Fayose, Wike kick against death penalty for corrupt govt officials | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 September 2015

Fayose, Wike kick against death penalty for corrupt govt officials

Governors of Ekiti and Rivers state have kicked against the suggestion that government officials found guilty of stealing the Nations treasury should be sentenced to death.

The state governors spoke against this during the National rallies held by NLC members to canvass for support for the Buhari anti corruption drive as well as call for death penalty to be enforced on corrupt government officials.

Speaking through his Chief Press Secretary, Idowu Adelusi, Fayose argued that death penalty which has been enforced in some other countries has not stopped the looting of public funds in those countries. 

“In countries where death penalty was introduced, it has not stopped looting. In advanced countries like US, jail sentence is the penalty. What we need is proper moral education to change orientation of the people. Jail sentence is better; it can reform,” he told Punch

In the same vein, the Rivers state Governor, Nyesom Wike who spoke through his media aide, Opunabo Inko-Tariah, said that death penalty was practiced in the military regime. He however called for a review of the laws on looting the Nations treasury

“Nigerians have a role to play by deriding looters and not to praise them for their fiscal irresponsibility. There should be a strong punitive measure to discourage looting because of its domino effects. When a treasury is looted, there won’t be money for the provision of necessities such as hospitals, roads, etc. Maybe because it happened in Ghana and the economy improved, the labour organisations want it in Nigeria. But that was a military regime and Jerry Rawlings was a military man. However, the extant laws on looting need serious and urgent review, even if the death penalty is discouraged.”he said

Ondo state governor, Olusegun Mimiko, who spoke through his information commissioner, Kayode Akinmade, said due process must be followed if Nigerians agree that the death penalty is what should be meted on corrupt officials.

“We are not under a military rule; this is democracy and we have constitution that we follow. If it is put in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, irrespective of whether you are a governor or not, so be it. If that is what Nigerians want, it is okay. Everybody is against corruption, but there is a process of making law. Thank God we have a National Assembly and the state assemblies who are representative of the people. If such bill could be sent to the national and state assemblies and be passed into law, it must become a law. If the process is followed and it is the wish of Nigerians that looters be killed, why not? Let it become a law. It is a fact that Nigerians are not happy with this corruption tag, which has slowed down our economic development but if we have a law that will bring about capital punishment for the looters, it is okay.”he said

113 comments:

1. DEM.KNW SAY NO SAINT OR CLEAN POLITICIANS DE FOR NIAJA....MEK AL OF DEM DIE GO MEK NEW POLITICIANS COME UP...TOMJERRYSWIT

2. Lol,,,y re dey afraid nah.....

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

3. Once more, after seeing the headline, I merely scrolled down in order to see the word "Punch". Lo and behold, it was there. Dirty, cheap, political and pedestrian newspaper! If you want to be really enlightened, do not read "The Punch" cos they always Punch the truth.

4. It's only a fool that will believe Wike and Fayose to be saint. #declare your asset Fayose.

5. I don't support death penalty.
    But why is wike and fayose scared?

6. Well...

I do believe everyone is entitled to his or her personal views and opinions in any given subject area.

So dis is their own personal opinions concerning dis issue which should b respected.

7. Death penalty is best abeg, I support that 100 per cent, αи∂ any Govt. Official that shivers or fears that shld be probed immediately!
    Fayose αи∂ Wike, I don dey suspect una ooooo, ah ah, tot Fayose has strongly spoken against corruption...
    If there's anything worst that death penalty, it shld even be adopted, we need strong punitive measure to stop this, its way too high in this country abeg!!!
    Αи∂ another thing d President shld look into is how they are gonna revaluate the currency αи∂ slashing of allowances αи∂ salaries of Govt. Officials.... So many things to be done!!!

#iT WiLL OnLY gEt BettER
    #iT MusT eNd iN PrAiSE

8. Death penalty is best abeg, I support that 100 per cent, αи∂ any Govt. Official that shivers or fears that shld be probed immediately!
    Fayose αи∂ Wike, I don dey suspect una ooooo, ah ah, tot Fayose has strongly spoken against corruption...
    If there's anything worst that death penalty, it shld even be adopted, we need strong punitive measure to stop this, its way too high in this country abeg!!!
    Αи∂ another thing d President shld look into is how they are gonna revaluate the currency αи∂ slashing of allowances αи∂ salaries of Govt. Officials.... So many things to be done!!!

#iT WiLL OnLY gEt BettER
    #iT MusT eNd iN PrAiSE

9. Death penalty is too much, I think I'll go with life imprisonment.

10. We have totally got it wrong in this country. Is corruption worse than terrorism? We are just playing to the gallery. Which leader in this country is not corrupt? Corruption is not only stealing government funds. What of those who use their position to influence appointments based on nepotism.Are they not corrupt? Corruption is a grievous offence but it does not deserve death sentence. What will you do to someone who commits murder? We are over excited about issues and we have derailed from good governance.

11. We have totally got it wrong in this country. Is corruption worse than terrorism? We are just playing to the gallery. Which leader in this country is not corrupt? Corruption is not only stealing government funds. What of those who use their position to influence appointments based on nepotism.Are they not corrupt? Corruption is a grievous offence but it does not deserve death sentence. What will you do to someone who commits murder? We are over excited about issues and we have derailed from good governance.

12. Dis pple dont tink..dey wake up wit dere myopic brains n talk thrash.retrieve money and jail dem accordinly...like dey produce lives..bunch of crazies..life is sacred..

1. Just be clear with your opinions and stay away with the hard words or you will be the first to face the judgement...

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Anything to kick against corruption am in full support of it though....

14. Hw dem want tak suport am b4,deir hands clean?.if dem try am,they wan hang dmselves b dat..above N10m loot shld evn b death by firing squad!

15. It's like wike n fayose are stil planning on stealing our money...

16. These two thieves wud neva want such law to cee d light of the day.

17. Thanks to God almighty for a better Nigeria he wants to give us. Because this corrupt people are not making life easy for us at. I am a graduate of covenant university and i was thought how not to follow them if i can't change them. But seriously with the situation now...Hmmmm God help us shaa cos am tired of one idiot asking sleep with me to give me a job. After looting gvt funds to make his own money

18. For me I think the best option is death penalty
    In China today people are afraid to still because of the law

19. This one wey una dey talk na long talking for english.... The death penalty,if them go implement am justly,go dey gbam,me support am,thieves don too plenty for Naija....

20. Hmn, death penalty ? Rather extreme, though the rate and lack of conscience of these politicians is alarming.

21. AS DRACONIAN AS IT SOUNDS,

IT SHOULD BE THE DEATH PENALTY ALL THE WAY IN A PLACE LIKE CURRENT NIGERIA

THERE SHOULD BE DIRE CONSEQUENCES FOR PLUNGING MILLIONS OF INNOCENT AND PROMISING SOULS INTO UNTOLD HARDSHIP.

ANYBODY OPPOSING THIS OBVIOUSLY HAS PLANS TO LOOT THE TREASURY

22. Then let the death penalty start with tinubu and amaechi and also the corrupt bigot that deceived himself not nigerians with declaration of mud houses as assets.

23. We need it here in Nigeria... Steal and be hanged to death... The suffer is unbearable to we Nigerians

1. Wike!!!! How many times did I call you? I thought you will jump at it since you are so sure Amaechi stole, wuldnt it have beeen a good avenue to nail him once and for all.
      Now you want to save your neck and that of your Ogas! Lwkmd looooooooools!

24. Because they know they have stolen public money

25. it's nt dia fault @ all.pls buhari if u are reading, kindly send ds bill 2 d national assembly 4 ratification.honestly,if we av a scapegoat, odas will nt touch public funds again.d naijiria laws only catch d poor n leave d rich 2 continue lootin..if we dnt av such laws,believe me,politicians will still steal us dry.....pls buhari pass ds bill

26. So you have constitutiont that you followed when it comes to death penalty for looters,was it stated in the constitution that you have to loot anytime you are holding political appoitment.
    It is only in Nigeria that that if an ordibary citizen stole 10,000 naira he will be reminded in the police cell if not rot in jail but apolitician can be going about freely no matter hundreds of millions he lootted.

27. So you have constitutiont that you followed when it comes to death penalty for looters,was it stated in the constitution that you have to loot anytime you are holding political appoitment.
    It is only in Nigeria that that if an ordibary citizen stole 10,000 naira he will be reminded in the police cell if not rot in jail but apolitician can be going about freely no matter hundreds of millions he lootted.

28. Chinekeee lol death, abi well maybe somfin more fair buh hard to serve sha

Aunty linda

29. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

30. Chinekeee lol death, abi well maybe somfin more fair buh hard to serve sha

Aunty linda

31. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

32. Chinekeee lol death, abi well maybe somfin more fair buh hard to serve sha

Aunty linda

33. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

34. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

35. Don't take life if u know u can't give life .

36. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

37. Death Penalty Period!!! Due process will not bring back those that lost their lives due to actions of corrupt officials in our various institutions. Ok so you guys followed due process to defraud the treasury. Nonsense people

38. Chinekeee lol death, abi well maybe somfin more fair buh hard to serve sha

Aunty linda

39. My governo fayose and wike am noting insupport of you guy's on this.dealth penalty is the best alternative please.

40. I wonder if this will fly through the National assembly to become a law. I don't see that happening though bcos they might possibly be the first to be on the death row. However, I insist that noboby has the right to take the life of another human, therefore, Life imprisonment without visitation from family and friends may be a better bet. At least, the culprit can stay in jail and repent and go to heaven when he/she eventually leaves this world.#MyCandidOpinion#

41. In this case, I think they are right, right in the sense that their would always be corrupt government officials. How many father's and sons and brothers would you kill to stop corruption? Consider the kids and families of this people. When you put them in jail, it gives hope to the family. But it should be an actual jail and not house arrest.

*LIB JUDGE*

42. Why won't they kick against it? Thieves

43. These two are the major problems we have in Nigeria

44. I will never support the death sentence for any reason.
    Not now, not ever

45. I support the statement by ondo state governor, rivers state gov and his brother in ekiti are those Nigerians that will always want to be rich illegally from the tax of the poor masses.

46. No going back capital punishment is what we want I have graduated since 2009 yet no job to show 4 it let dem all leave civil service we want 2 work. Served @ NPHCDA abuja where all Nigerian money is shared under health sector, ther are many pple 2 b killed under that Parastal Gbam

47. What is Buhari doing for God sake, u never give Boko Haram Death Sentence or do u think nigeria look like Islamic state to you or what, why such hash punishment which could even be misused in ridding off opponents. For God sake its a No no joor. Life Imprisonment would been fairer.

48. Oloriburuku people. Why should u be in support? God will punish all politicians looting public funds.He no go better for their families cos people are really struggling in this country. What's d point of working hard for years and u don't have anything to show for it its such a waste not fair.

49. Oloriburuku people. Why should u be in support? God will punish all politicians looting public funds.He no go better for their families cos people are really struggling in this country. What's d point of working hard for years and u don't have anything to show for it its such a waste not fair.

50. Lol.. Nobody wan die.

Hello ladies Check out STYLPLUS collections for the latest Arrivals and fashion trend. Add 58E06907 nw

51. Kill them all!! isn't it the death penalty for armed robbers?! Theirs is even worst cos they steal with pen monies kept in their trust!!!

52. As for me, I don't support death penalty o!, I believe in giving people a second chance. Let us explore d option of plea bargain, where d looters return their loots and are tried on lesser count charges and receives minimum prison sentences. Death is a no for me on corruption, it should be reserved for murderers, armed robbers, rapists ( yes u heard that right, rapists, I detest d act), and d likes.

53. death penalty too much. life imprisonment is better.bikonu

54. why won't they useless, corrupt people..how do people vote men like this in power two corrupt thugs who don't even seem intelligent enough to rule..especially that fayose who just want's to make useless statements and act like a fing retard...GBNIGERIA...

55. Are scared to die because you know for sure you are in this category??..lol...Up GMB

56. Not dat I support it but why them dey fear nah??? Linda take note!

57. Not dat I support it but why them dey fear nah??? Linda take note!

58. Not dat I support it but why them dey fear nah??? Linda take note!

59. Fayose stupid loudmouth, uncouth fool! Why won't you kick against it? You know you will end up at the gallows eventually, PMB is working towards getting you, all your ravings and rantings have finally killed you. Only you know why you couldn't keep your cesspool of a mouth shut.

60. This buhari is just somethingelse.it can be his wife ,daughter too.how can you even suggest death penalty for govt. Looters.that's a very horrible statement please.death penalty for what?where you people will make laws you won't .

61. Why wouldn't they? Birds of the same....... and by the way, where were the so called NLC, almighty TUC during last administration? Now they're out to give PMB bad image again so he can be seeing as a dictator, when the past governments were stinging with corruption what did they do? Cowards!! And to fayose and woke, death penalty does not eradicate but it mitigate, if we can achieve 50% mitigation and attitude changes, we can be among the best.

62. Kill! Kill!! Kill!!!

They don't want to die ehn!! I see. But they are happy seeing the poor masses die of hunger and starvation right? taking their kids abroad to study while the education system here is rubbish. Buy cars of 40million and watch their kids use it for car racing.

You guys must die finish.......

63. Let the killings begin, I dnt support death penalty, Jail term is Good, this is 2015 let's be civilized

64. THE TWO MOST STUPID GREEDY AND THUGGISH GOVERNORS, WICKED WIKE AND STOMACH INFRASTRUCTURE OFFICER. SO WE SHOULD CLAP HANDS FOR THE GOVERNORS ABI? PEOPLE WHO LOOTED MONEY THAT COST OTHERS THEIR LIVES BECAUSE THE NECESSARY INFRASTRUCTURES WERE NOT ON GROUND, I DON'T BLAME YOU TWO SATANIC AGENTS IT IS THE USELESS YOUTHS WHO VOTED YOU TWO AND ARE SHAMELESSLY FIGHTING FOR YOU BECAUSE THEY ARE SO IMPOVERISH AND USED TO MISLEAD THE PUBLIC WITH MERE KOBOS ...SO AKPABIO SHOULD NOT FACE DEATH PENALTY FOR THAT SACRILEGE HE COMMITTED? THIS TWO JUST HIDE YOUR FACES MAGOTS!!!

65. Y is it dat it's only the PDP governors dat are commenting on the issue?are they scared of death?hahahhahahah.

66. That judgement is too harsh...........

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

67. Y is it dat it's only the PDP governors dat are commenting on the issue?are they scared of death?hahahhahahah.

68. the death penalty?? common. no country in the world serves that verdict to corrupt officials... im sure they are not asking the culprits to be exonerated, im sure they are asking for the culprits to be punished, not killed...

69. the death penalty?? common. no country in the world serves that verdict to corrupt officials... im sure they are not asking the culprits to be exonerated, im sure they are asking for the culprits to be punished, not killed...

70. you dey fear? because you know at some point you may steal public funds.

71. Why would they support death penalty???? When they are fully involved in d evil menace.?? We all know that wike and fayose are corrupt animals, so they must kick against death penalty on corruption.

72. Sentenced to death? That's absurd and impossiCANT!!!

73. there can never be in support of it, when their party is build on corruption. 16 years of looting. this is thesame wike that is setting up panel to investigating corruption in rivers.

74. the criminals re scarred

75. It should be death penalty. That's what is done in China. When you send them to jail they will use the stolen wealth to buy the jailers and will be living like kings. They need to be liquidated. Period. How many people have they killed because of their looting. Children who died because of bad hospitals, maternal death because hospital are not equipped. Unnecessary death on our roads because of the state of the roads. All the funds meant for these thing have been embezzled. After all, it won't touch you if you are innocent.

76. Those asking for death penalty re beasts, moreover, all this noise abt fighting corruption is just a charade

Ubanagum

77. Let the investigation start from Babangida and Obasanjo and none of our political leaders will be left alive cost those two goons have the record files of almost all political looters in Nigeria updated and accurately reviewed from time to time.

78. Naturally, a thief will not want the death because he doesn't want to die. Why am I not surprised that the two thieves are kicking against it? Awon ole buruku jati jati oshi! Mtchew!

79. We have to enforce the capital punishment if it will scare this looters off our national treasury. Because they said death penalty Wike and his partners are screaming the heavens. Military regime or democratic rule we must stop this corrupt practices and get on to business. Do they even know how many lives and dreams that has been taken by this looting machines? Hey! If this looters has to be sentenced to death I don't mind.

80. Other punishment than death penalty is permissible.

81. See them thiefs....why won't they kick against it...see those counties you two are talking about they are far better then our country in area of development

82. I believe death sentence if implemented will help curb corruption but i don't believe its the best form of approach rather jail term should be considered.

83. Why are they are scared if their hands are clean?

84. Na buhari go first die. Y death penalty?

85. Both of you are crazy...You will learn lesson by force.I thought they could talk anyway..Vagabonds una tym don reach.

86. Death Penalty is a NO!
    If it must be then after putting up the Law, they should eradicate the accused by prosecuting from Long past Military Regimes that got us here.

87. Death keh? A lot of people will die nii yen?

88. See their criminal head, They are scared because they know that their hands are not clean, they are very corrupt criminals, I support the NLC o jare!!!

89. Very reasonable men..we won't let this military dictator change d face of democracy and our constitution ... Fayose be giving Buhari his size since 1880...

90. Lool. Scaredy cats!! I support this 100%. China a very advanced country practices this, and it works PERFECTLY!!!!!!

91. I don't expect dem 2 buy d idea b4 now cos dey wl surely fall a victim

92. I don't expect dem 2 buy d idea b4 now cos dey wl surely fall a victim

93. There are now making joke of corruption. That is why everyone is taking trash. Who will even trail the corrupt people, is it the over corrupt judges.

94. I am a supporter of gov Fayose but on this matter, I beg to differ. The death sentence should be reinstated to show that the Nigeria people are tired of corruption. How can a Country that is so RICH, yet it's People are so POOR? If drastic measures are not put in place to stem the tide of corruption, it will go on perpetually.

95. I agree with them! Let's be reasonable. Dis ain't about PDP against APC but common sense! We ain't in an Idiamin regime!!

96. LINDA I POSTED TWICE BUT YOU REFUSED TO SHOW MY COMMENTS, HOPE YOU ARE NOT SUPPORTING THESE TWO MOST EVIL MEM, WICKED WIKE AND STOMACH INFRASTRUCTURE OFFICER FAYOSE...SO WE SHOULD CLAP FOR LOOTERS WHO STOLE TRILLIONS LIKE AKPABIO ABI? AFTER DEPRIVING PEOPLE OF THEIR LIVELIHOOD BECAUSE THE BASIC INFRASTRUCTURES ARE NOT IN PLACE/ I DON'T BLAME THEM, IT'S THE YOUTHS WHO HAVE SOLD THEIR CONSCIENCE FOR KOBO. CAPITAL PUNISHMENT IS WHAT THEY DESERVE!!!

97. I wrote just now that I support the death penalty but after a rethink, I changed my mind. As a Christian, first, I shouldn't advocate that. Secondly, if the death penalty need to be put in place, the first person to die would be president Buhari. What happened during his tenure as chairman of the Petroleum trust fund? I heard a lot of money went missing during that period. So president Buhari should come clean on his tenure in that body before he start to prosecute others.

98. Useless ppl...y won't they kick against it?? Fear don grip them...cos they are also guilty...mschew.. fayose shud just shut up and stop making noise up and down...looking for cheap attention..a gov that has a vision won't have time to be going up a d down,buying pepper...eating with okada ppl...all in the name of humility..let your work speak for u...and as for wike, work and stop trying to look for loopholes..we know you came into power for revenge..u v no vision for rivers state...

99. Na fear catch dem. Though I think the death penalty is a bit much, yet drastic times calls for drastic measures. But in enforcing this, they should be careful to use a rock solid system to support this prerogative. We don't want innocent people dying for no reason since in terms of fraud and embezzlement, anyone can easily be framed.