'How my Naija husband saved me from my mum' - Kenyan woman writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 January 2016

'How my Naija husband saved me from my mum' - Kenyan woman writes

Found this interesting story on Nairobi News. Read below...
"I am one of those people who say they got pregnant by accident. I got pregnant at 19 just in my second year of university. I didn’t expect to get pregnant because I took the necessary precautions. From the beginning I wasn’t sure in my mind whether I should keep the baby. The father had already denied me.
I didn’t have a father figure in my life so I didn’t know what to do. I thought of how I was going to tell my mom, I didn’t know how she would react, especially being that I am the first and only child. I didn’t even know where to start. I felt I had already let her down.

WORST FEAR
My worst fear became a reality; my mom became harsh with me. It was like a switch in her flipped. She even refused to be associated with me.
She didn’t want a kid who was in my kind of situation; forced to drop out of school in second year. She abused me, verbally and physically.
I had never seen this side of my mother. We only had each other and I thought that would never change. Yet there she was, the one person I thought would always be there for me, turning her back on me.

RAN AWAY

Everything was too much. I ran away. I had to escape because even my own mother wanted me to get rid of the baby. I had already made up my mind that I was going to have it. With some money saved up, I decided to start a small business. I prepared chips and crisps and sold them. I rented a shack and used it as my house, paying Kshs. 1,500 rent every month. I had to survive. I couldn’t let my baby down.

Through a friend I found out my aunt had relocated to Nairobi. I was unsure on how she would react to me being pregnant. She was very close to my mom. I took the risk and went to see her; I had nothing to lose and everything to gain.
My aunt decided to secretly help me because she knew I didn’t want my mother getting involved. She used to visit me in my shack, every day until I gave birth.

SAVING GRACE

Giving me advice and checking on how baby and I were doing. She was the saving grace that I badly needed. I had no one. She gave me the love and care that my own mother denied me. When I finally gave birth, I couldn’t imagine that I wanted to get rid of someone so innocent. I imagined how I would have felt if I got an abortion. It made me hate myself for a while. I had to find a way to love myself again. It helped that no one in the area knew my story. They just saw me as a stranger with a baby.

Then I met a man. He always wondered how such a young girl was so stressed. I told him my story, he told me his. I kept on asking myself why anyone would be interested in someone like me. As time went by, we became friends. I didn’t have friends. I had been rejected by everyone and was raising a baby on my own.

NAIJA MAN
He was nice to me and wanted to take care of me. He sort of felt sorry for me. He gave us-my baby and I- an apartment to live in. He also sent me money. Enough money to ensure the baby got everything she needed. I was even able to finish my education.
He took me to Nigeria and gave me money to start my own salon business. When he asked me to marry him, how could I refuse?
He took me and my baby in as his own. He took us from nothing and gave us everything. I knew for once, God remembered that I exist."

Source: Nairobi News

92 comments:

1. Amazing tins#rickoflaw234@gmail.com

2. Eayaaah... we still hv good men in naija jare

3. A Nigerian is in the news for the right reason this time... Nice of him

4. May Allah continue to bless him

#Hajia Mufliat

5. God is great.Linda see to that case

6. How sweet...Thumbs up to all 9ja men jare

7. We r still at the top of our game. Respect to Naija Men

8. Eyaaa... Nice one

9. Eeyeaa.. Now I love this story,.. Don't get me wrong, am not in support of teenage pregnancy, buh to have kept the baby against all odds n even decided to cater for her, is worthy of commendation.. I pray the man is genuinely kindhearted n God sees u guys through..

Linda I hv arrived, post my comment.

10. Awwww..my story is similar to hers!

11. Odikwa egwu plenty plenty! Linda take note!

12. Nigerians are still one of the best nations even though we are corrupt

13. Now who says Nigerian men are not caring and loving.
    9ja ladies don't know how much gift God has given them.

#XENO-FABIAN

14. Sometimes life throws us a lot of shits, it is to make us stronger monte calro de brlanche

15. so touching. this man nailed it

16. Touching story. May God Bless that man.

17. I'm happy for her

18. Such men are rare, she's blessed to have one. And for every woman out there in dire situations, don't give up, there will always be light at the end of the tunnel

19. Whoa!,applaudise for this naija man. We can be nice sometimes...no mother will want her child to make the same mistakes she made... But she didn't take it well. I hope u can finish school

20. Hey. Good one. Thank God for her life.

21. Good for her !!!

Damolia.DEW

22. Oh God make ways where there is seem no way. Ur mom though, jux 4giv her

23. Okay I thank God for you.jumbo

24. Beautiful story. Good report for Nigeria. God bless that Naija man.

25. Wow! That man is a God sent. Of course just like me, he is a rare specie of Nigerian men. May God bless his soul and enrich him to keep doing more. Am waiting for the jealousy stricken Kenyans who would hate on this girls story.

26. Enter your comment..oh thank you lord for her its really touching

27. Yes ooo Nigerians are good people,it's the bad government and economy that do turn us weird.

28. Some parents take unforgiveness too far and some women are more hardened than men! If life was perfect or she was a perfect woman, why was she living a lonely life without the man who should have helped raise her daughter ? One thing is certain, she'll pray and beg to seen her daughter and grand daughter even its once before she exits this world and then she'll understand the precious things she made anger and unforgiveness steal from her.
    God bless this kind-hearted man who in the midst of all the evils in the world today, found enough grace to step up to being a great mom and husband to this lady and a good father to her child.

29. This comment has been removed by the author.

30. http://dollarcell.com/?ref=51514 don't dull this opportunity they pay to your Nigeria account in 2days

31. DAUGHTER _ OF _ A _ SOMEBODY...25 January 2016 at 11:54

Eeya God bless the man but sha close ya legs next time to save us from reading this again.....

I didn't type this fa' it just popped out...

32. Nice story, she was lucky to see the right person,

33. Good for her ooo#Lindangwanu#

34. Wow...well we still have some good guys in Naija.

-LIB PIKIN-

35. U did not tell us if him kpansh u first before all these help...cos I no my men dem...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

36. God will raise dis Man beyond his dreams

37. Dis is good for a change,i know how bad d Kenyans tag nigerians especially their women..nice one,buh she didn't mention d man's name nd wat tribe e is from in nigeria?

38. Atleast let a good story be told about nigeria people from the tongue of other countries...
    Not always the negative part..

39. Atleast let a good story be told about nigeria people from the tongue of other countries...
    Not always the negative part..

40. Big shoutout to all Naija guys

41. wonderful story, awesome grace

42. wonderful story, awesome grace

43. wonderful story, awesome grace

44. Nigerians are hospitable people and they are very nice to foreigners whether black or white. I wish other countries can emuliate them.

45. Nigerians are hospitable people and they are very nice to foreigners whether black or white. I wish other countries can emuliate them.

46. Adupe good one from Nigeria.....Lindododo, I beg post my comment

47. thumbs up.....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

48. Good !... Not all the time bad, bad stories about Naija man

49. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)25 January 2016 at 19:52

GOOD

50. nice one.thank God for his grace.

51. i thank God for you for giving u a second chance. Your mum will be glad to receive u back now.