Article written by flamboyant psychologist - Adejoro Olumofin aka "Doktor" Mofin
Let's talk Volume 1. (Should married women cut off their single friends?). Psychometrics has shown that some married women cut off their single friends. This has ended long term friendships, even with siblings, caused envy, strained childhood relationships and created bitter rivalries.
Should married women have only married friends? Some married women who have cut their friends off claim that :
(1) Their focus has changed and they no longer have similar interests or anything in common with their single friends
(2) They don't want to get tempted back into single ladies behavioural pattern or lifestyle such that they develop a level of respect for being married
(3) They don't want their single friends close to their husbands because of temptation on both sides as well as keeping boundaries of respect for their spouse..
(4) The believe that single ladies are jealous of them and could therefore be a threat to their marriage in one way or another
(5) Disapproval of certain friends from the spouse
(6) Some friends have always opposed and still oppose their marriage and are always looking to pick a fault in either the spouse or the marriage
(7) The feeling of superiority over single friends from the idea that there is somewhat a level attained above them
(8)Protection from talking to friends about their marriages and giving them the gun to use against them
(2) They don't want to get tempted back into single ladies behavioural pattern or lifestyle such that they develop a level of respect for being married
(3) They don't want their single friends close to their husbands because of temptation on both sides as well as keeping boundaries of respect for their spouse..
(4) The believe that single ladies are jealous of them and could therefore be a threat to their marriage in one way or another
(5) Disapproval of certain friends from the spouse
(6) Some friends have always opposed and still oppose their marriage and are always looking to pick a fault in either the spouse or the marriage
(7) The feeling of superiority over single friends from the idea that there is somewhat a level attained above them
(8)Protection from talking to friends about their marriages and giving them the gun to use against them
Are these reasons valid and true?
This does not apply to all married women obviously but this is a very popular phenomenon in Nigeria..
There is no fixed solution or stand on this because what
works for Mrs "A" may not work for Mrs "B", this is relative to
individuals. Everyone knows what works for them, the type of friends
they have and the type of husbands they have. Some friends may have Ill
motives and some friends may not, some husbands may chase your friends
some husbands may not.
Let's make sure what ever decision we make is based on best
interest for the marriage to work and for all parties but always
beneficial to us.
Also make sure to put facts into consideration . I.e the
history you have with some friends and your husbands personality. If you
have any friend that has a history of snatching your boyfriends then
you clearly don't want her near your husband. Same If you have friends
who are always in competition with you or backbiting you etc
Don't cut your friends off because people are doing it.
Rather establish there a balance between all relationships including
family, friendship and marriage.
Read more articles on Adejoro Olumofins instagram page : @joroolumofin
Also contact him on : olumofinj@yahoo.com
Should married men cut off their single friends? - Cute G asks.
ReplyDeleteThey could Cutt off some who would influence the marriage Wrongly..
ReplyDelete.
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..
Its natural, once anybody gets married he or she will always cut off some friends in order to concentrate in his or her marriage.
ReplyDeleteIt should be like that, you only cut off those that bring negative energy and minus that just keep ur friends
Delete100percent true
ReplyDeleteNo women shouldn't cut off Becos they're married...friendship has nothing to do with marital status...just like men can't stop womanizing even when they're married..
ReplyDeleteRightly stated
DeleteKeep ur frds but stop flirting with the opposite sex or revealing too much of ur union
DeleteNO, stigma evrywhere
ReplyDeleteRubbish ....this psychopath is seeking for the attention so bad......psychologist my ass....stop showing us ur pixs and go get a job
ReplyDeletenope..dont think so. Just keep marital issues off your discussions with them.
ReplyDeleteAm of the opinion that a married woman should av less of single friends esp of the male gender, female single friends can stil be kept, however, a married woman should know the type of her single friends worth keeping esp for her marrital security. Male friends are no go area except they are married and the husband knows them well. Having married female friends can help understand and overcome some marrital issues that might come up than singlfriends. My thoughts tho.
ReplyDeleteTrue talk, I agree with him.
ReplyDeleteThey shouldn't. Depends on what they gain from the friendship.
ReplyDelete$.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone
kool
ReplyDeleteOod conclusion. Personally, I'd adcvice my wife 2 stay away any friend that be a bad influence in her life.
ReplyDeleteIf you just leave ur friend cos you are now married, ur friend would feel ALONE, which might have some physiological effect
ReplyDelete$.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone
Before,i used to distance myself from my married friends for fear of problems.But the one i met here changed my perception.She's super cool,a married friend with a difference.I agree with this flamboyant psychologist intoto.
ReplyDeleteLoolz
DeleteCutting dem off doesn't really matter. It depends on type of frnds u move arnd wit.
ReplyDeleteTo me I don't think keeping a single friends should be an issue, some single's re good while some re bad, because we all know's that there is a word which goes, show me Ur friend and i'll tell u whu u re.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#
ReplyDeleteNot necessary....friends are friends forever...that's why we have BFF.
ReplyDelete¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤
The real truth is some single ladies don't like hanging out with their married friendz bcoz they wouldn't want to be too 9c to d extent dat their friend's husband will start havin second thought on his marriage or too razz for d husband to put d wife in a situation of 'choose between me n ur friendz'
ReplyDeletePls read/share my post on this http://anuoluwapoo.blogspot.com/2014/07/married-woman-syndrome.html?m=1 Thanks
ReplyDeleteNo.... Although wen ur married u ve to cut down some excesses and tink lyk a married person ....but U still need ur single frenz around 4 so many reasons
ReplyDeleteBirds of the same feather flock together!!
ReplyDeleteI don't think they should, except the single friend have this character that will jeopardise her relationship.
ReplyDeleteDon't think so ,not necessary staying away from ur old friends.
ReplyDeleteno sir
ReplyDeleteI believe it depend on their kind of friends, there are some friends you just can't leave even if you're married
ReplyDeleteI support u 100%
ReplyDeleteI get u doc Mofin, but these days mmmmmm...anyways I didn't want to cut my friend off until one day when my hubby went to tickle her but I saw them and he apologised that he meant no harm to my friend. I only told my friend to come to my house whenever I invited her and not unannounced, it's not my friend's fault but I just have to be careful u know. so ladies and women, cutting ur friends off depends on u. I'm a very liberal person...I no like wahala kia kia.
ReplyDeleteYes, like he says, what works for Peter, might not work for Paul, the trick is finding the correct fit.
ReplyDeleteThis is very shallow for married women to do this. How can you cut off your friend, just because you are married. What happens when you divorce ?
ReplyDeleteDoktormofin nice article.
ReplyDeletePreach
ReplyDeleteThis is my favourite of all articles of Doktormofin.
ReplyDeleteOlumofin Adejoro hot psychologists.
ReplyDeleteCutting away from your single friends doesn't make sense at all...
ReplyDeleteFuck single ladies. I want married ones
ReplyDeleteI will say it makes sense for married women to cut off single friends, for reasons best known to the married women.
ReplyDeleteSingle or Married. Find loyal friends not home wreckers.
ReplyDeleteApt.
ReplyDeleteSensible write up.
ReplyDeleteit would be the best is married women will abstain from single ladies
ReplyDeleteGET THE WORDS YOU NEED TO SUCCEED THIS COMING YEAR
Fresh
ReplyDeleteMy crush...
ReplyDeletePsychologist/ Model.. Can't hate another man's hustle. Nice packaging bros, all na settings.
ReplyDeleteOsquare101@gmail.com
Well i think once a woman is married her sole aim should be protecting her home front freinds and other things should take a back sit
ReplyDeleteAs for me, I still keep most of my frnds n most r single. I kn hw to balance btw husby n frnds so derz no friction
ReplyDeleteI naturally don't like my girls having female friends very close. Same will go for marriage. My wife won't keep close relationship with any woman (not just single ladies).
ReplyDeleteHmmm. (mute)
ReplyDeleteThe married women who do that were either bad (wild) as singles and had bad friends as well or they don't have good and useful single friends. Some friends, whether married or single, are invaluable. If you are married and have such, you sure won't discard her.
ReplyDeleteMost people feel that way but respecting everyone's feelings and putting facts into consideration should be a better way to decide
ReplyDeleteHmmm. (mute)
ReplyDeleteHe made sense. Very common with the ladies.
ReplyDeleteShould single women keep troublesome married friends once they become a pain in the ass after saying I do?
ReplyDeletei dont want to read your shit but if i mistakenly find you near my wife or any of my family members wife just count yourself a dead man.I will blow your skull.
ReplyDeleteWell,i dnt think they should.
ReplyDeleteAm not married and any single friend dt cuts me off cos she got married isnt really my friend.
ReplyDeleteAnd the truth is when d whole euphoria of being married blows over, dey will come back. Marriage is a blessing not a thing of status. How pple handle it depends on their individuality.
Hes good.
ReplyDeleteIt happens naturally that wen u get married ur single friends don't come that close to u like bfore
ReplyDeleteLinda, this guy must really be paying you o. At least he listened and changed his attitude and tone in his write-ups, especially towards women.
DeleteShould married men cut of their? if that be the case.
ReplyDeleteI have never cut off my single friends..agreed, interests and focus have changed but, I relate with dem on a different level. Like adejoro said, a balance can be created. It's very possible to be married and still have ur single friends
ReplyDeleteI still have single friends but i set limits. Though the reasons r true for some marriages some women learnt d hard way. And who says keeping married friends solves the problem? Some married women still fuck their friend's husbands. Why is he looking sideways in all his pictures?
ReplyDeleteI like the conclusion..."...put your facts into consideration...."
ReplyDeleteBtw,he's goodlooking.
Thank you! I ain't cutting nobody off! Bless
ReplyDeleteOkay! I am hurt now. Is this guy really a bastard? Whats with all the pictures of himself? How desperately vain and self indulging can one be? Get over yourself Mr-no-other-profession-i-must-die-with-psychology! Tsk!
ReplyDeleteTrue talk
ReplyDeleteMr Dapper..,wa GBA yi
ReplyDeleteWell, true but sad, not all single friends should be cut off but definitely some friends needs to be cut off. As a married woman I believe that having strings of friends is not advisable in your best interest. Too many friends will be a distraction to your home. Have a few quality friends both singles and married. Just be viigilant.
ReplyDeleteLOL..
ReplyDeleteMr Olumofin pls reply your email Sir..
ReplyDeleteWords of wisdom brotherly.. Ride on
ReplyDeleteThis is so True! Naija women act like marriage is the end of the world.. Smhhhh
ReplyDeleteTrue!!
ReplyDeleteI disagree Mr Olumofin
ReplyDeleteProud of you.. Keep them Coming
ReplyDeleteMan Crush.. Hehe
ReplyDeleteMCE
ReplyDeletePls write more about guys.. Thank you
ReplyDeleteLmaoooo! This guy like wahala sha
ReplyDeleteI wish I could call out names.. This is true abeg
ReplyDeleteGreat Job
ReplyDeleteHe's fine sha.. Is he straight?
ReplyDeleteWise words.. One sided though
ReplyDeleteMr man.. My friends haven't cut me off yet o.. Thank you
ReplyDeleteNice Writeup
ReplyDeleteBrains and Looks.. I'm getting you.. Vain shaaa
ReplyDeleteLoooll
ReplyDeleteGreat!
ReplyDeleteNiceeee
ReplyDeleteHmmmm.. This Nigeria sha
ReplyDeleteNumber 3 and 4 reason.. Gbammmm
ReplyDeletePreachhhhhh
ReplyDeleteThis is dead.. I didn't and won't cut my friends off
ReplyDeletePractice what you preach
ReplyDeletePlease tell me how married women and single ladies have anything in common?
ReplyDeleteAdejoro my Instagram Crush.. He slays for life
ReplyDeleteLinda I see you have a new friend.. Hmmmm
ReplyDeleteThis is war.. Ghennn ghaunnnn
ReplyDeleteHow is this my business bros?
ReplyDeleteWoman wrapper
ReplyDeleteSuperficial!! Smhhh
ReplyDeleteThis guys pot belly article was tacky and narrow minded.. But this is sensible.. My friend started acting somehow after her marriage..
ReplyDeleteThank you for this..
ReplyDeleteAwon Goons mi
ReplyDeleteDoro Super Mofin.. Lmaoooooo
ReplyDeleteLmaooo
ReplyDeleteThis guy just wants to fuck
ReplyDeleteLOL.. Mr Everywhere all over the media
ReplyDeleteMr Ondo
ReplyDeleteI disagree!!!!! Facts pls
ReplyDeletePlease another controversial article.. Yaminggggg
ReplyDeleteI'm happy we have a man speaking for this ladies.. Bless you
ReplyDeleteYour website sir?
ReplyDeleteGood Job
ReplyDeleteLoooll.. Mr Flamboyant. We know ya fine, less pictures
ReplyDeleteDo you have a publicist Sir??
ReplyDeleteOmo Politician... Eku le de
ReplyDeleteI'm happy for you Joro..
ReplyDeleteHahahahahah.. Women be so sensitive
ReplyDeleteNicely done.. Joro Mr loud.. Lmaooooo
ReplyDeleteThis guy won't stay in one place.. Bella Naija, everywhere.. Mr Dappernesss
ReplyDeleteMore Articles plssssss
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Bro.. Bless
ReplyDeleteKeep Going!!!
ReplyDeleteMr Pot Belly.. Shallow Shallow
ReplyDeleteSmh
ReplyDeleteLmaoooooo.. This guy shaaa
ReplyDeleteI saw this guy and his brother at MMR.. Fashion kings
ReplyDeleteSpartans!!!!!! Mad men
ReplyDeleteGreat Job
ReplyDeleteFools talk..
ReplyDeleteSome singles are not good at all, they want to know everything about u n ur family. Married women should mind their homes, singles look for ur own simple
ReplyDeleteIt depends on how her single friends influence her, if it negative, then yes she should cut off
ReplyDeleteA single friend cut me off.
ReplyDeleteNigerian things...