Canadian university offers Cristiano Ronaldo course | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 February 2015

Canadian university offers Cristiano Ronaldo course

A Canadian university is offering fans of Cristiano Ronaldo the opportunity to take a course on the Real Madrid star.

The University of British Columbia Okanagan is enrolling for a fourth-year sociology module on Ronaldo due to his popularity and influence on Portuguese and global society.

Luis LM Aguiar, associate professor of sociology in UBC Okanagan’s Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences, said: "Sociology is nothing if not the delving into the processes of structuring identities and experiences and exposing the social forces that push these processes.

"In this case, I'm interested in how Ronaldo has been used to construct several discourses about who he is, what makes him distinct as a footballer, what is his relationship to Portugal, Madeira (his hometown) and indeed Portuguese identity."

During the semester-long course, students will examine the stereotypical image of Ronaldo and the Portuguese diaspora.

"Ronaldo is said to embody features and characteristics of speed, strength, competetiveness, dogged work ethic, discipline, and adaptability," added Aguiar on news.ok.ubc.ca.

"These features are also in a sense 'very Portuguese' since the Portuguese outside the homeland are nothing if not constructed as hard workers, disciplined and determined. Even as a global athlete transcending geographical boundaries, Ronaldo cannot  escape the stereotypical constructions of 'the Portuguese'.

"My two greatest passions are football and critical sociology. A course on Cristiano Ronaldo gives me the opportunity to combine the two.

"While I’m an admirer of Ronaldo, I’m also a sociologist interested in understanding the social and economic forces driving the various constructions of this athlete and what this says about our contemporary values and culture."

Ronaldo is not the first Madrid name to become the subject of higher education. Staffordshire University offered students the chance to take a module in 'David Beckham studies' prior to the former England captain's move from Manchester United to Spain.

Culled from Goal.com

67 comments:

1. Good 4 dem,we will give Tiwa Savage a course too!

1. Wow. Just like Beyonce. He'll be studied. Congrants to him. Its a honor.

2. LOL.My love. He deserves it.

3. Nice one and congrats to them...

2. Good 4 dem,we will give Tiwa Savage a course too!

3. Heheehehe. Course kwa. Oga ooo

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

4. Just say this prayer this night : Lord lift me high, bless the works of my hand. Amen. Isah 43:19. @Bishop_Dammy

5. Dem sick! I hope they include all his angers and red card syndrome in the course as well

1. Let me go and study Socrates and read up on Greek mythology please.

6. Mind you, you need to work and not faint. Cristiano Ronaldo is a hardworker.. a very hard working man... and the hands that work must eat especially when God is involved. 1 thess 3:10. @Bishop_Dammy

7. Linda, i have plenty work to do, you cannot bewitch me today. 3:12PM and i haven't achieved anything today.Bye bye to your blog biko.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

8. I hope his dribbling skills will be included in the syllabus

9. That's how you know stars and legends.....congrats to those that will be interested.....you don't. Force fame but it came to you.....#that is the words of Bey#

••••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

10. Really hmm! After graduation you will look for work tire for Nijah, I will pass!!!

11. Duh! I'll rather go for Messiology. god made man.

12. Abeg so that what will happen?

13. Really hmm! After graduation you will look for work tire for Nijah, I will pass!!!

14. This is stupid! I love CR7 but this is just plain BS.

15. Would love to participate in the course

16. Mr Kingsley, what re u study in school, I study christiano Ronaldo.lol.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

17. Oshisco, if dem study am finish. Make dem use go practice, mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

18. Oshisco, if dem study am finish. Make dem use go practice, mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

19. CARRY MONEY GO STUDY A PERSONALTY FOR SCHOOL.WHICH COMPANY WILL EMPLOY WITH SUCH CERTIFICATE?....AKA....NONSENSE

20. He deserve it bcurs he is a legend

21. hehehehehe.......its okkkkk.......Study well,to those who may want to

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

22. Which kin job I go come get ehh ? This people dey craze ..... Its like you don't have problems in your country .

23. good 4 his fans,
    cant spend my hard-earned money
    on such........

24. He is a legend. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

25. Wow he is a genius. LIB EMPIRE

26. Ok. Gd for dem. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

27. Na wa ! Soon students will start offering courses on Theresa ,mother Theresa n d oda tessys' about wot makes dem unique :)

28. Ojai says" that's how they also offer beyounce as a course in america too

29. Nice one, congrats 2 them, man u son for life

30. Nice one.
    @Carlos via Nokia Lumia

31. wonderful

32. what about Lionel Messi?

33. Beyounce, jay Z, rihanna etc now chritiano ronald0 course

34. Afta d course where I go get employment

35. Good for him,and for those who don't know Nigerian musician Brymo was also studied by Southern Illinois University, Carbondale as a Project Course just last year so don't feel he is d first to be studied.#Nijarep#

36. Good for him,and for those who don't know Nigerian musician Brymo was also studied by Southern Illinois University, Carbondale as a Project Course just last year so don't feel he is d first to be studied.
    Also have one thing in mind that those who offer this courses are trying to diversify Sociology as a course.
    Studying such courses are seen as a motivating factor for the students since these celebrities are their Role Models#Nijarep#

37. Good for him,and for those who don't know Nigerian musician Brymo was also studied by Southern Illinois University, Carbondale as a Project Course just last year so don't feel he is d first to be studied.
    Also have one thing in mind that those who offer this courses are trying to diversify Sociology as a course.
    Studying such courses are seen as a motivating factor for the students since these celebrities are their Role Models#Nijarep#

38. Dumb ass comments ! Dumb ass commenters ! Such a shame ! Dull people meet in the comment section and constitute nuisancery all over the place !

39. Mehn, when we go take course of Nigerian player

40. Welcome to unemployment, ya'll naieve teens in colleges willing to take a four years program of joblessness and waste of time and money. who will employ you with a degree in christaino? even KFC will never employ such person. colleges need to be sued for theft and decite. y'all are only after the kids money and not his future. school now is a big business.

41. Can they offer a course just for men on how to get that sculpted bod?

42. Everybody wants ronaldo. Visit this link http://youthincome.com/?user=1404

43. Good for him! Good for Soccer!

44. I love this course

45. All these universities are so not serious, offering courses centred around celebrities!

46. Pure madness though am his fan...white men shud kip their madness 2demselves alone...which firm will employ those graduates if i must ask abi na N.G.O