Buhari's policies annoying and sending away investors- Bloomberg | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 November 2015

Buhari's policies annoying and sending away investors- Bloomberg

International Business magazine, Bloomberg.com today published an article title "Buhari Bounce Becomes Bust as Nigeria Policies Irk Investors". The article states that President Buhari's policies since assuming office has continued to chase investors away and has dashed the hopes of many who believed in him when he assumed office. Read the full text of the article below
"When Muhammadu Buhari clinched victory in Nigeria’s presidential elections in March, stocks soared as investors looked to the former military ruler to reverse decades of economic mismanagement and policy inertia.
Now hopes have fizzled in his ability to turn around Africa’s largest economy and oil producer. Money that flowed into stocks and bonds in the West African nation, which McKinsey & Co. says could become one of the world’s 20 biggest economies by 2030, is now fleeing as growth prospects diminish along with oil prices. While Buhari, 72, has prioritized stamping out the graft that has plagued Nigeria since independence from Britain in 1960, policy-making appears as uncertain and haphazard as ever. “After the initial euphoria, people have become disillusioned,” Ayodele Salami, who oversees about $500 million of African equities as chief investment officer of London-based Duet Asset Management Ltd., said by phone. “He would probably say that he’s being deliberative and cautious. But we expected more.”
Duet’s Africa fund has cut its investments in the country to about 24 percent of the total from 38 percent in the last year. Buhari waited five months before naming his cabinet, hasn’t proposed a clear plan to revive growth and backed foreign-exchange controls aimed at defending the naira. His retention of gasoline subsidies, plans to raise spending in the face of declining revenue and silence about a $5.2 billion fine levied on mobile-phone operator MTN Group Ltd. have added to investor unease. Nigeria’s benchmark stock index has plunged 22 percent since reaching a year-high on April 2, the day after Buhari was declared the winner of the presidential race against incumbent Goodluck Jonathan. That’s the third-worst performance globally in the period, after the bourses in Ukraine and Egypt. The index advanced 12.5 percent in the two days after Jonathan conceded. To be sure, Buhari inherited depleted government coffers and a bureaucracy that multiple probes have blamed for looting billions of dollars of oil revenue. The president has said he delayed appointing ministers because he needed time to vet suitable candidates. Garba Shehu, a spokesman for Buhari, didn’t immediately respond to written questions after requesting they be sent that way. The hiatus has compounded the pain caused by the slide in the price of crude, which accounts for two-thirds of government revenue and 90 percent of export earnings. Growth, which averaged 6.3 percent annually over the past decade, is set to slow to a 16-year low of 3.3 percent this year, according to the median estimate of 15 economists surveyed by Bloomberg. Many filling stations ran dry this month as the government withheld fuel subsidies to suppliers, preventing them from restocking. Lengthening lines forced Buhari to ask lawmakers for permission to pay 413 billion naira ($2 billion) in overdue payments, an amount that hadn’t been budgeted for. While next year’s budget has yet to be finalized, Buhari wants to raise spending by 56 percent, according to a person who attended a briefing on the government’s plans and asked not to be identified because the matter is private. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo says the government plans to spend its way out of a slowing economy and that an infrastructure fund will be created with public and private financing. The penalty imposed on MTN’s Nigeria unit last month for failing to register about 5 million subscribers may be an attempt to plug the hole in government finances, according to Cobus de Hart, an economist at NKC Independent Economists. “You cannot deny there might be a fiscal element to the massive fine,” he said by phone from Paarl, near Cape Town. “It will make investors a little bit more wary of investing in Nigeria.” An even bigger concern for many investors is the authorities’ naira policy. The Central Bank of Nigeria, with Buhari’s backing, has burned through $4.3 billion of reserves this year and choked off supply of foreign exchange to banks and their customers to defend the naira, even as major oil exporters such as Russia and Colombia have let their currencies slide. The restrictions prompted JPMorgan Chase & Co. to remove Nigeria from its local-currency emerging-market bond indexes, tracked by more than $200 billion of funds, in September, triggering a selloff in the nations’ assets. While the naira has been all but fixed at about 198 to 199 per dollar since March, forward prices suggest it will drop by almost one-fifth, to 243.5, in a year. The number-one issue is the exchange rate,” Andrew Howell, a Citigroup Inc. frontier markets strategist, said from Lagos. ”Access to foreign exchange is becoming a widespread problem.” Nigerian Breweries Plc, the nation’s biggest brewer that’s controlled by Heineken NV, said it takes two weeks to obtain dollars to pay for its imports, twice as long as it required a few months ago. Nestle SA’s Nigerian unit has had to wait six weeks for dollars, according to Renaissance Capital Ltd. analysts. Buhari has won plaudits from leaders including President Barack Obama for his effortsto tackle graft. He replaced the management of the state oil company, which was accused of withholding billions of dollars from the government, and has stepped up the fight against an insurgency being waged by Islamist group Boko Haram. “The degree of transparency we’re starting to get with the new administration is hugely positive,” Douglas Rowlings, an analyst at Moody’s Investors Service, said in an interview in Lagos. “It gives investors the perception that operating in Nigeria will now be done following proper procedures.” Jan Dehn, head of research at Ashmore Group Plc, which oversees almost $60 billion of emerging market assets, remains unconvinced that Buhari is up to the job. The fund manager sold all its Nigerian government debt in the past year. “So far the Buhari administration has done all the wrong things,” Dehn said by phone from London. “Not only has he been incredibly slow in taking any action, when he finally has taken action on the economic front it’s been diametrically opposed to sensible policy. That is a major disappointment given expectations prior to his election.”

172 comments:

1. Very very clueless President. Naija go hear am under this man. I am laughing in swahili.

2. D man is an end time president nah,,,,,

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

1. BUHARI PLEASE PAY FEDERAL WORKERS THEIR SALARY.FEDERAL WORKERS NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT SALARIES UNDER JONATHAN FOR HE PAID EVERY 25th.SINCE BUHARI TOOM OVER,THEY ARE PAID EVERY FIRST WEEK SOMTIMES SSECOND WEEK OF THE OTHER MONTH.THIS IS USELESS CHNAGE OOO

2. Awww oya Aeee feeeee ceeee put this one one PDP again. Even the kwonstat fawa sufly he promised we no see BH nko ? Give him gworrroo that's all he knows

3. Only a stupid investor will put his money in a country where the President is screaming broke! And the President is announcing corruption in Nigeria, as though India is any less corrupt! Abeg the man needs lessons in Diplomatic Relations

4. Tufia! Wale what u and ur people don do next time listen to me. No more clubbing till 2019. As for me . Biafra I see u *wink

3. The only people so blind to see this are his
    F
    O
    L
    L
    O
    W
    E
    R
    S.

He said he's for nobody αи∂ for everybody, then why isn't he effecting the change he was chanting before now. Me too, am not against him neither was I in support of his been a President. He should just start working positively to produce better results.

He criticised GEJ vigorously during his term, now he's seeing its not easy αи∂ all he does to avoid working is travelling. anyways, maybe he's got another plan. He should be fast αи∂ show us what he got na. We are ....

L
    O
    S
    I
    N
    G. PaTieNcE oooooooooo

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bETTer
    #IT MuST eNd In PraiSe

4. Change is here..*sarcasm*

5. Abi when pdp said it....everybody turned on them. I can still clearly remember that olisa metuh said this. I pity nigeria with this man as president.

6. Ewuooooooo, Nigerians, We have entered one CHANCE O,
    Atulu ndi ugwu eme anyi aluo. Chukwu biko gbatalunu anyi oso enyemuaka

1. Nne n'aka chukwu k'anyi noo kita. Nsogbu di o

7. Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com)27 November 2015 at 12:00

Hmmmmm.

To me I see dis judgement as too early for dis and absolutely uncalled for. Biko we should giv PMB breathing space and allow him to deliver on d promises he made to Nigerians.

8. This was written by a Nigerian staff that works for bloomberg. PDP una try again but failed again.

1. Ewu awusa like you, write your own na. You should start by telling us any of those things the writer said that is a lie

2. PDP losers try harder

9. "To be sure, Buhari inherited depleted government coffers and a bureaucracy that multiple probes have blamed for looting billions of dollars of oil revenue"

This administration met the economy in comatose, huge debts, dwindling oil price, insecurity and high unemployment rate.
    All these will take time to remedy, the long period it took him to form his cabinet didn't help the situation, but it was an attempt to avoid repeating the mistakes of the past government.
    Nigeria will be great again, but we must be patient with this new government.

#DissMeAndYouWon'tGetAReplyForIt

1. Well a few things fo recall. Goodluck jonathan also inheritted a weak ecomy, he inherited boko haram, militants, and poor power supply. He also inherited dwindling oil prices and a bad international relations. But he never for 1 day complained about it he picked up from there and worked until the last minute. We never had fuel shortages in hes time, he exposed the fraud in fuel subsidy and also ministeries having multiple accounts. So call a spade a spade, buhari is already failing in hes policies and undoing all the works the past administration has done

2. All excuses for failure... Which new administration in Nigeria doesn't inherit problems, but they all find a way to forge ahead. The present administration has being doing more of blaming than more of working.

3. How can Jonathan complain when we all knew he picked it up from his predecessors, thesame PDP. He picked it up from PDP and continued the corruption.

4. How can Jonathan complain when we all knew he picked it up from his predecessors, thesame PDP. He picked it up from PDP and continued the corruption.

5. Buhari has better conditions to work. Apart from the things anon.3.50 pointed out....he at least has the support of the northerners unlike jonathan. That is very crucial for a nigerian president. The top muslim cabals are behind him. Main rsn i disliked him was because I thought he would hoard the position like all Hausas do.
      Being inept and being tribalistic just skyrocketed my dislike for him.

6. @Anobymous 3:50, lies and more lies! It is for comnents like yours that makes me think some of you really deserve the gridluck visited upon you by goodluck ebele. How can you in good fate claim Jonathan inheritted boko haram when it started under his administration. And how in the hell can you say nigeria did not experience fuel shortage or we never suffered power supply? I just wish you are near me so that i can sound you some dirty slap for the lies you just told. Yiur problem is selective amnesia. Idiot

7. Anon 7:40pm u need to google boko haram to know it started during obj and the head killed during yaradua and d new command took over and started acting dangerously. Get your facts right

10. Slow poke at making decisions. Forever travelling for reasons that are not worthwhile. No cogent plans for economic development. His campaign was full of stupid stupid promises. I wonder how people fell for it. Only that Jonathan was the next best person,dat was what made buhari win.

11. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha.
    Welcome to Buharicracy. A new type of government which scares away investors and then blame it all on the former government.

Relax and enjoy una change.

12. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha.
    Welcome to Buharicracy. A new type of government which scares away investors and then blame it all on the former government.

Relax and enjoy una change.

13. Change is here! I hope world people read this!

14. These whites should go to hell . with all the investments they plan to bring how many graduates are employed. All the loot is been used to Develop their countries .they really don't want nigeria to grow. This is a nation that needs a lot of time to recuperate don't hurry the president . bastard whites

1. Go and relax in your mushin store and stop commenting.

2. And you foolishly wnt allow your country to grow cos of whites. Dnt you think you sound like a slave? Do they have two heads. If they are compromising your country,why dnt you do the same to theirs?

15. Buhari no go die better

16. He want us to produce our products locally instead of depending on developed countries for everything.

1. God bless u.... its only ur comment I see here

2. You sound like a dunce. Are you a dunce? It's only a question o don't get mad cos it's just my observation, that you MUST be a dunce!!
      How can u expect one to produce something without equipping them?

17. This is PDP at work and this people have allowed themselves to be used as tools

1. Blind bat. Don't be the housefly that followed the corpse into the grave. Apc slave.

18. This na Morning. 74 years old man. he wanted credible people the likes of Amechi, Audu Ogbe and the rest are credible right. now Timipre Silva's charges by EFCC has been quashed. who is more corrupt.

19. Linda God bless u for this news.when pdp says it those bastards like aboki tha fool and bonario and that dummy salau will say they should go sleep.now u have heard it elsewhere. Some will still say its pdp that bribed bloomberg.lol.this man won't do anything cause he's incompetent.if bloomberg is lying then I guess 1 dollar is now 100 naira.oops sorry I meant 1 naira.yeye people.......linda please post this .God help naija

20. Baba is busy globe-trotting.

21. and where is pmb ...last i checked not in the country...oh and i heard he has another trip on sunday agin...issokay because we are not suicide bombers abi no wahala.... what pisses me off the most is the fact that the man keeps quiet and does like nothing is happening but he will travel and talk to white people but he wont address his nation...no worry

1. Yeah, from Malta he'll be off to Paris, then after a week or 10 days he'll be going back again to Paris. Unu asi no gini bu ife nke a bikokwanu?

22. Be acting like he is the only corrupt free living being in Nigeria........still waiting for that change to come.

23. Nigeria has entered one chance! Sai Buhari.

24. Now we are back to 1984...keep enjoying the change you voted for

25. I said it from time APC does not have an economy plan for this country. its just power and how much money they can make for them self and the next election. we have enter 1 chance.

1. Shebi we asked for debate ppl like bonario said no?? U see am na?

26. and baba is busy jumping from one place to another.APC only had plans of wining not ruling ..confused set of people fronting a brain frozen old man all in the name of change

27. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Make next yr come first b4 i start dey judge the nigga but first they should give us light for christ sake....

28. This article is undoubtedly sponsored by MTN nigeria. you cant dictate to us here. if you are not comfortable please pack off

1. Mentalities like yours has kept us where we are for a long time. The only solution for youths now is kidnapping, traffic robbery, prostitution aka "runs", yahoo, yahoo, advance fee fraud etc.

29. Somebody that failed Economics and maths. What do u expect?

30. wailling wailers..though nice point

31. Well I'm glad there's proof to that statement

32. sanusi needs to get back 2 cbn and stop all the political policies which had been implimented in his absence.

33. This people should go and sit down jare,western countries only know how to criticize.The previous government couple by the plunging oil price and our badly managed refinery ,has really affected us badly.The huge amount of money paid to useless senators and lawmakers has really affected us too.Infact Nigeria is in for a long haul,so everyone should be patient.

34. What have the previous inward investment done for unemployment, infrastructure, power
    diversifying the economy, This are the type of investors Nigerian does not need. The hit and run investors.

35. The man is worse than incompetent. Let the screaming of CHANGE begins.........

36. PMB and APC are scopeless, he had no manifesto during his campaign period...no blueprint on what he tend to achieve...he only had a slogan "change"...since he became president, it has been one trip after another, globe-trotting and starching away our tax-payers money while pretending he is going to fight kworuption...Nigerians are now suffering in endless and untold hardship.............which way NIGERIA? GOD help us!

1. The one ur uncle gave us back then was it any better. Find ur way to the south pole jare

37. few seconds ago
    Is this the new strategy of the PDP ? Collusion and paying of foreign media organisation to castigate a government that's less than a year in office. This write up is riddled with the voice of the PDP. Where was bloomberg while Nigerian treasury was being plundered by their cleint? Who's bloomberg anyway? Of course the Nigerians that plundered Nigeria to this point did not do it without foreign collusion. We are begining to know them one by one.
    To many Nigerians, once it's a foreign opinion, then it must be correct. Sorry sir! It's not always the case. It's all about selfish interest for foreign collaborators.

1. You can't pay foreign media to write the fact. They're not Nigerian media that you can pay. Please stop being ignorant and learn.

2. Who told u that the foreign media are not owned by Nigerians that live abroad. So u think u are talking to kids. Abeg make we hear word.

3. @ anon 3:11 u are really ignorant .. bloomberg owned by a nigerian?? Lol ..God save our youths

4. Lucky boss. MTN and PDP supporters sold the news to bloomerg to bring down Buhari's administration but their plans have failed in Jesus Name

5. Who told you that boomberg cannot take bribe because its a foreign media? Pls get your brains examined if u think its only blacks that take bribe

38. ehyaa, naija don enter one chance

39. It is not uncommon for people to criticize policies that do not favour them in the short run. This was how IMF and world bank strongly criticized the Emir of Kano CBN's policies during his tenure as CBN governor. Now, those same policies drastically sanitized the sector and avoided what one would have classified as one of the biggest pending catastrophic breakdown of our financial system. This was done even when the fiscal policies were counterproductive. That lesson calls to question the ethical conduct of investors and the international bodies like IMF and WORLD BANK when it involves investing in a country like Nigeria. Reforms that are meant to ensure things are done properly is being criticized because of its pace.

1. Keep quiet, investing means building companies that will provide employment for the citizens and generate revenues for the for country. And Buhari is discouraging them and driving them away. He's only globe trotting and galivanting.

40. Be a little patient y'all
    He's still on world tour!

41. CHANGE IS HERE

42. Your own no dey pass end time palava

43. Gloria are you an end time commentator?

44. @obukwelu Gloria, Every comment you make is always END TIME, END TIME, END TIME. What is with you and END TIME. Are you so much in a hurry to get judged?

45. Because he is no longer favouring foreigners they want to drag this govt name into d mud. #its no more business as usual (in baba's voice) no more collecting bribes for foreign investors to loot our country. I urge every hardworking Nigerian to shun dis bloomberg article and support dis govt's change agenda

1. You ma sef, how has his policies favoured you or Nigeria?

46. when obtaining kpomo,kunu,oogi and akamu begins to take 2 to 6 weeks. i will join the biafra movement

instagram @edwardpictures

47. U have ur change .. deal with it ..

48. No be today we know now, e don tey sotee. We are in for a rough ride as far as economic policy is concerned with PMB in the saddle.

49. Where are the apc people? Is the author a pdp insider? Sometimes God enslaves a people who are unappreciatIve so that they learn to value good leader and be thankful. Nigerians, welcome to your new 400 years of slavery under the grand Pharoah Buhari

1. Shut up. You think we dont know that the chairman of MTN Nigeria is PDP and an Igbo man? Do u think you are talking to kids here. Nigerians are wiser now. This is not 1960 era

2. Shut up. You think we dont know that the chairman of MTN Nigeria is PDP and an Igbo man? Do u think you are talking to kids here. Nigerians are wiser now. This is not 1960 era

3. Shut up. You think we dont know that the chairman of MTN Nigeria is PDP and an Igbo man? Do u think you are talking to kids here? Nigerians are wiser now. This is not 1960 era

4. Just like we were enslaved by Pharoah PDP for 16 years

5. Just like we were enslaved by Pharoah PDP for 16 years

6. So even as its obvious a Yoruba guy wrote it you still dey call ibo man?

50. Buhari is running this country to the ground. how can you fine a foreign investor trillions of naira when you did not provide a favourable environment for them to operate. APC as a party is a lie, we should have stuck with the devil we know instead of giving power to this nomad.

51. some of them are corrupt and not happy that naija is no more ready to assist them in their fraudulent act. shame on them

1. Lies you tell! R u kidding me? Do you know how many countries out there begging for investors to come and help develop their economy?? Nigerians are so not enlightened!

52. The fools that wanted change. ...... enjoy it. Thank goodness for the country of my birth.

53. Okwa change, u hv seen nthn yet

54. Bloomberg and their report. Let's just say there is no more open means to steal from Nigeria. Leakages are bring blocked and the economy seems to be tight. White people can be so intelligent and some Nigerians are too dumb to conclude and believe their reports.

55. Foreign Investors looking to invest in Nigeria have always benefitted from the corruption that has plagued this country. Some of them have abused the privileges they have gained in this country. Its is just sad that in a bid to curb their excesses, the economy will have to suffer for a while.

While I'm not saying the facts stated in this piece are not true, it is necessary for Nigerians to understand that it favors Bloomberg more to have this piece written to serve their cromies and not to express concern for our nation's economy. The spirit behind the President's policies is a necessary factor that should be considered in this article. Unfortunately, it is conveniently missing.

That's just my personal opinion.

56. What is blooomberg. Rubbish IMF stooge. So because it's no more business as usual,your paymasters are asking you to whine. Please face your own economy abeg. Bloomberg ko, boomerang ni

1. True talk. Why not ask the US govt to stop subsidizing its farmers? Bloomberg aka World Bank, IMF cannot remove farm subsidies esp in America bcos that will raise the price of foods: eggs, cheese, beef, milk and a host of other products and services in the economy. Now, you would see chaos and real agitation on American streets in just a few hours if such a plan was implemented. So, why are they prescribing a bitter pill for Naijas when they cannot even look at the same treatment? Indeed, PMB is on the right track as far as his refusal to remove fuel subsidies for an already over-stretched Naija citizenry. #goodcausetospeakup

57. The subtle way he's administering his polices about finances is alarming. He needs to be a little lenient. Moderation of finance in circulation and when due is not too much a task for him. Investors are really complaining.

58. It's amazing how when an African government refuses to be shortchanged, and how western media response. Why should we devalue our Naira? When we are an import dependent country. MTN ought to the fine because they are signatory to the agreement of N200k per unregistered sim or our security as a nation is not important? And why should Nigeria be dollarized? Weaken our local currency. Why should fuel subsidy be removed when there is no adequate plan to cushion the effects on the ordinary Nigerian? What happened when Jonathan tried it? This people should just shout up. And why should he approve oil marketers monies without due process? That's a jail able offence and contravenes our Laws, the don't like the new sheriff it's their business, it's not business as usual. They must first know PMB allegiance is to the Nigerians people. I agree things are very slow but will pick up.

1. Up Buhari !!!!!!!!

2. Foreigners should also go through what we are going through in their land. I am not a fan of Buhari but i like Buhari for this. Yesssssssssss

3. Foreigners should also go through what we are going through in their land. I am not a fan of Buhari but i like Buhari for this. Yesssssssssss

4. Buhari you are too much!!! Show those foreigners that Nigeria is not a dumping ground and should not be taken for granted. Yes!!!

5. People dont like change. They will definately react. It is normal. Wailing waillers. Stmcheew

6. Linda you better post all the comments that i have been sending. They are many and i havent seen them. Pls dont go and post them two days later or tomorrow. Post them now and stop being biased and trickish or playing pranks

7. Very accurate observations and my sentiments as well. PMB may have been slow in picking his cabinet but overall his refusal to devalue the naira or remove fuel subsidies or expand public utilities are all on point and in the best interest if Naijas.

59. This is a PR article sponsored by MTN, Nestlé and other foreign conglomerates who have been hard hit by Buhari's policies any smart person can tell that the president is more focused on grassroots welfare.

1. Sorry! Buh i strongly disagree with u. There hasnt been any visible change since this administration took over. Is there improvement in power,transportation,water supply, employment, governance, security etc? The fight against corruption pls tell me who has been prosecuted, how much has been recovered and where the monies are currently? Pls in as much as i dont like this article, it still remains the truth.
      P.S boko haram is still destroying lives while our president is still on a world tour n lying abt invisible recovered looted funds.

2. @Anonymous 8:37 PM six months is too early to judge him. Judge him at the end of his tenor and i assure u that you will all be put to shame in Jesus Name

60. Baba Go Slow. President without focus

61. Nawa....were am against is this dollars of a thing. They should stop hoarding the dollars. Linda take note.

62. WTF is with all these people "end timing" EVERYTHING?! If you do not have anything to say about an article will you just leave it at that?!

63. The type of investors that see Nigeria as a market to steal from, buy cheap from or sell to at a premium and yet destroy its image, we can do without those.

1. Anonymous 2:54 PM i give u one million likes for this

2. Anonymous 2:54 PM you are very correct. If Nigerians want to invest abroad, they wont agree but foreigners run here to come and invest because they see Nigeria as a lawless country. See the way they deported 500 Nigerians the other day. We should also stop them from investing their companies here too

64. The white investors should complain all they like... We are suffering yes! But with consequences.

65. They forgot to mention the Fuel Scarcity Crisis rocking the Nation>...Ignorant Whites

66. Can't stop laughing

67. PMB do something fast because it is the masses they carry the load. We don't want our companies to downsize workers.

68. @Anonymous 2:54 PM You're an Idiot! No Nation can achieve full self-sufficiency! That would kill international trade and bury Capitalism. We need to set better standards, encourage innovation and creativity and discover our competitive advantage.

What goods can we manufacture locally at low-cost to sell internationally? It doesn't have to be a Consumer Goods...Goods mean't for industries (i.e. Spare parts industry) are main sources of income to Developing South East Asian Countries. What Agricultural Produce can earn us some revenue? No country can fully develop with Agriculture alone, but we can earn revenue to re-invest in other sectors of the Economy.

To end this rant, We need investors in Nigeria and they need us. The question is who needs it more? If you cannot produce the goods you want to use, you buy from people who can. You don't waist time and effort banning stuffs you don't produce!

1. Countries that closed there doors to international trade and doing perfectly well what do u call that? Sometimes most of u just open wide mouth with low mental thinking of a moth. Am sure u part of the biafra camels always requesting for der own nation. Learn to read and digest then do ur own findings before coming here and spitting saw dust.

2. Folakemi, you were on the right path until you allowed prejudice color your lenses. Wipe away the fog inorder to see clearly. Good luck.

3. Foewukemi, your mother and father are cursed bastards, the poverty in your rapist, murdering family is not allowing to read well that is why u can open your smelling mouth and say rubbish about the great Igbos. E pain you, go die, you and your people are lazy and demonic anyway, that hatred in your heart will kill you and your mother (that is if she's still with you, because everybody knows the women of your coward tribe are loose, immoral hoes) now before you mumu urself as usual again, isnt it time to go and cook and add gallons of oil? And isnt it time to go and buy bleaching cream for your pit toilet mother so that her legs will continue to look like a burnt bird's legs? Lazy, black hearted, fetish, dirty people *spits*

69. I hope the idiots that will comment nonsense on this thread knows that anyone including those looking to sabotage the administration can sponsor an article and with a right sum of money, they can actually have it published on international magazine? You think Bloomberg editors care about Nigeria enough to pay attention to what is happening there? Companies like MTN and others who are angry that Buhari slapped them with a sanction would do anything to get smear his name. They are just crying for nothing. Buhari will do what is right for Nigeria. FOOLISH IGNORANT NIGERIANS WILL BELIEVE ANY B.S as long as it says "international"

1. I am not surprised. Is it not an Igbo man that is the MTN charman of MTN Nigeria? Pls Buhari should also slam DSTV. The Igbos are exploiting us with DSTV and MTN in Nigeria

2. Ok thanks! Buh pls tell us wat has improved, power,security, transportation, governance, fight against corruption? The truth is bitter. What change has the so called fight against corruption brought? Is d fite against corruption even real? pls tell us mr smart. The only gullible one here is u and all buhari supoters who choose to turn a blind eye to reality on ground.

3. @Anonymous 8:47 PM you let him finish his tenor first before you judge him and conclude. He is barely 6 moths for christ sake. How can people be so dumb and senseless

4. Anon 4:39, stop crying, you're weak. Una neva see anything.

70. What they are saying is that Buhari is not allowing the white man to come and do dirty deals in Afruca. Fuck Bloomberg and fuck the West.

1. Well said brother.... u summarised it all.

71. PMB will deliver just be patient and give him more time. Tinz go soon better.

72. No longer SAI Buhari but CHAI Buhari....Scam of the decade...

73. Nigerians una own too much, give the man a break and u all need to take a pill chill please. When u hear one side of a story u should also find time to listen to the other side of the story. Many of u hear can't be called in a jury cause u lack sense of understanding. So because things ain't going the way they want then we should bend our ways for them. Can't u see that's wat is affecting the dollar? They want the naira to depreciate so that the dollar can go up, thus be profitable to them. Most of u just reading from the lay man's point of u. If it's that bad why haven't all the big shot investors like chevron, shot rite, mobile and the likes leave. Most of u here during ur school days werent even class captains, u just all open ur punk ass much and type trash. Sai Buhari all the way.....

1. Lmao! This girl is a mumu sha, damn.

74. We all know GEJ messed up the fragile economy but Buhari is not helping issues either
    With his questionable policies. It is like a doctor giving his patience 8 tablets of panadol to take at once becos he has prolonged headache.

75. Can these PDP idiots shut up and let Buhari work. He is barely six months. Meanwhile PDP was there for 16 years without doing anything but stealing. Patience is a virtue. Even God is a patient God.

76. They should be patient for Buhari's world tour to end (seems endless though) he has a goal to tour round the world before his tenure ends and he must accomplish it so let's keep waiting.

1. @Anonymous 4:33 PM The question you should ask your senseless brain is this; Is Buhari travelling for pleasure or official? After answering that question, come back and lets talk

2. If Buhari does not travel for all these world meeting, you are thesame PDP idiots that will come to this blog to say that he is just sitting in Nigeria doing nothing and boycutting important international meetings. I know your type. So pls go and get a life. Fool

77. Can these PDP idiots shut up and let Buhari work. He is barely six months. Meanwhile PDP was there for 16 years without doing anything but stealing. Patience is a virtue. Even God is a patient God.

78. Can these PDP idiots shut up and let Buhari work. He is barely six months. Meanwhile PDP was there for 16 years without doing anything but stealing. Patience is a virtue. Even God is a patient God.

79. Good policy means allowing dollars flow and a weaken naira. Stop complaining, we must suffer for the stupidity of pdp, investors like wherethey willmaximise profits in hours, unfortunately that only happened in nigeria cos of corruption. we will survive not by what white bastards say we should do, but by what is best for us.

80. This is a sponsored report. How on earth did blomberg decided to descend so low to rate a government that just inaugurated ministers few weeks ago?

81. Buhari rode on the back of the tiger to become president...

Soon the tiger would be the one riding his sorry back...

The fact that Buhari is barely literate makes it all the more dire for Nigeria!!!

Nigeria of the 21st century, smack-dabbed in a highly sophisticated global village, is too big, indeed too unwieldy for barely literate Buhari to comprehend!!!

Talk of the change that silly Nigerians voted for!!!!!!!!!!

82. All this one na English and Commercial Maths, what I know is the white men ain't making as much as they want to make out of us, this is their way of shaking us up...

83. Hmmmm... after decades of rape and plunder of Nigeria, six months by any standard isn't enough to conclude that PMB 's government has failed!If it was that easy, 16 years of PDP should have transformed Nigeria into paradise!! Give him time, I have no doubt, he will do better than PDP!!

84. We are watching and praying. MERCY LORD

85. #1chance...chai

86. I see a lot of rants and comments against buhari here but I readily choose to ignore dem most times, like criously, is it just me or has any oda person noticed dat its mostly anonymous commenters and igbos dat talk shit against him,all this tin na propaganda to attack buhari administration wit the media. GEJ had 6years, PMB just how many months and yet u pple come and blab rubbish here,a obvious ,and very obvious that is, sentimental and baseless say that the administration is bad and nigeria is gonna crumble under it?! Abeg u haters shud just go get a life abeg

1. Mumu raised to power 50. U will soon die.

87. Please don't make the same mistake everyone is making. His policies don't suit certain investor groups but these are the portfolio investors who invest and divest in the short term. Their comments shouldn't bother anyone. What Nigeria needs to do is to use its long term pension capital to grow the economy via infrastructure financing. Equity capital is what Nigeria lacks and that's available in the pension industry.

People misunderstand official reserves. When it grows it is not necessarily positive. International portfolio investors rush into an economy when interest rates are high. They borrow dollars at say 0.5% overseas and sell it to the CBN to obtain Naira. This boosts Nigeria's official reserves and everyone believes it's great. Well let's see by following my discussion.

The Naira is then invested in Nigerian government treasury bonds at, say,16%. They wait for 90 to 180 days then sell the same bonds and repatriate their funds. When they sell their bonds Nigerian government is obliged to give them their dollars back. The same official reserves now goes down but they are the net gainers because instead of earning 0.5% they achieve 16%. They never stay for too long because they don't want to be caught out in a Naira devaluation.

This isn't the type of foreign capital Nigeria needs. You should only celebrate foreign investment when it is of a permanent nature.

1. Are you enrolled in the Financing for Development course sponsored by the world bank? QED@atm

2. Mr Bayo Ally thank you so much for this comments. Pls educate all these illiterates on this blog

88. I see a lot of rants and comments against buhari here but I readily choose to ignore dem most times, like criously, is it just me or has any oda person noticed dat its mostly anonymous commenters and igbos dat talk shit against him,all this tin na propaganda to attack buhari administration wit the media. GEJ had 6years, PMB just how many months and yet u pple come and blab rubbish here,a obvious ,and very obvious that is, sentimental and baseless say that the administration is bad and nigeria is gonna crumble under it?! Abeg u haters shud just go get a life abeg

89. I see a lot of rants and comments against buhari here but I readily choose to ignore dem most times, like criously, is it just me or has any oda person noticed dat its mostly anonymous commenters and igbos dat talk shit against him,all this tin na propaganda to attack buhari administration wit the media. GEJ had 6years, PMB just how many months and yet u pple come and blab rubbish here,a obvious ,and very obvious that is, sentimental and baseless say that the administration is bad and nigeria is gonna crumble under it?! Abeg u haters shud just go get a life abeg

1. Tribalistic commenter, so Bloomberg is Igbo media right? Tomorrow you tell us that it is Igbos that made him clueless.Meanwhile you are also anonymous and if you check the ids of the people, you will see some clueless Igbos supporting him and some wise non Igbos dissing him.

2. @Anonymous 11:30 PM is Igbo not the chairman of MTN Nigeria? You all should jump into the lagoon

3. Anonymous 11:30, leave these idiots. Anon 12:32, I can picture you in a dark, smelling ghetto yolobar room, sweating and smelling like ice fish and unwashed yolobar ass, but you need to leave that laziness that is inborn and go and look for a job, so that you and the wicked cowards like you can stop being bitter because you see, we will not go anywhere and we will continue to progress. Let your mother and father jump into the lagoon because they have failed you and they have failed in life, dirty pigs.

90. Douglas Rowlings, an analyst at Moody’s Investors Service, said in an interview in Lagos. “It gives investors the perception that operating in Nigeria will now be done following proper procedures.

I wonder why no one has read or commented on this part of the article. If what Buhari is doing will help ensure that things are done following proper procedure in Nigeria, then so be it. Enough of foreign investors doing what they like in Nigeria just because they are "foreign"!

91. My sentiments exactly! Good for America! Shebi they sent a PR guru dat helped apc in hood winking Nigerians especially our youths! The guy taught apc the art of propaganda and using media to win election. The hypnotism has not even released some of them from their blindness like abokidawarriboy, irabo and bonario tho he was supporting Buhari so dat his uncle will be made a minister which never happened lol!!

92. REQUEST NWATA DI NMA CUS MUSIC RULEZ 9JA

93. skelehen@yahoo.com30 November 2015 at 21:41

The way I see it;

"Investors" are businessmen not charity organizations. In as much as thier activities will help Nigeria,they are not here to help Nigeria per se,they are here to profit from her,and if business is failing ,they won't laugh and that's what I think is happening.

However ,Buhari must be cautious to help Nigeria sustain herself and rely less on foreign investors.
    For every MTN there is a Glo.
    In ones that we don't have yet,we can be gentle with investors till we've develop our country's industry.

Nigeria don't only need these people,they need Nigeria! We've got the population,we've got the resources even asides Oil.

It's not all about Buhari,it's about all of us TOGETHER!!!

Skelehen@yahoo.com