Obasanjo’s Exit: ‘We Remain Focused’ - PDP releases statement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 February 2015

Obasanjo’s Exit: ‘We Remain Focused’ - PDP releases statement

Press statement from the PDP regarding Obasanjo's exit today. Read below...
The leadership Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has received the news of the decision of former President Olusegun Obasanjo to withdraw his membership of our great party. We have also carefully examined the circumstances and the reasons adduced for this unfortunate decision.
While we concede to the inalienable rights of every citizen to hold opinion and to decide who to associate with, we are however deeply saddened that Chief Obasanjo, a revered leader of our party, our first Presidential flagbearer whom the PDP offered the platform to rule our nation for 8 years, could decide to abandon this party at this critical point in time.

This is especially as Chief Obasanjo, who was also the Chairman of the highest advisory organ of the PDP, the Board of Trustees (BoT) discountenanced all pleas by elders and leaders of our great party with regard to his reservations on certain issues within our fold.

Many Nigerians are still bewildered as to what manner of provocation could have led a former President to lose his composure and go to the extent of tearing the membership card of the party that he once led.

Indeed, the PDP is hugely at loss as to how the decision and action of the former President who had enjoyed the benefits of being elected to the highest position of leadership will assist in deepening our democracy and stabilizing the polity.

It is our considered opinion that no matter the provocation, a statesmanly disposition from a person of Chief Obasanjo’s status could have encouraged our citizens and help in stabilizing system.

We believe however, that what this country needs now is patriotic actions that engender national unity, tolerance and peaceful coexistence of our people irrespective of political, ethnic and religious persuasions. The overall interest of our nation and wellbeing of our citizens must remain paramount and above all personal and group interests.

Finally, we direct all our members across the country to remain focused on our campaigns and not to be distracted on this issue. With an array of credible candidates led by our Presidential flagbearer, President Goodluck Jonathan, we are sure that we will emerge victorious come March 28 and April 11, 2015 general elections.

Signed:

Olisa Metuh
National Publicity Secretary

105 comments:

1. And khloe come for Amber rose on twitter...amber claps back

2. OBJ doesn't worth d attention's...
    God wil put him to shame and mak him irrelevant to Nigeria.

1. Go and learn proper English before you concern yourself about OBJ.

OBJ is not important but we're talking about him more than the presidential candidates, abi?

3. Abeg make d man go sit down jare...e own don too much.

4. Dis msg above seem like a dead man memorial or remembrance note...

Indeed OBJ is dead politically.

5. People should stop making noise.........the man owe nobody any apology.......PDP should get over it and move on........

:::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::

6. PDP Power ,obasanjo is old let him go and rest.

7. this will really affect PDP so much, no doubt about that.
    PDP is powerless

8. Wit due respect sir, u ar wicked very wicked. Nw u ar talking as if ur tenor was corruption free. U spoilt pdp nd nw u ar goin 2 destroy APC. Weldon sir

9. Dats it remained fucose an move forward even me an ordinary man i was tire of obj

10. If he likes let him tear his birth certificate.

11. ok he left, everybody respond, can we all move on already

12. Please we should forget about Obsanjo because he is a confused man. The party that gave you the opportunity to lead as a president look at the way you are paying back because GEJ does not give you the chance to control. You are a very big fool

13. PDP SORRY FOR UR LOSS OO! BUT KEEP A CLOSE TAB ON OBJ AND BE ALWAYS PREPARED AHEAD OF HIM. 'CAUSE A RUNAWAY NUN "ALWAYS" SPEAKS ILL OF HER CONVENT..... #guessIalwayswantedtousethatproverb

14. Hmmmn.... Lets see hu wil laf last...... Bring on d next storie.... wait a mint, Linda, Wea is Bishop.....
    •Dat Akwa Ibom corper frm Ekiti state•

15. Hmmmn.... Lets see hu wil laf last...... Bring on d next storie.... wait a mint, Linda, Wea is Bishop.....

16. Hmmmn.... Lets see hu wil laf last...... Bring on d next storie.... wait a mint, Linda, Wea is Bishop.....
    ?

17. When d righteous rule d people rejoice. PDP will soon be a history

18. Lol. Losers. Just d beginning

19. Story for the gods, abegi make I hear something biko. All na offo jare! Linda take note!

20. Story for the gods, abegi make I hear something biko. All na offo jare! Linda take note!

21. NO WAHALA. PDP ALL D WAY.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

22. Ihe macha kwa.....bera off witout d maga

23. You guys act as if you dont know forgiveness is a sin on Baba's part.He must have weighed the prons and cons before he decided to opt out.If i were GEJ,i'll be on tentahooks waiting for the worst.Something tells me a storm is brewing.

1. Can u imagine what Buhari has promised him? For him to be going all out baba has one joker left to play. Silly old man

24. His exit really pained them but some people are trying to downplay it.
    @Carlos via Nokia Lumia

25. Pls no one will miss this man. He is the 8 yrs of the PDP's 16years so if the polity is messed up it arose from the foundation he laid.

26. With all due respect, the man lost it long ago.

According to Sanusi, the Emir of Kano, men like Obasanjo should give way and stop thinking that they are the custodians of infallible ideas and wisdom in this country.

This man never forgives. He can't even forgive his own children.

To show you the level of his evil, he had to wait till the last moment to deal his evil blow, but God is on the side of Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.

It is all selfish reasons. Anyone who believes it is for patriotic reasons is the most gullible mumu.
    #SaiJonathan.

27. Whatever mehn! What's my business its Their cup of coffee, the exchange rate of Naira to dollar is still high that's my concern not this nonsense of tearing party membership card mteww!!!

28. D new name for PDP is sorry

29. Whatever mehn! What's my business its their cup of coffee, the exchange rate of Naira to dollar is still high that's my concern not this nonsense of tearing party membership card mteww!!!

30. Display of stupidity,he sure will regret his actions...PDP can survive n be victorious without him. #Transformation is all we need!!!

31. Whatever mehn! What's my business its their cup of coffee, the exchange rate of Naira to dollar is still high that's my concern not this nonsense of tearing party membership card mteww!!!

32. Whatever, pdp, you can shut up now!

33. General Obasanjo should know better as to this display of callousness and childishness. Papa wen day complain about the size of him teenage son egg plant...forget it!!! Na prostrate cancer worry such a father.

34. And I must say he just sounded like one who had lost his father!...wateva their decisions though...I just say God Bless Nigeria!

35. Well spoken.....gej is the man

36. The desperation buhari and his cohorts are exhibiting sha, thumb. printing ballot papers, jesus will expose them all

1. But he won't expose the ones who increased N250b fuel subsidy to N1.3tr overnight? Mumu!

37. Obasanjo's men has left the party since so his soul had left since.He couldn't have his way to control GEJ and that is not acceptable to a person like that.Like chief Anennih said it is good riddance to bad rubbish

38. STFU you guys should conduct the election and stop all these distractions and shenanigan. Is this one man enough to derail your attention? No wonder people get tired of this pathetic country, as soon as your hope is raised, these pigs called the politicians sucker punch the hell out of you. Idiots.

39. I reserve my comments.king philla

40. Fuck u olisa Metuh, fuck PDP party u re all criminals, just watch the way GMB will #change# this country, if GEJ rig the election he'll never see head to rule this nation again. Amen

41. O.B.J.That man is useless to a Nation like Nigeria

42. OBJ is on his own ooooo.Nigeria will still be Nigeria without him,party or no party God's own candidate will win and Nigeria shall be peaceful again

Auntylindagoddaughter

43. Obasanma or Obasanjo be like papa wen deY drag toy car with him piki because na him buy am for am. Dede' Obasanma or Obasanjo biko eweniwe...criticise constructively and react maturedly.

44. Obasanma or Obasanjo be like papa wen deY drag toy car with him piki because na him buy am for am. Dede' Obasanma or Obasanjo biko eweniwe...criticise constructively and react maturedly.

45. Obasanma or Obasanjo be like papa wen deY drag toy car with him piki because na him buy am for am. Dede' Obasanma or Obasanjo biko eweniwe...criticise constructively and react maturedly.

46. I am happy that God fatherism is gradually being erased in Nigeria. With Goodluck liberating pdp from obasanjo's evil grip, things will be better in all sides. Even if he loses election he has done well. The truth is that obasanjo will never weild the kind of power he had before in influencing political decisions. He is now hanging on Apc as any other member where tinubu another God father head will not allow him freedom to ride the party. He had many issues with tinubu as lagos governor. Now he will take directives from him, with only a ceremonial respect as an old man and ex - head of state. Nawaoo shame no get age.

47. Obasanma or Obasanjo be like papa wen deY drag toy car with him piki because na him buy am for am. Dede' Obasanma or Obasanjo biko eweniwe...criticise constructively and react maturedly.

48. Breaking the bridge after crossing it... na old saying...OBJ. It is good ooo so nobody can break your record.

49. Never knew that this retarded Olisa dude can be this Civil in his disposition. Wonders shall never end.

50. Silly people...after abusing Baba, you now know respect. Useless people...why didn't they continue the abuse from FFK, Fayose, Obanikoro and other omo jati jati Yoruba...even if other tribes have no respect for elders, we are not like this....as foolish as an elder behaves, in our culture we do not abuse those with grey hair.

51. They make OBJ sound like the prodigal son, maybe he is. But this reflects badly on PDP cos OBJ was always considered the face of PDP.

52. Amen.
    Obstacle come Jona wil jump and pass..
    Olichego obulusonjo byebye
    God is answering our prayers small small
    #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

53. Linda, please i will be glad if my comments is posted this time. I still hold on to this fact that Yoruba leaders are chief contributors to the problems of this great country. My reason is this, base on all available evidence you will see that affairs of Nigeria has been managed by Hausa and Yoruba. Obasanjo is just another traitor in the line of other yoruba leaders, If we can all remember he was the same man yelling good things about Goodluck some years ago now, now he is running away after planting corruption into PDP. OBasanjo wanted third term during his tenure and now he is against Goodluck second term bid. lets get one thing straight if justice must prevail then one has anyone ask why is igbos sidelined when it comes to presidential sit, simple answer is because Hausas dont trust and like igbos. Nigerian should be ready for a new party APC that is made up some set of selfish and wicked leader who are after power because they want to cover their evil doings.Obasanjo and Tinubu suppose to be good leaders but seriously am short of words to qualify them. Yoruba ro nu

54. Obj is a useless annoying senile he goat, who the hell do he think he is? A demi god that make and mare, manipulating the country in to oblivion, all of a sudden he now becomes a saint when he joined apc, after looting the country, national retard criminal all these rtd generals are always evil strong hold behind a country forwardness, irresponsible irritating tyrant twilight pig, nigerian horror bastard

Philip brown

1. Nd u want to grow old, must u curse bfr u can post a comment. Yeye

55. Typical nigerian attitude, flee when the going gets tough.

56. Gud man wt gud mouth nt lyk ffk, okupe, fayose n co. He as spoken my mind, jst remain focus.

57. Gud man wt gud mouth nt lyk ffk, okupe, fayose n co. He as spoken my mind, jst remain focus.

58. Gud man wt gud mouth nt lyk ffk, okupe, fayose n co. He as spoken my mind, jst remain focus.

59. Anyone who can tear his daughter in-law's leg can tear anything. We are not surprised.

60. A vry nice statement... Far beta dan FFK jaguns full of sentiment... Obj did d right tin... But in d wrong way & manner...

61. OBJ u are a very useless man, infact, u don't deserve respect of any responsible Nigeria, being an ex president of ds country ur ultrances is becoming too much. Why are u attacking GEJ? are u dt better than him? or hv u forgotten so soon. Pls I am begging u in d name of Jesus to live Our president alone. At ur age u are tearing ur PDP membership card openly like a tout . As an ex president and an elder stateman what are u teaching our youths? I am disappointed in u, I want to let u know dt even if u die ds night if it is d will of God dt GEJ will win no body can stop him so pls stop misbehaving in d name of politic. Ur behavoir is too childish. Area boys & bus conducts hv more respect than u now and I want to tell u dt u hv lost ur prestige to many Nigerians. May God Almighty deliver u. IDIOT

62. pdp just disturbing themselves....nd yet dey keep saying Obj exit has no effect on them

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

63. Who is Obj is he a human? Or ape.

64. Good one. The party will not miss him! He have disgraced himself

65. Retired General Obasanjo, just like any citizen of Nigeria, has a right to free association and freedom of speech. This is what democracy is all about. As one of the many Nigerians resident outside the country, I am greatly disturbed and worried at the state of our beloved country.General Obasanjo's exit from a political party should not be an issue at this time in the polity of our nation. Instead,issues of corruption,poor governance, religious extremism should be on top of the agenda.
    I, along with so many like me, fervently pray for the restoration of good governance,sound health care delivery system,more gainful employment opportunities,a more effective police service, a well-funded and better equipped armed forces,and above all,a nation that accords its citizens a true sense of human rights, irrespective of their ethnic or religious background.
    It's high time we put an end to politics of acrimony and petty bickering, and start thinking of building a better and more virile nation.
    It is time we seize this great opportunity and moment in time.

May God continue to bless our fatherland.

1. APC= Abode Of Prodigal Chiefs. OBJ last minute Born Again.

66. Obasanjo has done more harm than good for this country...he should take all the time in the world to relax and enjoy his old age, this could be a blessing to him, or he could as well join the party of PDP rejects and aged politicians, nobody is bigger than any political party or the country as a whole, we are moving forward, we are not stagnant, ahead ahead we go!!!!

God bless Nigeria, God bless Nigerians

67. Obasanjo has done more harm than good for this country...he should take all the time in the world to relax and enjoy his old age, this could be a blessing to him, or he could as well join the party of PDP rejects and aged politicians, nobody is bigger than any political party or the country as a whole, we are moving forward, we are not stagnant, ahead ahead we go!!!!

God bless Nigeria, God bless Nigerians

68. You all are going down. Animals!

69. ObJ has no moral justification to Question GEJ! He is an ethnic bigot

70. Good for them! Many more surprises coming their way. This is the beginning of the end of PDP in nigeria. Time for change! No going back

71. God works in mysterious ways and all those who do not have the country at heart will be exposed. They are now against themselves all because of power and eventually those who care about the people and country will emerge to rule us

72. OBJ is not happy because the party he once encapsulated, has been redeemed. He can no longer gives directives from his Otta farm. He's such a shameless man for his actions of late.

73. Obj is a man that want to always have is way,if does not favour him it is bad,but if favour him then it is good

74. OBJ was disappointed when the election was postponed because his evil plans will no longer work again as planned. Thank God he is out of PDP. APC should also learn from this. We can do without all this old ex-generals/ex-presidents of the army. FREE yourself. Does it mean that of all the young vibrant Nigerians in APC, none is qualified to be a presidential flag bearer?#Think. For now lets #MarchForward. GEJ2015......

75. This picture of him though, I can't deal#LMFAO

76. Let him go to whereever he want who cares, gone are those days he speaks and people will listen but now his words are mere talk,nigeria is bigger than them, we need leaders and not rulers, leaders with good examples e.g Nelson Mandela,Bill Clinton, etc May God help nigeria

77. Frustration has engulfed Obasanjo..... I am very pleased and happy when I heard about it... gradually getting her liberation from the hands of bandits... Let Goodluck rejoice because the Nigeria's Charles Taylor is out of his way..... JWW (Jonathan will win)

78. PDP MUST WIN, OBJ IS A FOOL.

79. what type of change do we actually want positive or negative change? substituting Jonathan for bihari I wonder the type of change

80. #smh - PDP supporters should stop giving excuses for the current Government. If I was a member of PDP, I may not leave the party but admit that we deserve to lose then go back to the drawing board and come back stronger. THE PAINFUL PART IS THE LIES, THEY ARE STILL SAYING OUR ECONOMY IS THE BEST EVER $ HAS APPRECIATED FROM 158 TO 213??? VOTE CHANGE, VOTE BUHARI!!!