Chinese Steel company in Lagos shut down over worker's death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 October 2015

Chinese Steel company in Lagos shut down over worker's death

Lagos State Government has shut down Hongxing Steel Company Limited, a Chinese firm based in Amuwo-Odofin Local Government for safety violations. The state government issued the stop-work order following the death of a casual worker, Mr. Emeka Umoh who sustained severe burns after liquefied iron spilled on him on September 23, 2015, according to a report by Vanguard.

Director General of the Lagos State Safety Commission, LSSC, Mr. Fouad Oki, in a statement after visiting the company, said that the company failed to adhere to the state safety standards, stating that the working conditions of the company was deplorable.
 Oki said: “We have no option than to give the closure directive because the working condition in the company is harsh and totally unacceptable. It was unacceptable to Lagos as a work-place.”
Mr. Uche Eke, the Public Relations Manager of the company, reacted to the closure  by saying that  it would serve as a notice to the management to improve on its work-place safety measures, stating, “when it is improved, it will help to avoid future hazards.’’

Mr Umoh was rushed to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, LUTH, after the accident but he later died there.

Vanguard

37 comments:

1. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

1. If possible they should not open that company again.
      These Chinese people are so wicked to work with. They don't care about their staffs at all.

2. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

3. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

4. Yes Oo ..Safety first... RIP to the dead.....

5. This is terrible o,RIP to the dead.

6. Eya shit happens...in peace may his soul rest.

7. Chai, may his soul RIP

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
    #it MUST end IN praise

8. Its high time something is done about the way these foreign companies treat their Nigerian staff, the working condition is so pathetic and the salary nothing to write home about. This issue should be critically looked into.

1. Yeah! Bonario, u are 100% right, the way this foreigners are treating our people here in Nigeria is too bad, and they don't pay good salary. This sense must stop. May his soul RIP.

9. Indeed it would serve as a notice to the management to improve on its work-place safety measures, stating, “when it is improved, it will help to avoid future hazards dat is if they learnt their lessons.

RIP 2d precious soul dat loss his life.

10. What a painful death...RIP to the dead and I hope the company reopens and also take necessary measures to ensure the safety of their workers. Definitely pple earn their living from there.

11. SUCH OFFCE NIDS HSE PERSONEL IN THEIR ORGANIZATION.ITS BETA CLOSED TIL D NECESRY THNGS FAL IN PLACE...TOMJERRYSWIT

12. Stringent rules ought to be put in place to check the activities of these companies. A similar case happened in ikorodu few years ago. Nigerians are being enslaved in their own land. Smh

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nw they just made many people unemployed.... They should find a means to stop the accidents other than shutting it down........

1. If is ur relative dat died, u will not make dat stupid and unreasonable statement. U should learn to put pple in ur shoe. How can u compare job to life

2. My dear shutting it down is the best way to drive the message home. Someone is dead and gone forever from earth. What is the guarantee that another will not die while they are looking 'another means to stop the accidents'.
      It should be shut down until they are sure human lives mean something to the company.

3. I also think Nigerians should always report unsafe working conditions and not just accept anything because 'there's no job'. People should not jeopardize their lives simply because they need money.

It is well with the family and friends of the deceased. I pray the Lord comforts them.

14. It's not the first time, chinese and indians firms operating in Nigeria treat their indigenous workers like chattel.

15. hmmm... RIP to the dead
    We are really suffering in our own country

16. An unfortunate incidence! Too damn bad!

17. Sad! Nigerians allow foreigners to do all manner of rubbish here, stuffs that they would never allow u do in their country. Especially dis Lebanese and Chinese.

18. That's bad ooooooo..... that liquid can melt brain oooooo,,,,, I have worked in a place like that before ooooooo...... those foreigners don't care about their workers safety ooooo coupled with the stipends they pay as salary..... so sad
    ... rip

19. Its only in this country that a foreign company will come and enslave the citizens. Those Chinese, Lebanon and Indians have done more harm than good in this country.

20. this is not new at all, same happened in Indian steel company in Ikorodu area of lagos state. the way the matters were treated was so bad expectially by the Leader of the Nigeria Labour Congress.
    Immediately the incident happened, these people are still running their engines not minding the death. the NLC came took money and order the workers to go back to work and anyone absence for that day should be sent away or deduct that day pay.
    it was so pathetic the way and manner they sold out just because of money, making Nigerian 3rd or 4th class citizen even in their own country. As I speak no compensation as been paid to the wife and children.
    And worker broke his spinal cord and later died same treatment was applied. NLC is the most corrupt element in this country.
    workers cannot talk of better pay because the people that will decide the fate will take bribe and tell worker to go back to work or resign. so sad Linda

21. Too sad. These foreign slavedrivers shd be closely monitored henthforth. R.I.P 2 him.

22. What baffles me is dat dey come here and treat us like slaves in our own land can u imagine something wey u nor fit try for China, d workers go Don suffer die until dis one come happen and dats how all d other factorys are in nigeria , no regulation even d workers nor fit talk make dem nor sack dem from 10k monthly. Chaiiii nigeriaoooooooooo y na wetin we do na wetin we youth do this country .make una tell me wetin we do.