Looted fund is being returned through CBN- Femi Adesina | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 29 November 2015

Looted fund is being returned through CBN- Femi Adesina

According to Punch, public funds that have been returned by some past government officials who looted the treasury while in power are currently with the Central Bank of Nigeria.
President Muhammadu Buhari during an interactive session he had with members of the Nigerian community in the Islamic Republic of Iran had previously said that some past government officials who stole public funds had started returning parts of their loot voluntarily.
However, he did not disclose the identities of the former government officials who have so far returned parts of the looted fund or the amount returned to the public treasury.

Punch however, revealed that the returned loot is with the CBN, although the amount could not be immediately ascertained at the time of filing their report.
The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina, confirmed that the looted fund was being returned to government coffers through the CBN.
He said:
“The looted fund is being returned through CBN. Only the bank can speak on the procedure, and how much has been returned so far.”
“The President has not made a declaration on whether those who returned money voluntarily would still be prosecuted or not.”
The Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, told journalists at Friday’s Federation Accounts Allocation Committee meeting in Abuja that the govt hasn't specified how much has been returned. She said:
“There is no figure on the funds being returned yet. The process is ongoing. When it is completed and the accounts are available, they would be returned to where they were stolen from. We haven’t come to that yet.”

56 comments:

1. Another APC propaganda.. Too many bullshit we hear these days and too many lies.. Next plzzzz!!!

1. If we don't know who they are and how much they stole , how much they are returning , what will the money be used for ? Then it's all lies

2. Return yours first, Femi

3. Buhari and his co travellers are full of mumbo jumbo..

4. Bitter souls......keep hating

2. CHANGE! Has come to stay, Jonathan partners in crime must return looted fund one by one, thank God for deleting the oloshi administration off the Nigeria system! Gob bless PMB, God bless Nigeria.

1. U are such a daft,so buhari. Is in power to chase d. Stolen funds instead of creating employment, beefing up security. And infrastructure, I bet u don't worth using a smart phone,u need nokia torch.fool

2. You sound like an illiterate sycophant. Sure it's a good thing if illegal funds are being returned. ..but didn't you see the part where he didn't list the names of the corrupt politicians neither did he say if they were going to be prosecuted. So they'l go scot free without damage to their reputation cos they returned illegal funds?

3. Tobechukwu , u need counselling. What jobs are you going to create without first blocking leakages and putting sanity into the system? Do you want wishy washy running of economy that Good luck ebele Jonathan/PDP did for 16 years?

3. If it's true, den it's a good thing

4. I hope the exact figure of the returned looted funds won't be a clandestine affair tho? I wanna know how much the new sheriff has been able to recover so we can all know whether the Govts budget & expnditures would bd spot on

5. Okay.
    Noted.
    Mrs kemi get your facts right next time.

6. If the govt is serious, what is difficult in mentioning the people and amount?
    Abeg. We are not kid pls.

7. Issokay seen, I believe una. Linda take note!

8. Issokay seen, I believe una. Linda take note!

9. Idiot! Is CBN not a parastal under Ministry of Finance? Wait till Emefiele bursts ur bubble.

10. Yet,that mad man in Ekiti opens his mouth to talk rubbish always.He had better choose between governing & cutting kpomo/eating amala/riding okada/visiting the market/buying tomatoes.

1. God punish that ur stinking mouth. fresh fool

11. Shameful indeed. Talk of abuse of public offices & thievery. God help us.

12. Shameful indeed. Talk of abuse of public offices & thievery. God help us.

13. So when they are done with returning the looted funds your government will now tell us how much was returned....I Smell A Rat!!!

14. Story for the Gods, this government is not transparent Abeg!

15. Why is this whole process done secretly? YOU PEOPLE MUST THINK NIGERIANS ARE DUMB!

16. Femi please don't defend the indefensible. Why is the minister of finance not aware of the said money? Or you are now the minister of finance? Talk about the things you know about not when you leave office you will start writing memoirs.

17. Declaration? Who is he to declare this is a democracy and not a dictatorship, adeshina had better remove such dictatorial lexicon from his limited vocabulary.

18. Biko their names should b publish!

19. Replies
    1. Are u alright? Must everything be "end time"

20. Looted Money are returned....

Looted money are Relooted Again...

Change abi???

All I see is Poverty and Pain...

4 me....Am eating my money and watching news...

21. They will return looted funds to be looted again... Will corruption ever be curbed in Nigeria? I don't think so.

22. Story for the gods,returned by who? And how much?

23. This is the confusion you get when you put one yeye person from east london university as minister of finance. Chai!!! You mean Ogun state can't find somebody from london school of economics? Nonsense.

24. So the minister of finance doesn't know what is going on in CBN, lying liars.

25. Why is adeshina and general buhari trying to play on our intelligence, the only way Nigerians will believe this their doubtful story is if the names of the looters are mentioned, or are they saying that this looters lifes are more precious than the numerous people who have lost their lives and livelyhood to the antics of this Govt officials

I believe that the APC govt should declare what has been recovered so that Nigerians can monitor and know whichbpart of the economy this recovered funds are going to be spent on.

President Buhari is beginning to sound shady and untrustworthy.... publish the names of the thiefs to show the Nigerian kids that corruption isnt allowed and that they should be proud of the little their parents earn in honesty and not envy the ill gotten wealth that these officials and their families portray all over.

These officials must be prosecuted or else it would mean that this administration condones corruotion and sacred cow politics in the country....I hope as a Nigerian I wont voting for APC

A THIEF IS A THIEF

26. Why is adeshina and general buhari trying to play on our intelligence, the only way Nigerians will believe this their doubtful story is if the names of the looters are mentioned, or are they saying that this looters lifes are more precious than the numerous people who have lost their lives and livelyhood to the antics of this Govt officials

I believe that the APC govt should declare what has been recovered so that Nigerians can monitor and know whichbpart of the economy this recovered funds are going to be spent on.

President Buhari is beginning to sound shady and untrustworthy.... publish the names of the thiefs to show the Nigerian kids that corruption isnt allowed and that they should be proud of the little their parents earn in honesty and not envy the ill gotten wealth that these officials and their families portray all over.

These officials must be prosecuted or else it would mean that this administration condones corruotion and sacred cow politics in the country....I hope as a Nigerian I wont voting for APC

A THIEF IS A THIEF

27. Guess dat Ekiti clown can no longer read nd understand, he only utter statements dats needs attention just 2b noticed instead of governing whre he ws elected. I don't blame him anyway, na wetin he dey sniff dey disturb am. Drug addicted governor.

28. ARE WE STILL RUNNING A DEMOCRACY??? SO THE NIGERIAN PEOPLE DON'T HAVE THE RIGHT TO KNOW HOW MUCH IS BEING RETURNED AND BY WHO??? I THOUGHT THIS GOVERNMENT SAID THEY WILL PROBE AND PROSECUTE CULPABLE LOOTERS SO WHY ARE THEY NOT EVEN MENTIONING THEIR NAMES LET ALONE PROSECUTE THEM.... BUHARI IS GRADUALLY COMING OUT OF HIS SHELL...NIGERIANS ARE IN FOR A BIG DISTASTEFUL SURPRISE!!!!

29. Nigerians deserve the right to know how much is coming in daily,how much have been returned. Nigerians deserve to know in Nigeria,not when PMB travels overseas he tells us what going on in Nigeria from a foreign country.

30. Crap!....All Lies...We aren't dat dumb

31. Stop deceiving Nigerians, returned looted funds without knowing the amount and publishing the names of those who returned it, are all cock and bull stories.

32. JESUS is VISITING THEM like ZACCHAEUS!!!
    THAT is the CHANGE OF HEART COMING!!!
    PRAISE GOD!!!

33. Some pple just no get sense shaa. Dat d process is stil going on which means dem stil dey return d money smal smal so Hw cn we knw d amt wen dem stil dey return d money? Hiaaaa as dey said wen d proces is completed we go knw, so dey shld b telling us 1 by 1? Som of Una sense dey under Una nyash shaa mtheeeew wetin concern me sef mk I go meet linda for 38

34. The least the PMB admin should do is involve the citizenry in the recovery of looted funds: who are the. actual people involved in the repatriation? What are the numbers they are bringing back vs how much was stolen from the public treasury? What is the benchmark for such looted funds and who sets it? Hopefully, the thieves/fat cats do not get to make such determination. How will the recovered loot be used towards development efforts and under what time frame? Will the names of these looters ever be published in an online white-collar crimes registry for Nigerians and the world to see the people who mean them harm? Or will all these processes be swept under the carpet and the naija public kept in the dark again? #goodcausetospeakup

35. Why can't Nigerians be updated after all is not Adeshina's money, the money belongs to Nigeria as a whole, or they don't have an accountant to give day to day account? Why waiting when the whole money will be recovered, no one knows when. So give the account as any money comes in. God bless Nigeria

36. So let me get this straight, some of the idiots PDP apologists on here want the CBN to prematurely announce the amount that has been recovered so that tomorrow when there's a change, the same idiots will accuse Buhari of lying about the funds recovered? I weep for you bastards. Your minds can't even reason in the lowest level anymore due to years of being held slave by past presidents. This is what 16 years of PDP in power has done to you. When a government is working and fighting for you and you idiots are complaining and blaming him and accusing him on blogs, it is very easy for the government to get discourage and start taking advantage of the system since you fools don't believe in their efforts anyways. I just wish you idiots commenting foolishness wear condoms when you fuqq or are being fuqqed because the world don't need another fool like you causing havoc...

37. Anonymous 8:42 PM, if a democratic govt gets discouraged simply bcos its citizenry are clamoring for meaningful changes, such a govt has no backbone and is not worth the time of day. Perhaps, it is your rather weak composition that is perturbed yet, camouflaging for the APC, who by the way, do not need your light-feather defence. On the issue of what you do or how you do it in camera with man or beast, that lies entirely with an asshole like you. More than likely, based on your reasoning, such a state can only be imagined than experienced. Now, crawl back into your monkey cave. QED@atm