Preemie whose ‘Bun in Oven’ announcement went viral is 3 months old | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 January 2016

Preemie whose ‘Bun in Oven’ announcement went viral is 3 months old

A baby born prematurely to a couple who tried to conceive for 17 years and captured the collective heart of the world has reached his 3-month birthday.
In September, Dana Griffin-Graves of Dinwiddie, Va., secretly videotaped her husband Arkell’s reaction to the news that she was expecting, by having him look in the oven to discover a package of dinner buns.
Arkell’s dawning realization that his wife was five months pregnant was priceless — squeaky sobs leaked through the T-shirt he pulled over his face to hide his tears and it went viral. Footage of the video on YouTube garnered more than 10 million views.
At that point, the couple had experienced four miscarriages and one stillborn baby.

The couple’s joy, however, was short-lived. A few weeks after the video was posted, Dana was hospitalized with sky-high blood pressure that put the life of her and her baby at risk.
“When I arrived in the intensive care unit over a week ago, they told me in order to save my life, I had to terminate his,” Dana wrote on the Facebook page devoted to her pregnancy. “… Daily I was told how my chances of survival were declining because of my heart functions and chronic blood pressure.”
On Oct. 20, Kaleb Arkell Graves was born at 24 weeks (16 weeks early), weighing in at 13 ounces. The age of viability outside the womb for a baby born prematurely is considered by most medical authorities to be 24 weeks, although one study has shown that with intensive care, some babies born at 22 to 23 weeks early have survived, though most with serious health issues.

Today, “Baby Bun”- the couple’s nickname for Kaleb - is 3 pounds 9 ounces and is breathing on his own. He has also become a bit of a celebrity with a devoted social media following of fans who daily offer him their prayers and encouragement. And many share stories of babies born prematurely who have grown into thriving teens and adults.
No doubt Kaleb will keep making progress. In October, Dana’s sister, Melanie Griffin-Hamlin, said “At 16 weeks early, it is a miracle, and the medical staff call [Kaleb] a fighter, while our family call him our blessing.”

Source: YP

61 comments:

1. Wow

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

1. Thank God. More Instagram followers for you

2. The baby is a fighter indeed, miraculous baby.

3. Awww, how sweet! God bless dem with more kids

4. God is good...!

5. Awwwwww! He shall live long on earth whether the devil likes it or not. Linda take note!

6. Joyful song shall not lack in ur homes!!!

7. I hope she survives this,its sad to see your baby in pains.
    I wish u all the best.

#Hajia Mufliat

8. thank you Jesus. u are a miracle worker.

9. Allahu Akbar! I pray God gives him strength and good health

10. BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. ehh yah hmm Pele anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
    @lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

11. Blessed be God who has made it possible, baby happy 3months birthday

12. Enter your comment...praise God

13. Enter your comment...praise God

14. So happy he made it. Thank God

15. My day is opening well in that ds the first good news am getting ds early.

May he grow up in good health,strength and be a joy to the society at large.

Lad with class#

16. Miracle baby..

Tired of hiding under anonymous when I'm actually a LIB addict!

17. Miracle baby..

Tired of hiding under anonymous when I'm actually a LIB addict!

18. faithful God ,thank u 4them coz this is a miracle..

19. God answers prayers.thank God he's making progress

20. Aww..God will keep protecting the baby

21. God is at work. He will keep doing great things in his life

22. Wow!! *singing*There's nothing God cannot do,there's nothing d son cannot do,there's nothing d spirit of God cannot do* God of possibilities! His works are mysterious!

1. Yes ooo!our God is great. it shall end in testimony IJN, Amen.

23. Tank u Jesus. Dis baby wl grow to know n serve God IJN

24. We bless God..inspiring!!!positive thinking and believe can move mountains.....kaleb is a favour from God.

25. THAT IS WHAT I CALL PURE LOVE,AFTER 17YRS OF CHILDLESSNESS YET THEY ARE STILL TOGETHER.I ALSO THANK GOD FOR THE BABIES LIFE AND I PRAY THAT GOD WILL KEEP ON PROTECTING THEIR BABY IN JESUS NAME AMEN. KALED IS A GREAT SERVANT OF GOD AND ONE WHO BELIEF IN GOD SO MUCH. OMALICHA LILI

26. I speak life to Baby Kaleb, You shall live and not die IJNA.

27. Oh wow!! God will perfect his works in their life.. God abeg ooo!!

28. Wow. My prayers are with you kid.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

29. Whoa, God bless you baby.

Lykech.......

30. D devil won't take away your bundle of joy

31. That is there choice

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

1. You are a stupid idiot. How insensitive can you get? Lowlife

32. Wow..lucky parents

33. Eyah..cute baby
    #remitekosoko

34. God bless him he will grow up to achieve his aim in life in Jesus name

35. Amazing God....deserves amazing praise

36. When God is in your case the impossible becomes possible ...#LindaConfirm

37. Awww heya

38. May God preserve him and complete your joy.

1. Sure he will.HE is a perfect God,failure can't be associated with my GOD

2. Sure he will.HE is a perfect God,failure can't be associated with my GOD

39. The Lord continues to keep and preserve you.

40. THANK GOD FOR SPARING KIDDO'S LIFE

41. Awww... God bless & keep him. Amen

42. God will definitely save him for you guys