Paris attacks: French National anthem will be sung by all Premier League clubs this weekend | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 November 2015

Paris attacks: French National anthem will be sung by all Premier League clubs this weekend

English clubs will sing the French national anthem across all stadiums this weekend, Premier League bosses have confirmed. The anthem will take place prior to the coin toss, with teams coming together in the centre circle, along with the match officials, facing the main stand. It should be noted that about 72 French players play in the premier league.

The choral version of La Marseillaise will represent a show of 'solidarity and remembrance' according to English Premier league chief Richard Scudamore. He said:
"Given how close we are as well as the long-standing relationship that exists between the Premier League and France, playing La Marseillaise as an act of solidarity and remembrance is the right thing to do. We were all saddened and deeply shocked by the events in Paris last Friday, and the fact it was an attack on people enjoying their everyday freedoms like going to a bar, a concert or a football match resonates with football fans and the general public throughout the UK"

54 comments:

1. Let me sing it too inside this R8 before I kill one of those traffic robbers

2. Can't wait for this weekend. .

3. Ekwe! Why dem no dey sing naija own all the while??? Linda take note!

4. Ekwe! Why dem no dey sing naija own all the while??? Linda take note!

1. Linda take note ur time to reap don dey reach... hustle for xmas take away. Idi egwu gbo juliet iwuno!!!

5. Nd dem neva sing 9ja own since bh issues

6. I will continue to pray for Paris..

1. Oshi no pray for ur fatherland, Paris ke. Niger republic ne

7. Awww! So nice of them, good to see humanity caring for their kind.
    Evil must not triumph over good.

8. ITS ALRIGHT

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

9. "will be sung" not "will be sang" :)

1. Onye grammar! Na him u never go open ur own blog dey blow am.

10. Thats good! #stillprayingforParisandNigeria.

11. Nice one let those bastard cowards know that we christians can come together . That's all we need. Nigerian christians have the population. All the muslims should behave and be peaceful if they like them self but I will still say . Islam is not peace

12. Issokay yet Nigerian local leagues have never thought of doing something as little as this.We are our own enemy.The Luv between Nigerians is quite appalling.Yet we are the first to shout racism ! We insult each other coz we are from different regions & religion.Shame

13. My question is...why isnt anything done wen boko haram strikes or wen hundreds re killed in palestine?

1. Catch Ebola and die for that question. Bastard, like u don't knw d answers.

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    But the english colonised us but they have never played our national amthem during this boko haram crisis.....

15. May the lost souls rest in peace

16. Interesting...I see how many times they have sang national anthem for our people BH have blew up

17. Paris! U see the fast response from their government to tackle those havocs. But come to nija... we re dying everyday

18. Fuck em all...yes fuck em all

Wat of the Nigerians dat have been dying errday

Fucking white pple...

19. Fuck em all...yes fuck em all

Wat of the Nigerians dat have been dying errday

Fucking white pple...

20. Wen it comes 2 book harm nd dere victims. The international. Community. Won't respond

21. Hmmm smh Nigerians die everyday in hundreds from terrorists attacks but somehow it's never a big deal, and everyone is shocked by this particular attack. Na wa oooo

22. Nigerian Anthem was never sung in any match or event!! Now can Nigerians see they dont matter cos of the continent and color?????

23. Heya! #pray for paris

May the Victims souls Rest in Perfect Peace

24. Did africa sing for nigeria? Lol..

25. Football stands strong against terrorism

26. ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 09050085168 PLEASE BE MATURED>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

27. I don't know why I feel racism is involved here...... #myopinion

28. ok o

if you long reading short amazing fictions then you need to click my name

29. Dis is wholesome and lovely....

B4 u knw it, foolish Nigerians wil copy them and start dis too after d much ado using France flag by Nigerians and they never used Nigeria flag.

30. That's bullshit..why do these people consider Africans as lesser people?thousands have died from boko haram attacks yet they have done almost nothing and they are showing this much sympathy for France ,are they for real?

31. Linda.. the right expression is ... 'will be sung'.

32. People should listen to the lyrics of the song sang by the late King of Pop, MICHAEL JACKSON, ☆ALL I WANT TO SAY IS THAT THEY DON'T REALLY CARE ABOUT US.☆ The white race don't even know if the black race is existing, only what they are interested in us for is to continue to loot our NATURAL RESOURCES. Full stop

33. D premier league is Back !, nice one

34. Is this how irrelevant Nigeria is to the international community, racism @ it's heights. Pray for Paris ke, pls wild rather pray for my fatherland

35. Is this how irrelevant Nigeria is to the international community, racism @ it's heights. Pray for Paris ke, pls wild rather pray for my fatherland

36. people die in Nigeria,Syria, Afghanistan, Philistine almost everyday.. y dem no sing deir anthem.. abegi make i ear..

37. Not a bad idea, but can they also sing the Nigerian anthem. We also suffer terrorist attacks.

38. Allons enfants de la Patrie
    Le jour de gloire est arrivé !
    Contre nous de la tyrannie
    L'étendard sanglant est levé
    Entendez-vous dans nos campagnes
    Mugir ces féroces soldats?
    Ils viennent jusque dans vos bras.
    Égorger vos fils, vos compagnes!

Aux armes citoyens
    Formez vos bataillons
    Marchons, marchons
    Qu'un sang impur
    Abreuve nos sillons

Que veut cette horde d'esclaves
    De traîtres, de rois conjurés?
    Pour qui ces ignobles entraves
    Ces fers dès longtemps préparés?
    Français, pour nous, ah! quel outrage
    Quels transports il doit exciter?
    C'est nous qu'on ose méditer
    De rendre à l'antique esclavage!

Quoi ces cohortes étrangères!
    Feraient la loi dans nos foyers!
    Quoi! ces phalanges mercenaires
    Terrasseraient nos fils guerriers!
    Grand Dieu! par des mains enchaînées
    Nos fronts sous le joug se ploieraient
    De vils despotes deviendraient
    Les maîtres des destinées.

Tremblez, tyrans et vous perfides
    L'opprobre de tous les partis
    Tremblez! vos projets parricides
    Vont enfin recevoir leurs prix!
    Tout est soldat pour vous combattre
    S'ils tombent, nos jeunes héros
    La France en produit de nouveaux,
    Contre vous tout prêts à se battre.

Français, en guerriers magnanimes
    Portez ou retenez vos coups!
    Épargnez ces tristes victimes
    À regret s'armant contre nous
    Mais ces despotes sanguinaires
    Mais ces complices de Bouillé
    Tous ces tigres qui, sans pitié
    Déchirent le sein de leur mère!

Nous entrerons dans la carrière
    Quand nos aînés n'y seront plus
    Nous y trouverons leur poussière
    Et la trace de leurs vertus
    Bien moins jaloux de leur survivre
    Que de partager leur cercueil
    Nous aurons le sublime orgueil
    De les venger ou de les suivre!

Amour sacré de la Patrie
    Conduis, soutiens nos bras vengeurs
    Liberté, Liberté chérie
    Combats avec tes défenseurs!
    Sous nos drapeaux, que la victoire
    Accoure à tes mâles accents
    Que tes ennemis expirants
    Voient ton triomphe et notre gloire!