Heartbreaking: Kenyan photographer shares touching images of his pregnant wife's final moments on earth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 February 2016

Heartbreaking: Kenyan photographer shares touching images of his pregnant wife's final moments on earth

This will leave you in tears. A renowned Kenyan photographer, Joe Makeni shared heartbreaking moments in images leading up to his pregnant wife's death on Instagram.

Makeni said he shared the images so as to encourage people out there. According to him, his wife was unable to walk on January 20th and was taken to the hospital at Kijabe where she was admitted before she was later transferred to Nairobi.

Medical tests revealed that Njeri had hypocalcaemia, a health condition resulting from low serum calcium levels in the blood. Below are the photos with captions: 

Photo 1-January 20 at 4:4pm: "On this day @Njeriitho was unable to walk and so we went to the hospital to get it checked out. Actually she couldnt control any of her limbs"

Photo 2-January 27 5:55pm: "After 3 days in Kijabe we came back to a hospital in Narobi. She was sick but she was always so full of joy. Many of us always went home more encouraged by her."

Photo 3: Njeri in hospital just a day after the evaluation. We were so broken having lost the baby just two days prior but as always she was hiding behind a smile. PS: I did the make-up with instruction from @saitonne and @ngamau. Thank you so much Wangeci and Saitone for going out of your way."

Photo 4: "Making gang signs all the way...hypocalcemia for what?"

Photo 5: "Doctors and nurses makes a spirited attempt to save Njeri's life. There was no shortage of talent. I dont think I ve ever seen so much doctors attend to one person. This is the part where you pray before the procedure started."

Photo 5: February 10: "I stared at this monitor for like 30 mins hoping to see the blood pressure shoot up. It was at 49/20 for the longest time. That's the end of that story. Now to pick up the pieces and soldier on. Good bye Njeri. You 'll always be in my heart."

Paul Makeni...

107 comments:

1. Ouch so touching....rip

#spritual

2. May her soul rest in peace

3. Mehn...my heart bleed for him. Imagine chronicling the death of one's spouses e no easy...😭😭😭😭

2. Eyah so touching

AJ MAIN BOY...

3. Eyahhh so sad!sorry bro take heart and RIP to ur wife

4. May her soul rest in peace. Amen

5. sad

meenah_wakil on instagram

6. Awwww,the baby died too! How sad!

7. May her soul rest in peace, Amen

8. Cant stop crying... this is beautiful. So bitter sweet.

9. This is so, so emotional. RIP

10. Humm this is very touching, remain strong Paul Makeni.

11. Eyaah! May her soul rest in peace.Amen

12. it's story make feeling so sad,,,and your article is inspiring for me, could you help me to review my site?, because i just register to google ads,but I don't got the google's replay yet until now. my site is still reviewed by google.here is my ste name www.ligabolanasional.com

13. Really touching. May her soul rip

14. Heartbreaking!! So touching. May her soul rest in perfect peace!

15. Joy wouldn't feel so good if it wasn't 4 pain. I won't sit down here and pretend I know how it feels cos I don't but I knw it must really hurt. May she RIP

#LibBadBoy

1. What a pain!Rest in peace beautiful angels and stay strong soldier of love.

16. Deep stuff. Take heart brother. I know how you feel

17. Touching indeed, dis left me in tears

18. Eyahhhh...sooo touching! R.I.P to her

19. Awww so touching.... He's strong and she was too...may her soul RIP

20. Such a sad & swtt story @ d same tym... May God gift him fortitude 2 bear d loss!

21. Awwwwwww...may her soul rest in peace

22. Sorry dear. More Instagram followers for you

23. Kai this is so painful! Rest on brave one!

24. Heartbreaking. Plz b consoled ok

25. Eyah.may her gentle soul rest in peace in Jesus name.amen!!!may the almighty God grant u the strength to carry on in Jesus name.amen!!!
    #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

26. Awww, so sad. May God give you the fortitude to bear this irreplaceable loss.

27. Awww, so sad. May God give you the fortitude to bear this irreplaceable loss.

28. Awww RIP

29. Ur smiles are wonderful despite the fact that you are on the sick bed,rip,may God console ur husband

30. So sad n yet she had smiles despite her state

31. Death stings, is hard but God will give u the strength to bear the loss. Amin linda post

32. Death stings, is hard but God will give u the strength to bear the loss. Amin linda post

33. RIP to her.
    Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

34. Enter your comment...Rip to d dead, to heart man

miss slimberry in d building, for ur quality undies contact me on 08185400696

35. So touching, the man get mind, rest in peace to the lady! I believe she's in a better place now.

36. **driesTears!
    So sad..
    Even at the point of death, she's still smiling..
    Oh ye death!...a debt we all owe and must def pay..
    So pathetic!

37. May her soul rest in peace

Noted

38. Wow.tears rolling

39. Enter your comment...chai!....May God gv him d fortitude to bear d loss ooo

40. wow what a woman ,despite we know any thing can go wrong any time,but still is our joy to carry a baby inside us ,may God help all the pregnant women .rip real woman!

41. So sorry may her gentle soul rest in peace

42. May her soul rest in peace. Amen

43. strong lady. rest well with your creator be strong husband

44. So touching...... May her soul rest in peace

45. Eyah, this is so sad. Lost the baby & lost the mother too... So very sad. Heaven open its gates to her...

46. Chaii, May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace...Amrn

1. Precious Lord, pls grant dis family d gratitude to bear dis loss. RIP to her.

47. Ooh, so sorry. Such a happy couple. To think he stood till the end. Dnt take any pregnant woman for granted, u never know hidden illnesses. Some wicked nonsense men will be beating their pregnant wives anyhow. Yam for the wickedness u showed me during my pregnancy despit my love and kindness. God will judge u.

48. this breaks my heart. May her soul rest in peace with the Lord.

49. Hmmm dis is so touching...

50. I cant control the tears!!! She lived and died happy...

51. Oh dear,it is really touching I feel your pain. May God comfort you and all her love ones. May her soul RIP.

52. HYpoparathyroidism, oral treatment for what may arise low calcium <8.0. Treatment with calcium carbonate , ... Was a nurse in Africa they don't do follow lab values religiously.. This is a job of the nurse to monitor.. Sorry for your loss

1. Yea,n hypocalcemia can occur during pregnancy,dats y, calcium carbonate is one of the routine drugs in pregnancy,buh it is hardly given in most hospitals,mayb cos of the side effect which is kidney stone n our people hardly drink enough water.

2. Yea,n hypocalcemia can occur during pregnancy,dats y, calcium carbonate is one of the routine drugs in pregnancy,buh it is hardly given in most hospitals,mayb cos of the side effect which is kidney stone n our people hardly drink enough water.

53. God have mercy....

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

54. Hoooooo no sorry for the lost R I P Death the end of all human-being

55. What a beautiful smile she had.

56. So touching. Rest in peace. Linda observe!

57. I couldn't cry bc the woman has talk me to smile no matter what.pls keep smiling as u meet ur lord.husband smile bc ur wife has find rest God will uphold pls keep smiling.
    Linda huz gal

58. Really sad. Am sure she is in a better place

59. RIP may God console the husband.

60. Pregnant women should be treated gently.Very sad story bro,may she Rest in Peace.Be strong and courageous for our experiences in life make us who we are!

61. Smiling all through it. What a lovely soil. God take her into your boss om.

62. Really sad....May her soul rest in peace....

63. This is so heartbreaking
    Her smile is beautiful. **sniffs**. May she be at peace. Amen.

64. so much strength for one man, may she rest in peace.

65. It is well dear.
    She's gone to rest

66. very touching, take heart, she's gone to rest