My younger sister died of heart related ailment - Pres. Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 January 2015

My younger sister died of heart related ailment - Pres. Jonathan

President Jonathan says his late younger sister, Mrs Nancy Oleic-Jonathan, who died on Jan. 4th, died of heart related ailment. The president made this known today while speaking at her funeral at Stephen’s Anglican Church, Otuoke, Bayelsa State.
"Nancy that died was my immediate younger sister, though we were not from the same mother.I was very sad when she died because I knew she has been passing through pains for a very long time. Sometimes I felt God has been really kind to her. She started developing probems with her heart when I was deputy governor, then I started asking questions. I asked my personal physician where do we treat her. My doctor told me that the nearest place to treat her was Ghana. So I said we have so many teaching hospitals in Nigeria and none can attempt to work on a human heart. I was worried. But today I am happy that University of Ibadan is handling open heart surgery. We thank God she was able to live above the golden age of 50,” Jonathan said.
Mrs Oleic-Jonathan was survived by a husband and six children. Pics from the burial after the cut..

134 comments:

1. Awwww too Bad.. Rest Ma'am..
    .Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

1. Farris God o
      When it is time to win election by force .their relations GI dey die .
      What is hidden from man is open to God o
      May her soul rest in peace

2. RIP...

I pray God gives him 2nd chance to assist Nigerians to get thru. Amen!

God bless him.

2. Na Mrs Oleic-Jonathan? Not Mrs Jonathan-Oleic? Big name good o.

1. Your sis died of heart related diseases.. Ppl in baga died of a bomb blast. . Which one is more horrible.. please tell your story to the gods abeg!

2. Gosh, campaigning with Ur sister death, too bad Mr. President...

3. Was she ever treated in any of the hospitals? RIP

1. My thoughts exactly cos he mentioned Ghana and Ibadan so where did she finally get treated until her demise?

RIP Ma

4. Take heart.
    @Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

5. Why didn't he fly her abroad!

6. May her soul rest in peace

7. Why didn't he fly her abroad for treatment!

8. Mr jona is campaigning with his sisters death o...when he was d deputy of bayelsa state no hospital cld carry out open heart surgery but nw it is possible.ok na

9. She cud av bn treated in Ghana but U didnt take her there.........WHYt?????

10. Eya...

This Man is a strong Man...He has gone through a lot

"Heaven on earth!!! Wonders without end,that's my new realm"

1. Becos his sister died, does that mean he has gone through a lot??? What of the parents of the chibok girls!

He is just a wicked man for using his late sister has a campaign tool

11. R.I.P to her...again!!

12. RIP...
    We wil get there...

"Roman wAs not built in a day".

13. he shud av tried to improve our health sector

14. very unfortunate! RIP

15. May her soul rest in peace

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

16. Aww. May her soul rest in peace

17. using his sister's death to score cheap political points, rly how low can this man go.

18. So u couldn't fly her to Ghana? I feel the poor woman was abandoned when she needed u the most plus she looks too ordinary and unkempt for a president's sister. Well, what do I know?

19. May her soul rest in perfect peac

20. After your physician suggested Ghana. What was your next line of action?

1. She was abandoned. Mama Peace would not allow her treatment abroad.

21. saura kai dan gidin uwar Jonathan.. jst saying

22. Eeeyah, sorry 4 d loss oga Jona. Linda take note!

23. Non of our freaking business..... Do u know how many pple sister die from that as well? If it's pity u want, save it.....we ain't voting for you out of pity this time again

24. I can now see the reason why the president's mother was gorgeously dress to the new year thanksgiving service instead of still mourning her few days after her demise just bcos she's not her biological mother.

25. ok..nexttttt...........................#KingOfKings #6God

26. Linda's daughter23 January 2015 at 22:28

Rip ma'm

27. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    May her soul RIP......

28. University of Ibadan! Still leading
    My condolences Mr President on the passing of your sister

29. But you and your wife always go to Germany for medical check ups and treatments. HIPOCRISY!!! God is always watching.

1. Hmnmn y was he asking for the nearest place? Does he go to d nearest place wen he has health issues? Maybe cos she's not his mum's child that's y 'nearest' (did someone say cheapest?) Became priority instead of 'best'.

30. Our humble Presido, may God comfort you and all the loved ones she left behind.

31. Eeyyaa Pele Mr President but I'm not gonna fall for this just like my kinsmen fell for the 'I had no shoe' story during the last election.

32. Seriously come to think of it, she was being treated in a Nigerian hospital and passed on in Nigeria. That is something worth noting about this president hate him or like him. His children I hear also attend school in Nigeria. Anyway,, my sympathies Sir

33. I have to admit that I find the humility of Mr President refreshing. In a country with so many gra gra...
    RIP madam

34. God resists the proud but gives grace to the humble. May God comfort you and grant you more grace because of your humility.

35. May her soul rest in peace. Be comforted my dear president.

Go on nothing do you

36. It is well. May her husband and children be comforted in this time.

37. Very good that UI is still leading! Yep UI! No one should be jealous of UI. Graduates of UI are not born to rule but born to lead! It is well Presido. Please take heart.

38. This our president is humble. More grace to you.

39. Take heart Mr president, may her soul rest in perfect peace. May God give the husband and children she left behind the encouragement to carry on

40. To use your sisters funeral to score a cheap political point is crass and low. If your government had been systematically upgrading the health sector from inception of the six years you have been in power. There would have been no need for such a statement. Every State in Nigeria should have hospitals capable of performing open heart surgery, period. The worst part of this is that we have capable doctors, but all the money necessary to buy training, equipment and build equipped facilities are been stolen and stashed away to spend on frivolities and oppress the same people you are all canvassing now to vote for you. Which way Nigeria?

1. Pls you can spare us this lectures ok. You won't be getting any supports here. Buharite

41. Heart failure, kidney failure is not for children of God. RIP

42. God bless you sir.

43. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

44. Is only long his I hv 4 him mtcheeeeeew!!!!!!! Greediness is badd it is very very bad

45. RIP

46. Oga Jona why u no fly her abroad na? If na u or mama peace small headache na Germany wuna go rush go. God d watch wuna for Him plasma TV o soon wuna cup go FULL

47. MR EDDY said this Heat wan kill person o. I miss Harmattan.
    May her soul continue to rest in peace.

^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

48. Heyaa,rip ma.take hrt jona

49. I'm sorry..did he say the golden age of 50???? If he died after the golden age of 50 he wouldn't be here....

MAMA IFU

1. Thanks for the observation. Thought I was the only one who saw it. Golden age of 50 ... in this modern age! That guy is clueless, in every sense of that word.

50. See as mama peace be. Nor single grace or poise. Gosh.

51. RIP mam bt i found it very absurd bringing politics in2 places like dat.I rest my case 4 nw

52. He didn't offer all the help he could..so conspicuous

53. Nigeria need more specialist hospitals.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

54. You for begin dey use her death dey campaign now. Mumu!

1. Sharap trash talking buharite. Shame is waiting for you come february

55. Sacrificial tinz

56. Sorry for your loss.

57. D afflictions mr president has face is just too much but thanks b to God that u r not consume

58. may her soul rest in peace. anon 10:50. i agree with you. this administration went as far as canceling residency program to threaten doctors to return to work. johesu has being on strike for forever,nobody is saying anything. what our leaders dont realize is that there are some emergencies that will arise that they will not be able to travel abroad for and they will have to fall back on our illequipped hospitals. God help nigeria. amen

1. I agree with u. So sad, health system in Nigeria is so backward, n our so called govt don't care

59. This buhari people you all sure think lik WAEC statement of result holders not even WAEC certificate holders.think from you head not your ASS. U turn things upside now.how can a professor assist a WAEC statement of result holder.jst lik a WAEC statement of result bossing a degree holder in a company let alone a professor.
    Nigerians know thy self.

60. This buhari people you all sure think lik WAEC statement of result holders not even WAEC certificate holders.think from you head not your ASS. U turn things upside now.how can a professor assist a WAEC statement of result holder.jst lik a WAEC statement of result bossing a degree holder in a company let alone a professor.
    Nigerians know thy self.

61. Awww,may her sou,rip

62. Dear Mr. President. dont m,ind all the noise going on. You have tried for Nigeria and God will ensure you win this election In Jesus Name. My two knees are on the ground for your success. God bless you GEJ, God bless Niaja!!

63. Abeg is Patience pregnant ni?

64. Fayose should take note

65. So? did u leave work or school because u lost a close relative? some comments make wonder....*sigh*

66. death is inevitable, RIP madam

67. T.boz#padi Lindodo24 January 2015 at 05:27

Shame on you Sir. Using your younger sister's wedding as an opportunity to campaign? If ibadan now does Open heart surgeries, why wasn't she operated on? Moreover, if it was you, would u have been comfortable for your heart to be opened anywhere in this country?

68. Is it my eyes or the woman looks like obj's sis...and mama p dat ur belle na world class oo...and mr Jonathan what a shame that ur sis couldn't be taken out of the country for just a mere heart condition...isn't it heavy in ur mouth to say that the president of the federal republic of naija couldn't handle...what a shame see the way she looks even

69. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com24 January 2015 at 09:45

Why are people like this? if he had flown her out, they would say why didn't he treat her in Nigeria. Now she is treated in Nigeria they are saying why not abroad. Na wa for human beings.

70. OK. Jona don sacrifice this one for 2015....Not be so?

71. You see people can never be satisfied. you fly the sister abroad, problem. You treat her and she die in Naija , problem. My pple, my pple you just like to complain. Only you is right, odikpa tough ooooo!

72. Kai.N d sister's funeral turns into another political speech.Mr President,most Nigerian teaching hospitals can handle open heart surgery if they were well equipped,something u have refused to do in your 6yrs of being our president.so we shud clap for u dat only one teaching hospital in Naija can do open heart surgery cos of ur ineptitude? Ur sister had heart issues n could have been treated in any hospital in Naija but I m sure d issue was d strike by Johesu members, a battle btw Doctors n Johesu which ur regime has helped to fuel instead of settle.it is well. Sai Buhari

73. This president has now sunk into an all time low. Capitalizing upon n using the demise of his sister to gain cheap political points is indeed frightening.
    Thankfully some of us can see right through the deceit and treachery of trying to evoke cheap sympathy with the sad and untimely passing of the poor woman.
    What if I may ask did Mr.President do to assist the woman while she was alive.Can he honestly say he exhausted all resources available to him to ensure his "sister" got adequate medical help abroad. Yes abroad!! cos lets face it, our health care is shit. Last time I checked it wasn't illegal to go abroad for medical help. And to be honest its not even not as expensive as most people make out. Some major procedures are not even as expensive as a brand new car.
    So Mr.President I hope in your private time, when everyone is gone, you'll look back n realize that you failed your sister.. and i hope it eats you up like crazy..
    but who are we kidding. This president lost his conscience a long time ago..

74. Blood suckers,u lost ur brother not up to a year,now u celebrate new year with ur siser's soul:

75. Blood suckers,u lost ur brother not up to a year,now u celebrate new year with ur siser's soul:

76. Wetin make we come do o oga Jona, malaria dey kill millions for 9ja nobody talk, ur sis come die u dey cry. Na political cry abi na wetin? Enter bush jare

77. I personallt think Goodluck shouldn't have focused on the "campaign - University of Ibadan, open heart surgery; he should have focused on the feelings of the husband and children and on other family members even if he wasn't too concerned at the time"
    Just my thought.......

78. Apc fans y are u pple jst killing ursef 4 notin, we shall knw com Feb 14th 2015

79. Mind ur business APC fans

80. D story no compete oo! since Ghana was d nearest option, was she taken dere or 2d Ibadan teaching hospital...
    I guess if she was he's biological sis, he wld hv gone an extra mile!!!!

Just Saying!!!

81. RIP. Is mama Patience pregnant?