Facebook blocks a photo of iconic little Mermaid statue, says it has 'sexual undertones' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 January 2016

Facebook blocks a photo of iconic little Mermaid statue, says it has 'sexual undertones'

A Danish member of parliament tried to share a photo of Copenhagen’s iconic Little Mermaid statue on Facebook but received a rejection notification saying it could not be published because of rules on nudity. The rejection message shared by MP Mette Gjerskov on Facebook, which has now gone viral, says, "The image contained too much bare skin or sexual undertones".

Facebook also added that the rules applied for images which have ‘artistic or educational’ purpose. However, it later relented and approved the image.

The social media giant had clarified its stand on nudity and its community standards in general on March 15, 2015.

"We remove photographs of people displaying genitals or focusing in on fully exposed buttocks. We also restrict some images of female breasts if they include the nipple, but we always allow photos of women actively engaged in breastfeeding or showing breasts with post-mastectomy scarring. We also allow photographs of paintings, sculptures and other art that depicts nude figures," it said.

Facebook said that its harsh stand "can sometimes be more blunt than we would like and restrict content shared for legitimate purposes". But from time to time it has encountered problems over legitimate posts.

90 comments:

1. Don jazzy driver hahahahahahahahahahahaha.

2. Hian

3. Facebook be acting like most Islamic countries. #sideeye

4. I hear whr dem dey wen all this fuck girl and boyz be uploading their naked. Pics and video on facebook...guess their security office 4 naijja don shut down...

5. Na wa it is even beta than some pic girls upload

My view not urs!!!!

6. Notin person no go hear dis year

7. I don't see anything sexy about the pic sef, anywayz na dem sabi

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

2. Still trying to see what will turn any sane person on in the pictures....

1. Even if there is any tin 2 turn pple on....u wil stil be OFF cos the tin no get longthing(PRICK)....@onyx

2. Dammmmn Lawd av mercy ur forehead tho

3. Pls stop this bully, it's called cyber bully. Let this guy be biko,what is it sef? Jeez!!!. Everyone of u mocking onyx should be ashamed of yourselves,he is obviously stronger and more confident in himself that all of u put together.

3. I DON'T C ANY SEXUAL OBJECT HERE. WHAT ABT THE GIRLS GOING NAKED ON FB? HIPPOCRITICAL FB

4. Chai! Wetin person no go hear bikonu. Linda take note!

5. nice statue

#leavetrashforlawma

6. Which one b sexual undertone again? Abeg leave matter for mathias..

7. Odiegwu o!!! I will comment later

8. Atleast there should be a measure of control over what is posted on fb.

9. Whatever. It's not close to the nudity all over fb na.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

10. Their wahala.

Linda my sister.

11. Mtchewwwwww....

I have seen enough naked pictures of bad girls on facebook and non has been taken down...what's bad in that stature!!??

12. ok...godd for them

#XENO-FABIAN

13. Enter your comment...visibly seen .ok.

14. Whatever jhor... dee

15. imagine! Nothing person no go see, biko leave trash for lawma. @Linda well done

16. End time things!

Imagine fuel is 86.50 naira also!

17. Really?

Aunty Linda Enter your comment...

18. I can't see any sexual undertones here

19. I love it #2016dbestisherealready #singinavemaria

20. Hmmmm. To me no sexual undertone nothing in d picture.

21. It's ok
    Noted,will look into my pics, on facebook

22. i don't see anything wrong with that...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

23. Notin person wey dem no dey see

24. That's nice. I don't kwn whether this rule s applicable 2 naija posts. I saw a friend request one day in my facebook with a disgusting pic. I opened the guys pictures , behold his naked pics even d one his penis is erected. Nawaoooo

25. *yawns*
    #needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

26. The one to block wuna no go block...ajayi no pay

27. Na wa o, u copied Juliet or whatever,add ur email join too becos of give away that will occur in another 360days to come..

28. YET THEY ALLOW NUDE PICTURES OF KIM KARDASHIAN.DOUBLE STANDARDS

29. Serious one
    For Female Bodycon dress, Ankara, chiffon at affordable price. Add 51667BE6.

30. owakah (A.KA. Innosometin)5 January 2016 at 20:11

nice blocking.....

31. This status creates no picture in any bodies mind compared to the pure nude I see every on FB...Believe

32. Ok.. Nice info

#WhoshouldItell

33. Dia pbalaba bt I tink I av seen ws worse dan dis on fb

34. Their wahala.
    "NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

35. Commentin 4d 1st tym, hope it will b approved.

36. how then are there many pictures displaying nudity on facebook if they claim to have such stand

37. cork and bull... Double your hustle