LIB reader makes history at Tulane University, USA. (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 May 2015

LIB reader makes history at Tulane University, USA. (photos)

An ardent LIB reader Mbaebie Nkechi Chiugo yesterday became the first ever international student to be named the commencement speaker/valedictorian at Tulane university school of Public Health, New Orleans, USA which is one of America's oldest and best school of Public Health.

This school is a predominantly white school with the population being about 95 % Caucasian. Nkechi graduated yesterday with a Masters's in Public Health with a perfect GPA of 4.0. She studied Medicine and Surgery at ESUT College of Medicine, Enugu and was sworn in in 2011. She left Nigeria in 2013 for this Masters program and yesterday made history and wanted to share her story with the rest of us to inspire us to reach for greatness and cover more grounds. Nkechi pictured above with her family, friends and classmates. Big congrats to her. More photos after the cut...

75 comments:

Congaju dear , above the sky is ur limit .
Ad thanks for making Us #Nigeria Proud !!!

Kudos but Tulane school of public health is not the best in the US, but the oldest linda.

elle said...

Congratulations, I tap into ur blessings

bella said...

Congrats darl! D kinda news I like to hear *winks

Golda Awosika said...

Congrats to her. Lib is proud of you
#*Karlishah*

Golda Awosika said...

Congrats to her. Lib is proud of you
#*Karlishah*

Goodnews

Goodnews

Congrats n well done

Congrats to her

Big congrats Nkechi

Big congrats to her.

Congrats to her

Amy Amy said...

Congrats Nkechi

frisky said...

Brains!!!!
Unfortunately no beauty :(

Congrats...buh,like she can't take a shot without crossing her legs.....#Observed

Big congrats to her #QueenT

Paul Ofou said...

Big congrats to her more to come amen.

Kwashman said...

Nice one. Congrats NK Keep it up

Wowowowowwowowo.. My name sake am so proud

Wow very inspiring indeed!!that's a nice one congrat to her I pray that God also use her to inspire us to reach our goals,igbos making waves since 1960.JC

Wow congrats to her

Congrats.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Tbaba said...

Thank you Nkechi for making us proud

Congratulations to her
...NA ZO

Congrats, and all d best to her.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Vwry soooon linda u go paste my own oooo,coz I de ginger to go Canada go do masterss

Amazing!
Congrats to her.

Wow! Congratulations to you. Valedictorian is a huge deal in the US. You have access to most ivy league schools after that. Congrats once more.

Congratulations Nkechi. Hopefully this is just the start of greater things to come. Emmanuel

we are bad like that. Congrats to her

Congrats to her.

Etsako Pearl said...

linda wat r u feeling like..Congrats nky baby......

👍 👍

Congrats to her. My dad was also d first intl valedictorian at his university in america in the 80's. Coincidentally it was also in medicine, after coming out of OAU wt a first division in medicine & going to america on a scolarship. He is currently d president of his field of specialty in the whole state of louisiana, has his own practise & guest lectures at university of louisiana, louisiana tech & grambling uni. In case u didnt notice im a very proud daughter.

She has a bright future ahead of her. Iwish her all d best. Linda pls post more success stories to inspire everyone to d best of themselves & also to have more pride in our countrymen. Too many bad stories are peddled everyday abt Nigerians but we have a lot of good honest intelligent & hardworking Nigerians doing good work everyday.

Congrats my sister

This is goodnews......... Congratulations to her.

Wow. Big congrats to her. But i noticed something in her # why is she crossing her legs in all her pixz ? Observation!!!

Most colleges and universities in America are predominantly white; no need to mention that as some kind of selling point to legitimize her degree.

Addyogiri.blogspot.com said...

Gah!! I'm sooo jealous!!! This is one of my top schools I intend to apply for my MPH. Went to NOLA twice just to visit :). Seriously though. Congratulations sis. You have only inspired me. Bless. x

Everyone is an ardent reader of LIB. If you just want to sell you market, you send your pictures to Linda claiming to be an ardent reader. Biko which article she comment under make I go find her name. Nne congrats

Pidgin Mistress said...

Congrats to her.

Congratulobia!

Not a regular comment writer I guess. Regular comment writers observe

ADAOBI said...

So nice dearie love hearing such News

Congrats to her!

The Therapist said...

Congratulations

Congrats.

And Linda's description eschews the stereotyping that suggests blacks are not intellectual enough until they beat whites.

Graduated with a FIRST DIVISION in medicine???? From what I know; and I know a lot about medical education in Nigeria, OAU in particular, there is no such thing my dear, please ask your father about this.

Big congrats to her, and I wish her all d very best.

Yes madam/Sir ITK. There is distinction in medicine.

Yay! An alumni from my school. So proud!!

Was she in Federal Calabar? Looks really familiar ! Congrats dear...

mma said...

Congrats to You Nkechi, am inspired by this kind of news.. Nigerians are no doubt talented..

TONIA GREEN said...

Congrats Nkechi

So if she had gone to a school that was predominantly 95% black, it means rubbish.Going to one that's 95% white makes her intellectually superior to you all.Yet,You peeps are here celebrating her looking down on all of you. She has the typical black man mentality!
Not to knock her, but this girl is a loudmouth and a braggart big time!I know several international students(Nigerians)from ivy leagues Harvard,Columbia and Yale with perfect 4.0 GPA.I also know a ton of Nigerians with 4.0 GPA from the number 1 ranked school of public health:Johns Hopkins.In Fact, the last commencement speaker at Yale was a Nigerian,an international student,Yinka Taiwo.
Believe me, she couldn't hack it into the ivy leagues and the better SPH e.g Michigan,UCLA,UNC,Emory.
Here in the states, this means nothing. A 3.5 GPA from an ivy league will still be prefered over her because employers and adcoms know the admission criteria into the ivies are stringent and brutal, the course work excruciatingly rigorous. I know her type, she applied to all the ivies and the better schools and couldn't get in 'cause she was inferior and had to settle for Tulane.
I wish her well in all her future endeavors.
#can'tstandmediocreboasters.

Judith said...

Congrats Nkay

It doesn't matter whether its the best or not.The most important thing is that dis girl has made us proud as the first non white American to deliver a commencement speech about hundred years ago the school started.The girl has broken record.Please lets celebrate our own.Thanks.

To God alone be all the glory!!! Congratulations my dear.God will make you achieve greater heights IJN.

Congratulations 2 r o

Congrats to her

Congratulations Nkechi, Nwanyi Nnewi. We are so so proud of you and your achievement. May God continue to keep you wise and help you make prudent decisions all the days of your life, and may He continue to bless all our honest and hardworking Nigerian brothers and sister where ever they may be. Amen.

See ur life inside Lawma waste bin

Lol,you have a lot of hate in your heart.But you made some valid points.I graduated from a top 10 public health school ,I didn't make it Lib.But let's encourage people here who are aspiring

Gov. Amaechi's Girl said...

It is not the best. Period.

OMG Nkechi...
This is wonderful!
I am soooooo proud of you dear.
Nice one!

Gud. Congrats girl. let dis oyibos get it into their thin skull dat Nigerians are better off than them in some aspects.

Hi Linda , how can readers send you similar stories . Is there an email address or something ? Thanks

You re a genius darling.... congrats!

Da big question? What was her record like in Naija. The enabling environ was material to her performance.#we struggle here and excel easily abroad? GMB TAKE NOTE!