Photos of an Igbo village built in Virginia, USA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 October 2015

Photos of an Igbo village built in Virginia, USA

The Igbo village is located in Staunton, Virginia, USA. According to one of the organizers Basil Okafor, "The State of Virginia and US government recognize the Igbos as one of the early slaves who settled in Virginia." See more photos after the cut...

Credit: Ndi Anambra/Facebook

219 comments:

1. Sorry don't mean to intrude but what is there to love? We have igbos here we don't appreciate them as the igbos don't appreciate the hausas. Is it because it's in USA that's why you love it. Wonder why we can't gun for national peace and love our culture here in Nigeria instead of allowing colonial mentalism to raved us mad.

2. If not that we are reading if here, many wouldn't believe. Amazing. Phil 4:3

3. This is beautiful! While some people with misplaced priorities are tearing their Nigerian passports claiming pro-biafra

4. Replies
    1. Why the negativity? And how does this copy anything. And even if it's true, who cares? Carry go jor. And just so U know, I am Yoruba.

5. Wow, cool. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

6. Igbos like to copy sha. How could igbos ever have been slaves in USA. Most of the slaves were taken off the western coast settlements and not from the interior villages. So only from areas like lagos or what is was then know, BADAGRY, dahomey, Gambia etc

1. Hater.......

2. Ano 10:21.... u need to go back to ur history book or better still ask ur father to tell u. If u ever saw d four walls of a university, u would ve learnt dat from GST. Arochukwu was d highest slave traders of all times.

7. Igbo kwenu! I love my country Nigeria oh

8. Igbo kwenu. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

9. This is perfect....
    Proudly Nwa afo.

10. that's nice, i hope visiting someday

11. Idi igbo ka anyi kwenu. Engr Emy

12. Igbo slaves
    Osu ppl.

1. Anonymous you are a moron!!Slave is different from osu! Slave is ohu and Osu is an outcast. well no need for the explanation cos it won't stop you from being a moron. #igboasokamehn!

2. Another troll.
      Another fool.

3. Its a lovely concept... But Igbo ppu, abeg no b Lagos una dey o, mak una no 4get say na welcome dey welcome una o bcos I kno watin go end dis history wey una don dey dig lik dis o, b4 una go say na una get/suppose get virginia o... Lol

4. Land must be cheap in the US of A

13. Some of the things we want to see our diaspora do and not going to copy d western culture literally jst cuz they find themselves in the West.

14. This is cultural sustainability..beautiful

15. I see! If this is an achievement in the right sense, No problem. But I really hope we can be recognized for something more positive than attaching the slave tag to this.

16. I see! If this is an achievement in the right sense, No problem. But I really hope we can be recognized for something more positive than attaching the slave tag to this.

17. igbo kwenu kwenu kwezooenu, otua komere

18. Wowza.....lovely. I love this set up.

19. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nna iha dikwa very confusing shah no doubt.....

20. Is this where they want to start biafra??

21. awwww! I love this.
    Igbo amaka.

1. Even this Fulani slave open Mouth De talk nonsense. See your big and fugly face like Igbo Amaka. We Don disown your brokeass tay tay! Aturu awusa

2. I'm in love with this
      Igbo nwere mmadu.

22. the White Man in ISI agu..guess you are now dancing Reggae blues....

23. Wowza.....lovely. I love this set up.

24. Take me to a land where there is no... No.. Blood on the dance floor

25. Wowza.....lovely. I love this set up.

26. Boy this is so cool! Good to be proud of your roots enough to bring it to a foreign land. See Oba ji (yam barn).... I'm so loving this right now.

27. Wooow...interesting, Igbo people repping always

#sucre

28. Wooooooooooooooow. Igbos are great an awesome one of the hihest tribe in the one .
    Isriel of africa.creative men any were ibo men go they become lion an leader.
    King of africa.
    Not surprise they have the same at my place.

29. 'The State of Virginia and US government recognize the Igbos as one of the early slaves who settled in Virginia'

I agree,Most black americans have the same mannerism,mentality & looks with igbo people!

1. Lol do u know a white American once told me lots of igbos look like black Americans .

30. These igbo people ehn, they always want to take over other people's land wherever they find themselves. It's so bad. They are busy crying for biafra yet they are scattered all over Lagos, Abuja, kaduna, like ant. Mscheeeeew

1. Bitter soul,go and die

2. Hate is a bitter pill to taste. Please vomit it and be free.

3. U forgot to mention any where or land the Igbo man stays he brings life to it. Fool igbos are great and just sit down and watch out in ten years. We must be ur alpha lords soon. Or frustration will make Una vex and start killing us again abi. And would really want to see Una try it this time around. There is no stopping us. God heard our cries . Thankyou u God

31. These igbo people will not cease to amaze me, with all the available resources and civilization, they willl still act and think backward. Of all tribes, they are still the ones that treat their widows like thrash, buries even children with massive request from family members, give out their children in marriage like it's their lotto card to winning plenty money. Imagine mud houses at this time and season of their life. Nonsense old culture.

1. Go and drink ijebu garri, hungri idiot. What else will come out of your hateful mouth? Oloshi omo.

2. Nkita riforu gi nsi. Go nd get your facts right b4 spewing trash. Anuofia!

3. How can u understand what u don't celebrate . They celebrate there culture and very enthusiastic in preserving it.

4. Talk about your culture first .
      Yoruba culture is the most babaric,you people practise human ritual and still use juju till date.not to talk of abobaku(the practise of burying your useles kings with another human being).
      Babaric stone age tribe

5. I do regard your comments as senseless, until now I know they are indeed senseless and baseless for considerations.

6. You don't have sense. Do you know about Yoruba village in London? If you don't please educate your mind.

7. Haba how old r u? try get sense Na ur disgracing your Yoruba race . What Tha fuck u typing ? Haba smh ur a disgrace to awo and all my educated Yoruba brothers . Pls try get sense

32. Wow... Incredible..

33. Igbo kwenu!

Ladies, getting out of shape and too lazy to workout? Let Nellys waist trainers do the work for you. Enhance your curves, be more attractive, order for ur waist trainers, add Nelly on BBM 55AEFDDA. Thank me later.

34. They always like to imitate the yoruba's...good for them

35. This is very beautiful. Proudly Igbo.

36. Staunton Virginia...d movie CHETANNA took me there...
    A lovely place...and a lovely concept.

37. The Igbos are God's own people

38. I'm a yoruba boy but i love this and i'm proud of the igbo... (Igbo ku enu!)

1. Grew up with Yoruba boy as an Igbo man. The are family to me and I can do anything for them . Ur an educated boy nice one

39. So amazing #proud2beonyeigbo

40. Awwww...my people my people..igbo kwenu!...Anambra kwezuonu!!...

41. This is lovely.
    Yoruba's can never build something like this.

42. hello linda, how can i send you a story to publish? regards.

43. morning Linda, how can i send you a story to publish? Regards.

44. Igbo and their creative art.. white are trying to build a mega city here in africa while we black are trying to build a village in a white man land.... that is good.. make them to live our culture too..

D KING WAS HERE√√√√√√√

45. I Am Proud To Be An Igbo Man! Thank You Jesus! http://www.bummyla.com

46. Next thing you know, they'll start saying Virginia is no man's land. Awon oloriburuku.

1. My dear you are right, they are real oloriburuku

2. I don't know why we yorubas are full of hate???this topic does not in anyway require tribal sentiments.
      sometimes im dissapointed and highly ashamed of the behaviour of my tribesmen
      Na WA o

3. Hahahah! Shut up anon bitch, you're not Yoruba and you know it

4. Thanks Mr anonymous for your high level of reasoning. I don't believe in tribes but in people. Yorubas have a community like this in the USA too.

5. My dear . Its envy, its normal . Thankyou for being a Nigerian @anon

47. Ala bu otu #Ihiala

48. Proudly igbo! Linda Tv take note

49. Igbo's are evrywhere in the world not only USA. Beautiful pixs weldone!

50. Pride of Africa
    Long live Ndi Igbo

51. Wow! Very cool...kudos to d pple or d person that got this set up

52. Na wao... Ndi igbo can like to occupy

53. Igbo people every where u go, chai them no dey carry last at all lol

54. Keeping culture alive. Very nice.

55. Wow. This is really Nice.

56. THIS IS A WELCOMED DEVELOPMENT.... I REALLY LOVE WHAT I AM SEEING...WOW!!!!!

57. How do they survive the cold? Virginia is usually very cold during fall and summer

58. Igbos will always rule the world! I've been there. I live in New York. It's such a nice place. Igbo village away from Igbo land.

59. Wow ....Dats cool

#Blessed child

60. Lol...looks like that Archaeology and Anthropology dept restaurant in UNN...

61. Fantastic...Igbo culture has been well preserved unlike some others

62. Igbo's always with their thinking cap on....how cute

63. Hmmmmm...

Indeed u can tak a man out of d jungle but can never take away d jungle away frm him.

Dis is nice and gracious carriage of Nigeria culture to developed country and I pray it goes a long way to giv better image of Nigerians.

64. That's how we are slowly becoming Americans. I foresee a conglomeration in the nearest future.

65. I love igbo's ...they know how to sell ideas effortlessly !

66. Oh dis is so nice very nice

67. This is lovely. Proudly igbo.

68. Igbo are great people, I swear

69. Igbos real people, I salute their courage

70. I love dis...it awesome

71. Lovely
    Nigeria must be everywhere

72. Lol... Igbos no dey carry last.. Evvery where you go..

73. One won't believe it's actually in USA, so lovely

74. Igbo Amaka,we have only two tribes in Nigeria,Igbo and others

75. Lovely. Ndi Anambra repping

76. Ndi igbo on point

77. Proud Igbo all the way!!!

78. Igbo kwenu!!
    #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

79. Why weren't my forefathers taken as slaves? Why? I would ahave been a Virginia resident by now. LOL

80. Igbo kwenu!!! I love my people

81. Hahahaha very good..but an average american does not need dis..ok www.iwonpopular.com

82. nice way to keep our culture alive

83. I've seen my village masquerade in this place. It's amazing.

84. This interesting, am proud to be an igbo man any time any day.

85. See "their lives", AlmightyGod remove you from wicked African demon-gods by translocating u out of Africa...*don't use black magic to confuse those whites again
    *see how dem resemble their juju just like that so-called Yoruba "village" too.

86. This interesting, am proud to be an igbo man any time any day.

87. WOW. This is exceptional and culture at its best. Ndi Igbo Nkwe nuuuuuuuu.

88. I've seen my village masquerade here. It's amazing.

89. This is wonderful.... infact epic.

90. This interesting, am proud to be an igbo man any time any day.

91. Igbos no dey carry last

92. Wow. My people no dey carry last

93. Cool

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

94. This is actually cool, I thought this was peculiar to just the Yorubas.

95. Slaves indeed! This people carry their aggressive low-life selves to the beautiful state of America? Tufia! I can never marry a biafran, God forbid bad thing! Smellos!

1. I'm igbo married to a yoruba man I adore with all of my being. Wen I read comments like this I'm sad because of the level of hate. You dnt have to condemn a culture cos of 1 person or a group of people. God bless you

2. U are looking for an attention stupid idiot. Am sure u are happy now getting one

3. Who wants to marry you ugly ape looking yorubas in the first place???
      Children of hatred.
      It shall never be well with you
      Anuofia

4. Please go and drink otapiapia and put an end to your miserable life

5. It's these kind of comments that makes me extra cautious when a Yoruba person is around me! They are green snakes in green grass! At times I wonder if the cell components used in building their bodies are made up of solely envy!!!

96. You cannot wish away culture of any race. Keep the flag flying.

97. Igbo kwenu, Achom jii afu dina oba,

98. Proudly Igbo, uwa a ma uwa ozo

99. Igbo mma mmanu oo, Igbo ka chaa nu, rie nu, o ga adiri Igbo mma.

100. Igbo bu igbo ekelee m oo, repping our fatherland wella.

101. Cha cha cha igbo kwenu eee! Cha cha cha igbo kwezuo nu eeeeeee!!!. Oga adiri anyi na mma o

102. Igbo bu igbo ekelee m oo, repping our fatherland wella.

103. Awesome

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇

104. Igbos are always everywhere. Una no dey sidon for una land? Why dont u like your fatherland?

105. What some Nigerians from the perfect tribes dont know is that their hatred for the other imperfect tribes alone will open the gates of hell to them. What do you gain by hating a whole tribe that each time any thing is said about them whether good or bad all you think about is hateful comments. No matter how much Igbo, Hausa or yoruba is hated, they will all continue to strive and be whatever they are characterised of. Your being a Yoruba or Igbo is not of your making, God just placed you there so why hate? You could have been from the othyer tribe. Let us preach love not hate. The day i saw a Yoruba culture or something like this in one foreign place like this posted on this blog, I was very happy for them, at least we are putting our country on the map, nobody will say they had never heard of this great country Nigeria.God was not wrong when he placed us all here. No matter how much we hate each other, when you go out there nobody knows you are Yoruba or Igbo or Hausa, All they know is that you are a Nigerian. One love my unique people.

106. This is lovely, Igbo People no dey carry last at all.

107. That awesome feeling every igbo man in d US feels knowing that the igbo culture is well preserved even in foreign land. #FullBloodedIgbo

108. I hope they wont start a clamour for the Mayor of that city to share his municipal powers with their Ezendigbo wuruwuru...

They might even clamour for the state to be re-named Biafra. I wish they can be refined from self - centred nonentities to a cosmopolitan set of people.

Ak100 says so...

1. Lwkm. Typical of them Nwa Afofungbemu. Awon ashiere gbogbo. Thats how it hurts you fools. Downgrading other tribes like yours is the shiznizz.
      It shall never be well with your people.

109. You go there, they use you for money, SIMPLE!

110. Yoruba has similar place called OYOTUNJI in america.

111. Imagine, carrying mud on the lowest level, is it the white man that will give up a good life for this kind of African juju suffer head...?
    * no matter what, blacks will continue to give up their backwardness for the "WhiteMan's" Ever Progressive and All Wise God...lol!

112. For those who are hating on the igbos,,,,take it or leave it ...this is so cool...it may later turn to tourist attraction and cash will start flowing,,,keep hating

113. the joy of being an igbo man...is a joy that has no bound......till tomorrow i will continue to be an igboman...for all the haters, transformer is not far from you, you can help ur self with that.

114. Igbo amaka! Nnnaa nmanwu majuo..lol

115. @Anonymous: 10.30am and Abisoye Ojedele: I can see that both of you are hungry and angry too. Why not check any small doors near you. EAT SOME SHIT AND DIE OF HATE.

116. Good and loving. God is with us and nobody can suppress us

117. chijioke uchenna26 October 2015 at 18:26

Hmm I love this and will surely visit. Igbo kwenu.....

118. Ignorance, hate and blind ethnicity will kill the lots of you who only choose to berate whatever Ndi-Igbo do. You will hate them and yet take money from them in one way or another. You are taking a curse on yourselves, period. Ign0ramuses talk about their ethnicity being the slaves like there is a crown for it. Any fo0l who cannot scout the internet for proof will come on platforms to type crap. Here is a link on the famous Igbo landings as it concerns Igbo slaves in the USA. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Igbo_Landing