Nigerian army relocates over 200 female soldiers from Maiduguri in anticipation of Boko Haram attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 January 2015

Nigerian army relocates over 200 female soldiers from Maiduguri in anticipation of Boko Haram attack

According to a report by Sahara Reporters, the Nigerian military authorities are moving female soldiers based in various army formations in Maiduguri and other parts of Borno State to Abuja as the army anticipates a massive attack on Maiduguri, the Borno State capital, by Boko Haram.
The sources said there was heightened apprehension about an impending attack, hence the decision to reassign female soldiers to Nigeria’s capital. The military action also stemmed from the death of five female soldiers and the abduction of another four by Boko Haram militants when they attacked a military base in Baga a few weeks ago.
Following recent intelligence indicating that Boko Haram militants were strategizing on a fierce offensive to capture Maiduguri before the February 14 elections, the army moved more than 70 female soldiers last week.
One of our sources revealed that 146 more female soldiers had been moved to Maiduguri airport, where they are awaiting airlift to Abuja. The source said that all the female soldiers were supposed to have left by 10 a.m. on Thursday, but added that the military did not have a large enough aircraft to take their entire luggage.
The security sources also told SaharaReporters that Maimalari Barracks, home to the 7th Division of the Nigerian Army, is the only military base left standing in Borno State. Maimalari was described as the only military formation capable of withstanding a major attack from Boko Haram militants. One source said that Nigerian military intelligence had received information that Islamist militants were regrouping in areas around Maiduguri in preparation for a major offensive against the city. 
The Islamist fighters’ attempt to take over the state capital last week was foiled, with Nigerian troops and civilian vigilante members collaborating to kill more than 100 terrorists. However, the militants successfully overran Monguno Barrack, killing and injuring many soldiers.

88 comments:

1. Yeso, before those BH beast capture them n pieces their bodies.

2. Chaiiiii. God hv mercy on us ooo. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

3. Pheeeeew,May God restore peace.Amin.

4. Pheeeeew,May God restore peace.Amin.

5. Pheeeeew,May God restore peace.Amin.

6. I don't take sahara report sometimes....but if true then its for their own safety

•••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

7. Ok this is actually commendable.. may the Lord be with you all. We will prevail in Jesus name. Psalm 46:1. @Bishop_Dammy

8. May God almighty help our soldiers to fight the battle.

9. Ehn ehn!? Na now oga jona remember say him get work? Where him day all dis years wen boko boys were terrorizing ?election na next home him know say he suppose protect pple,we aren't dat gullible again!! If u like bring d chibok girls back today, u will not win d election!!! Next

10. Is good idea, to prevent the female solders.

11. Good for them.I wish them goodluck as they continue to fight to save us.kudos to u all n may God be with u all our great men of war.

12. Very good, so that boko haram will not make them their wives.

................'''' PRAY4NIGERIA '''' ...................

13. That's a Nice step. www.ikeani.blogspot.com

14. The solution is to fight them wit massive airstrike, bt as 4 diz female soliders dat they are transferring i dunno wot 2say o bcos e get one military woman wey slap me for 82div enugu, na there i confam sey female solider fit strong pass d male ones.

15. Are u a young man with a big dream? Make ur dream come true as u participate in advertising our new company online and earn up to #20,000 weekly including a chance to get a job with us. Visit http:// bit.ly/1AtDWNj today and start earning this same today. Ur future is in your hand choose wisely

16. Ok next...............................#KingOfKings #6God

17. thats so good cos thier chidren needs them

18. God, please grant our armies victory. Any further attack from the book haram will fail IJN. Amen

19. My God.. This is war, pls fight for ur children!!

20. Nice move's...

We can defeat BH if we truly want to. Where r our strategic to carry out dis???

There must b proactive and committed men who wil giv their life to dis course. God b blessed to touch lives that wil stand and fight dis to d last.

How I wish I was in d military... Action! Action!! Action!!! Nothing less. No talking.

21. Nice move's...

We can defeat BH if we truly want to. Where r our strategic to carry out dis???

There must b proactive and committed men who wil giv their life to dis course. God b blessed to touch lives that wil stand and fight dis to d last.

How I wish I was in d military... Action! Action!! Action!!! Nothing less. No talking.

22. Feel so bad for these poor soldiers risking their lives for a country whose govt doesn't even appreciate them!

23. God! Hear our cry. These re husbands and fathers fighting for us .

@Sophia Stephen

24. Hmm... This is becoming increasingly fearful

25. Nice development as women are highly vulnerable. All is well

26. Nice development as women are highly vulnerable. All is well

27. Let's pray for their safety..

28. Good decision

29. female soodiers ke....cant dey go for war

#LIBBOO
    I WILL RATHER BE SELF MADE

30. They better move them fast b4 these evil men will kidnap and turn them to sex slaves...

31. They better move them fast b4 these evil men will kidnap and turn them to sex slaves...

32. so women nor fit fight na im dem go do army work. if na to slap die husband age dem go dey smart

33. Why are relocating dem nw
    Some female soldiers can't fight now

34. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    So ladies have been fighting along side the male soldiers self...... lord have mercy.

35. Boko Haram has easy access to a large pool of young people to 'recruit' while the Nigerian Army has limited, valuable human resources, trained and nurtured over many years. What we need is to mount a massive public enlightenment campaign on the parents and relations of the BH potential recruits. Let them be there for their children, save them from themselves. Else, this may never end, till our stock of soldiers is either exhausted, or they refuse to fight anymore. But God forbid.

36. Boko Haram has easy access to a large pool of young people to 'recruit' while the Nigerian Army has limited, valuable human resources, trained and nurtured over many years. What we need is to mount a massive public enlightenment campaign on the parents and relations of the BH potential recruits. Let them be there for their children, save them from themselves. Else, this may never end, till our stock of soldiers is either exhausted, or they refuse to fight anymore. But God forbid.

37. Odiegwu. When will this end?

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

38. I v always wondered y female soldiers shld b deployed 2 such zones, in d first place. It shldnt be, if u ask me.

39. WHY???NO BE SOLDIER WORK DEY WAN DO?

40. Wot of d villagers, are dey waiting for another massacre to happen b4 dey take to their heels. Linda take note!

41. Wot of d villagers, are dey waiting for another massacre to happen b4 dey take to their heels. Linda take note!

42. Wot of d villagers, are dey waiting for another massacre to happen b4 dey take to their heels. Linda take note!

43. Wot of d villagers, are dey waiting for another massacre to happen b4 dey take to their heels. Linda take note!

44. To be forewarned is to be forearmed

45. Nawaoh is gonna be well. We will survive.

46. Hmmm. Wonder when the north will be safe again.

47. only God we help us ooo on election day n after election day cox we don't knw wat we in for

48. Abeg o make dem comot dem b4 dem turn to chibok girls oo..

49. God help Nigeria. We really need God's intervention.

50. Whether females or males, they are Soldiers... this is wat they've been trained for...instead of leaving more soldiers should join dem to fight BH.... BH is regrouping Nigerian Army should do the same instead of leaving the state... Na wa for this country ooo

51. As good as this may sound, whatever happened to offensives?...while an attack is in progress what happens to air support, what happens to sending a recon squad behind enemy lines to find intelligence...or whatever happens to completely ensuring non-escapes and some captured alive for further information harvesting? You can do better than just a sitting duck waiting to be attacked. Its very unproactive, unprofessional, and extremely depressing.

52. Linda if Nigerian army can give us weapons we are ready to fight this people even with or without the help of our Nigerian soldiers......

53. Dey had beta do dat very fast cos i dnt knw y dey re even posting female soldiers 2 bornu in d 1st place

54. why move them . are not soldiers?

55. This fool operating Sahara Reporters, should take serious time. That guy is Naija's Snowden

56. Is there a way they can stop making some of this news, just so that they (boko haram )won't know what they are up against

57. Only if the army could find a way of not letting the terrorists know that they (the army) know of their plans my blabbing it all over the media. Why not move the soldiers quietly and lay a heavy ambush? They militants won't attack if they already planned it at this point.

58. Good 4 em. Cant imagine our female National pride falling in the hands of these retarded savages.

59. Why must our solders always wait for the to attack ? We need to be proactive with intelligence gathering and surprise them by hitting them massively at their base.

60. No now..... Women empowerment.....the women want to be involved in serious combat....don't move them...

61. Sahara Reporters and delicate news?

#RollWithMe & #RollWithMe

62. Sahara Reporters and delicate news?

63. Sahara Reporters and delicate news?

64. Biko, let me tell u guys, right now the terrorists are camping very close to Maiduguri and their positions are well known & have been reported to the military but nothing is being done. Honestly I have come to the conclusion that GEJ has concede Borno State to BH in exchange to winning election or something, I don't know. See ehn, where they are now, u'll need just a single fighter jet to rain bombs on them & they are gone. Note, there is nothing like "thick forest" in Maiduguri as I've heard ignorant pple say, this is a desert, with no place to hide, even the infamous Sambisa is a sparse of wasteland with dried shrubs & trees.(Infact, if only I can type well ehn! I would open ur eyes to all the propaganda abt this BH war, hmmm, U've been fed lies o!) But no, they are allowed to mobilize & attack at will. Fleeing villagers have pin point their location 'very close' to Maiduguri. From all indications, there is plan to surrender the city to them. I am from the south by the way & am leaving 2moro, to hell with my job! But I just wonder what the president & the military are playing at. For someone that has been in Maid for 12yrs, I can tell u that BH are not as strong as u were/are made to believe, the military can finish them any day they decide to do that. From 2009 to date, over 30,000 thousand pple have lost their lives to BH attack(including the military) and more are still 'allowed' to die while BH are DELIBERATELY allowed to thrive. Why oh why??? I just wonder.....
    Note: this 'rant' has no sentiment or political connatation(isn't everything I said visible sef?) I don't care who rule Nigeria, I am just amazed & worried for my country & the lives lost daily, May the Almighty God bless Nigeria!!

65. Kudos to our gallant soldiers! We will win this hooligans called boko haram

66. well I kinda agree with the move if the report is true

67. ...I don't understand. A soldier is a soldier. How can anything sensible come out of a country that's still thinking like their in high school in the middle of war. Before you know it, they'll say Sun is too much. RUBBISH!