousIgbogal...Disgraceful indeed...#AnonymousIgbogal

4. High level of lies

POPULAR LIB READER!

5. Bonita, im really shocked that you belived this flimsy excuse. It was not a typo error. #BudgetOfCorruption

6. Its a shame! That Buhari will even pass this bill without proper scrutiny. What a shame!

7. Hmmmmmmm. This is really sad.

8. I tell you, dis is really embarrassing. Linda take note!

9. A shea complete disgrace and shows high level of incompetence on the part of this ministers, the presidents also failed to fact check this budget .... How do you put forth a budget that is filled with so much errors. No coordination no proof reading. Wth?

10. They actually shear the money

11. The government of PMB feels Nigerians are so dumb. Something as important as the budget can't be proof read? Who is fooling who?

Ekenekwa m unu!

Menofgod247@gmail.com

12. Don't be fooled as usual that's their way.
      Nothing like typo* anythg.
      See na Fulani(woman), na dem be origin and hdqtrs of corruption as dem no want go school but ready to sign big-big billion dollar cheques*

13. Lies! Also obvious our president never reads documents he signs. This would never happen in OBJ's regime.

6. Ambassadorial ERROR only 4 Niaja

7. They are fooling themselves and not us.

8. typographical error for 10billion... chaiii... apc has finished me... Did u guys notice the correction self explains notin in particular? A better name so as not to make naija pple fear. Well, we don dey fear una already...

9. This government itself is a typographical error!

What nonsense! Everyone ministry is making errors cos the so called mumu presidency did

10. See liars. Lying liars. Why just t 10 billion Naira typo error and not 1 Naira typo error?
    Yeye people.

11. Story. They wanted to use it and steal money now they are caught and it becomes typographical error.

12. I agree, nothing happening in this country is right. We can can all agree that there have been errors from the beginning of time.

13. I am pro-buhari but this Budget thing is getting really embarrassing and worrisome.

Research Shows That Most Women are Either Lesbians or Bisexual

14. They don start again oo, can you imagine? It's a lie

15. na wa oooo...but what a man can do ,they say a woman can do better......10billion

16. Even the buhari regime is a typical error....

17. And you pple fail to pay some of the teachers that their salaries are still pending. So whose money is that?

18. This administration is full of surprises.

19. Hian. Typo? at una Level? I haff hear

Largest collection of Nigerian funny pictures, cartoons and memes here

20. Hmmmmm!! I'm happy she did the right thing, I hope other politicians follow the same line. Mkat

21. Nobody wants to do a quality work any more. It's all about what money they can divert.

The planning and budget guys need to take the heat on this by no doing proper proof reading

22. Hmmmm
    Why cant they proof read.
    Oga oo

#Hajia Mufliat

23. how will you call $30m and more....typographical error....

24. When I read news like this, I just can't help but cry for the future of this country

25. Nigeria is an embarassment.

26. Dis Government is a disgrace to their people

27. 10billion a typo error, una dey sleep dat time and the person who made dat mistake will be promoted and paid @ d end of d month... dee

28. Typo wetin? if I hear
    Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

29. Why r dis people disgracing us,everywr error

30. What won't we hear in this country! 10b naira typographical error indeed.

31. I pity our leaders scam every where

32. Story for d gods. Trying to make up excuses. Documents as such should be typed n handled carefully

33. Typographical error on a national budget .. see disgrace, these guys are clueless

34. This Budget discrepancies may not be unconnected with the complains in some APC Chieftain quarters, that they still have not be settled for their efforts in ensuring victory in the last elections. They need their settlement money for a job well done! And what better way to get it, if not to attach it with the budget.

Fighting Corruption and at the same time creating a Corruption Bazaar in the Budget. The President should ask questions if indeed he's not in the know of happenings in the budget.

35. it's only country like Nigeria dt topographic error can occur. hmmmm.

36. A whopping N10billion is a typo error...you people are MAD ni...and to think that this EPIC SCAM is a budget from a Saint-President,who thinks Nigerians are criminals is baffling.

37. Liars. Madam do you think we Nigerians are fools? How can a body that see to typing budget print out national budget without sound proof checking for error. Somebody must take the blame. Ndi ara

Sipping my hennessy

38. For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

39. Thiefs!!!! Thief,thief lying APC.
    Government of corruption.

40. hnmmm... oma se o ...i dont believe it.....

41. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin10 February 2016 at 12:32

Very big disgrace. Change no nii.

42. Corrupt govt dey fight corrupt govt

43. Are you kidding me? It's like this government is synonymous to mistakes and errors. Lies up and down.

44. All these are planned attempt to steal our money,meaning....if Nigerian didn't put much interest on the budget,it would have been carried on with.trial and error

45. Story.....now its a typo...mtcheww

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

46. Grammar what happened to proof read it before submittion

47. Smh. Iybo obasanjo quoted 2015 "there are more thinking people in the pdp" she never agreed with her father the inlaw fucker . She spoke her mind for the love of country and dummies still went ahead and voted for apc. Smh Nigeria is failing fast.

48. Wonders of nigeria

Softly softly catchee monkey

49. Expensive typographic error... The president need to work very hard and also verified most dis document b4 signing it

1. He is persecuting corruption but just signed off on corruption by nearly wasting N10billion. This reeks of incompetence!

50. They claimed it is typography error simply because it was discovered but if the same typography error was not discovered, it would have pumped some billions into the accounts of those responsible for this deliberate typography error and nothing would have been heard of it. GOD help Nigeria.

51. The brouhaha that surround the budget is as result of laziness on the part of members of staff of budget ministry and inability to allow the ministers to make appreciable inputs to the its formation/draft.

52. I neither trust nor believe all the bullsh*t coming out of government. Na una downfall una dey plot so.

53. I frankly do not understand what's happening here.......Typo? WTF is that?? Liar!!!!

54. MMMMMMMMMMMMM ALL THESE ERROR ERROR IN THIS APC FIRST EVER BURGET MAKE THEM TAKE IT EASY OOO

55. How comfortable are this people airing there dirty linen in public like this....I just can't deal mehn

56. it took PMB three months to bring in minsters and they where screened for some weeks and assumed office..This Lady here doesnt deserve to be a Class Rep not to even be called a minister did you present the Budget under duress a whole National Assignment you called that a Typographical Error are you sending text message to you Husband or kids or are you chatting on BBM..you deserve to be jailed and sacked..

57. All budget offices need sanitization.
    Crooks in collusion with Government personnel run all of them, Federal, States, LGA and the rest.

58. Hahahahahahahahahahah ..... A Party (APC) that has Mr. LIAR Mohammed as Publicity Secretary and the Government that has him as Minister of Information will never be free of LIARS AND LIES.

59. Choi.. Ndi ori..
    Its now typo error..
    BUt some1 was about to claim dat money...

60. Pmb n apc, continue we r nt fools o.