Muna Obiekwe's sister opens up on his death, says it happened very fast | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 February 2015

Muna Obiekwe's sister opens up on his death, says it happened very fast

In an interview with Inside Nollywood during Muna's burial on February 3rd, his step-sister Chinwe Obiekwe said Muna's diagnosis and eventually death happened in just a year.
"He was sick from last year October. It wasn't a normal kidney failure. It was high BP that prompted his kidney failure. It did not give us time to do the transplant because it was his two kidneys that failed. Assuming it was a normal kidney failure, it's supposed to be one kidney. My uncles were planning to come back to Nigeria and operate on him and do the transplant then he died on Sunday (Jan. 18th). Through out the one year he was sick, we were going for the dialysis " Continue...
Asked why Muna had high BP, the sister replied
"Anybody can have high BP because of stress. It doesn't mean family problem should prompt high BP, it comes with stress. He was taking his medicine but because he was always on set, in different locations, he didn't have much time to drink his medicine properly. 
Asked why Muna didn't let his colleagues know he was sick and needed help, the sister said
"Muna is from a home. He's a private person. That he didn't bring out what was wrong with him to the internet is because he's a man and my family was ready to operate on him. You don't have to come to internet and start telling people 'my kidney failed. I need money to help myself. No. At times some problems come to you and you know this is a problem that can be sorted by your family. Had it been we were stranded, then we can start calling people to come and help us. That Muna didn't tell people he was sick is because he's a private person. 
"I am going to say this to anyone who says Muna didn't open up that he was sick - I'm going to use this thing - Fuck them! Now that he's dead, those people that said assuming he'd said he was sick they would have helped, did they come to contribute to his burial? Did they come to check on the family? They did not! We tried to handle, but God knows best.
The video below..

139 comments:

Phewww... take heart,God loves em more.RIP muna.

Heya continue to rest in d bossom of our lord Muna

Death is a thief

Pink Bananas said...

Abi oh my sister. Don't listen to people. Rip Muna, God knows best

OneKay said...

On point at same time senseless.

Nigerians should understand the meaning of STEPsister. If they share the same father then they are HALF SISTER/ BROTHER. Step sister is when a man that has a child with another woman marries another woman that has a child with another man. Those children are then STEP brother and STEP sister. HALF brother/ sister is when they SHARE EITHER THE SAME MUM OR DAD.

Sylvonce said...

Life has taught me not to be dependent on anyone but God. Humans wil always disappoint but God nevr does
Pics frm his burial showed he ws buried like a pauper #MyOpinion. Muna's sister, it's well. RIP Muna!

Cont to rest muna

Your uncles were planning on coming back to operate on him before he died on sunday.......so for the one year that he was sick they didn't plan to operate on him??? No further questions sha! R.I.P handsome

:::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

Aww smh. RIP MUNA!

Awwwww,ehya,muna - one of d pple i grew up watching his movies, sad,sad,sad,such amazing talent gone

Thou.Thou said...

Rip muna.#lindi change ur profile picshure#:)

Beautyfoch said...

Such is life. RIP Muna

Nollywood na waaaooo may his soul continue to rest in peace Amen

R u minding em!!eis dead now!!cant dey still gv the mum the donation dy all claimed dy wanted to donate!!!fukery!!!

Princess G said...

So sad. Rip muna

Yeah... God knows best. Continue to rest in peace.

Seen N Heard..God knows best............................#6God

Chai.....my Muna.....may he continue to R. I. P

God knwz d best

Its really unfortunate.(⌣̩_⌣ )!

You're his HALF sister dear. You share the same father....gosh...saying it with such confidence. Rip to muna.

God knows best. May his soul rest.

Oh really?
I had no idea
thanks Mr lecturer.

Nwa teacher,oya we don hear!

So sad...May his soul continue to rest in peace..Amen

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Family is everything, people shouting like they would have helped if he made his sickness public, the same way they 'helped' OJB

kanma said...

Very painful loss. He was a good actor. May his Soul RIPP

I actually don't believe this lady Cuz, if his family wanted to operate on him, Muna won't be planning to do a show just to get money for his operates. Cuz I read he was planning a stage show just to get money. So I wonder wat this lady is saying

Continue 2 rest in peace muna

Muna, gone sooo soon. May his soul RIP

Rip Muna

It is well

Sad

Stupid set of people..may his soul continue 2 rest in peace..

It is well o. RIP Muna

I think it should be half sister not step sister since she's Obiekwe

Rip muna

She is his sister,what you read was from the Internet..we read a lot of random stories on the net everyday. So who would you rather believe? A family member who obviously knew him better than anyone else or some random tabloid headline?

Transplant is usually last resort,cause getting acceptable organs for transplant itself is quite a process.. So he was most likely on drugs and dialysis pending when further measures could be taken. Unfortunately,he died.

We should all see this as a wake up call also to take care of our bodies and try our best to avoid stress.. As simple as the word stress sounds,and as casually as we use it in our daily vocabulary,it really does cause a lor of serious medical conditions... We should learn to eat right,exercise often,and live healthy lifestyles.. It's for our own good! Most importantly,pray always! May God continue to renew us like the wings of Eagles.(Amen) #goodnight

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Av u even grown? U are still growin my dear. Mtsheeew. Rest in peace 2 d dead. #happythurs

RIP, Muna.

destinysweet said...

Hmmmmn,Rip muna

Auntylindagoddaughter

obiora said...

Enough of all these talks. They should just let Muna rest in peace.

Bunny said...

Me sef just learn o. Thankyou

Nairagoodies.com said...

Rip muna

Sure is life. When you are face sometimes with difficulties in your life, then you know your true loved ones but when it's over and telling your stories, you hear things like I wish I knew you then. Nothing like having your own money, your own business and your own job. Just like the kind of sitiation that I am right now, I believe it's only God almight that can come to my rescue of finance, because no were I haven't cried to but I believe God neva fails his children.

Rip

Anyone here who is interested in adding to his/her source of income through sustainable investment should visit Mc'dave Investment Services Ltd (MDISL)

Warever & for u Aboki u must be a chronic imbecile

Aboki imbecile & u teacher shut up!

My taught exactly & muna was trying to raise funds tru a concert

The lady is just saying out of point pple dnt get it, wen u hide ur problem ur problem hides you

U are as stupid as ur comment.

RIP Muna

cz said...

Madam, u don't need to render any explanation on Muna's death. It's a very unfortunate circumstance. All the same, ur statements are contradicting. Kidney failures almost always affect the 2 kidneys. That is why they need a transplant. A person can survives or live long with one kidney. Kidney disease is one of the most expensive disease to manage. A course of dialysis is btw 25 to 40k and a patient is suppose to hv that at least 3 times/week to remain healthy.We 're not talking about the occasional blood transfusion and erythropotein needed. So public fund would hv still been useful.Muna reluctance to ask for a public fund is not far fetched, OJB's drama with his colleagues wasn't encouraging. What matters now is praying for his soul to Rest in perfect peace. I pray that God will give ur family the fortitude to bear the lost. is well.

prettiyz said...

True talk, I agree wit her

NigerianStyles said...

VERY SAD, MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE

So true.Almost all those who said they would have helped if he had told them wouldnt have.

Hehehehehe! I laugh in Eniong

Hmmm RIP

Kip resting in God, Muna.

Sassy Blog said...

Every one is going to pay d debt of death one day or anoda one tin we should pray is dat we shld all life a fulfilled and purpose driven life and make HEAVEN @ LAST

sweetie said...

His colleagues are busy campaigning for corruption president. The so call Hollywood president ll come out to say dat she didn't make any contribution to d burial cos is family didn't tell her is death. It's a pity. RIP

Its better I talk dan die in silence,, the life is too sweet.. God knows best. RIP cute man.

May the soul of the faithful departed through the merciful of God rest in peace. Amen

She should have used the F word
Tho many pple are lying about helping assuming they know, but leave everything to God
Sorry for ur loss

May his soul rest in peace, but my dear u don't need to continue robbing ur late brothers ego and pride even after his death.He only became a private person d minute he got hit by his ailment, shame did not allow him to reach out to his colleagues thereby leading to his death.If u say his death wus rapid how do u explain rapid when he underwent dialysis for one year under which ur so called Uncles where planning to come home to operate on him.Its obvious he wus a victim of d polygamous conspiracy dat bore d two of u.U wicked decisions has caused him his life couple with his ego and pride.He wus an A List actor if u don't know and he had a big fan base in Ghana due to his professional way of acting.U his family encouraged his silence when he could ve gotten d much needed help from friends and wel wishers,but instead u talking about ur family.Is it ur family dat buys all films he ever acted in don't u know he is a celebrity and as such he is state property, family my foot.Its best u shot ur mouth and let him rest in peace and we his fans mourn than u get us angry with ur insensitive comments.

Zamani said...

Loud mouthed sis. Hehe. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

I'm just wondering why his uncles couldn't send for him to meet them up since it wasn't so easy for them to come. At least to give it the needed urgency. All the same it is well. May God continue to console those whom his death affects most.

Ono said...

Great loss! May God help you and your family to move ahead, holding onto the beautiful memories of the impact he has made while on earth. God rest his soul... Amen. Please visit my blog for ways to deal with pain and heal easily. www.thepinkjournalng.blogspot.com.

I dnt entirely blv d cock $ bull shit ds lady talkd abt. Muna was sick 4 a whole year, somtn as serios as kidney failure, yet u ddnt do anytn abt it $ then suddnly wen ur so called uncles planned 2 com operate on him, he died. LIAR. Wat is ur fmly tryn 2 protect; der pride? So dat ppl won't say u all were handicappd 2 help Muna (RIP. Cryn). If der is anybody 2 call "fuck", its u $ ur fmly who though hv d resources 2 help him, ddnt do dat tl he died. Bunch of liars. As 4 d actors $ actresses; his colleagues, wen Muna died, u were all sayn, "Muna ddnt ask 4 help, Muna ddnt ask 4 help." During d burial, hw many of u were der 2 pay him d last respect? U all r Idiots. I'll rathr gv my rspect 2 d dogs than gv it 2 u actors $ actresses again. Hope u all r aware dat one of u, Uche James is also down wt kidney issues, diabetes $ HBP. U'll pretnd u dnt kno, 2moro u'll com out 2 say rubbish. Pretenders. Nkita rachaakwa unu nile anya. RIP Muna

Different different story, I tire too for the story of family planning to operate while he is planning for stage play. The only thing I agree is, the sickness and death happened so fast.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

I know this half sister (not step sister, lady) is grieving but what's up with F you, you people..who are the people? And when did October to January add up to 1 yr? Isn't that just 3 mths. What does she mean her uncles were coming to do transplant? With whose kidneys? And does family perform surgery on themselves? They will just come with random kidneys and operate on their nephew? Pshew may Muna RIP jare

Why is she being rude? Text Fortune to 33020.

Ma sista dey prefer to go4 campaign than pay dia last respect...

vivian chekwube...... don't believe everything you read. you should know that!

Dafe write via old itel mobile

So sad

You can tell she is pained. still hard to believe he is dead. RIP Muna

Chinwe your brother is a private person. I assume he also died privately. Talking about a private person with 'fuck you' terms is not helping issues.

Chop Chop said...

I feel your pain. "I'm going to use this thing - Fuck them!"

For good one year u have been on daily treatment yet ur uncles re no were to be found. ...Using the word. .Fuck them...is a big mistake u made in an interview publicly. ....rip muna

I can tell 50% lies in her words, 3months is enough to arrange for transplant not to talk of 1 year. If his colleagues failed him den his family members equally did. Am very sure the Doctor adviced dem but the so called uncles waited till it was too late. Well dis isn't the time to aportion blame cos God knows y He allowed it.

Very sad story...

And they would have bought 2 kidneys The abattoir? Do you know how hard it is to find a matching kidney talk less of two? Stop showing how daft u are, u have a pretty face. It's better u don't speak at all, it's a turn off.

Thanks

Young lady, compose urself before interviews.
1.Are ur uncles doctors or were they coming to donate their kidneys?
2.Kidney disorders cause sudden onset hypertension especially in young people,not the other way round
3.Constant dialysis gives u time to plan for transplant(Of which u wasted precious time)
RIP Muna! Deed done,lets stop the blame game

Kaz said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace

Hmmmmmm! So two bad kkidneys was not enof 4 ur "uncles" to hurry back 2 Nigeria, dt they were still plannin oooo in a whole one year. Babe abeg go hide. she actually sounds lyk someone who had not bin close to Muna 4 real b4 he died sef. Just let him rest n stop callin stupid publicity to ursef der oooo.

She could be his step sister if his father raised her as his own even if she's not biologically his. Some men do raise their spouse's children as if they were their own.

Wow!

I like dis words of her's "'m going to use this thing - Fuck them! Now that he's dead, those people that said assuming he'd said he was sick they would have helped, did they come to contribute to his burial?"...

She said it all.

Rip muna

Stories of people dying from a lack of charitable donations for their healthcare indict the system. A young man dies for not being able to afford his medical treatment. SMH. Some sort of mechanism should have been in place either to subsidize or wholly fund his care.

Why is she being rude? Text Fortune to 33020.

Are you dumb....can't you read that the illness started last year October...is it up to a year....besides in kidney failure you need to have dialysis done first before dictors determine if you need a transplant

You choose to believe something somebody wrote you read somewhere over what a close relative is saying....you're not very smart are you?

Hmmm.

www.motherlandjobs.com

Vickyfabulous said...

RIP Muna, as in I still cnt believe he is dead.. This is a shocker!

The bottom line is dis, he drinks n smoke knowing fully well his sick. RIP ejyke in jerry amilo's voice via across the border.

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

The bottom line is dis, he drinks n smoke knowing fully well his sick. RIP ejyke in jerry amilo's voice via across the border.

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

MY dear, cry no more... your broda will never die again... May his soul Rest in peace Amen

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

MY dear, cry no more... your broda will never die again... May his soul Rest in peace Amen

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

God knows best.

Shekeleke said...

Very sad! I not happy on that-Pst.Chekeleke

Shekeleke said...

Very sad! I not happy on that-Pst.Chekeleke

Most kidney diseases actually affect both kidneys. The high BP he had was probably a manifestation of the kidney disease and not the cause of the kidney disease as high BP has to be present for many years before causing kidney failure. In summary if u are below 40 and u have high BP, pls check ur kidneys. May muna's soul rest in peace. Amen.

One thing I have always known is that lies and the truth don't hide.... this woman or lady woreva... had it all over her face that she was telling lies ad didn't care about Muna at all..... we planning to come and operate on him indeed...If they had a very busy schedule... why didn't they make plans for him to go meet them for the surgery instead... smh

Damilola said...

Yup most people get it mixed up

Hmmmmmmmm RIP muna!

What is this mumu saying na? Becos u are on set in diff locations u won't have time to take ur medicine? Sometin of life and death? Which kind mumu talk be this na? My dear normal kidney failure is when both kidneys aren't functioning properly(removing the waste from ur body) if na one kidney fail u no go even know say ur kidney dey faulty. Babe must u do this interview?

K.P Hannibal said...

What's ur business with that? Even if he wants to stage a play, can't his family still want to operate on him....Please mind your business and let his soul rest in peace..

Few actors that were interviewed in the burial kept saying that young people should mind how they consume alcohol and smokes. I think that gives a link to something we all don't really know about.

It is well.

When it's TIME to go..... u av to go......GOD SAVE US FROM UNTIMELY DEATH!!!!RIP MUNA!!

It is so sad that this young man died out of proper early diagnosis of his kidney failure, I believe because of his failing kidney he had persistent high BP. It is a none fact that one of the symptoms of failing kidney is rising high blood pressure. One of the functions of the kidney is to regulate blood pressure. So sad may his rest in peace.

@EDDY u and dis ur heat Nepa(aka PHCN,ei) no dey give una light........make u no surfocate and traveloooo.

My sister I no buy the story at all.....fuck her back.

What a great loss

Let God pray for his soul

May soul rest in peace

So sad, RIP Muna

Favour belle said...

It really happen fast...take heart the obiekwe's family, God knows best

Bounteous said...

Since he's dead now pls give the donation for his children upkeep or give them scholarship to good schools to show u really care. I'm talking or Nollywood

RIP Muna...God knows best!

iyke cindy said...

Such questn comin frm@ Christie Benjamin am so disappointed..exactly wat anonymous 5:33am said were u xpectin dem to replace his(muna's) wit dat of a goat or sum sort? Findin a matchin kidney is diff let alone 2!! Evrytin happened so fast like his half sis said...RIP Muna...

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Eya so sorry ooo

Too bad. They should let the dead rest!

FNP said...

May His soul rest in perfect peace

Kenny said...

fine he can be private about it, but letting your blood pressure get uncontrolled to the extent that it sshuts down blood supply to both kidneys is pretty crazy. the kidneys take a major amount of blood supply so i wonder why his doctor didnt give his such info. for God sakes Kidney failure that shuts down two kidneys must av been chronic so you had time to prepare for the inevitable.

Daft and stupid talk yall read shit and conclude ursef eis dead d foolish geh s still judging hypocrite

Well done lady for your sweet story. You must have something sweet to say in order to protect your immediate family. Muna died and was buried this way because he had no immediate family (father, mother, brother or sister) to cater for him.so just keep your mouth shot and pray God's mercies on those your uncles who were in a better position to save the life of this talented young man but did not

She was referring to those faking ignorance of his illness, people like you...

It's well, may His soul continue to rest in peace.

all you niggas can eat dicks infact a big bag of munas dicks and to his step sis fuck u too bitch ,ugly stupid bitch go and die like your brother stupid fool

infact fuck u niggas to ALL THE piece of shit niggas infact muna EAT A DICK OLD MAN AND UR STUPID UGLY SISTER AS WELL

infact fuck u niggas to piece of shit niggas infact muna EAT A DICK OLD MAN AND UR STUPID UGLY SISTER AS WELL