3 year old accidentally shoots dead his 9 year old sister with Great-Grandfather's gun | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

3 year old accidentally shoots dead his 9 year old sister with Great-Grandfather's gun

A nine-year-old girl was accidentally shot in the head by her three-year-old little brother over the weekend, authorities say.
Police in Alabama say Irondale third grader Kimi Reylander was critically wounded Saturday before being rushed to a hospital, where she was pronounced dead.
Kimi was reportedly shot after her brother found their great-grandfather's gun on a nightstand in his home.
"It appears to be a tragic accident," Irondale Police Chief Ken Atkinson told AL.com.
Upon hearing the gunshot, the great-grandfather, Joel Watson, ran to the bedroom.
"I came in and when I came in the door, my son came out and said she had been shot," he told WIAT.
Watson said he left the firearm out without knowing his great-grandchildren were coming to visit.
Atkinson called the incident another sad lesson in firearm safety and urged gun owners to keep their weapons out of sight at all times.
A GoFundMe page has been set up to help cover funeral expenses.
According to the Washington Post, Kimi is the fifth person to be hurt in an accidental shooting by a toddler since Jan. 1. Also this year, at least four toddlers have accidentally shot themselves.

26 comments:

1. R.I.P Kimi.. The old man is foolishly careless. Period

1. Hian! What kind of carelessness is dis kwanu??? Linda take note!

2. Hian! What kind of carelessness is dis kwanu??? Linda take note!

3. Nawa oo. See carelessness. More Instagram followers for you

4. This ppl should stop keeping gun close by. Children like practising what they sew. Enough of accidental killings like this abeg.

2. When will these learn how to keep their firearms from their children??its a sad one...

3. BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. why would dey put gun in such a place that little kids can see hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
    @lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

4. Can u imagine..
    Hw dp dy haff access.. Nawa oo

5. Soo sad!!! White people and their carelessness..

6. People should learn to be more careful..RIP

7. This is sad...RIP pretty.

8. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)9 February 2016 at 09:17

Fine Boy..RIP

9. Eeyah! So sad,rip girl!

Dey shud stop dis firearm license already pls.

10. The device should have been kept safely...Want To Naturally Reverse Type 2 Diabetes Click Here To Read
    More

11. Dem need lash dat old man for him carelessness

AJ MAIN BOY...

12. America.... In guns we trust.

13. 5th since this very January? That's scary! God help us o!

14. So sad. I wonder how that toddler will live with himself knowing he killed his sister.

15. Touching. ........is so pathetic. .........oyibo and gun.......Wat a mess!

16. Gun should be kept away from children