Mikel Obi, Obafemi Martins and 21 others make Super Eagles list for World Cup qualifiers next month | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 October 2015

Mikel Obi, Obafemi Martins and 21 others make Super Eagles list for World Cup qualifiers next month

Super Eagles coach Sunday Oliseh has invited 23 players to the national team ahead of the World Cup qualifiers against Swaziland next month. He has handed a recall to Seattle Sounders frontman Obafemi Martins after more than two years absence, with his last appearance in a Super Eagles shirt coming against Kenya in a World Cup qualifier in March 2013.

The Super Eagles will tackle Swaziland in the first leg on November 13, while  the return leg is at the Adokiye Amiesiamaka Stadium in Port Harcourt four days later.

As expected, there was no place in the squad list for Fenerbahce loanee Emmanuel Emenike and Vincent Enyeama, who have both announced their international retirement after falling out of favour with the coach (Emenike denied this).

But  experienced duo of John Obi Mikel (Chelsea) and Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow) are among the players that will begin training at Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on November 8.

Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi is poised to make his competitive debut, which will tie him to Nigeria once and for all, as he is one of the 6 strikers listed.

List of Invited Players

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Dele Alampasu (Club de Sportivo Feirense, Portugal)

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Kalu Orji (Enyimba FC); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz, Germany); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Sylvester Igbonu (FC UFA, Russia)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders, USA)

48 comments:

1. I love these squad...we can go far with them....nice one Oliseh

2. Lol. Sent from blackberry

OKORO UPGRADED

3. I see fine fine face have joined the eagles squad.Their matches would be very interesting.I hope Oba Goal is still in form sha.He used to be one of my favorite once upon a time.

4. PARENTAL ADVISORY

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Obafemi what

5. U r not current in sports Linda...this is an old news

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They should just do us proud nothing else.

7. It is high time they recalled Obafemi Martins. The way the guy has been scoring in the MLF no be small

JASON DERULO MAY END UP SERVING 8 YEARS IN PRISON - SEE WHY

8. Ok...

You want to earn some money, click on the link below:
    http://Job4Living.com/?ref=299124

9. Okay

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

10. Why are all this Nig indidenous coaches blind??? Kelechi Ehianacho of ManCity is scoring buh all they'll tell u is "he lack experience. We black are racist against ourselfs, a white coach would hv invited this dude.

11. All the best super Eagles all the best Nigeria. Make as much as 500$ daily online by simply clicking the link and registering, it's absolutely free with much benefits. http://www.job4living.com/?ref=266419

12. I thought they called up Iheancho, can't find his name!

13. Linda where's Iheanacho?

14. Nice Try Oliseh! I have dis confidence with dis new team! Let's go ahead and work wonders.

15. Nice Try Oliseh! I have dis confidence with dis new team! Let's go ahead and work wonders.

16. kelechi ihenacho has been given a late call up

17. Now dats wat I'm talking about. You cant have players threatening a coach with retirement, the coach gotta move on. I love this squad and strongly believe in Sunday Oliseh. God will help him succeed. -Ryan

18. Dey should do the needful dats all. Linda take note!

19. Dey should do the needful dats all. Linda take note!

20. Still same old squad that gets knocked out before semi finals. Anyway wish them luck.

21. Okay seen, all the best to them. But i think he should infuse young players into the squad too.

22. Okay seen, all the best to them. But i think he should infuse young players into the squad too.

23. Obafemi Martins d Glass man

24. Good to know

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

25. Wow that will make a great team,Nigeria is already the winner leave it or take it. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

26. He invited 24 players you skipped iheanacho

27. Alright. You have not contact us since august sister Linda.

28. Linda, Anthony Ujah is making waves at the moment in Bundesliga and I am surprised he didn´t make up the list of players representing Nigeria. Just read below:

On 5 May 2015, SV Werder Bremen announced that they had signed Ujah on a four-year contract, starting from the 2015–16 season. On 24 October, Ujah scored a brace against his former club Mainz as Werder earned a 3–1 away win following five successive defeats. Four days laters, he netted again, helping Werder to a 1–0 victory over his former club 1. FC Köln in the second round of the DFB-Pokal. It was his first goal in a home match at the Weserstadion. My question is this, Why is he not playing for Nigeria????

29. Kalu Orji plays for Rangers FC of Enugu not Enyimba FC.

30. Wish dem all d nest

31. Obagoal is all I see