Alleged missing 105 Nigerian soldiers: Army releases statement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 November 2015

Alleged missing 105 Nigerian soldiers: Army releases statement

The Nigerian Army has released a statement explaining what transpired in Gudumbali, Borno state on Wednesday November 18th where 105 soldiers were said to have gone missing after a gun battle with Boko haram members. The statement which is signed by Tukur Ismail Gusau, the Media Coordinator Operation Lafiya Dole, states that the claim is far from true. The statement after the cut...
The attention of the Theatre Command Headquarters Maiduguri has been drawn to various releases on social media on the operation at Gudumbali , northern Borno State. Most of the publications are not only fictions but imagination of the writers that have no iota of knowledge on military operation. Unfortunately, this is coming at a time when the military has created several avenues for them to get first hand information on our activities. In the quest to be on the same footing with each Nigerian, Media centre was established in the North East. Additional to this is the open door policy of the leadership style of our chief of Army Staff Lt Gen TY Buratai where he carries throughout his operational engagements media personalities. For the records Gulumba was captured by own troops on 10 November 2015 and our troops deployed to secure and weed off Boko Haram terrorists. The location was attacked yesterday morning which resulted in fiarce battle till afternoon. Troops went for pursuit after which they mop and reorganise. The unit suffered some injuries and casualties and equally killed several insurgents. The Nigerian Army has nothing to hide but we call all patriots to support these troops that are courageously fighting for peace and security of our nation. The Theatre Command wishes to state that the story is far from the truth and misrepresentation of facts. In fact, it smacks of the imagination of those symphatetic to Boko Haram terrorists. The Theatre Commander Operation LAFIYA DOLE has addressed the issue and gave journalists the opportunity to ask questions and clarify doubts about the Gudumbali incidence and yet, the medium is yet to reflect the true situation. It should be stated here that, although the unit suffered some casualties, what the medium was reporting was grossly exaggrated for reasons best known to them. The number of casualty and equipment lost as being circulated is not correct, the situation was unnecesserily blowned beyond proportion to give terrorists the type of propaganda they desired.The affected personnel sustained only minor injuries, not gun shot wounds. You are please requested to disseminate this information to the general public. Thanks for your continous support.
Colonel Tukur Ismail Gusau Media Coordinator Operation LAFIYA DOLE

79 comments:

1. Noted!

1. Hw could u claim there are casualties and u then say there is just 1 injured soldier. Fela don talk am finish. Zombie spokesman

2. Where did the news emanate from? Premium Times- same Premium Times that was used against GEJ's government. So we believed them then and the military is telling us not to believe them now.
      Somebody is telling lies here and it's the military. In the whole of their statement, I can't see where they told us what actually transpired. They only tried to counter what Premium Times said. Military should try and come up with their own version if they believe Premium Times is telling lies SIMPLE! #BringBackOurSoldiers

3. @royal priesthood. I don't hate u, but I hate ur comments. The way u comment tho, reflects the way ur brain functions. Linda wud put up a news about em' kardashian and you wud be like "God bless em' and its well with their souls" now an article about our troops fighting for our security you say noted!? For real ? I was expecting your "priestly" prayers

4. Phew! Now I'm relaxed. Linda take note!

5. Phew! Now I'm relaxed. Linda take note!

6. Why wouldn't these divisional commanders be arrested and tried, for killing our sons in suspicious circumstances? Now they are being given opportunity to tell us shameless lies. Except perhaps there is more to it that meets the eyes. It appears some of these commanders are fourth columnist for Bokoharam. If this system of killings and cover up continues to trend, we should forget about the December dead line and the Chibok girls promise and begin to watch the Military Command structure more carefully. Something is definitely wrong somewhere.

2. Replies
    1. What the hell let them burn in hell lord Jesus please To the boko haram members they expanding radically and destroying Nigeria d so call government is fighting anti corruption instead of battle at sight fuck him and all Nigeria politician may u all die and go yo hell

2. Fact is that fighting corruption is equally important. This is because corruption has always sabotaged other endeavors including battle, both in Nigeria and other places in the world.

3. U are just a big mumu mercy kings or what ever u call ur stupid self, who is talking of corruption here now? U are talking of key....mumu

3. Replies
    1. Read ur comment on the senator tie issue. Mumu u no get head. Ofcuz he can buy a tie. The other senator is foolish for picking on such a trivial issue. This driver, u really do lack understanding and reasoning oh. I mean that, honestly. Pls help urself. Read educative books. Surround urself with reasonable focused minded intelligent people. Watch movies that make u think and try to solve or understand the hidden facts in the movie before it is revealed at the end. It will help exercise ur brain. Please

4. We don hear.
    Thank God is fake news.

5. So much for getting 'news' frm d media. *sigh*

6. Thank God for this news becos I was scared before wen I heard the fake news, and may God continue to strengthen our Army to over run BH in Jesus name.

7. May God help our dear soldiers.

8. I'm kinda confused @ The affected personnel sustained only minor injuries, not gun shot wounds#
    Then, how dey take wound?
    Z's still a PATRIOT.
    Gotta lotta folks in the Military.

9. To God be all the glory.
    I knew that story was false.

10. DEAR COLONEL TUKUR..YOU HAVNT ASSUAGED OUR FEARS YET..THIS YOUR EPISTLE DIDNOT ANSWER ANY QUESTION..#Justsaying#

1. U noticed, huh?
      He cldn't give specifics, just kept beating about the bush.
      4 God's sakes;
      How many casualties did u sustain?
      How many soldiers were injured??
      How many are una/cd 4???
      4 one thing, the counter attack by bh was a surprise, rt?
      PROVIDE ANS, mumu!
      U certainly think Nigerians r stupid.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    The thing nw is that who initially said soldiers was missing and if truelly it happened they shouldnt cover up like always bcos i find it hard to believe this very statement though..

12. Don't even know which one to believe anymore. Anyway, God ll continue to grant our soldiers strength and ability to overcome Boko Haram

Ubanagum

13. What do u expect frm d military, do u expect them 2 openly admit dt a whole Battalion has been captured??? The answer is NO! But the truth remains that someone our soldiers re missing. My prayer is dt God shld protect n bring them back safely. Dt job is nt easy at all.

14. lot of gbagaun....

15. He said the casualty figure is not up to 105 but he admitted there were casualties. So, let's hav the figure from the Army of the number of casualties! The Army authorities are certainly hiding something. I know Boko haram will soon release a statement and possibly videos of the 105 soldiers they probably have mauled to death

1. Well said.

I'm surprised people are agreeing with these people.
      If our Nigerian press can wake up, you will discover a lot.
      Assuming the story is false, why we're we not told 1st?
      Anytime they shoot down any Boko Haram member, they do a press briefing. Today, after we hear the news from others, they now come to say it's not really a wound but a scratch. People didn't really die. We also killed their people. Sounds like fiction.

Simple questions:
      Were 105 soldiers missing?
      Are soldiers missing?
      How many soldiers were killed or wounded?
      Did bH take ammunitions?

Clear questions that deserve normal replies not epistles.

16. There's in truth in dis...they're seriously tryna cover up. It's well tho!

17. What Tha eff is this mugu saying . Omg stupid army smh . Those are peoples children hope u know

1. I honestly can not think of the right word to describe an idiot like you,instead of hoping for the best and supporting our troops you are calling them stupid.Why dont you sign up to join and have a taste of what they are going through instead of sitting in the comfort and safety of your home (which they provide)to type nonsense.

18. There were casualties but not up to the number being peddled in the media. So Mr Army spokesman, how many casualties did u had? I don't believe this ur statement. Na till December deadline pass, then I will release my own statement.

19. I doubt dis smh God help us all

20. Stupid story.. u guys lie everyday... boko harangue soldiers.. corrupt county.. why is dia no video of what happened.. there is always press during every war.. u lying demented bastards killing innocent protesters but running from boko boys. Idiosyncrasies

21. Lesson learnt: Always verify rumour before u spread. 9jas are fond of it

22. All of u are same lying bastards.. Nigeria is filled with lie.. that's what they good at

23. sounds like a nollywood scene... hahahahaaa... may God deliver us from the hands of wicked politicians in this country IJN. amen

please try this and make some money online while enjoying your data bundle... it's real... http://PayRefe.net/index.php?ref=332396

24. Our intelligence squad is embarrassing us.It is quite a tactical loss. More impetus to that unit.

25. Buhari and his cohorts always trying so hard to conceal news like numbers of casualties from d public. If d figures are mere propagandas, den give us results and stop trying to conceal d truth.

26. Mtchewwwww like before they were going to openly admit to be incompetent, since that old goat got there everything in Nigeria has gone to SHIT

27. Mtchewwwww like before they were going to openly admit to be incompetent, since that old goat got there everything in Nigeria has gone to SHIT

28. N Sahara Reporters,the one bedroom media house in New York that will report wrong news and the bloggers without knowing d truth,will go ahead and report,is a pity.

29. WHO IS TELLING US THE TRUTH.
    http://gistnvibes.com.ng/2015/11/20/future-rich-ex-video-starring-blac-chyna/

30. Lets quickly analyse d statement of dis liar. "... It should be stated here that, although the unit suffered some casualties, what the medium was reporting was grossly exaggrated...the number of casualty and equipment lost... the affected personnel sustained only minor injuries, not gun shot wounds..."
    Accordin to d statement, der were casualties who sustained minor injuries n not gun shot wounds even tho accordin to him, sm equipment were stolen or lost. Question how did a batallion combat bh witout sustaining at least one gunshot wound n yet equipment were lost? Did boko haram sneak up on dem to steal d equipment wile dey were asleep or did d equipment fall off frm d soldiers wile dey were chasin boko haram?
    Lastly pls wat kind of equipment got lost n ow did it hapn? And pls ppl think, y would a media house report dat a weapon like d tank was missin if it wasnt really. And y didnt d army officers coment on it until now? Lets av d names of d batallion dat went on d mission n also der present state. Pls our army tell us d truth coz dis ur statement doesnt add up at all. #BBOS

31. Soilders dn run for dia life dey com tag am # missing# lwkm
    Via
    #HTC SMART

32. Dontmind these idiots and sadly a lot of Nigerians have been brainwshes to believe these stupid lies.hw cm they neva show vidoes of our injured or dead soildiers or vidoes of bokoharam insurgents killed.

33. nothing was explained in this so called press release, instead it stinks like a cover up,the authorities didn't state for certain if the 105 are missing or not,and the authorities also have to note that it is their own soldiers on mission that also helps in spreading all these informations,this was how the authorities denied the killing of about 100 plus police and dss policemen by a sect in nasarawa state until it came out true,kudos to their efforts in the fight against terror,but their ain't no shame in losing personally during a war.

34. I don't know why its important to some people if they are lying or not,as far as you are not in the battle field with them,all you owe them is just praying for their safety and strength.God will strength the nigerian armies and keep them safe for us while they fight this evil destroying lives.Amen

1. If ur father was among the casualities I'm sure it will be important.idiot.this are peoples son,father and bros

35. Pls let's stop the abusive language and use the time to drop a prayer for our fathers,brothers,sons, that are fighting hard to see Nigeria peaceful again and not become like Syria. May God protect our gallant troops.

36. Ehen! I first talk am say e nor dey possible. How 105 go miss? Na beans??. Stmchew

37. It is PDP that is spreading the fake rumour just to give Buhari's administration a bad name but they have failed in Jesus Name

38. It is PDP that is spreading the fake rumour just to give Buhari's administration a bad name but they have failed in Jesus Name

1. I'm sorry "dear" apc gave jona a bad name.but its apc and buhari that's giving the buhari admin a bad name.god figure...ode

39. Ehen! I first talk am say e nor dey possible. How 105 go miss? Na beans??. Stmchew

40. Ehen! I first talk am say e nor dey possible. How 105 aoldiers go miss? Na beans??. Stmchew

41. Ehen! I first talk am say e nor dey possible. How 105 soldiers go miss? Na beans??. Stmchew

42. Hummmmm.....okay noted

43. Linda i wonder the kind of people that comment on your blog and their IQ level. How can they even believe that shit that 105 soldiers are missing? When i read through their comments in your last post, i just started laughing and shaking my head. It can never be possible for 105 soldiers to just get missing like that. The soldiers are not ladies or children and they would have been holding their guns, tear gas and other equipments. Na so them mumu reach wey them no fit shoot or use tear gas run? If u say they caught 3 or 4 soldiers, i will believe but not 105 haba! Abi na juju boko haram use wey turn a whole 105 soldiers to mumu? Abeg those that believed should learn to reason with their brains and not with their anus.

44. Linda i wonder the kind of people that comment on your blog and their IQ level. How can they even believe that shit that 105 soldiers are missing? When i read through their comments in your last post, i just started laughing and shaking my head. It can never be possible for 105 soldiers to just get missing like that. The soldiers are not ladies or children and they would have been holding their guns, tear gas and other equipments. Na so them mumu reach wey them no fit shoot or use tear gas run? If u say they caught 3 or 4 soldiers, i will believe but not 105 haba! Abi na juju boko haram use wey turn a whole 105 soldiers to mumu? Abeg those that believed should learn to reason with their brains and not with their anus.

45. Linda i wonder the kind of people that comment on your blog and their IQ level. How can they even believe that shit that 105 soldiers are missing? When i read through their comments in your last post, i just started laughing and shaking my head. It can never be possible for 105 soldiers to just get missing like that. The soldiers are not ladies or children and they would have been holding their guns, tear gas and other equipments. Na so them mumu reach wey them no fit shoot or use tear gas run? If u say they caught 3 or 4 soldiers, i will believe but not 105 haba! Abi na juju boko haram use wey turn a whole 105 soldiers to mumu? Abeg those that believed should learn to reason with their brains and not with their anus.

46. I said it in my mind that it was a lie. It is not possible for 105 soldiers to get missing. I said maybe the soldiers decided to run away on their own and start a new life in another neighbouring country because they love their families and do not want to die yet.

47. I said it in my mind that it was a lie. It is not possible for 105 soldiers to get missing. I said maybe the soldiers decided to run away on their own and start a new life in another neighbouring country because they love their families and do not want to die yet.

48. If they had said the 105 soldiers gave up and quit on their own, i will understand but for you to say boko haram abducted them, it's a blatant fat lie.

49. I hate to say it, but I think they army are being selfish with the truth here. Even though it might have been blown out of proportion, am sure it isn't that far from the reality on ground.

50. Sounds evasive to me. The Military should tell us how many of our brothers were lost in the battle. It is only in a country like Nigeria that a seemingly disorganized sect could keep on thriving whilst battles are being fought in the media. May the souls of our lost ones rest in peace.

51. Linda why are u being partial? Why are u not publishing all the comments? And why does it take u time to publish some particular comments? I am beginning to hate this blog.

52. This Our country, Only Allah can show us the way forward. Nigeria needs prayer

53. Hmm This Naija Only God can help us.