‘You have no power to summon me’- former EFCC boss, Lamorde tells Senate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 November 2015

‘You have no power to summon me’- former EFCC boss, Lamorde tells Senate

The immediate past chairman of EFCC, Ibrahim Lamorde has told the senate committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions that they do not have the powers to invite him for an investigation as he is no longer the chairman of the anti-graft agency. The senate committee is currently investigating allegations that Lamorde diverted N1 billion of recovered stolen funds during his tenure.

Speaking through his Lawyer, Festus Keyamo who represented him at the senate hearing today, Lamorde argued that it is only a law court that can invite him for any investigation.

He said he will only honor the invitation of the senate only if he is invited as a witness and not an accused. The Chairman of the committee, Emmanuel Nwanyawu, told Keyamo that the committee is not a court of law and, therefore, a lawyer cannot appear before it on behalf of his client. He said another letter of summons would be issued to Mr. Lamorde informing him he must appear before the committee on November 24th.

41 comments:

1. There Are Two Types of Girls and These 12 Photos Prove It!

1. Chai, this is what happens when u have very good lawyers who know what they are doing... Lamorde is this accusation is true, know one thing, u can only run but u can't hide.. #1 billion!

2. Chai, this is what happens when u have very good lawyers who know what they are doing... Lamorde is this accusation is true, know one thing, u can only run but u can't hide.. #1 billion!

3. Whose money is paying Festus Keyamo to represent Looter Lamorde? How can Keyamo be EFCC's lawyer yet he is representing the sacked Looter Ibrahim Lamorde? EFCC is completely corrupt, so the new Chairman Ibrahim Magu approved EFCC's money to pay Keyamo to represent sacked Lamorde? Mtchew. Corruption incorporated in Buhari's body language. Change ko Buhari ni.

2. In the famous words of my oga ' Omo see gobe'

3. #The Evening Commenter#17 November 2015 at 21:59

Is he God? When you feel too BiG

4. Issokay we shall see how it unfolds

5. #The Evening Commenter#17 November 2015 at 21:59

Is he God? When you feel too BiG

6. Exactly, his tenure is over already... the person on the seat presently is who to be blamed. You should have noticed about the stolen funds when he was the chairman not now.

7. Action film don start be dat. When two elephants fight... Linda take note!

8. Action film don start be dat. When two elephants fight... Linda take note!

9. Taaaaaa, they have every right to do that joor

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

10. Lol.
    Lol lol.
    Push the self destruct button.

11. Only in naija you hear people quoting plenty things... hehehehe

12. Na so bush meat take catch the hunter o hehehe. My friend go and answer ur case

13. Now the Bush meat is about to catch the hunter!

14. A clear conscience fears no accusation. If he knows his innnocent, den he shld honor their invitation afterall its nt an arrest, (when dem don do bad tin finish, na so dem go hide behind dia lawyer)

15. Lamorde is right,afterall how can an Igbo man question a Hausa man. Is it not enough that he is given the opportunity to be a member of a Senate?

16. He is right .you people should summon Theo Orji

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    The money he stole is giving him confidence....

18. Na why you dey run...no be you say,you be Oga
    Wicked man that denied me being employed in EFCC after I came first for my state.
    He said I was older than my brother certificate showed. I nicely told him that I was not but he kept insisting and asked them to cancel my score.
    On hearing that, I tried to make him understand that he could go verify from my schools, next thing said I'm disrespectful,that he asked me to shut up and I was still talking.
    Seeing that he was hell-bent on ensuring I wasn't employed. I asked him if he was my mother, how could he say I wasn't my age but older. and with that I left.
    You will never go free. Evil man
    The days of reckoning here. You must read what you sow. I stayed home 7 years after graduation because of evil men like you before I got a job.

I

1. Anonymous you are still seething from what he did to you, he is evil that I know. He did selective prosecution while in EFCC. You buy out your freedom or his team will trump up false charges against you.

19. As a private citizen the Senate has no right to invite him, Nwanyawu should know that

20. D guy na thief, he surely has something to hide.

21. Omo see this fool ooo. Hausa na hause, mumu people. Prison dey near you. Engr Emy

22. But u summoned others abi ?look at his head.ok so who has power to summon u?just the president and supreme court right?but u as ordinary chairman summoned senators and governors and even the senate presidents wife.please they should pick u up with soldiers asap.Stupid man.this hausa men are just dumb including the buhari.................linlin how far na ;) abeg post am oooohhhhh

23. And they will always choose southerners to rub it in. See Keyamo now defending criminal Lamorde. Festus! Festus!! Festus!!! How many times did I call you? 3times. E never reach for you to respect yourself and go inside house. Na so you run your mouth dey support Buhari and APC even insulted Igbos with the hope that you will get an appointment yet no show, you are yet to recover from the shock. Now na to go defend criminal Lamorde who is a known FENCE. In Mama Peace's voice CONTINUU.

24. The Senate committees have every constitutional right to summon any citizen for enquiry. But It is not a court so cannot jail. You cannot plead the fifth because Nigeria is not USA. There is no 5th amendment in Nigeria's constitution. Keyamo is ignorant after all. He can appear with his client as an adviser but will not be allowed to talk to the committee.

1. Proof that Buhari is the personification of corrupt and vindictive dictatorship. Who gave Lamorde permission to travel to UK? What about the house Tinubu dashed Lamorde in USA? Met Police should pick Lamorde up for money laundering. Which money is Lamorde using to pay for his health tourism to escape being questioned for grand theft? Buhari is not sincere

25. Your case will be worse than that of Tafa Balogun.

3 tricks to drive him wild

26. When you have made billions in Nigeria either by hook or crook, you can afford to tell any bagger what you like . after all e no easy to stash yourself to big up like that. Na poor man get problem for this country, the law is for the poor and not for the rich. Rich man with his contacts and money can sack any olokpa, make superior officer whip him korofo.

Until we recognise those who steal billions as worse as the man kidnapping or the other working with any capacity of armed robbers, and promulgate a law that is so special to lock and hang them like they do in China. then we are not ready yet.

Our major problem in this country is the lukewarm legal system, religion, tribalism, and corruption.

27. And the change apostle Festus keyamo of all people is representing/ presenting this dumb argument?
    Please if Festus said the senate doesn't posses the constitutional power to summon an ex office holder, let it be also documented for history scholars.

28. Festus Keyamo has no Shame. It's Only God that can help this Country. Even when the very Elect that is supposed to fight the real corruption Fight is now Aiding it, all for selfish interest. And He will open mouth and talk about GEJ Administration.