Photos: Nigerian couple found guilty of enslaving another Nigerian for 24 years in the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 November 2015

Photos: Nigerian couple found guilty of enslaving another Nigerian for 24 years in the UK

A Nigerian couple, Emmanuel and Antan Edet, living in the UK have been found guilty of keeping a fellow Nigerian, Ofonime Sunday Inuk, now 40 as a slave for 24 years at their home in Perivale, North West London. Ofonime had contacted a charity organization, Hope for Justice, after he watched a TV documentary on modern day slavery.

Ofonime told Harrow Crown Court he arrived in the UK from Nigeria in 1989 when he was 14 and made to look after the couple's home and children. He told the court he had been promised an English education before coming to the UK but was instead made to work, with the warning that if he left the house or went to the police he would be arrested for being an illegal immigrant.

He said he had made attempts to escape and spoken to the police in 2005, but was left "a bit dejected" after being told by an officer it was a "family matter".

Ten years later he contacted the Metropolitan Police again when he saw media reports about modern slavery and realised the life he was being made to lead was wrong. He emailed a charity organization, Hope for Justice, which in turn contacted Scotland Yard to co-ordinate his release.

Prosecutor Damaris Lakin told the court: "Emanuel and Antan Edet have cruelly robbed this victim of 24 years of his life. They have treated him with complete contempt. Not only did the defendants have total psychological control over the victim, but they also had control of his passport and identity documents. This was a shocking case of modern day slavery which has no place in our society."

The couple were found guilty of child cruelty, slavery and assisting unlawful immigration. The Edet's pleaded not guilty to the three count charges. They are to be sentenced tomorrow November 18th.

76 comments:

1. Impatiently waiting for the sentence

2. Pls bring us more details tomorrow. Interesting post

3. Lol... Nigerian enslaving nigeria in Uk?? Okpemu!

4. Ugly couple with evil heart

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

5. Every bad person na a Nigerian, na wa o! Linda take note!

6. Geez who does that? Nywayz the boy isnt smart. You can always survive by yourself so long you working. Dunno how the uk system is tho

1. And the Only System you Understand is LindaIkeji System, Oponu, Agbaya!!! Still commenting for your Awuf!

7. Every bad person na a Nigerian, na wa o! Linda take note!

8. This is why it is sometimes difficult to make up one's mind in helping others. They go ahead and sugar coat stories in order to bring you down. There are more to the story.

1. How can you say sugar coat stories?. They didn't allow him to go to school, he hadno friends and he was only subjected to staying at home watching out for their kid for more than 25years. And you don't think that is slavery?. God help you!

2. He lived under them for 24 yrs. Whatever the other party has to say will never justify this cruel slavery

3. Wats more to the story,how can u keep a man for 24yrs,wat kind of help do u plan to render to him.if he wad bk here in 9nja even if he cld b poor but cld ve started a family somehow its nt like he is rich in uk.from ur comment i can c ur heart that u re d kind of person dat defines one by dier purse

9. Wawuu! 24 whole years, some people can be so callous, and now the man is even 40, when were they planning to set him free, maybe at 70.

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Pure wickedness nothing else...

11. Wicked couple. Ndi imi nkita na obi okpor .

12. Linda you said found guilty and then at the end you say they deny the charges. Have they been found guilty.

Please learn the ropes of journalism.

1. As in, honestly. I know Linda wants to do all the work. No problem, u can type the story but employ one or two good editors. People in the law field so they correct both your typographical errors and the message the story gives out. U really do need it please Linda. U have gone too far in life to still be making so many errors.

13. As in seriously???? This guy waited 24 yrs for freedom??? Is he an imbecile or something? He couldn't just break free on is own? We're they living under ground? Abeg this story get as e be o! Sorry for his suffering sha,but na mumu im be!

1. He must hv been brain wash being a foreigner and uneducated. I believe the court wil ask d hrtless couple pay him compensation

14. Really I find this hard to believe in that UK somebody does not know how to run away? Maybe they are using juju sha

1. Have u heard of mental slavery or psychological mind control?

15. its over for them! they should have pleaded guilty! they say pride goes before a fall but these folks ain't letting that happen

16. So this couple took a maid to d uk. Lmaooo. Na una o

17. This is pure wickedness! They've wasted the boy's life. Look at them Wizard and Witch! Only Ibo people can do this! Linda beware!

1. You stupid idiotic imbecile. They are akwa ibom/ Calabar. U useless tribalistic idiot

2. God will purnish you and your generation for that statement. Empty brain, ignorant fool. You can't even identify the part of the country they are from by their names. Useless tribalistic creature. Tufiakwa. Infact God will purnish you just watch out as you will je shocked i know you wellllllll

3. Idiot!!!!!
      U are so enclosed with ur useless tribalistic world that u have never left ur present state to be able to differentiate tribes through their names. How does those names sound Igbo to you???
      You shld have put up ur name and face.
      Fool born by tribalistic idiots.
      Step out of ur comfort zone. U need to move around.
      Ozu rere ere!

4. Idiot!!!!!
      U are so enclosed with ur useless tribalistic world that u have never left ur present state to be able to differentiate tribes through their names. How does those names sound Igbo to you???
      You shld have put up ur name and face.
      Fool born by tribalistic idiots.
      Step out of ur comfort zone. U need to move around.
      Ozu rere ere!

5. The people are Calabar going by their surname. They are not Igbo. Leave Igbos alone. Let them be. One love, Onle blood, One Nigeria. Peace!!!

6. Are you sure this slave guy is a Nigerian? By default he should have escaped since if na true Niger. Reconfirm where the guy is from.

18. Wickedness. Make una face d consequence

19. The foolish goat that said "only ibo people can do this" needs a heavenly slap! What sort of rubbish and completely unfounded statement is that? No one tribe is solely responsible for atrocity, just as no one religion or country or race can be blamed for all the evil in the world. Nwanne eh, if your mouth cannot speak with wisdom or your fingers cannot type with common sense, please keep your comments sealed in your prejudicial heart. Dalu!

20. But if not for these people, the person accusing them of slavery would never have reached London in his life. So lets weigh both sides and look at it from both angles. Lets not judge from only one side. Why didnt the guy ask them to return him back to Nigeria? Why is he using London police to fight them? He too is kind of ungrateful. The judgement might also affect him and send him back to Nigeria because he is there illegally. Although i dont like the fact that they wasted 24 years of his life making him do house boy job. They should have sent him to school as promised. I am just being objective here.

1. U be mumu walahi...see talk

2. Do u really think that London is so great? My dear, a poor man will enjoy more in Nig compared to a poor or average man in the UK

21. But if not for these people, the person accusing them of slavery would never have reached London in his life. So lets weigh both sides and look at it from both angles. Lets not judge from only one side. Why didnt the guy ask them to return him back to Nigeria? Why is he using London police to fight them? He too is kind of ungrateful. The judgement might also affect him and send him back to Nigeria because he is there illegally. Although i dont like the fact that they wasted 24 years of his life making him do house boy job. They should have sent him to school as promised. I am just being objective here.

1. U say u are being objective but u jst being low in ur reasoning .ok lets look at it ,he is now in uk abi for 24yr wat has he achived.he fourty abi?how does he pick his life up?abi if he was in nja e for don atleast 1pickin.e day uk illigally,e no go sch,e no get hand work,e no get wife or pikin,e dey 40yrs.u check am n no if u re really objective

2. Then why didnt the boy run back to Nigeria. Them tie him leg for there? Na by force to continue staying with the family? Is the boy a mumu. The boy must have a dull brain. A correct Naija boy cannot be used like this abeg. Naijas are too smart for this shit. If u ask me, the boy is a mumu and a fool. I dont blame the couple. The boy allowed himself to be used.

22. The couple looks young to have enslaved the man since 1989. Does it mean they married as teens. Cos if u ask me dere is more to the story

23. Wat a wicked world bcos he had no voice,,,thanks b 2 GOD 4 his boldness,,wicked man nd wife,,why most humans re dis bad,,wel remember,de young shall grow,,i hope their children dnt sufer dis later.....

24. D British govt will grant d guy "stay" now! So, at d end, 'o ja s'ope'!

25. Wat a wicked world bcos he had no voice,,,thanks b 2 GOD 4 his boldness,,wicked man nd wife,,why most humans re dis bad,,wel remember,de young shall grow,,i hope their children dnt sufer dis later.....

26. Linda, this is an old news! If u want to recycle news, at least have the decency to do it on time!

27. That is why i dont like helping people. They can put you in trouble. There is obviously more to this story since they pleaded not guilty. It means they have their own side of the story

28. That is why i dont like helping people. They can put you in trouble. There is obviously more to this story since they pleaded not guilty. It means they have their own side of the story

29. This is why i dont like helping people. Make everybody answer him papa name abeg

30. This is why i dont like helping people

31. I would have loved to hear the couple's side of the story though.

32. Even der face show dat dey hv a wicked heart..dat serve dem rit.

33. Even der face show dat dey hv a wicked heart..dat serve dem rit.

34. If anybody offers to help you take your kid abroad beware because it is normally modern slavery. Some even enslave their own family members so beware. Nigeria may not be as good but at least you are free.

35. I have seen this story before and have bn wondering wat happened to them. This is a man for crying out. R u saying, he never goes out at all, at least taking the children out for a work or even going to buy things as his doing the job of a hse boi, he waited and was wasting for 24 yrs witout having any place to go or any access to talk wit pple both within(UK) n outside(Naija) He waited until he watched a program to now communicated.
    My opinion Ooo, There is more to this case.

36. do you would want to

analyze in nations instantly or

possibly in ingestion. reliable visa belief is without a doubt a lot

of our main basis and we are rating mainly because

the perfect

elsewhere consultancies when
    education consultants in hyderabadit comes to india. we make

it easier to that you appearing in recording the fone visa for you in extremely much less time. around usa would

you like all the information about colleges or universities as well as , univerisity we assists you to.

37. this can be an

important

information to get the

groundwork internationally next emanating intake. wonderful visa belief is considered our core

objective and we are detailed mainly because

the overseas education consultants in hyderabad
    ideal other countries consultancies in asia. back in genuinely much

less time our team assist you document a f1 visa. when it comes to u . s if you whichever

details about educational institutions and as a consequence univerisity we could help you.

38. for the next usage do you want

to research

at in a different country. very good visa certainty is normally our prime mobile and we're posted simply because the ideal out of the country consultancies found

in top educational consultancies in hyderabad asia. we assistance someone throughout declaring your f1 visa just for you around exceptionally much less time. were here

allowing you to using the info

on colleges

and as a consequence univerisities found in country.

39. for the next usage do you want

to research

at in a different country. very good visa certainty is normally our prime mobile and we're posted simply because the ideal out of the country consultancies found

in asia. we assistance someone throughout declaring your f1 visa just for you around exceptionally much less time. were here

allowing you to using the info

on reputed overseas consultancy in hyderabad colleges

and as a consequence univerisities found in country.

40. this can be an

important

information to get the

groundwork internationally next emanating intake. wonderful visa belief is considered our core

objective and we are detailed mainly because

the ideal other countries consultancies in asia. back in genuinely much

less top educational consultancies in hyderabad
    time our team assist you document a f1 visa. when it comes to u . s if you whichever

details about educational institutions and as a consequence univerisity we could help you.