Empire star Gabourey Sidibe hits back at 'haters' who fat-shamed her over steamy love scene | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 November 2015

Empire star Gabourey Sidibe hits back at 'haters' who fat-shamed her over steamy love scene

Wednesday's episode of Empire saw character Becky, played by Gabourey Sidibe, 32, alongside her love interest MC J Poppa - played by actor Mo McRae - in an opening scene that featured the two enjoying an intimate moment on a rooftop.
However, after the episode aired, the Oscar-nominated actress found herself to be the subject of cruel taunts online, one social media user even created a meme that used a screen shot of the love scene next to the words: 'Damn, some of you people can't even get a text back'. 
In a blog about the episode, Gabourey told the 'haters', Gabourey Sidibe responded to critics who fat shamed her after she appeared in a love scene during Wednesday's episode of Empire.
The 32-year-old actress was seen on the show alongside her character Becky 'I’m not sure how anyone could hate on love but that’s okay. You may have your memes'
The meme appeared to imply that it was somehow surprising that Gabourey's character could attract the attention - and the lust - of someone like MC J Poppa.
Some commenters on the posts added to the hate, writing things like 'yuck' and 'now they've gone too far' about the episode. 

'I, a plus sized, dark-skinned woman, had a love scene on primetime television,' she wrote. I had the most fun ever filming that scene even though I was nervous. But I felt sexy and beautiful and I felt like I was doing a good job.

'I’m very proud of the work we all did to make that scene a great opening for the episode. I keep hearing that people are “hating” on it. I’m not sure how anyone could hate on love but that’s okay. You may have your memes.' 
She added: 'Honestly, I’m at work too busy to check Twitter anyway. #Booked. Hope you enjoy next week’s show!'
Plenty of fans also came to the actresses defense, with one writing: 'People are just mean. All I see is two people in love, do y'all really think big girls cannot get some action?'

Many of Gabourey's cast mates on Empire also praised her for the scene. Co-star Jussie Smollett, who plays Jamal Lyon on the show, called it 'beautiful' and praised Gabourey for 'owning herself' and when told about the negative comments, said the critics should just close their eyes and turn off their TVs if they have a problem. 

49 comments:

1. Beautiful, haters, empire, bla bla bla
      She really needs to shed some weight.

2. Seriously man, she does need to shed some weight.

1. I swear! Why is she being so stubborn?! Just drop that weight and enjoy your youth while it's still here. You don't want to be 60 and looking back at your pics regretting how you wasted your young days looking like a tank!

3. Most peeps ain't used to plus sized chicks getting it on...the entertainment industry does not help matters in dat regard. considering casting directors stereo type such scenes with slim gurls. In all, I say we'll done.

4. Why not ignore totally? This is even a reply to †ђξ haters sef

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #IT mUsT eNd in PrAisE

5. Oh lord, the guy really suffered! i am sure he didnt enjoy the scene either but had to do it work is work right? Obesity is a no no , work on it gurl

6. Some ppl can talk a mansion down. Everyone can't be slim na

7. Free her joor.
    Fat bitches also need on-air Dicks too.

8. I don't understand how one can get sooooo fat and call it beautiful!!!! Hey! You can actually do something about it, like doing exercise and dieting for a long time without giving up! Don't get all obsessed and call urself beautiful then u start looking for people's sympathy... My friend u're ugly!

1. She doesn't even have to diet! With all the money she has, she can afford to get surgery and become flawless overnight.

2. C ur mouth 'ugly', have u eva considered d possibilty dat she might actually like ha size, afterall dats wot got ha in2 Empire. I know dat ur narrow mind wudnt tink dat far, I really dnt knw wot gave u d right 2 call ha UGLY bcos she is fat but woteva it is shove it bak in2 ur pocket bcos dat d real UGLY...

3. You are uglier than the ugliest! You have a very ugly and hateful heart. You need help.

9. Some people have got no chill at all. Linda take note!

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    People wicked o... They mean say fat people no dey have sex or wetin self.... Very funny shah...

11. Don't mind dem gal, u r beautiful d way u r. Keep loving urself n forget dem haters

12. lets say things as they are please. she's way too big. even though its a film/acting, its still a lot of job for the guy. #mountainclimbing

13. Chai! If Gabourey Sidibe can pose like this in bed ,'dia ris ' God' ooo oh & hope for those lazy lovers in bed!

14. I can't wait to see this episode! Off to download

15. People are just so cruel. What has she done wrong? Is she different from others who have acted similar scenes in same Empire and in other movies? This world is full of sad and distasteful people. She should just ignore them and focus on her career.

16. She's toooo fat!!!!!!

17. They should leave her alone biko... I loved that scene she said J Poppa hits the walls. Lmao!!!

18. *imagining how men do doggy with fat girls*......pheew, the sight won't be funny lol.

19. Do something about your weight miss

20. Beautiful that's what i call it, f**k all the haters we know without them she wont be complete... Go girl, you are living your dreams... Double your hustle

21. Yuck.... nor b only love scene...fat ass

22. Owh God! And I was furious that my UPS got burnt not knowing it was the Lord tryna save me. Am so glad I missed this Episode. YUCK!

23. Beautiful wo! Some people sha its a love scene, I dont care if you're fat or slim. That scrap isn't special jare

24. She is confident in her own skin. That's the most important thing. So those shaming her should take several seats.

25. awwwwwwh...i feel for her...dey shud let her be..i like the fact that shez trying to be strong as ever

26. there r more gay scenes on empire than hetero love scenes.... . isnt that ''yuckier''???? only God can save us in this age.....

1. STFU!! I watched Empire Season 1 and out of 12 episodes it had only 2 gay love scenes. You people are just sentimental homophobes we get it you dong like gay people but why do you have to lie? Mtcheew!!

27. Make she sef try lose all that lard! Ain't nothing sexy about it

1. Work on ur weight girl before u die of obesity related illnesses. Stop deluding urself with dat " I'm beautiful " talk. Start exercising nd cut off all dat pizza nd cakes nd sodas nd watch wat u ll look like in six months time.

28. Hate it, Love it!!! Bottom line, she did it. Gabby is working her ass off doing what she loves regardless of whatever inhibitions she has. That's more than I can say for a lot of us who are working jobs and living lives that make us miserable.

29. So dis is how fat women do it? Doggy lol buh Seriously I've always wondered cos no mata how wide dey open dia legs? D thighs stil end upcoverin dia vjayvay. Buh ds babe needs 2do sumtin abt her weight now da she's stil young not healthy @all

30. whats is you peoples business, she is happy in her own skin and she isw owning it so i dont dont see how it affects all of you.she is happy and she is doing what she loves and making her money and enjoying her life while all you trolls are here judging her. who are you to judge her its not like you are better than her so all of yall should shut up and my mind your lives and ur business, focus of things affecting you than having opinions about every body else.

31. what is you peoples business, she is happy and comfortable in her own skin and thats saying a lot.. most of you wish you had the courage she has so quit hating on her because she is happy and mind your business, go about your lives and stop thinking that your opinion about peoples lives matter because actually they dont. your opinions dont matterto any one, you are hating on someone and she is there living her life and making the most of it and you people are here...mtcheew... yall need to get you lives in order.

32. whats is you peoples business, she is happy in her own skin and she isw owning it so i dont dont see how it affects all of you.she is happy and she is doing what she loves and making her money and enjoying her life while all you trolls are here judging her. who are you to judge her its not like you are better than her so all of yall should shut up and my mind your lives and ur business, focus of things affecting you than having opinions about every body else.

33. When I was a child, gigantic women were called 'room and parlour' or 'heavy duty.' I know many of my fellow men lust after big women, but not this size! Secondly, why can't film directors be more realistic in their depictions. If a man is having steamy sex with a woman, why would he wear boxer shorts? It's better not to show the whole body - maybe just head and back and upper torso - than to show the whole body unconvincingly clothed.